Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fight for Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Rootsblower

I’d fight for my country and people. I have 2 shotguns and would do my best for all the use I’d be. Was talking with the wife about this last night at the diner table. She reckons it would be people around my age(mid 40’s) who’d have to do the fighting as the soft Irish youth would run a mile. Anyway, if the Russians invade little ole Ireland it’s a foregone conclusion that we’d be overrun within the week or less but I would say it would be a costly occupation. We got rid of what was probably the most powerful empire ever, more powerful comparatively than the Russians and arguably more savage too. Plenty of people around the country with a shotgun or rifle to fight a guerilla war against an invader.

Godspeed the poor Ukrainian people up against a Goliath. Fair play to their PM in body armour and AK-47 ready to fight. Couldn’t see MM or LV doing similar.

Heard today it’s general mobilisation for all Ukrainian males 18-60. If this is true where’s all the “men have to do better crowd” calling for equal rights to death for the ladies. Won’t be looking for a quota to be cannon fodder I suspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

I struggle to see how someone would fight for an EU army but also fight for Ireland; the EU,the longer time goes on, aims to break down nation identities and mush them into one homogenised European identity.

To fight for Ireland would be to fight for an Irish identity, culture, people, land etc but the EU is working, non-violently, to dismantle all that would be fought for.

So I am assuming that any pro-Irish military people appearing online in recent weeks are also in favour of reforming the EU in its current state or abandoning the project altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭boardise

There was no genocide in Ireland in the 19th century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I think you have given up on the EU. No point in reform, you want Irexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Do you even know what it is to be Irish or know anything about Irish history? How do you think we got our independence from what was at the time the greatest empire in the world!

But hey you stay put and let us do the fighting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

You cant say Irish people are too soft now to do what the Ukrainians are doing, until we are in the same situation. If that ever happens and it might some day. I think Irish people are very proud people who might surprise you if we are ever invaded again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Pride won’t resist an invasion though…

we have a small and under resourced Defense force… why ? Probably because we thought we’d never need them..

we have / are…

not enough personal weapons for the not enough bodies…

an island nation with no fighter aircraft, not a single one.

7 or 8 maritime patrol vessels to protect about 3400 kilometres of coastline and 880,000 km squared of marine territory…from warships positioning…

Mowag tanks that wouldn’t number close to enough if there was an invasion so…on average about 3 per county.

if the military don’t have enough weapons and are under resourced, the fûck will the ordinary citizens have a chance…

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Amenhotep

No fuuucking way ... I'd be the first dodging the draft so to speak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Irish fought invaders for 800 years..

Ukraine has almost 10 times our population so comparison is completely unfair. Kiev itself almost as many people as the whole of the Republic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,303 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Just about to say this. Good ol Michael D. Quote some poetry on a shetland pony like in the film braveheart, painted face n all and lead us into battle. 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The question is would you fight for Ireland, not what chance would we have. We would be given weapons like the way Ukraine are being given them from other countries.

And pride in being Irish might make a lot take up arms against an invader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

Not a chance would I. Not even enough guns to give people. Ireland would be gone in one bomb fall

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Rootsblower

Sure you’d have to take up arms to defend the country. You hardly want the Russians telling their kid’s “Ah yes Igor, Ireland eh, the men ran away and the women lay down”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

There is over 100,000 unlicensed fire arms in the country. We will take them just after I update my gram and Snapchat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

If Ireland was under threat of being reinvaded the last place you'd look for volunteers to defend it is After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

I'd like to think I would. But id definitely need a 20/30% chance of us winning , I don't think I'd be suicide bomber basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The Irish Republic is entitled to, and hereby claims, the allegiance of every Irishman and Irishwoman

Not worth the debate, yisser fightin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

Ha! Most people are too afraid to stand up to their office managers, never mind fighting an armed and experienced invader! Just have a look at the work problems threads.

We have huge levels of debt, a housing crisis, healthcare crisis, cost of living crisis as well as awful public transport etc

Invaders might improve the situation ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Fight to defend our way of life, on behalf of our elites; property speculators, developers and assorted modern day gombeen men and women? Not a hope.

We dont need the Brits, our own can fcuk us over just as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Well based on the number of Shinnerbots online we already have several thousand experts in Guerilla warfare if Russia ever invades.

