Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Online dating horror stories

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

You can't tell that from that information, the woman was off her face on alcohol and drugs which would be enough for anyone to act the way she did

So sad, hate people cheating but worse people blatantly cheating on dating sites, you can only hope the partner is cheating for equal measure 🙈

That's not too bad, Least no d pics in any of the stories🙈😂

Like the saying goes if you have nothing nice to say, then say nothing at all

How messed up, you'd wonder what was going on there

Fairplay to you for sticking with it and meeting your hubby, yeah I agree, attraction is such a complex thing, hard to get a feel for someone til you meet them in person

The berries though 😂😂😂🙈 sorry that's actually so bad, how horrible for you, a guy used to come into my workplace and stare me out of it, telling me he loved me wanted sex, used to know where I was going outside of work etc. Actually so unnerving!

This 😂😂🙈 you couldn't write it 🤣 good thing you asked that question so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

About 4 or 5 years. I was actually getting loads of matches back in January when everyone was testing positive for covid, so ended up having to cancel a couple of dates and I never heard back from them. Now we're more or less in the clear and its like a ghost town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Did she have a son by any chance? I had an almost identical experience with a Polish girl I met in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I'd say it's easier for women once they get good at been able to weed out the guys who are just looking for sex. Online dating is the best way to meet a partner but OD brings its own problems as the apps are designed to keep both men and women swipping even when you've just had a very promising date. Too much choice makes you far less likely to make a decision.

Most first dates don't become second dates, they end up been a nice chat with no spark and you never see them again, although you can hope for more you have to train yourself to never expect more. I have found someone recently on tinder I really liked, you just have to keep going.

one of my dates last year she was 12 years older than her picture. had been already drinking for 6 hours before our date started and was a alcoholic anti vax nutjob. I left after 1 drink and she stayed there drinking.

• I’ve met a lovely guy much younger than me via Tinder, great mutual attraction, a shared super sense of fun and playfulness, and very sexually compatible. No awkwardness. But there were a couple of hiccups in matches, some purely practical because of circumstances of location etc, one or two chats fizzled out, I had to ghost one as I was getting extremely bad vibes, and I’m casually friendly with one or two because of similar interests, with the odd text going “how are you doing, how did that date go?”. There’s a many very de ent people out there, some of these can be shy or nervous and sone have said how they hate this idea of clicking on a profile mainly based on looks.

• My new guy is a non-drinker and very athletic, but active alcoholism or early recovery is an absolute no-no where it comes to relationships. The only relationship a recently active addict has is with their substance of choice, whether pursuing it or trying to battle it, although they may chaotically try and pursue sex/dating as a hopeful distraction or solution to their problem, which doesn’t work.

On the other hand, people who have successfully overcome strife, or are experienced in managing their struggles can be very in touch with themselves and others.

But there is rarely such a thing as an almost perfect person, but I have known people who have met amazing partners online. You have to treat it as a kind of pass time, treat it with a sense of humour almost, until you strike gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

I go on Grindr to find a husband, usually someone elses husband tho....

• My instinct is that there is something more going on here. Do that couple get-off together on seeing pictures of their other half taking turns to have sex with a stranger, watching back from a video recording set-up in the bedroom. Are these videos being sold on for premium content?

I imagine sometimes guys (& maybe girls etc) are a tad naïve in entering casual set-ups where they may be a product being forwarded on for profit. I say guys in particular, because sometimes I would hear of reports of strange sexual encounters where it was unlikely the women involved were doing it entirely for the love of it, so to speak.

• When it came to making my decision to super-like (I got super-liked by same guy too) it was absolutely instantaneous, lime a button had been pressed. A beautiful black&white photo of a guy with the most lovely sleek long hair who stood in a pose that simply appealed straight off. He was holding his hair piled up over his head. There was a quick text delighted I had given my approval, an immediate sense we had the same playful sort of personalities, lots of picture sharing. He also revealed himself as a very sweet natured person with great sentiments about people, animals, everything.

So guys, put your most sensual pose on and you will get an arty sassy sort of lady taking note of your profile 😉 It’s the instant hook that matter so much, even if we think it should not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Another one I had forgotten about, lying about their age saying they were 50 when in fact they were 70, although some of the men I met reckoned it was much more common with women. I always thought it was an odd one, their going to get found out, and want did they think would happen the date was going to be so overcome with their sparkling personality that they would overlook the lying about their age.

Sorry to hear that😔 maybe you just need to spruce up your bio/profile and put in some new nice pics

No it does not get easier, me and my single friends who've used dating sites for years agree on this

Least she had a good time 😅

It's nice to hear about the success stories 😊

Think maybe its better to use in the city, not much choice in small towns, actually I take that back, have to friends in Dublin and it seems worse there, maybe its just the luck of the draw

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

I never had any to start with but thank you for your sterling advice x

• My tiny bits of advice for what it’s worth: No. 1 A feckin decent flattering picture. Take a ton of them, get a sibling etc to take tons of them for you, various poses, expressions etc. think black & white, it’s arty and attractive to ladies. Let the picture show the kindliness as well as the sensuality in you, a nice relaxed pose, with an arm douching another part of you can be very nice. Re profile: honesty about age and basics is essential. Age is no barrier to anything except maybe childbearing in case of a female.

