Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭MFPM

Good first half here by Dublin, yes Tyrone are awful but you can only play what's in front of you. Dublin obviously need the win and the way results are going they probably have to beat Donegal and Monaghan to stay in Div 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Nuetral here.....ye are 9pts up after 30 mins!!!.....probably a score most people would find hard to see happening given Dublin's poor form in earlier League games.

The surprising thing is 3 or 4 of the points have been wonder scores from out near sideline or from tight angles....shots that the previous management didn't allow players to take.....as they have a reasonably low % chance of going over.

On another day those kind of shots might go wide and this would frustrate other forwards in better positions to shoot for Dublin.

Obviously Dessie has given the players more licence on shot selection than last manager.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭rolling boh

we will most likely need to win the two matches and today of course but it could give us a huge lift to stay up from where things stood before throw in today . But there is still one half in this match playing against a wind so we need to keep the score board ticking over .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,133 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Problem with this is where missing an awful lot more than usual and it's killed our confidence at times in most games. If you miss the first few it kills u.

The weather is helping us today to I think it's not monsoon conditions that we have had nearly every game.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,931 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Hampsey was stupid there.

Tyrone seem to be losing their heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,001 ✭✭✭✭JRant

That was as braindead a second yellow as you'll ever see. Shouldering someone in the chest while you are both standing on concrete is downright dangerous.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

obviously would like us to work a score .

Tyrone lose a man but score 4 on the spin....gap only 5!

We need to wake up here let Tyrone back into this somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭Xander10

Tyrone picking off a few points. for confidence, we need to see this out with a decent margin.

Just don't seem to want to take points in this second half!

Some awful play acting there. That's never a black card.

1 point in 20 mins...that's bad.

Jesus our movement and speed going forward today has been miles better.

Tyrone's thug mentality has brought them back into the game a bit but even then.

Deffo going for goals today!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,782 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I don’t know what to make of this match at all.

Did Dublin say job done? Did Tyrone up it? Or did Dublin run out of petrol?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Looks like they have the win they desperately needed but 2 points in the second half is not great, to say the least, but the win is the key thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭KerryM9

Home to Donegal and away to Monaghan, a win and a draw will do, safe out now I'd say

Edit - no actually as Kildare won the head to head, 2 wins needed?

Think we are still a fair bit away from where we would like to be but great win today and should give us a bit of confidence hopefully push on again next week against Donegal .Win the next two games could really do wonders for the lads .

Much needed win much better performance.

Yeah we dropped off in the second half but at least we where trying to play football!

You would need serious restraint playing against a team like Tyrone I know I wouldn't be able for it!

Suppose we can write that half down to game management and lack of bench impact? Hope we don’t regret not winning by more points difference wise.

We certainly aren’t going to have the luxury of finishing a game with our best 15 like we did under Jim. We’re going to need to be front runners and do the heavy lifting early doors. Con, James, P Small and Murch back maybe gives us a solid 17/18 for the summer?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,417 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Got to credit the Cassidy for having the balls to send Hampsey off, we need to see more proactiveness from refs in situations where similar stuff happens… I’d say a lot of referees the way things are these days though wouldn’t bother just a talking to…and avoiding the second card.

11 first half points by Dublin and then just 2 in the second half is a bit… mad..considering for 30 plus minutes Tyrone played with 14…

Cassidy had a fine game today. Handed out 2 black cards and from his perspective they were both warranted. It was only on replay that it was a bit of a dive.

Hampsey needs to give his head a wobble and think about his actions a bit more. That carry-on on concrete could lead to serious injuries.

Second half was a bit strange. We struggled to get the ball out for spells but were never really in trouble. The defense was excellent in that second half and Tyrone never really had a sniff of a goal. Was great to see McCarthy back. He brought some much needed calmness when he arrived.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,417 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Thought McCarthy was immense today, like a rock and has the experience and calm head to just always do the right thing, making the right decisions…

yes from Hampseys perspective, if the Dub or any player smacks his knee off the concrete it could be season over or worse… **** play… GAA and refs need to protect the wellbeing of everyone…haven’t been doing it enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Gael85

The wind was a major factor in second half. Our 2 points in second half were fisted. Tyrone 2 first half points were 21 yard frees. On another day Small and Bugler would have goaled. James McCarthy coming on steadied the ship as faded for first 10 minutes of second half. A lot to improve on and can take a lot of positives from today. Still have Con, P.Small and O'Cofaigh Byrne to come back. McDaid was a big plus today, hade a great game for Ballyboden last weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Gael85

Cormac Costello scored his 200th championship/league for Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 9,864 ✭✭✭billyhead

If the experienced lads perform to their capabilities Dublin will be there or thereabouts towards the business end of the Championship. I think Paddy Small could have a good summer.

You're spot on about the wind and I think it picked up quite a bit in the second half. Looking at where our kickouts were landing in the second half compared to Tyrone's in the first it was a noticeable difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

I'm not sure how to describe what just happened.