Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst TD ever elected

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭La Madame

Frank Feighan for bis role in MUP and the Healy Raes.

Beer Drinkers support Farmers!

Abolish infamous Minimum Unit Pricing!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭blackwhite

It's amazing the people who still push the narrative that Clare Daly was set up in her drink driving arrest.

She admitted to having a whiskey before hopping in the car. She admitted taking an illegal turn, at a junction where it's very clearly signposted and where there's routinely Gardaí on duty watching for that exact offence.

She refused to give a roadside sample, and bought herself enough of a delay until she could be tested at the station to reduce the levels of alcohol in her system. If she was so certain she would be under the limit she wouldn't have refused the roadside sample.

Whoever leaked her arrest was certainly in the wrong (and it's never been shown whether it was a Garda, or some civilian who was in the station at the same time), but to try and paint some grand conspiracy when the whole situation arose from 2 bad decisions by Daly is laughable.

This is the same (at the time) TD who didn't bother her hole showing up for court when she was up for speeding offences - she has a history of ignoring the Road Traffic Acts and clearly thinks that the rules of the road are for other people

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mad Benny

Will many of Mick voters support his position?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭beachhead

What a sad discussion this is.A more interesting one would be - how did the chicken cross the road.

is there any way to oust Wallace and daly? like an impeachment?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Simon Coveney

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

Yes it's known as an election its what happens in Democracies when you want to get rid of someone you don't like Putin would be proud of your suggestion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Economics101

Impeachment is a well-known procedure to oust misbehaving politicians. So is Recall. when a sufficient number of voters petition for a new election. Nothing wrong with these procedures as long as they are laid down by law in advance (and thus not to be used in an arbitrary fashion) and perhaps also subject to judicial review.

However we don't have such measures in place so we can't do anything about Wallace and Daly other than throw them out at the next election.

An individual so full of his own importance that he thinks that a polite question is a "suggestion".

I too would like to see the parasitic lovebirds removed from public office, however, not being registered to vote in the South Leinster/Munster/Blasket Islands/Paraguay European Super Constituency I am unable to vote against the tax cheat, democracy or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Cathal Berry. Was elected to take on Fine Gael on The Defence Forces.

since he got elected he’s the government’s biggest supporter. And has voted in confidence of The Minister of Defence even though he’s doing a terrible job with Defence and the retention crisis.

The people who voted for him feel betrayed and he’s a spoofer.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,189 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You're kidding right?

He got a Commission on Defence into the Prog for Govt which has recommended the furthest reaching reform and investment in the DF in a century.

He is on national media at least two or three times a week talking about defence and DF issues, in fact I don't see any other independent with a profile like is, even a Healy Rae.

He supports the Govt because that's the deal he got and by Christ is he doing well out of it so far, in just 18 months!

Please do engage brain analysis before talking out of bottom.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

George Lee, high profile big name, used by Fine Gael. Complete flop and then sneaked back into RTE.

By "complete flop" you - and the others who have made the same nomination - mean that when Enda Kenny and Michael Noonan deliberately sidelined him, he was unable to do much, as he wasn't given any debating time in the Dáil. I suppose he could have resigned the whip, but then he'd have had even less chance of getting speaking time.

Basically, he foolishly believed Kenny's promises so was completely shafted when Kenny revealed himself to be an unprincipled, unscrupulous liar. So a mug yes - but a politician with potential who was completely snuffed out.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Ballycommon Mast

Iirc, the issue with George lee was that he expected FG to adopt all his ideas as party policy right away

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

The list for worsed TDs would be quiet long. The Kerry ones hands in the public contracts would come to mind.

Fair point. Thing is, we don't know what (if anything) Enda promised him, but there must have been something offered to have tempted him out of his comfy RTE lair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

I have met Regina Doherty a few times. Honestly One of the warmest and kindest people I have ever met. Shame she gets such a hard time by online.

Goes to prove you can never know anybody by just seeing them on the Telly. I am sure I make the same critical assumptions about people I have never even met.

Worst TD ever must have been any one of Haughey’s Ministers

• Registered Users Posts: 24,189 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I've known many TDs down the years, I wouldn't rate the political skill of many Greens at all. Catherine Martin may be an exception.

Gogarty, Cuffe, Gormley, but especially Ryan. For me Eamon Ryan is right up with the worst TDs ever elected. An ineffectual, idealistic fool. Not a practical political bone in his body.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭beachhead

Best TDs are on Boards begorrah

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Would ye, yeah?

I have seen him in the flesh before - he's about 6'5" and twenty stone, I wouldn't fancy your chances.

• Registered Users Posts: 877 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭crossman47

After this week, has to be Daly and Wallace

I voted for Daly once! Thought she was a better left of centre option than Sean Ryan, and I rather admired Joe Higgins who was then her Party leader. (Of course that was long before she had been kicked out of the SP for putting her lust for Micko ahead of her commitment to Socialism!)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He was a pretty good minister for finance in the rainbow government to be fair.

First budget surplus ever I think.

Paul Murphy is an odious little man. He will never be in government, so gets to remain ideologically pure to his political religion. Out on his ear at the next election though and fading back into the obscurity of far-left blogs, poorly attended meetings, and podcasts that no one listens to.

The eyes always give it away with lads like Paul.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

Sean Doherty the branchman and thug and short time minister for justice has to be up there as well.

Post edited by Fattybojangles on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Burke and Flynn made the Siciian Mafia look like Benedictine monks, to quote Tom Gilmartin.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,401 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Not sure why am tagged in that but if you mean the current Taoiseach then its the CT forum you need.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,401 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Wasn't it Flynn that gave the hilarious "oh poor me with my multiple houses, cars etc."