Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Energy infrastructure

• Registered Users Posts: 10,377 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Genuine question but how much KWH would the average house use per day?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I cannot speak for others, but in my house, we use about 8 KWh per day, as measured by a meter, and by our bill. Now, we do not use any electricity for space heating, nor for drying clothes. 35% of that electricity is background stuff (between 100W and 130W) - in that our consumption during the night (taken as over 24 hours) averages at 35% of that 8 KWh. All lighting is by LED, electric oven but gas hob. CH controls and fridge/freezer are on 24 hours.

I would think that a typical house would be twice that - say between 15 KWhs and 20 KWhs.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,377 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

So taking the higher numbers at 20KWH, if you had a Tesla or ID4 etc you could get 3 days backup from the car at full charge!

That’s interesting

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

You would not want to take more than 50% from an EV , I would have thought. Surely, you have to leave the EV usable.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

If you had a power outage, you would realistically reduce your power usage to just the most important items to conserve power during the outage, e.g. I don’t think you would run the washing machine, tumble dryer, etc. So your daily usage would likely be a lot less.

Also you could drive your EV to the closest fast charger to get a charge to last you a few more days.

Solar panels might help to top up batteries. Of course a diesel generator is always an option too.

I’ve colleagues in the Texas who have gone all out on solar panels + Tesla Power wall + EV to avoid a repeat in the last power outage there.

BTW keep in mind that oil and gas boilers usually need electricity to operate anyway, so they aren’t really an alternative.

Of course we are talking about rural homes here. Such multi day outages don’t happen in urban or suburban areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭gjim

I don't really agree. The number one priority for the planet and humankind is to decarbonize energy as much as possible and as soon as possible. Given the scale of the catastrophe we are facing if we fail to do so, we need to pursue this goal using laser focus and stick to exclusively using the most effective and quickest methods available to us. This means dropping any "nice to haves" or methods which will be too slow, expensive or difficult to implement.

On the production side, we can de-carbonize electricity production far faster and cheaper power station by power station instead of home by home. I consider extra resilience against power loss during a storm as a nice-to-have in the context of this effort as it comes at the cost of slowing the process considerably or doubling or tripling the cost of doing so. For example, adding PV to each home typically takes about 3 days to add 1 to 4KW, while doing it at grid-scale, you can roll out 1MW in a month; and the LCOE for domestic is about 3 times that of grid-scale solar PV. The story is even worse for wind.

On the transport size, I'm a huge fan of public transport, but trying to completely re-define how people go about their day to day in order to reduce emissions is a radically more difficult, expensive and worst of all slow process than simply banning all new ICE sales from 2025 or 2030. PT projects are notoriously slow to complete - and this isn't just an Irish thing.

By all means, we can (and should) pursue improved PT infrastructure anyway but not make the decarbonisation of transport contingent on it. Similarly we can encourage some domestic renewable production and storage - for those that want it and have suitable and sufficient roof-space - but not make decarbonisation of production in any way contingent on it.

I spent a while but couldn't find it but there was a YouTube video from 2 guys where they were curious about how long they could last in an emergency. 

They had a Tesla, solar panels and powerwalls and they were able to run their place for about 3 weeks disconnected from the grid and this included keeping the car going and living normally.

Looks like tidal and wave energy are seeing a resurgence in investment and development. Hopefully there will be some tangible gains from all this.

Some crazy amounts of funding going in to relatively low output projects however you'd have to hope that this would allow for a greater rollout of these technologies over the long term, well for wave at least, tidal will always be an extremely niche generation source due to geographical limitations

One criticism that gets trotted out in relation to wind, is the waste from turbine blades when it comes time to decommission.

A project set up last year has just created a recyclable 62 meter blade.

It's still early days yet in the development process and a lot of validation is still to be done but great to see progress in this area.

The 62-metre blade was made using Arkema’s Elium® resin, which is a thermoplastic resin known for its recyclable properties together with the new high-performance Glass Fabrics from Owens Corning, LM Wind Power said.

