Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tuesday 1st March 2022

• 01-03-2022 10:17am

1.50 Leicester CILAOS GRACE 10/3 Lads win

Oliver Sherwood's 9yr old can go well here on the soft ground. His run at Fontwell 2 runs back looks good in t'context of today's race. Should find himself chasing pace or racing prominently here,, might be no out and out frontrunners, but am hoping that won't matter too much. Ashfield Paddy might go well out of the other four runners, but I'm thinking he may want further. Cilaos Grace fell for the first time lto, but hopefully he can get over that, as he's the only one that looks to me to have solid claims in this.. looks to be on the drift too,, 9/4 would seem fair,, Dash Full Of Cash is 11/4 fav atm, but has only 2 runs to his name, and they were over further, so it's hard enough to be confident on his chance in this..

Gluck all 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

Just the 1 bet for me today in total.

2.40 Catterick, monte igueldo. Now around 6/4ish. I've just finished backing this to win. Probably should have/ could have won last time out. Was upside the winner at the second last, went down and should have fell, somehow stayed up, the saddle slipped upside down and that was that. I think they will be looking for compensation here. Not much in the race and will hopefully win easy.

Maybe 1 more bet, I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

7:30 Newcastle, PP is paying 4 places, which only means I have to get involved in that one... It's a "point & shoot" kinda race, it's hard to make a convincing case for any of them. I've decided to go with True Mason 5/1 e/w, he was rated over 100s early in his career but failed to win any fancy races, (for the record he's only won once and that was cl5 novice event) but he ran well over CD when coming back after long break last year and in this year comeback he's even lower in ratings, so he might get slightly closer to the front, has a good jockey booking, wide draw is not necessarily bad thing here on the straight course and trainer having zero winners this year so far is not too off putting either, yeah... it's seems to be going downhill, so let's get on before it gets too bad.

Sure we have to get on the Clear Angel again. He's entered in 5:55 Newcastle and trading at double figure odds 10/1 at the moment. He got no sort of run last time when got box in but ran on later when gap opened. Today he's dropped back to cl6 again, has handy draw and with many horses in this race liking to be held up, he might be able to get into the better position, still lightly raced, not beaten far in all but one of his races, sure has a good chance to place. PP is paying 4 places, we're on.

That was a non-runner, you gotta pick another one.

I did 😁

I were checking prices later on and saw he were 5/1.. tipped dahn books about 10 mins later (1.00pm ish) and saw that he were a non :( was gonna back him ew at those prices,,,

would be aftertiming to say I backed the 3/1 winner Star Of Rory at 7/2 in lieu of the one I were gonna back; so I won't 😂 wasn't back from shoppes in time to put him up,, pity that 😄

have looked at your race j@utis, and me thoughts are as such:

7.30 Newcastle topweight One Hart looks well 'andicapped,, was staying on over shorter (5f) the last twice at course without winning.. has won three times over 7f on the tapeta at Wolves.. would be far from a surprise were he to win, and 9/2 is fair, but I'll reluctantly leave him go..

Somewhere Secret could set the fractions from stall 2, as he's wont to try make all,, has had blindfold problems in past and breaking late,, could be a 'back to lay' prospect on t'exchanges,, won't be winning tho,, imh

A fast pace will suit forum favourite TATHMEEN 15/2 PP ew , who will likely come with his usual late surge, and, for nominal stakes represents a cracking win or each way bet at prices..

Another one who looks due one, for me, is ATHOLLBLAIR BOY 22/1 Lads (prolly giving 3plcs a 1/4 t'magic sign) , 20s with Boyles (likely going 4plcs a fifth),, Athollblair Boy is another who's a C & D winner,, he'll do me as a second pick here as has won off higher than his current 68 rating,,

If folk were looking for a third pick here, I could nae put em off backing j@utis' selection TRUE MASON 5/1 PP win,, came 5th in a strong looking Class 5 at the course back in October when he hadn't the clearest of runs,, race was ran in a fast time, and a high draw in 9 will surely help.. the higher the draw the better over the straight 6f trip seems to be more beneficial than racing low on t'far side, as often the ones coming in the last couple o furlongs seem to flatter, but end up doing very little when they're coming from low to middle track positions,, has an absence to overcome does True Mason, but the horse can run well after a break,, looks well handicapped, and with Hollie on top, he may well double his racewinning tally this eve..

😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

4.35 Leicester, rebel Dawn rising, around 6/4 lay bet, pretty sure it won't win here.

4.50 Newcastle, Colinton, around 15/8 and drifting a little but not too worried. I'm just starting to back it to win now. I held off backing sooner as the second fav is getting backed.

done me three picks - Tathmeen 15/2 , Athollblair Boy 20/1 & True Mason 5/1 - all each way at Newcastle the 7.30,, and combi forecasts/tricasts with topweight for coppers,,

4.50 Newcastle

no bet,,

thoughts:

Lopes Dancer is surely too old at 10yrs,, don't know why El Jad is as short as he is - won't be winning here,, Colinton is the likely winner,, maybe Autonomy @ 12/1 gen can chase the fav home,, GL all

Gwan Clear Angel for thread backers - not me, but some have kept faith in Mrs Corbett's chargee! 🤗

Unlucky 😴 2nd was Clear Angel

Clear Angel so close! But I'm even more annoyed with Cathayensis because she was my gut feeling in first 10 seconds looking at the card but then the logic took over, dammit!

Yeah, tis a bummer alright that j@u 😪 nice price Cathayensis were an all

The 'Chuck Norris Method' (just staring at screen til it gives back required info) is often a good way of finding a winner 🤩 but then, and foolishly so, studying often lessens likelihood of backing the 'jumped off screen' selection,,, i woulda backed Botox Has, who won over weekend @ ~20s, if I only hadn't gone and studied blasted form... ya just gottee put it to back of yer mind,,, either that, or have multiple picks in many races 😂

that 7.30 were rubbish,, comms had better days too,, think Tathmeen managed 4th, and True Mason were unlucky in running 😒

a winner earlier on, and many losers in 7.30 leaves it a nothing day,, no great P or no great L..

that's all folks (for me) 😊

2moro another day!

True Maison is out the money only by a head (5th) got stuck behind the wall of horses and gap opened too late, half point down on the day, it could be worse 🙀