Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claire Byrne Live (RTE1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,310 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If you don't like the state provided home and want to live in a tent or caravan then that's a lifestyle choice that you should finance yourself, like some people who like to travel on luxury yachts v's live in Dalkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,393 ✭✭✭CH3OH

I know lots of people that would love to have that difficult problem of living in a house.

Only problem is they don't get a house handed to them and can't afford to buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Eileen Flynn is a career victim hustler , she is guarenteed a foot massage by media but does absolutely nothing to improve the plight of travellers or relations between them and the general population

M

This guy will be lynched.

M

'Collecting' scrap.

He is a brave man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭1992ChainGang

He'll want security leaving the studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

No fear of letting him respond to any questions

M

Money unspent...will they mention the luxury social homes they refuse to move in to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensausage

What did he say?? I stopped watching a while ago.

M

Not a single sitting TD on to recommend that they set up halting site in their electorial area, I wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Icsics

Too much money altogether wasted on them. Why don’t they pay for their own WiFi like the rest of us??

M

I guess there will be no mention of bare knuckle boxing for cash and the callout videos with death threats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭touts

Started to call out the criminal behaviour of some travellers. Got shouted down by the granny who insisted there was nothing wrong in the travelling community and everyone loved them in Coolock.

She is confusing love with fear.

Didn't that happen in Tipperary aswell? There was no land for them to keep horses

M

I think if Pat Kenny was at the wheel tonight he would have asked it, it's too much of an ask for Claire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Icsics

They are different Claire & if u had first hand experience of them ud know that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Bit of karaoke, the lads will all think they are in a pub and wreck the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Seeing all the "outrage" from people on twitter about discrimination to travellers, you just know they've never been on the receiving end of travellers crimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I know this could be seen as a stupid question but if that young man actually had been given approval for joining the Gardai; How would other travellers who have criminal convictions react to that type of situation?

If I could explain my view on this situation in a rational way; the abusive comments that the young man received for making attempts to join the force, through the official recruitment process, may be seen as a big indicator that it could begin a huge trend of violence towards him and his other colleagues of the force who are there on duty with him and even towards members of his family.

If the abusive comments that he received from other travellers, who have criminal records, on social media it does show that the level of aggression out there with going ahead with this task could be very unsafe for him. The other travellers who would post the aggressive comments to him on social media could be classed as being serious criminals who could have long lists of convictions on their record since they were young kids.

I could fear that this young man could also put the security protocols of the Gardai under exceptional risk if he was officially recruited to join them if that was going to be done soon.

There is a perception out there right now in the modern world that if you had to go out and do an honest days work in the morning; you would be entitled to say to your employer that you want to keep safe while you're in your workplace.

But while you get to go out to work for the Gardai or any other police force across the world; undergoing that type of work should be regarded as a completely different beast in how you carry out your duties within the eyes of society and the law itself.

You are doing this job within an environment that can espouse a lot of danger for yourself if you don't keep your wits about you. You are dealing with dangerous thugs in the wider world that have huge potential to physically harm you while you are out there just doing your job.

If someone was being recruited into the Guards while the community it came from had a huge level of criminality around itwhile trying to look after their own; What does that tell you about the state of play in this situation. It sounds to me like that it could be very risky behaviour to actually get him recruited in the 1st place.

I know it shouldn't be right to say that but that could be the reality of the situation at hand. There is a sick & twisted irony being talked about out there among these scumbags that could suggest that going into the Guards could get him killed by then if he was regarded as a person who was working in a position of higher authority.

The travellers who had expressed the comments to him on social media would already take an aggressive view on the matter. They wouldn't like itone bit if he was seen to be working from within that authority. They may see him as an outcast in their own dangerous heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Claire would love a culturally diverse site next to her house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭Deeec

Last night's show was very poor. As always in discussions re travellers noone discussed why society has a problem with travellers - criminal activity, fueding, theft, tax avoidance, unemployment, overuse of benefits, education avoidance, dumping and untidy halting sites.

Clare never asked any relevant questions to her hard done by travellers. Travellers cause their own problems and until they address and acknowledge there is issues within their own community things will never change.

Change has to happen within their own community before travellers can be accepted by society. - thats the biggest issue but they never acknowledge that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

There are plenty of African American police in USA……white/Caucasian Americans would say similar things about black communities as in nobody would want a black family moving in next door to them, there is a disproportionate number of black males in American prisons etc etc….!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

How Ironic, yet more violent thuggery being reported on, from Longford Town on the very day this special broadcast.

For decades now, we've heard utter BS about the lack of funding, education, housing and supports when the opposite is true. I'd wager no section of Irish society has had so much money diverted to it.

There has to be a point were government and society say enough is enough. The most Galling aspect of what has being going on, is the disgraceful distruction of Quality housing built at enormous cost when so many others are often waiting a decade or more for housing. Bad enough the distruction, there are others in this cultural cohert who put their noses up at new housing because of the lack of grazing land and stables, its beggar's belief. Can people who defend this outrageous behaviour understand what happens if a settled person refuses an offer of housing, its simple, they loose their place on the housing list, can those who defend the deliberate destruction of property understand what would happen to settled culprits, I can, criminal prosecution.

There's an odious and outrageous 2 tier system in Ireland, Them and us, different strokes for different folks and one Rule for travellers, and other rules for the rest of society. Of course the difference being, settled people have to abide by the laws and rules of the state, the rest can and do what they want without sanction.

I refused to watch last night because I knew exactly what the narrative would be, RTE specialise in this and refuse, ever to ask hard and serious questions. They practically have a correspondent dedicated to reporting on hard pressed traveller's. I know of no society in the world that ethic recognition, essentially permits a section of society to do as they please with Zero accountability.

Attached is from Sunday world, warning video unpleasant and its also featured in the Indo and other publications but of course won't feature on RTE.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,909 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Last night's show has probably given rte and tubs an idea for another LLS filler.

A traveller special.

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭rightmove

Wonder will they be offering one lucky viewer the chance to have an all expenses paid getaway to a halting site in longford?