Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fight for Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Rootsblower

I can’t believe this was written by (presumably) an Irish person. You would stand idly by whilst our country became subjugated as long as your daily routine stayed the same.

Theres a saying “Better to die on your feet than live on your knees”

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Not a chance. Irish people are weak and subservient.

All the bravehearts here are big men behind the safety of a computer screen.

If Irish people did what the Ukrainians did in 2014 they'd be called far right thugs.

We've had a housing crisis for nearly a decade now and Irish people still haven't staged a big protest, they've just rolled over, as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

Why would anyone fight for Ireland?

The way the Irish behaved to their fellow countrymen just because of vaccination opinions?

Or their fame for fighting against their own relatives over inheritance.

The comrade at a volunteers shoulder would be as likely to turn on them as the enemy. You wouldn't know who to trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

My understanding is thst they're not being given a choice in the matter. We're thinking how brave they are to volunteer but its not really voluntary if its also mandatory. They're doing their best. I think the Irish would do their best too.

I think it would be no harm to make basic military training a normal thing in ireland. If you don't even know how to use a weapon or basic military movements or how to behave in combat, then you could at least do things like transport, carry supplies and other basic tasks. A small bit of training would be very useful.

I've fired hunting rifels and shotguns a few times. Not sure how much use I could possibly be to frontline troops. Then again, if things become desperate enough they might just give you gun and tell you to point it at the enemy and shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭victor8600

Sure, I would and I have some military training (artillery systems). Ireland is worth fighting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

hahahaha, we re done with our fighting, we can thank our ancestors for that, we ve evolved into a more mature nation....

tis hard to fight the might of the fire sectors....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No-one is backing housing apart from a hodge-podge of fringe lefty groups. Anyone with a house or property is apathetic or hostile to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭thefallingman

I was watching a thing on John Wayne of all people last night, and he ducked service in ww2 when a load of other stars of even higher fame such as Clark Gable enlisted. Then you see the Klitcho brothers of Ukraine signing up to fight, Shevchenko too and you can't help but admire these men. Proper men, i'd rather be a clark gable than a John wayne anyday, or a Michael Collins than a snivelling Dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭BrianD3

If we were to fight what would we use? We have some of the strictest firearms legislation in the world. Under Irish law, a child's toy crossbow is a firearm. Any airgun with muzzle energy above 1 joule is a firearm. In contrast, in the UK (including NI with its violent recent history) crossbows are completely unregulated and air rifles don't become firearms until approx 15 joules muzzle energy. Black powder shooting is also a viable hobby unlike here.

Germany's laws are less strict again. Well they are strict about how you store and use your firearms but it is very possible for a private citizen to own an arsenal that would give the average Irish legislator a heart attack.

Here, while there are a lot of firearms (mostly shotguns and .22 rifles) in the hands of farmers, there are a lot of hoops to jump through, limits on ammunition etc. Our attitude to firearm ownership seems to be that guns are a necessary evil for shooting vermin and as with a lot of things, Paddy needs to be protected from himself by the nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm too damn old for that crap, but I'm also too damn old to run scared. Give me an M4A1 carbine with an ACOG and I'll give 'em hell. Who are we fighting again??

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Based on what I'm seeing from Ukraine, a few Turkish Drones might be more on our lines for defending the country rather than lining up to be shot. Short range defensive drones are right on the money for keeping our neutrality shtick as they are only really useful in defense, especially on an island. Collaborate with the UK to make sure that the drones are kept as part of cooperative defence systems so as not to spook any unionists in the north thinking we're arming ourselves against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Dying for an ideal is one thing, dying for a word on passport.....?

Is argue people are living in their knees as it is.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

But if my life doesn't change what would I be fighting and risking death for exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

The anti vaxxers will not.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Butson

I'd fight for my family and friends.

The rest of ye can shag off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

With the price of things at the moment I don't think I could afford to go and fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yep, playing war games on your PC and actually being there in the middle of it with blood & guts spewing about its a world apart

i don't think the current generation are tough enough compared to the 1930's & 40's when men were men and life was hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The men were men and the women and children were scared shitless.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ah, I don't believe this is true. I think there's a tenancy to think the ones who'd fight would be people like me. But in reality, I'd say the Ukranian citizen defence is made up of all kinds of people, rich and poor, with all kinds of political leanings and preferences. I'd say they are doing things they never thought they'd have to do.