There is a storm outside tonight, I am at a considerable physical distance to my “match”, there are sensual texts, just about to be another comparing him to the storm 😉

• It’s sensuality, physical attraction first and foremost. That said I am not far behind with a lot of caring and compassion, so that is equally important to me. Otherwise dead on the water.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 TryingNot2Lie

My fiancee met a guy online and left me for him. I was a bit of a mess for a while. Gave tinder a go and met a nice Brazillian girl who was working as an Au Pair near me. From chatting with her over a few days, she wanted to meet for a date, but she was looking for physical fun not romance. I was OK with that.

We met in a hotel in Galway but a few red flags popped up straight away.

First, she tried to get me drunk. Ordering multiple double and triple tequilas. Im Irish, and an alcoholic. There are few people on this island who can drink me under the table. Shane McGowan maybe.

We go to the room and she says we dont need a condom because she is on the pill. Alarm bells start ringing.

A voice in my head is saying "Theres something wrong about this situation". We start, you know, but I dont finish. She starts crying and says if I dont finish inside her, it means I dont really like her.. More alarm bells. I suggest she go to the bar and get me a large whiskey and it will add some snap into my turtle. She goes to the bar.

I got dressed as quickly as humanly possible and left via tha fire escape. Then had to scale a wall and run across the lawn in front of GMIT and ordered a taxi home.

Im not proud of what I did, but im fairly certain she just wanted to get pregnant so she could extend her visa, but her under hand tactics were very unsettling.

Sorry to hear about your fiance leaving you but you obviously dodged a bullet if that's what they're capable of.

Maybe they wanted the ride, maybe they wanted the visa, but better safe than sorry, you prob did the right thing

• Registered Users Posts: 34 TryingNot2Lie

Thanks. yeah Im pretty sure I dodged a bullet. At least she just wanted to get pregnant. At worst she wanted to get pregnany then get child suport from me.

Dont get me wrong, if someone I was dating got pregnant I would of course support them, but not when its using under hand tactics like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

That reminds me of a nutter I once knew. He was just some random bloke I knew at the time but when I first met him he was like 45 and pure grey hair. A few years later a friend, who also knew him, shows me his pof profile and there he was using a picture that had to have been 15 years old.

What's the point like? Showing a picture of you aged 35 or whatever then the 50 year old you shows up?

But as I say, he was a nutter. So can't expect no less.

Yeah of course and especially after only meeting the person once

• That’s very nasty and unscrupulous of her. There’s a certain cohort like that who have ulterior motives, and I’ve have friends taken in and treated appallingly by Brazilian males, I heard a detailed such story at Christmas. There seems to be a particular sub-culture in a certain cohort of that society which uses sex and persuasion of a type to get their own ends. It all hinges on taking advantage of another person.

Re having a glass (or bottle of whiskey) it may seem to lubricate the shyness or awkwardness of the moment, but heavy consumption over time destroys the neural pathways to the penis, which what then need medical intervention to regain sexual functioning, apart from all other functioning.

My friend at Christmas related how the Brazilian guy she met on Tinder had endured she had a good number of strong drinks, but didn’t drink himself. He never said he was a non-drinker, otherwise she would have arranged a date over a meal, an outing, a walk etc. Rather he was keeping his head clear for a purpose, and she copped on before the next drink, and made excuses to leave saying she had an appointment in the morning and politely thanking him. He suddenly got furious and started shouting at her as she walked home nearby. Fortunately he didn’t follow her all the way, she had plans of walking into a Garda station, he went off in another direction in a temper that some plan had been frustrated.

• Most matches come from sone distance, although it was embarrassing when one turned out to be a neighbour, I had T taken stock of the 1 km distance as I was clicking away on guys I liked the look of. And being 100% honest, though it is very shallow, my immediate primeval instinct says yeah or nay, to a mere picture as the starting point. In “real life”, as when meeting someone through work, the whole personality and apparent compatibility is the driving force, maybe in spite of looks. You then might find yourself thinking the other is attractive looking whether that is a broadly held opinion or not. It would be interesting to see comparative statistics on how relationships succeed or endure until some antagonistic factor sets in, as to whether they began by viewing an online profile / jump started from a once off real life meeting (eg a dance) / evolved through continual interaction as in a workplace.

• Exactly. It would be awful to have a child you might then not be allowed contact with if she hot her visa to recommence life maybe with existing partner or spouse from Brazil, maybe a whole family coming over to join the new sibling. In some of these cases you just don’t know what unscrupulous people are up to. Maybe getting out of a favela scenario and doing desperate things to succeed, maybe wiping conscious by saying to self “sure that Irish guy wasn’t serious anyway, sure he’ll easily find someone else just like I found him for my present needs”. Really, it’s awful, but one has to at times do a little double guessing as to motivation and the earlier one can go that the better, if it is possible. But we are all human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

I'd've called her bluff. When she mentioned not using a condom, just tell her "I'm firing blanks anyway" and then see if she still wants it ("it" being sex. Ooh, sex).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I was on dating sites for a short time last year. In that short time, I'd amassed a fair share of stories. People not understanding the word "no" being the biggest one.

