Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you fight for Dublin like Ukrainians are for Kyiv?

I love my wife and kids more than I love Ireland.

And the OP had a pop at tech workers in post 1, but that didnt seem to annoy you the same ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

They shite on about their fight culture but when there is real fighting to be done they seem to be scarce.

First they came for the socialists...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

Most of your friends have a gun licence. That's nuts and is suspect untrue

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭pjcb

so you are referring to the The French invasion of Ireland during the Irish Rebellion of 1798.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,023 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I said our ancestors did it when it was last required.

Ill give you a clue. It happened between 1919 and 1921.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭dunnerc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I like to think I would be far more effective using data, a little math and high performance computing but if it came down to it, I suppose I would pick up a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I can see people wanting to do this if feel you're looked after well in your country and would fight to preserve it but would you fight for your country that only uses you for your economic labour and couldn't give a rats arse if you can't afford to rent or a place to call home? expensive living?

Why would you want to fight to preserve that? If you have a family then i can see that reason but if you're a single man/woman i don't know.

I would've said yes 100% a few years ago but as i grow older that percentage is dropping pretty fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,716 ✭✭✭✭maccored

sure wouldn't we be terrorists then Father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

Totally agree. I'd let the Russians take this place. The work shy dole rats wouldn't know what hit them.

Ireland is ranked #2 on Europe for obesity 😂😂. Yeah we would have an amazing civilian defence force.

Anyway half this country youth is obsessed with Twitter and communism 🤣🤭. Let's give them a taste of it under the Russians.

Best of all they'd ban Facebook and Twitter. Mental health would improve over night. No more meehole, veruka, and cabbage boy would also improve people's mental health. It would be time for the country to get back to work the way nature intended, building bridges, cities, infrastructure. Obesity would be a thing of the past and the dole would be used for those in need, not to feed an underclass of wasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Hooked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

LOL.

Good call. In addition to Mehole et al, I’d almost wave the white flag myself if it meant never having to endure the likes of vacant face McEntee, Amadan O’Riordian, little Woderick O’Gorman, and that cretin Heather Humphries.

Suddenly, the Russians aren’t looking so bad..

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

Your skills would be wasted driving a tractor Beasty!

Our new masters will need good men such as yourself, to round up anyone deemed to be holding the "wrong opinions" and hand them over to be "re-educated". I get the sense that line of work would be right up your street Mr. B! 😉

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭sekiro

Why bother?

Some of the absolute scumbags going around. Why would I fight for them? Cos I guarantee some of these wasters wouldn't be doing ANY fighting.

When the fight is over, then what? Back to people getting away with assaults and robberies and back to letting people with 100s of convictions roam the streets at the taxpayers expense. Nah. I'd rather not.

Defend a society where people will actively try to ruin your life because of a misunderstood joke or comment? Or where I have to listen to people endlessly prattle on about who is racist and sexist and this phobic and that phobic over the smallest perceived slight? Nope. Not for me.

Looking around I would not give up my life for a single one of these people. I'd rather just kill myself if it came down to it than die knowing that my sacrifice might mean that some of the absolute c**** that populate this country would live.

Completely agree with you. 100%.

Look at this website. Half of these lads are arguing endlessly over Trump / Biden while Politicians virtue signalling daily who can suddenly build houses for upwards of 100k people yet wouldn't bother to help the Irish people working away paying taxes here for years? Look at that shite on twitter when that poor girl was murdered in Tullamore. They all went on an attack on the ordinary Irish man and when it came to light it was a Roma gypo living off the grid here they got exposed quickly.

Then you go into any town in the country to walk around and its populated by tracksuit wearing scumbags.

Who would want to fight and die for any of these D1ckheads.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭sekiro

In the context of the murder in Tullamore it is interesting that just a couple of months ago Irish men were being slammed from pillar to post in the media and then just a few months later we're asking "you'd fight for us if there was a war on, right?"

Talk about Stockholm Syndrome, eh? Vilified and slagged off, forced to endure some kind of "guilt by association" while constantly being berated for how privileged you are. Then asked if you'll lay down your life for this society that apparently can't f****** stand you at the best of times and outright tries to associate you with horrendous crimes at the worst of times. Yes, I'll totally die for people who hate me ! LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What would I be fighting for? Brazillian Deliveroo drivers? Google and Facebook? REIT landlords? Our right to Home Rule as a part of the EU? Our individual rights as citizens that went sailing out the window during the lockdown?

