Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gas price to rise by 39% and Electric by 27% in April.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,302 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It's free as in the tenants of the house don't have to pay for it. Paid for out of the exchequer, like social housing, you live in a country with socialist policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I don't deny their increases are inevitable but the govt subsidy will soften the initial extra bill expense for customers at that time to lessen the shock so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,647 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Oil went up from 90 to $120 a barrel when the war started, and the price of home heating oil and petrol and diesel rocketed.

Oil per barrel dropping back...but prices will stay high.

That sadly be expected. Cracking the different fractions at the refineries will increase per metre cube of each.

These are pretty brutal increases to take, all in one go.

The first thing that came to my mind was - I wonder how many people will now be reconsidering their options in relation to working from home?

And the second thing was, will this lead to a large increase in "voluntary" contribution requests for parents of schoolgoing children, next winter as schools struggle to keep up with heating costs as they are now! Same with creche fees, etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Discretionary spending..... wonder how that will be affected? Holidays abroad (more energy and carbon use), spas, nails, hair, designer coffee, drinks, meals, weekends away, massive weddings, you get the drift. There was talk about lots of folk saving a fortune during Covid and now there is a pent up demand for "things" to spend it on. Well I guess that's light, heat and fuel now.

Cutting back on the above trickles down and you know the result. All very depressing after two years of Covid. Will it be very bad I ask myself? Probably.

Working from home as a pp mentioned will save on fuel over the Spring and Summer, but conversely will be better to be in the office where the boss is paying the heating bill in the colder months!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Walking through the shopping centre recently, Parkway in Limerick. Most shops were pretty quiet, big Dunnes didn't have many people in there, most shops waiting for customers. But, massive queue for the nail salon. I've no idea how much they cost, but my god what a waste of money. No doubt the vast majority of those queuing are the same giving out about the cost of living.

It's coming, nothing we can do about it really. And asking the gubbermint for help is pointless, they've way too many hands outstretched at the moment, can't put money in them all. People will have to ease back on a lot of luxuries, but they're not affected imo, cutting back on a luxury is nothing. It's the people who are already struggling who barely scrape by as it is that will feel the worst of this.

People do need to step back from their wasteful lives. Fashion should be the first to take a hit, as it really is completely unnecessary. That includes nails, hair, etc beyond the basic grooming. People will need to re-evaluate if that foreign holiday is really required. But the worst of all, and this will be shocking to some, people may have to start wearing warm clothes in their own house in stead of using the heating! Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭beachhead

Greens won't like that comment.Prob make sure to quadruple the rate after next election or even next budget.It's saving the planet and ..ck the paddies

Same chance as getting another e200 off Mickall and Leo

Standing charge never gets much of a mention in the meja and PSO only at budget time.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I'm on rural nightsaver and yearly standing charge is currently €371...from April 15 the standing charge will be €476

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I was talking to someone earlier and he said, yeah it's going to be tough alright but sure look it, everything will be grand in a while, it always is. There's too much fuss about it all etc. etc. and sure haven't people got loads of money after Covid, they can't wait to spend it. I wonder if he is right.

I think Irish people are optimists by nature, but that never buttered any parsnips. I agree that many will not be affected that much, it is those who are budgeting hard all the time that will though.

I hope we get a bit of sunshine soon. We need a bit of cheering up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭893bet

Was in the parkway yesterday and had the exact same thought. Couldn’t believe the nail place as tumbleweeds blew else where.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I also laugh at all these women queuing up to get men to do their nails! Don't think I've ever seen a female employee in there!

The PSO is there so the ESB can continue to invest in keeping the distribution network up and running; and Eirgrid to keep the transmission network running. Those yellow vans don't run on good intentions alone.

Not everyone has loads of money after covid. I wish!

Speaking for myself, mine is a single (modest) income household. There is only so much further I can make it stretch, between the rising cost of petrol (I paid €1.76 per litre today) - now heating and lighting bills increasing and I've noticed basic foodstuffs increasing, not by huge amounts but enough that it's noticeable.

I do my own manicures and eyebrows :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

A slowdown in economic growth, yes.

A recession, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The ESB already said they would put up standing charges 27%. The cost of doing business they said.

Last time I checked, standing charges weren't a commodity fluctuating on world markets because of Putins war.

It's gouge express at the ESB.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭patnor1011

There is nothing government can do other than reopen few of the closed plants which used peat. That is if they are not scrapped completely already.

And it will be getting much worse soon. People who can not afford to spend more will be switched off and the rest will try to reduce their usage to the point that energy providers will feel the pinch too as they need certain amounts to function and make money for shareholders too. Reduced consumption will lead to another increases as providers will want to get what they need to survive or function. Never ending circle of pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Talking about parties and saying Greens were not in power is muddying the waters. It was journalists, activists and influencers with green brain fog who pushed all other parties to change policies because something, something global warming, climate change and poor polar bears. Everyone wanted to have a picture with Greta and went on mad train to nowhere chitchatting and patting themselves on the back how great we are saving the planet. At some point it was so militant that anyone who dared to mention that the likes of China keep adding coal power plants was immediately attacked with idiotic statements that change must start somewhere and similar nonsense.

It was pretty much obvious that this is going to happen, covid lockdowns accelerated inevitable and we were well on the way to hell. Good thing now is that there is a bogeyman at hand who can be blamed for it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭Snugbugrug28

At least they'll be living, unlike the poor Ukrainians on whose behalf we are absorbing these price rises.

Funny enough, the actions we need to take are the same ones we need to take to combat climate change - stop burning fossil fuels, endure pain

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭tommybrees

They lobbied. Predicted doomsday scenarios. They must have been doing something to earn there wages like. we no the government will go with the flow of whatever is populist at the time.

As a country I think we have almost next to nothing in terms of energy independence.

An island nation being almost totally dependent on energy and food imports is insanity. the government has us in this mess, I have absolutely no faith in them getting us out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

That's a mad hike and I thought prices were bad here in Germany! What will the new prices be?

I'm currently paying 28c night/32c day kWh but also due a price hike, these sort of numbers from Bord Gais are scary.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Dont worry. They will increase the standing charge too to get people like you who cut back. how dare you?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

It actually pummels the middle income workers. Where do people think the money is coming from to pay fuel allowances etc to the lower paid?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

I was just wondering can you switch early to another supplier as the terms of the contract have been changed by the supplier, similar to a mobile phone contract for example?