Anyway, I wasn't long out of a long term relationship so I made it very clear to anyone who needed to know that I was not looking to jump straight into something serious. This one guy told me he understood all that, that it was fine etc. We had a good discussion about it actually before we met up, where I told him that I never want to hurt anyone so communication was very important. If that sort of arrangement wasn't working for him, he should tell me. Met up initially in a public park and had lunch. It was nice. We met maybe 3/4 times, during which there were a few red flags (with the benefit of hindsight). He started acting a little too romantically (buying flowers when I specifically told him not to, buying a second controller for his console so I could play) so I asked him if he was still okay with it being a casual arrangement. He was not, it turns out. He kept asking questions about any other guys I was chatting to or had met, and about what we'd done and a lot of other questions. Then he acted disgusted, telling me he felt sick to his stomach before asking if we could meet to discuss it. I don't know why, but I felt over text was the wrong way to be having the conversation we were having so I agreed. During that meeting, he was really huffy and child like and by the end of it, I had had enough.

I then get a message to say he was in A&E a few days later. That he was rushed there because his heart rate was erratic and his blood pressure was through the roof and the doctors were concerned. What was he blaming it on? Me.

As it turns out, there was magically nothing really wrong with him and he was let go (whether he was ever actually there or not, who knows). He then messages again, a few days after that, asking when we can meet again. I was at work when I got that message and my jaw physically dropped. I messaged him back and told him there was absolutely no way that was happening, before putting my phone away and going back to work. The next time I looked at my phone, I had a barrage of messages, missed calls and voice notes left. Some were angry, some called me a coward for not answering my phone, some called me a btch for sleeping with other men whilst he was buying me flowers (I actually wasn't at that time and yes, those flower I told him not to get), some were pleading. It was a mess. Thankfully, blocking him worked and it didn't escalate beyond that because I've had a few non online dating related stalkers in my time and never want that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm a man. Yea i heard about the horror stories from friends/girls online. Sending dick pics!?!? Like has that worked for you chief? WTF.

First they came for the socialists...

• Oh that was a dreadful experience, a controlling narcissist, the very last thing one needs in life. The earlier they are spotted the better. I saw that starting to happen on the first guy on Tinder who contacted me. Big red flags popped up quickly, sob story about finding his last girlfriend in bed with his best friend, then asked me how often I pray, do I own my own house. Absolutely weird. Ghosted & blocked very quickly.

Another seemed really genuine, but really he was still dealing with ex-wife and trying to be a good father to his teenage daughter, it absorbed his life a little bit too much. It seemed he wasn’t allowed much spare time by his ex, and she was struggling with exactly the same health issue I used to have, so I chatted about that and that maybe she go down the same path that I did. He thought it might be a great solution to her poor health.

I’ve had the “I live nearby, would you like fun tonight?” A neighbour on my estate 😱

Theres been a painfully shy guy who seemed terrified of me, kind of daring himself to meet and yet said he wasn’t very used to ladies, I suggested no problem, think that made him more nervous 😂

But then I just couldn’t resist the one who has an identical sense of humour and fun as I have.

Wow, I can see why you only stayed on it for a short time, but sadly as we both know, stalkers are on and offline, good job blocking him and glad that was the last you've heard of him. We have enough drama in our life as it is, we def don't need anymore with that shyza🙈

The only person who'd appreciate a dick pic is its owner

Its not a disorder. Its a description of behaviour. Psychiatry just loves putting a diagnostic label on bad behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Not something I'd know anything about!

Also giving girls abuse for not msging back etc. Lad she's awash with msgs, it'd take half her day to be polite, logic man, use it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ah shur my own behavior is also classed as a disorder, as a therapist once told me, its a terrible use of the phrase, i guess you could take it up with the folks over at the dsm..... it is dysfunctional behavior though, and horrendous at that, folks with such disorders do tend to be in a lot of emotional pain

They love putting a diagnosis on mental health, not bad behaviour

The folks/psychiatrists over at the dsm are usually westernised English speaking white middle class so may be a bit out of touch when talking about other people's conditions, sorry to hear about your behaviour though, doesn't sound fun 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ah it doesnt bother me at all, we need to use some sort of terms to describe unusual behaviors in others, i think we ve entered an age of high sensitivity to words and phrases, the same therapist also said to me, 'we ve managed to wrap ourselves in a knot over this', being unable to say anything to each other, so not to offend, what a weird lot we are..... im actually very comfortable with my 'disorder', i like who i am, it gives me a very different perspective on life compared to others that dont have this disorder. just to note, i have autism, id much rather have it than a disorder such as bpd, bpd truly is horrendous, even overwhelming for the sufferer, oh autism can be great fun to....