The only thing I have left in Dublin I'd fight for are some siblings and relatives, and they can make their own minds up if they want to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'd want the Russians to implement a Stalin style of ruling here with purges , relocation of minority groups , gulags etc. Sure the weather would probably get colder too.

I'd also want a Beria type of character in charge of the Gardai and an executioner like Blokhin who managed to execute 7000 souls in 28 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭arthursway

As the original poster in this thread I must say I'm dissapointed by the lack of people who would put their lives on the line for this beautiful little island we call home.

An island only two/three generations ago had to be fought for from invaders.

It just shows you what can be diluted through a couple generations of peace and prosperity.

Have we lost what made is Irish?

Are we just capitalist greedy people now who care no longer for eachother?

Country pubs are all gone nearly,

Everyone with a brain has to **** off to a city and never come back. Good luck to them but these people never come back and I think it's that's sad.

The Irish countryside is on a ventilator and the next recession will do so much damage to rural Ireland it will put our way of life on life support and the truth is the money won't be there to keep the life support machine on so our way of life will die.

The next recession will be the invasion that rural Ireland will succum to without a shot fired the proud way of life will die a death so sad to us it will haunt us for generations.

I worry so much for rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Why would you fight for Ireland/Dublin ?

the country is both fûcked has been fücking us over backwards…

we are taking in 10,000 Ukrainian people, to house, feed… shelter, and…

the 10,000 are ALL to be given medical cards…. Fine, ok.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ukrainian-refugees-will-be-given-medical-cards-says-donnelly-1.4820398?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Fukrainian-refugees-will-be-given-medical-cards-says-donnelly-1.4820398

But… tens of thousands of Irish people have lost medical cards over the last decade, and are doing so NOW..

yet, the services and help that people could do with or need is being enabled to others, yet those actually paying for it cannot avail of it themselves…

public transport is the pitts, the metro, god knows if we’ll see it, government have admitted that 2035 is the earliest it will be ready….healthcare is toxically poor, unavailable, unreliable or savagely expensive…without a medical card or insurance.

are you ready to give your life for an overcrowded country, corrupted ideology and people that are paid to do fûcking nothing for its citizens ? And who take our money for it ?

it’s a kip…not beyond saving but I don’t see it happening….

read the proclamation, it might as well be written about the Republic of Novgorod.

“We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland and to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible.”

Did we ever have a referendum to rip that up ?

will I fight ? No, because it’s unlikely this country will fight for me… it didn’t when it could have…

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

No I'd get the **** out of dodge and let the invading power do what they have to do. I don't feel like the institutions of this state represent my interests so why would I fight to keep that alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,629 ✭✭✭✭downcow

Oh dear. This has to be one of the most ridiculous posts I have read yet on the boards. 😂

“In that sense, we are in a very similar position to the UK as Ukraine is to Russia.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

read the proclamation, it might as well be written about the Republic of Novgorod.

“We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland and to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible.”

Did we ever have a referendum to rip that up ?

We never had a referendum to adopt the contents of the proclamation of independence. The groups who took part in the Easter rising cannot at the time of the rising legitimately claim to have the full support of the people of Ireland.

That support came later following the executions of the rising leaders. The political legitimacy comes from sinn feins performance in the 1919 election and the creation of the first Dáil.

Post edited by RobbieTheRobber on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

If this thread is anything to go by, Irish people have a serious contempt for one another

why are you worried about rural Ireland? beef and dairy and other food are always going to be in demand. Why would you be hit worse by recessions than elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I think it says more about the posters of current affairs than the Irish People. I would never assume this forum is representative of Ireland in General.

Dole scum, workshy, fat people, brazilians, immigrants, junkies... They really do harbour a lot of resentment.

Not surprising giving the example we are set…

our politicians have nothing but contempt for us….

“We’re going to mobilise all the resources that are available to us to do it.”

“But it does mean there’s a need for Government then to be open and honest about the fact that we will not be able to meet every other need that we want to respond back to because the need to respond back to humanitarian needs that we are going to face will be so important.”

in other words, Irish taxpayers wellbeing…will be and is being fuçked under the bus… and he makes zero apology for it.

200,000 people = the population of Cork city…

every taxpayer being charged for the privilege of getting shafted. Our ‘needs’ won’t be responded to…. A hell of an admission.

our ‘Needs’.. grim, unacceptable and ver, very worrying.

nothing left to fight for, our politicians and the money men don’t fight for us… country is fûcked.

What you have, hold it…

if you are a single person living in a 3 bedroom house you inherited they’ll soon be coming for it..mark my words.