Launched in September 2020, the ZEBRA (Zero wastE Blade ReseArch) project is a unique partnership led by French research center IRT Jules Verne and brings together industrial companies including Arkema, CANOE, Engie, LM Wind Power, Owens Corning, and SUEZ.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

A lot of cases it'll just be to draw grants, saw a few feasibility study grants given for possible windfarms when it was obvious they would never be built, too low,close to houses, known flood issues. There's a mindset that the money must be spent no matter the outcome

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

EV transport sounds great except it also is green-washing unless there is also an intention of putting curbs on the use of cars vs public transport. The ideal is to expand the use of PT, but encourage the car sharing of the type GoCar do where a pay as go allows rural users to forgo car ownership in favour of occasional use of such a service. Probably, it would mean getting rid of the second car in the household.

You cannot restrict one form of transport where the alternative is poor to non-existent. One thing that will be key in our strategies on all fronts is to avoid short-sighted diktats and summarily banning things. In the absence of clear and obvious solutions it will be quite an eclectic mix of resources being fed into our grid for quite a long while.

I think that the usual interpretation of 'encourage the use of' to mean 'restrict the use of' is a common reaction of some posters. This is wrong.

People follow guidance, or not - it is up to themselves. If they are restricted, there is no choice.

It is a fallacy to think that the replacement of every ICE car with an EV will do anything for the environment - what is needed is a reset of habits and attitudes. Insulate your home, or wear a woolly jumper. Do not make journeys you do not need to make, or walk or cycle, or even use PT. Perhaps, give up the second car, and make use of Go-Car type services. These are choices - not available to all, but available to many. If those that can change - do, those actions will make a difference, and enough do, there will be a good effect on the climate..

The whole way of life needs a complete reset - not a slight change. However, the perfect is the enemy of the good - but green washing is just pretending to solve the problem.

"It is a fallacy to think that the replacement of every ICE car with an EV will do anything for the environment - what is needed is a reset of habits and attitudes."

How so? Road traffic is responsible for nearly 20% of emissions. Total lifetime emissions per km is about 2/3rds less for an EV compared to ICE. And that's just the benefit in 2022 - as renewables continue to expand displacing fossil fuels for electricity generation, the EV becomes even less CO2 intensive automatically. In other words, replacing an ICE vehicle with an EV will cut emissions immediately by about 2 thirds in 2022. The very same vehicle, if still on the road, could end-up representing a 90% reduction in 8 years time if the 2030 goals for electricity production are met.

The hypothetical scenario you raise, where every ICE vehicle were replaced by an EV, would IMMEDIATELY reduce global emissions by about 15% - which is hardly "doing nothing for the environment".

And the other benefits - no more poisoning people with particulates and NOx emissions and slashing dependence on loathsome oil and gas exporting regimes - while also stabilising the grid.

EV sales are growing exponentially - on average by 50% a year since 2015. Just letting this process continue will mean almost the complete elimination of new ICE vehicles sales by 2030. All we have to do is sit back and not get in the way of technological progress.

Your suggested alternative - the elimination of the private car - is completely infeasible in these sort of timescales. It would require a complete reconfiguration of society and settlement patterns - a huge chunk of our housing stock would have to be abandoned (about 30% is one-off housing according to last census) - as PT simply cannot meet the transport needs of those living isolated housing. Doing all this may be desirable in itself, but we just don't have time.

getting closer to a full framework for the development of offshore wind

The Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, Eamon Ryan TD, today announced the commencement of the Maritime Area Consent (MAC) Regime. The new regime enables the Minister, on an interim basis, to issue Maritime Area Consents (MACs) to renewable energy developers who meet the relevant assessment criteria. Developers must have a Maritime Area Consent to make an application for permission, to include environmental assessments, to An Bord Pleanála.

The Minister will assess MAC applicants in key areas, including financial and technical competency. This assessment of potential offshore developers will ensure that only the most viable offshore projects will have the opportunity to apply for permission from An Bord Pleanála, thus streamlining the process. The first MACs are expected to be issued in the second half of 2022.

Massive recession looming,car sales dropping both new and used, average car age is 9years old, still lots of 15-16 year old vehicles on the road, lots of even older 4x4s. Massive number of vintage vehicles and tens of thousands of 40 plus year old tractors that aren't going anywhere.