@fryup and @B.A._Baracus, As a matter of interest, do you see yourselves as soft lads who would sh1t themselves if asked to defend the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Honestly? If it were Ireland instead of Ukraine right now? ... give me a gun. I would not be fighting for Ireland, I would not be fighting for Micheál Martin or who ever. I would be doing so to try and protect those who I love and care about. We fight together to protect those we love.

What about yourself?

And what about the question I asked. Are you soft like the rest of the recent generations or are you made of different stuff?

To answer your question, I'd do what I have to, naturally. The Ukrainians between 18-60 aren't given a choice. And I'm in that age group so I'd do what I have to do.

What happens when they send you away from your home town to defend the other end of the country? We're not defending your home town where your family and friends are, we're pulling out of that town and leaving it to the enemy. We've decided to defend the other end instead. Then what would you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

I'd love to know where he hides his thirteenth share of the loot from Erebor....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭thefallingman

if i was Ukrainian and serving and saw any russian soldier in any part of Ukraine he'd be dead as quickly as possible, they are murdering innocent people including children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Like yerself the concept of Ireland is sort of lost to me these days. In terms of fighting, there's no point in killing soldiers that come from the poorer classes, head to the invaders home country and start a schools and hospitals bombing campaign, much more effective.

As someone who spent years playing the games in dojos like yerself be wary of a false sense of security.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

"I'm partly Irish. The Irish are great people you know. They like fighting. And if they can't find anyone to fight with, they'll fight among themselves. They're pretty good at that."

So said Field Marshall Bernard Law Montgomery on his appearance on Desert Island Discs in the 1960s. Have a listen. It's 23min 25s into the program.

If we'd fight for this little bollox, we'd fight for ourselves. Of course, when we do that we get called "The Ultimate in Psychopathic Horror!" by the British Press. 😀

Hmmm. You are asking a lot of questions. You do realise that I see you are trying to lead me down a path, right? It is a clever technique. But I shall bite.

I have known quite a number of lads who tried to come off as hard but when faced with a confrontation do the exact opposite of what they said they would. That's life. Talk versus reality. One thing I can guarantee you is that there is more people who say they WOULD, than those who WILL. As for myself? I'm just a normal random man. Then again, i don't walk with a swagger or act like how I could give Connor McGregor a run for his money.

But enough about me for a second, lets talk about you. For a man who asks a lot of questions you certainly give vague answers - i mean "do what I have to do" - what does that mean? There's been plenty of men over the years who said that and "fought" - while hiding behind a tree while their so called comrades did the fighting.

I know you (think you) are building up to something. So just say it.

Not a hope. I would defend my family at all costs and fight against any threats to them until my last breath, but wouldn't fight for Ireland.

Ive asked 2 questions. It probably feels like the questions are piling up because you haven't directly answers either one.

The first is whether you're different from the recent generations you (and @fryup) said are soft.

The second was a specific question responding to your saying you would fight for your loved ones, not the government.

I'll answer your question, sorry if i didnt give enough detail in my first answer. I'd fight if it became necessary (like an invasion). If it became mandatory, like it is in Ukraine, then I wouldn't have a choice in the matter. I've no military training so I've no idea what job I'd be told to do.

Now, would you try to answer those 2 questions I asked you?

Edit: I don't know what path you think I'm trying to lead you down or what point you think I'm teying to make. I'm trying to understand the 2 of the points you've made, namely thst the current generation is soft (does that include you or not) and I'd like to know more about your idea of separating the government from the people you love. So If asked by the government to fight, but for other people then the specific peoppe you know, what would you do?

To be fair, you did move the goalpost with the first question as you only stated "do you see yourselves as soft lads who would sh1t themselves if asked to defend the country?" - you added the previous generations bit AFTER.

So with that said, I did say I view myself as a normal guy (question answered) but as for the previous generations bit? ... still think thats a trick question as I didn't say previous generations. FryUp did - but I would agree people of world war 2 were more tough. So question answered. As for being sent towards some where else? if you are drafted then you are drafted. Do your bit. But don't be mistaken, fighting for myself and those I love... not for ireland.

