Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

IMHO and of course just my humble; Kasparov might be great at chess, but what the hell qualifies him for anything beyond that? He's Russian and he seems to hate the place? He's prone to heavy over-reaction when it comes to Russia(medieval times. 🤦) and now with all this going on with Russia anytime he spots a microphone under his gob he lets rip. And he's not the only one. This hawkish Hit putin NOW! shíte is silly and dangerous with it. It's bad enough with keyboard warriors, but non expert public figures should IMHO shut the hell up and fúck off while they're at it. If they want attention so badly, go onto Onlyfans and shove a feather duster up their jacksie while singing the Birdy Song.

Russia's military can't take Ukraine nearly as easily as they seemed to have thought they could. And we're supposed to believe he's eyeing up NATO countries like Poland? The only way he could attack in any meaningful way is with tactical nuclear weapons. If that happens and he's not taken out and "retired" by his own men for going nuts, then shít starts to get very real very quickly.

So NATO gets involved now as Kasparov and other eejits suggest. What then and how? A No Fly zone means sooner or later a NATO aircraft or AA battery shoots down a Russian aircraft. Never mind that it gives putin a gift wrapped present to show his subjects, see! They want us dead!. The Russians will fire back and again since their conventional forces are no match, we're back to chemical, biological and nuclear options. Then shít starts to get very real very quickly.

OR... we act like adults with cool heads, keep up hard sanctions and a proxy supply war that both sides may whinge about, but the nudge nudge wink wink scenario continues on like all the other proxy wars, while in the background talks continue and new talks commence and deals will be made and we'll have stepped back from what would be one of the worst disasters in humanity's history. Nobody wants that, including putin and certainly not all those around him.

This is not a video game. Even a short exchange of atomic bombs would kill millions and cause untold misery for millions more, for years. If tonight a nuclear bomb detonates over Dublin airport, pretty much everything within the M50; men, women, children, infrastructure, our cultural history and everything else, all those pasts and futures will be incinerated. And for weeks and months the fallout will rain down across Leinster and beyond causing death eithe soon or cancers for a generation. Paris, London, Madrid, Berlin, the 'eternal city' Rome, yes even Moscow, the same. Gone like they were never there.

Them's the facts people. We can rant all we like, but when a muppet has that button, that's the awful reality of it. Just be grateful he's not the only one with the button.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,535 ✭✭✭✭Varik

They're not declaring war for the same reason the US hasn't in all their adventures since ww2.

If you're officially at war that places certain trade and logistical limits on all third parties, although it might be in Russia's interest to do so now with the sanctions.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,047 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

No, flight radar works purely on plane transponders transmitting the planes location and plane details like altitude, heading and speed, so planes with transpoders turned off won't show and I'd imagine military transponders could probably accept invented flight data inputs.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,647 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The Iran deal is pretty important. Given that Putin is holding the west hostage with his nuclear weapons do you really think it is a good idea to allow Iran to get nuclear weapons too? A nuclear armed Iran will put the entire Middle East on eggshells permanently. Israel, the US, UAE and Saudi all know this so its why a deal with Iran to allow weapons inspectors into the country to ensure they are not making nuclear weapons is so important. The US wouldnt be in this situation had Trump not ripped up the previous Iran deal in the first place, Biden is just repairing the damage Trump did with the Iranians.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

Well Bozo Iran are an enemy of Saudi Arabia, it doesn’t make it right but same thing happened in Afghanistan west armed the afghans against the soviets not out of some morale stance but to weaken the soviets.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good enough for them, though they are acting like professional soldiers rather than the raw recruits and conscripts we've seen elsewhere. They're calm, they don't engage, they're not reactive and when they do react it's by shooting into the sky to clear the crowd. It seems pretty clear to me, or at least is suggestive, at least with that group that they've orders not to engage civilians with lethal force.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,907 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Wait.

Earlier on today you were saying the US will sell out Ukraine and sanction this and undermine their own sanctions on purpose.

Your all over the place fella all over the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Bayonet

Pretty sure there are words to describe folk who tar 140m+ people with the same brush. So you've come across some rude Russians. You've been unfortunate. The rudest tourists I ever met were Americans. I don't think Americans are rude as a whole. Just as with the USA, there are Russians from all sorts of ethnic backgrounds and their culture, mannerisms etc are completely different.

The Iran deal will give Iran a nuke, as it does not call for their nuke sites to be shut down/dismantled. It also runs out in 9 years or so. Iran has dozens of proxy militias in various countries. The most well known is Hezbollah. The cash injection they'll get from Biden lifting sanctions, means Iran will cause havoc in the M.E just as they did after Obama gave them pallets of cash. They initiated a war in Yemen, they've hijacked Lebanon completely, they're entrenching in Syria and have essentially made Iraq an unwilling satellite state. Iran will continue to build their nuclear weapons with little to no scrutiny.