ESB auctioning off 5 year old Land-rover Defender 130s and replacing them with electric Nissans that aren't fit for purpose shows how idiotic a lot of this Green bunkum is

Sodium ion batteries look like a viable alternative to Lithium based batteries and the tech has a huge amount going for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭bob mcbob

This company is soon going to have a commercial Sodium battery available this year. Interestingly they make different battery types (with different chemistry's) and they currently see the market for Sodium batteries as static electrical power back-up's.

The companies have teamed up to deliver one of the world’s first solar-powered energy storage units to bring electricity to remote sub-Saharan African communities.

They are currently a heavier than Lithium but they do not have the potential thermal overload issues.

The key element to this chemistry is the fact that it has a safer thermal structure, now fast becoming a key factor to its predicted success, along with its ability to operate in a broad temperature range, and it is safe to transport.

Oh they'll go somewhere alright - the scrap heap. Some will be kept around by hobbyists and collectors I'm sure, the way steam-powered vehicles turn up at vintage car fairs. Or maybe the very wealthy will keep ICE vehicles as a status symbol, the way they keep and ride horses after hoi polloi abandoned horses for personal transport.

It's a simple numbers/finance game.

In this example, the Nissans will cost about 4 euro per 100km for electricity (at 24c/kWh) - the Defender does what about 9 or 10km per litre of diesel - which would be 16 euro per 100km at current prices. Then there's the annual maintenance - you'll spend on average about a grand on general maintenance for the Defender every year - the average for an EV is less than half of that.

Even doing just 10,000km a year, the Defender is going to cost you nearly 2 grand a year more in fuel and maintenance.

Commercial fleets are switching on mass to EVs because the accountants have done the sums and, even with the higher sticker price, the total cost of ownership of an EV is much less than an ICE vehicle.

That's before you take into account the vastly superior performance in terms of torque, acceleration and ride comfort of EVs. And the fact that you're not pumping NOx and particulates into the air.

Nothing strange about this - new technology displaces old technology - a story as old as humankind.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,904 ✭✭✭✭josip

I got the impression from RandomViewer that the ESB had replaced a vehicle with reasonable off road and towing capabilities (Land Rover Defender) with a vehicle that didn't have those capabilities. I don't know if he meant a Leaf, but I'm not aware of any off-road Nissan. Easily forgotten by us city dwellers, but an awful lot of ESB infrastructure is off road, down farm tracks or in fields.

All that being said, the bigger issue here is why they had Defenders in the first place. As the Australians say, "If you want to go into the bush, buy a Land Rover. If you want to come back from the bush, buy a Land Cruiser."

Post edited by josip on

Nv200 isn't even a proper van, like giving the army Smart cars as troop carriers, the irony that if we have a massive power cut the ESB won't have any vehicles charged enough to repair the faults

This isn't new technology, electric vehicles have existed for over a century they just aren't fit for purpose. Torque and acceleration in a vehicle needed for load carrying and some off road capability,rhyming off the Renault/Nissan sales brochure is silly

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭medoc

Lumclon Energy granted permission for a 275 megawatt gas power station in Rochfortbridge. They already have battery plants in operation in Offaly with more planned.

Could you clarify, is your problem with the vehicle form factor, or the fact that it uses an electric power train?

And how do you know they're not fit for purpose? As news article about the purchase:

ESB does not expect any restrictions in everyday life either. “We have conducted market research as well as extensive trialling to ensure that we are not compromising daily range nor our load capacity,” says Paul Mulvaney, Executive Director, ESB Networks.

Now you may claim this is rubbish and yer man doesn't know what he's talking about but to prove it, tell us about the trialling and research you've done to be so sure of yourself?

Claiming modern EVs are in anyway related to century-old lead-acid golf carty vehicles is simply daft. It'd be like pointing at a Wright brothers' era biplane and saying "sure those things could never fly people between countries - passenger airplanes are not fit for purpose".