Anything else? Gonna throw another question at me (then say how I never quite answered it?)

@ El_Duderino - Yes i think the current generation (generally speaking) is soft - look back to the first half of the 20th century most men were in manual labour, i.e. construction, factories, trades - Plumbing Welding, Mechanics etc and women worked in laundries, factories, and as cleaners, cooks etc - ask any millennial would they like to do those types of jobs and they'll scoff at you - no its off to College for them😑 now maybe the current generation in Ukraine are made of sterner stuff i don't know, but i'm talking about Ireland.

now to answer your question am i any different? honest answer - no, i'm a soft arse and yes i would soil myself if i saw a Russian battalion coming my direction

and if WWIII breaks out (god forbid) and someone calls to my door looking for my conscription? - i'd tell em its not my quarrel, arrest me if you must 😑 i'd chip in the catering division or maybe first aid but on the battlefield i'd be a hindrance

Nope. You've answered the questions now. Thanks. You consider yourself a normal guy who is part of a less tough generation. No trick questions.

I think the ww2 generation was pressed into service and did what thy had to do. We remember them as tough because they had to do things they never thought they would have to do. I don't think they were born tough or different room the rest, they just had to toughen up. 'Cometh the hour, cometh the man', as they say. Most people in the current generation would do what's necessary.

The ww2 stuff I've read features the soldiers complaining about the food, being cold, being marched from pillar to post, sleeping rough and having to take orders from people they thought weren't competent. You'd get all that with the current generation. Same people, different hairstyles.

Very few people in ireland have military training. Depending how this conflict goes, it might be no harm to offer basic training to everyone.

Your parents generation think your generation is soft, your grandparents thought your parents generation was soft. The ww2 generations parents thought they were soft and their grandparents thought they were a joke. That's just something old people say about young people. Don't worry about it being true. Not everyone signed up in the ww2 generation but we remember them as being tough. Not everyone in your generation would sign up either, but the normal proportion would sign up when asked or mandated to do so.

This craic of always punching down at the young people bugs me. But you don't have to buy into it.

Post edited by El_Duderino 09 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Are you seriously claiming no-one born in Ireland between 1977 and 1995 is engaged in manual labour? Not a builder, plumber etc aged between 45 - 27 in the whole place?

Get away with that crap.

By the by - those women you mention who 'worked' in laundries had no choice. They were forced to. For no pay. Shame on you to use them to make what ever pathetic point you are trying to make here.

Of course plenty of people do manual labour these days. And lots of young people do other physical things like sports. But I took the laundry to mean normal paid employment in laundries rather than the slave laundries like the Magdaline laundries. Hard work, I'm sure, but I would have thought there were laundries back in olden times that were worked by normal, free people.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mary 2021

We are being invaded by stealth every day of the week, i wouldn't fight for Ireland any more we are an out post of the EU nothing to fight for here . Patriotism is gone we are nearly a 3rd world ****-hole look at the health system, the housing, the services whats to fight for ? Nothing.

I really don't think you're taking it seriously. And I wonder if you've ever been to a third world country. People die of appendicitis in some countries. Our health service has some areas for serious improvement but the notion that were a third world country is misinformed.

As for whether we have something to fight for: even if you don't care for our nation, we have our family, friends and culture, but you could fight for yourself and your own desire to stay alive. Would fighting for your own life not motivate you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I don't think we will ever be involved in war... the politicians will sort ... we are also at UN top table...

where did i say no-one between 1977-95????....well where???

i was referring to the war generations of WWI and WWII .... you're the one talking cr@p why don't you read posts properly ffs!🙄

and as for laundries - i wasn't referring to the magdeline laundries, there were loads of industrial commercial laundries around at the time that employed women so stop trying to twist what i said you idiot!

"ask any millennial would they like to do those types of jobs and they'll scoff at you - no its off to College for them😑 now" you said. At least this 'idiot' knows what age bracket millennials fall into to, but sure. Lashings of people in their 30s to early 40s are scoffing at manual trades and off to college now.

