Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl weed burner?

• 03-03-2022 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Has anyone ever used a electric weed burner or similar? are they effective? or a waste of time and money

btw - does it leave any marks behind on patios?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I have their flame (gas) weed burner. I don't find it a lot of use and its not all that effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

Them yokes are a pure and utter waste of time.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Coddle4dinner

The idea behind them is that they damage the cells off the weed by boiling the water in them.

I have a gas one and its its shite!

I used it for lighting the BBQ now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I have one that I bought for charring the inside of planter boxes I was making; it's perfectly fine for that. I tried burning some weeds with it but it was crap enough

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,888 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

depending on how big a weed issue you have, it may be cheaper and easier to boil the kettle and use boiling water on the weeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

thanks everyone, i'm a sucker for gadgets but having read your replies this is one gadget i'll avoid

back to roundup 😑

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,521 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The gas-powered one is ok to use in Ireland after several weeks of drought 🙄 I'd be prepared to give the mains powered one a go but I've got a couple of cans of gas to use up.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Yes, couple of cans of gas in the garage...do they have an expiry date? 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Bought one today for 24.99. Tried it this afternoon.

24.99 wasted. It didn't seem to make any difference to the weeds. If anything I think they liked it. On the plus side it didn't mark the patio. The only way it would mark the patio is if I smashed it off the slabs in frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Have an electric one from Mr.Midleton - maybe it works but you'd want a heap of time and patience to go over even a small area. I just run over with a strimmer now & then to tidy - doesn't kill the roots off but far quicker and handier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Honestly you may as well break wind and have a lighter to hand on weeds rather than use those weed burners 😁

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I have a big one that runs off a proper 11kg propane cylinder. It uses so much fuel that after a hefty weed burning session you'd see a layer of ice on the drum of gas from the sheer volume of it boiling off. I'm convinced it uses more fuel than driving a car down the motorway all just to get rid of a few simple weeds. Definitely not the most efficient way to do it

that one looks positively dangerous😮 and the lad in the pic looks about 12😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Oh they are dangerous alright but effective.

If you need to kill off weeds in a limited area without using chemicals they are are an option.

But as Ubbquittious says not very fuel efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,716 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

It still only does he same thing as pouring boiling water on the weeds - the cell damage would be the exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes, same principle but handier than running in and out with kettles.

Neither really suitable for a large area.

That is something like the one I have. Grand yoke if you want to heat something up but not for weeds.

I reckon if you had a couple of kettles on the go you'd do a lot more damage to the weeds & lot cheaper.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,888 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a 2kW kettle costs about 1c per minute to run; about the same as the weed burner, i suspect, i'm not sure what the specs on it are. so a kettle *would* be cheaper, as you'd already have one, but the running costs aren't really going to affect cost of use all that much.

at least with a kettle, it's not yet another appliance that you'll be tripping over in the shed or garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I am wondering if there anything i can get that will stunt the grass growth under a new hedge i just planted...

OP i use petrol to do what you asked but i am pretty sure i cannot post how i do it or i get more "jail time"

I am wondering if there anything i can get that will stunt the grass growth under a new hedge i just planted...

mulch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Cardboard and cover it all in mulch, the Cardboard does a great job of smothering the grass

Thanks.... that's alot of work i was hoping for something i could spray....

My yoke would finish a €35 (old price) bottle of gas in a few hours so way more expensive to run. The small disposable cylinder yokes would be worse again.

a 2kW kettle costs about 1c per minute to run

c'mon its gotta be more than that, esp these days more 5c a minute i reckon

Assuming a fairly dismal rate of 30c per kwh it is spot on.

The worst with the burner is most of the energy is lost to the air before it even hits the plant. Then you have to burn away all the leaves and all the water they contain before the centre of the plant starts to burn. With the kettle you can just pour a little bit onto the stem & no need to worry about the rest of it

does skaling hot water not mark coloured pavs??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

I'm in my seventies and can't bend down any longer! If anyone has an electric one of these they're not using I'd be very grateful.

I have one of the Lidl electric ones. Send me the postage cost and you can have it because all it did for my weeds was gently warm them up on a chilly Irish spring day. Joking aside they are an utter and complete waste of money. I actually bought a sort of small wire brush head on a long handle that LIDL also had and that was much better and to be honest less effort because it is lighter and easier to use than the burner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

Touts you are a gentleman. pm on the way...

Unfortunately when I went to the shed to pull out the weed burner it was in a couple of pieces. The metal tube at the front has snapped completely off. I probably stepped on it on a dark winters night. But it shows how poorly made they are.

Anyway if anyone has one they aren't using please contact Peter. Just don't step on it before sending it to him 😃