EVs are not superior in EVERY possible way (just like horses, in some aspects are better for getting around than motorcars) but they are superior in enough ways (performance, cost of ownership, non-polluting, noise, ride quality, etc.) that the global ownership and price trends are clear - ICE is a dead man walking in terms of vehicle technology.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,904 ✭✭✭✭josip

@gjim, Happy to be corrected but there aren't any EVs at the moment that have the same capabilities as the likes of a Defender.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,676 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

"ESB auctioning off 5 year old Land-rover Defender 130s and replacing them with electric Nissans that aren't fit for purpose shows how idiotic a lot of this Green bunkum is

Nv200 isn't even a proper van, like giving the army Smart cars as troop carriers, the irony that if we have a massive power cut the ESB won't have any vehicles charged enough to repair the faults"

I'm sorry, but this is ill informed nonsense! The ESB are not replacing 4x4's with NV200's !!

The ESB have bought 70 NV200's to replace their fleet of small yellow Diesel vans. They are a like for like replacement. These vans are used for pretty light duties, like metering and the NV200 is a fine replacement for them.

To put this in context, the ESB fleet has over 2,000 vehicles, including small, medium and large vans, 4x4's and trucks.

Of course, eventually the ESB would like to replace them all with EV vehicles, but it will be done gradually, in phases, only as suitable replacements become available. I'm sure the 4x4's and trucks will be the last to change and maybe they will go with a plug-in hybrid for those.

This shows a big advantage that fleet operators have, they usually have a pretty good idea how their fleet is used, distances travelled daily, etc. and as a result can gradually move to EV in the parts of the fleet that it makes sense to given the options currently available.

Today was the first time I've spotted a full-size electric van decked out in An Post livery. Have they made a big move in that direction?

I see there's a row brewing in the State with the Post Office there. Trump did his usual thing of appointing someone to gut it. It's a different kind of post than a cabinet position so they're still in charge for now. Anyway they had a deal ready for a bunch of electric vehicles that'd be cost neutral and support US production but nah, they're probably gonna end up with another generation of ICE.

There's different use cases and I really wish people would get their heads around that for everything to do with EVs. For delivery the EVs would be pretty much ideal. As an example, I was waiting for an Amazon package a few weeks ago to someone else's house. Got a notification and followed the driver for 14 deliveries before mine (guessing they might go by distance, otherwise it's very early for it) which took about 1.5 hours. He did under 10km in that time and rocked up in a Mercedes sprinter. So unnecessary. Pretty much any large regional town can be covered by EVs (and some could be taken by assisted-pedalling yokes) and even some rural areas. Get the post offices going again, promote their low-cost banking options. An EV would cover the hinterland around most rural post offices.

Now I know someone will find something somewhere where there's a delivery van that did 600km in a day but that's not what I'm talking about. And it's a sign of the fact that we're still at the beginning of the market, though I think government subsidies are distorting things and pushing focus to the mid/high end of the consumer market.

Story was their leasing the white diesel vans and buying the electric ones

An post plan to have nearly 1,000 EV's by the end of next year. They have several hundred already

Some realism around nuclear fusion and the prospects for it. In summary, even the usual phrase associated with it, "fusion is just 20 years away", looks widely optimistic.

"Today was the first time I've spotted a full-size electric van decked out in An Post livery. Have they made a big move in that direction?"

Yes, I've seen them all over Dublin the past two years. My local DPD driver has a EV van too, the NV200.

"There's different use cases and I really wish people would get their heads around that for everything to do with EVs. For delivery the EVs would be pretty much ideal."

Exactly, An Post started out with just Dublin City Center, they were a big success, then moved out to the other cities, is currently expanding their usage to the suburbs and eventually when new models come along with enough range, they will also convert the vans that operate rural areas.

And it makes perfect sense, there may well be some rural routes that do 200km+ a day, but the vast majority of the fleet probably don't do much more then 100km a day plodding around our cities, in stop-go traffic, averaging 15km/h. EV's are perfect for that.

BTW On Amazon, apparently they already have 100 EV vans in Ireland, Mercedes eSprinters, so it may have been an EV van you were following! I most take a closer look myself the next time. I don't think the Sprinter and eSprinter look obviously different.