Of course there is the suspicion that most Shinnerbots are actually lads working in one of Putin's bot factories in Moscow so they may not be the most reliable in a crunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

leo varadkar calls on you to defend high rents, high insurance, no housing, high carbon taxes, USC, Economic migrants

Newsflash you already lost the fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Gary kk

Well no gulags yet so we must be doing something right. The garda will be over to your house shortly to start censoring any media you interact with.

id rather live under our lot (bad as they are and even if the next lot are shinners) with our structures than living under a warmongering despot

anyone who uses the question as an opportunity to pretend ireland isnt a relative bastion of privilege because they have zero perspective is a sad case

anyone who uses the question to attack our strong structures because they are a shinnerbot is no patriot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Maybe not for “Ireland” but possibly for my freedom and my wish to live in a democratic country and to avoid persecution and basically avoid a sub par life being bullied and controlled by an army. But only if a critical mass was joining in, including our leaders. Otherwise, to be blunt, I’d probably try get out of dodge if I foresaw an equivalent invasion. You only live once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

But put a 5.56x45 Steyr assault rifle in their paw....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

A few people over 100 years ago rebelled against the UK, much of the country didn't support what they were doing either. All these people are long dead. Look at the resolve and bravery in the Ukraine at the moment, I haven't seen anything in this country in my lifetime that says we'd be capable of a fraction of what they're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭SmokyMo

its the people who society generally look down who will step up to defend you first. They dont have much to lose. Rich and upper middle class will not defend you. As a saying goes: In war politicians give ammo, rich give food and poor give their children.

As example in point during the first stages of pandemic when people were afraid to touch a door handle, its bottom front line workers who showed up everyday.. your bin man, your maintance worker etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

You really

absolutely no point in comparing the two situations. The context is a million miles apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I think you need to brush up on Irish history. We had a civil war and a war of independence which involved a lot more than " a few people ". You also should be damn glad that you haven't seen indications in your lifetime of the same thing happening again. Where I'm from in Tipperary the vast majority of families are descended from people who fought for our independence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I thought the idea of the thread was comparing the two situations!

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭helto

You must be young then. The IRA stood up to the British war machine in the very recent past.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

That figure can't be verified. There's probably way less illegal guns than that out there. And many of those won't be in working condition or won't have any ammo. Probably a chunk of them are old civil war guns that have been rusting away for the best part of 100 years.

The Government have slowly been chipping away at civilian firearms ownership. Every few years the shooting community loses something or other. It's death by 1000 cuts. I wonder are the boardsie anti-gun crowd protesting at guns being handed out to civilians in the Ukraine this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

From the shapers, to the young lads who are "hard" but spend 20 minutes doing their hair, to the call of duty players who come off as vetern soldiers.... they'd all **** themselves and run away if asked to defend the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

'i pity the fools!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Did you ever hear of the INLA "commandos" went out to North Korea as good Socialist Freedom Fighters for training, Weapons and fundraising. The story goes they turned up, they were given board & rations. They were unfit, inexperienced with weapon handling and poorly disciplined by North Korean standards in the workers paradise". They were telling the North Koreans they were waiting for funds up in the mountains with tanks and artillery. Eventually the north Koreans gave them a brief case of forged US dollars and told them to "fupp off". They duly laundered the money during the holiday season. We are all still awaiting them coming out of the forest.

There’d be a lot of barstoolers who like to think they’d not be found wanting if their country needed them. Crying into their pints and warbling out Wolfe Tones songs.

Complete fantasists.

Suicide bomber what about the legion of the undead (AKA Junkies). Strap them them up with RDX and tell them If they knock on the hatch door, they will be given free heroin. Two problems solved in one go.

After this a "well regulated Militia" is in order. Seems to serve its purpose in the States. Buy your own kit, fatigues, rifle and rations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I will fight for Ireland with my sling shot inspired by the war of the buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

We're all 'sons and daughters of Ireland'

Whatever the **** that term means

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Clearly not. Our country is occupied right now but the men of Ireland are too cowardly to take up arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

I was a member of the FCA I’ll fight. Who will take me on?

Is it?

I must have missed that somehow.......where are those occupying forces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Are you in the Ra?

If so is it the one supporting Russia at the moment in Derry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Yes and they were vilified for it by traitors.