And the Magdalen Laundries were the commercial laundries. They not only had all the govt contracts, they also serviced hotels, hospitals, and any household who were wealthy enough to sent their dirty linen out for cleaning. They undercut any private operation by not paying their staff and completely dominated the sector. It's hardly my fault if you have no idea what you are talking about you idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,812 ✭✭✭✭looksee

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭mumo3

It used to be, not sure if it still is standard practice, that when you finish school in Ukraine, you do a year in the military as standard before heading off to work or college!!

Edit: If it came to the crunch, Id be gone quicker than bolt. Jump out of my skin if a glass breaks when I'm in the pub!!

re:millennial that's in the States over here it refers to someone born at the turn of the millennium

as for Laundries whether they were Magdalen or not is beside the point i was making -> which was people of the war generations (WWI & II) were a lot tougher than people of today as they were more inclined to be in blue collar manual labour (and lived in harsher conditions) in short life was much harder then than now (imo)

And life was a lot easier in 1939 than it was in 1914, and easier in 1914 than 1863 (US Civil war) which was a picnic compared to the Crimean War.

Your post is pure Monty Python shoebox in middle t Road. And Every generation complains about people going soft. Doesn't mean it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I will fight the aliens if they invade us. Just need to watch Independence Day first.

Completely agree. All those generations were almost certainly considered soft by their parents and grandparents, but when the sh1t hit the fan, they were able to do the business in the most horrible circumstances.

A big part of me thinks its projection from older people who recognise that they've gone soft through aging, bit their generation is in charge in terms of business, politics, wealth ownership and so on. So they presume they're better then the younger people and they think the young are stupid and soft. Young people are less experienced than the older people, that's axiomatic. But it's really basic to believe they're actually different from the old people.

It's never phrased as "gawd, me and my generation are terrible parents to raise such stupid children". It's always phrased as criticism of the younger generation themselves, as if they created the environment they grew up in.

It's just things old people say and if the sh1t hits the fan, they'll expect those young people to lay their lives on the line to protect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

Why would I fight for a country that I'll never be able to own a home in, and can't afford to have kids in? i mean what exactly do I have to protect?

I would be sad to leave, sure. I would really miss the amazing options for life here in Ireland: rural muck savagery with a job in Aldi seen as a promising career trajectory, or a box room for 1500 a month in one of our cities, or maybe something in between, like a damp semi-d that the landlord hasnt fixed a thing in since 2003 in an estate overrun by teenage scrotes in sweatpants.

Only thing I care about here is my dog and she is scared of loud noises, so I'd take her, a bag of food for her, a bag of spuds for me, my dead grandfather's shotgun and head for the hills, or preferably get us on a boat or plane.

And most people here would not fight. Don't kid yourself thinking otherwise. You ever try standing up to your employer about something unfair they were doing? something everyone of your colleagues is upset about? Try it, and you'll see just how much bravery and unity there really is in this country. You'll be on your own, they won't want to know. The Irish don't back themselves any more, the fighting Irish is only a thing when they're full in pubs.

I'm too broke and exhausted to be arsed fighting, and every government since I've been an adult has screwed me more and more, from bringing back college fees to forcing me to do unpaid internships for the dole when there was no jobs, and now letting rents run riot because 'one man's rent is another man's income.' while owning a house is just a pipe dream.

I would hope to escape and maybe end up in a country where the most harmful drug in society isn't celebrated and encouraged and seen as normal and the least harmful can land you in jail. Hopefully there would be some other Irish people there because the people are the best thing about this country by a long stretch, and twould be shame if they were all so silly to stay here thinking they have a chance with our joke of an army. You can't even get in to see a dentist or get a driving test for months here, how long would it take us to mount a defense against a military power, forget about it mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Nsonowa

I'm of the same opinion really except about the people. There is no community in Ireland - people ignore each other for the most part. There is a massive wealth gap in Ireland and unless the war somehow addressed that it is not worth fighting for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

Would I fight to defend my home, my country from warmongers, yes I would but I know others in this country wouldn’t be arsed, every army has to hold the line to advance, you’d be left up **** creek without a paddle in Ireland as they run to sit high on the fence post that is indifferent neutrality.