Post edited by Strumms on

How do you expect us to take any immigrants at all without it costing the taxpayer?

I expect it to cost the taxpayers money, I don’t expect it to cost taxpayers their wellbeing, 200,000 people, the population of Cork city arriving here to be housed and looked after… will cost us just that.

so again… fight for the privilege of becoming second class citizens and taxpayers in our own country when we are there already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

When I think of national pride, I think of primary school and the Christian brothers. Those lads were great for a bit of indoctrination, I enjoyed it, it gave me pride in my identity. Going by the reactions here I guess their influence it waning. Are they not teaching people about Irish history in primary school anymore? I've never heard a greater bunch of moaners in all my life. Just pathetic, always looking to see what everyone else is "getting" instead of being proud and grateful to be an independent person. The point of being strong is to carry more weight than others, not to sit around bitching and moaning and expecting praise and respect. Helping others, particularly war refugees is a privilege and if Twitter is aghast with misandry, so be it, it is a place for children and the chattering classes, who really cares.

really doubt 200,000 people will come here, but I'm sure you'll be fine. Are you hard up financially at the moment?

Not in the slightest actually, but it’s not ‘all about me’…and financially isn’t the sole concern.

To fight for Ireland is now like fighting for the girl who was never really interested in you anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

I'd suggest places in Dublin for the Russians to bomb.

I just find it mad how there's all this concern from people about the poor and the homeless since the prospect of incoming refugees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Don't forget Mimimum Unit Pricing for alcohol and the heroin addicts. You're fighting for them too!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I think its unfair to frame it like that.

I think people felt helpless when it came to government funding towards poor and homeless.

The government were aware of these issues but were seemingly unable to do anything about it. Now it seems that they easily could have considering how quickly they sprung into action to assist refugees from the Ukraine.

It is only natural for people who aren't au fait with the in's and outs of these complex situations to wonder why the government didn't spring into action as quickly and as efficiently to help the citizens of the country in the same way they are helping the refugees.

It's not a case of people only caring about these issues because they don't like refugees which is the gist of your post that I quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Firstly, "Dublin" is not an island.

Regarding Ireland - this is my point: people aren't bothered fighting for it now, even without an invasion.

You ask "have we lost what made us Irish?" which is an interesting question, but begs the clarification: what really is it that makes us Irlsh?

More then poor and homeless at risk from what’s about to transpire.

200,000 people arriving here, gifted medical cards, cash, accommodation as has been confirmed….im concerned for a lot more than just poor and homeless…

so I wouldn’t be going giving up my life to fight for Ireland…. It didn’t fight for me and my health when it should have… and still isn’t, Ireland fights for literally everyone and anybody, their wellbeing over that of taxpayers…

The analogy I’ve used is as an Irish person now it’s like paying for a trolley of groceries, but on walking away from the till you are handed a half full basket after paying for the full trolley.

not worth fighting for.

Dundrum shopping center and the North Wall for a start. If they can take out Bray, great - but there's not really much a tactical reason to do so...

This forum despises Dublin single mothers getting social housing, and the "welfare classes" in general, and now so many people seem to be worrying about them not getting given free houses, with the influx of Ukrainians coming here. It's funny to see is all.

I'll be fighting for me dole

I can only speak for myself, but I despise people who game the system and take advantage of our generous welfare benefits.

I think its not a bad thing to be critical of career welfare recipients who have no intention to be a contributor and are content to sponge off the system.

I think you can be critical of people like that, and also have concern for homeless people, people who are poor and people who have fallen on hard times and for one reason or another, unable to receive benefits, unable to claim benefits, unable to access medical help or treatment they require, unable to afford prescriptions, living in poverty etc.

There are a lot of genuine people who struggle and receive little to no assistance. That's who I would be worried about

I don't think many people are worried that the likes of Margaret Cash might not get her 9 bedroom house in Dalkey because of a Ukranian refugee

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

You say that like the contempt is unjustified.

If you want the Irish be rootless cosmopolitan cheerleaders for gloablism, cultureless and defined only by narcissistic consumerism while selling the country to every REITS investor and MNC that comes knocking with a wad of cash, like a cheap streetwalker of a nation, then what loyalty or allegiance to this country do you imagine is warranted or deserved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

I think you will find many of your ancestors spat on the prisoners as they were marched from the GPO to their prison cells awaiting execution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

So you would kill innocent people for a cause that you dont believe in and were not forced to do so by anyone but you call a career soldier a coward as they follow orders?

Strange outlook on war/life in general.