Anyway, it's all academic. Iran's nuclear sites will be attacked by Israel and Gulf states in due course.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Nope, not at all. Multiple sources corroborate this.

What percentage of Russians that you meet are rude and uncultured?

Uncultured? Out of curiosity have you ever heard of Fyodor Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Tchaikovsky, the Russian ballet? Silly question, of course you haven't. Your real life experience of Russians seems to be a fat lad stealing your seat by the pool.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Talisman

Not necessarily fishy. Jailing her would more than likely thrown fuel on the fire in terms of inviting demonstrations.

When Navalny was jailed on trumped up charges, people went out on to the streets and not just in Moscow, Putin didn't expect that to happen and Navalny was released. A short time later Navalny's brother found himself on a wanted list.

When the commotion caused by her protest dies down, there will be repercussions. It may not be her who suffers them but somebody close to her will answer for it.

Another update from YouTube veteran Lars on how sanctions are arriving in rural Russia. Just beginning to seep in by the looks of it. You can also sense a bit of fear for what the future holds. Also, his comments about 'bloodthirsty viewers wanting to see people starving' made me think of some posters on this thread.

Putin is a scumbag. He's one person. It does not therefore mean that all Russians are scumbags. This isn't an argument you'll win, and labelling an entire nation of people "rude and uncultured" is the height of ignorance. Tolstoy, Tchaikovsky, Tatu....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Watching that I'm surprised by the amount of Western brands on the shelves - I mean you're hard pressed to find Baked Beans in Spain

Toilet roll supply looking a bit iffy though

Feels like this is all very close to home for someone claiming to be Irish. Same with the tourists Jibe earlier on.

Sure all the Russian population is holier than thou. , Wha.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

So a moron says something moronic and paints an entire people as [insert generalised xenophobic ballsology here] and your goto is to spout the exact same [insert generalised xenophobic ballsology here] going in the other direction? Brilliant. The moron in the Kremlin has at least the "excuse" of saying such utter bollocks to "justify" a criminal invasion. What's your excuse? Where's your justification? Or are you just being childishly reactive and silly? And you have the audacity to talk about logic?

No he's Russian, ex military I think. Has a bit of an unusual way of speaking but he says he had a playground accident as a child that damaged his teeth.

He makes a mean Siberian log fire.

I'm not sure the fog of war is in our favour in terms of awareness of what Ukrainian forces are and are nor doing. There was a report days ago that Ukrainian forces had taken out an entire Russian battle group near Mariupol, which would be 700-800 men. There have been numerous reports of them counter attacking and retaking towns and cities, especially Karkhiv, several times, if memory serves.

I saw something a few days ago that purported to be a US intelligence assesment that Ukraine still had most of it's aircraft available:

"Ukraine still has a “significant majority” of its military aircraft available nine days after Russian forces started their invasion of the country, a US defense official said on Friday." https://www.reuters.com/world/ukraine-still-has-significant-majority-its-military-aircraft-us-official-2022-03-04/

They don't appear to have been using their Neptune anti-ship missiles, either, so connecting the dot's, I'd say they are possibly keeping a good bit of their powder dry and making good use of small mobile groups to act on US surveilance data to harras and erode Russian forces in hit and runs, rather than wasteful full on engagements.

That not all Russians are bad people.

But most will go mad if jibes are thrown their way.

He sees Reds under the bed pretty much everywhere. Any deviation from Yellow and Blue is whiter than white, no matter how nuanced and you're a putinbot or a sympathiser or somesuch.

True. The most obnoxious and worst behaved tourists I have ever encountered were a bunch of Irish lads on a skiing holiday. Animals that should have been put down. Unfortunately the Carabinieri released them so they could fly back on the same plane after putting a massive dent in the enjoyment of a family holiday for everyone staying in the same building.

I'll never forget the sight of the old Italian woman with the stooped bent back, dressed in black, wiping the blood from the walls and floor of the corridor in her building.

Do you know what Listermint, you have a fair bit of a KGB vibe about you. The way you cast suspicion on people's motives is a disturbing trait.

Now we both know that's a fabrication now , don't we.

Aye it's me that grasps on anything remotely anti Putin or Russian and had a hernia for a few paragraphs.

You got me..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Talisman

I'd imagine military transponders could probably accept invented flight data inputs.

In 1981, Israel attacked a nuclear reactor in Iraq. One of the aircraft involved in staging the attack used a transponder code for an Aer Lingus flight.