Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE Radio 1: The Ryan Tubridy Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

It was a gag earlier, now it's an extremely cruel joke.🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,356 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

He got in ONE little fight and his Mom got scared…

"difficult language".

You mean using the exact words in a literary classic? Mother of God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,685 ✭✭✭StevenToast

So Chris Rock wasnt kind with his joke and Will Smith wasnt kind with his slap.....

Im confused Bryan....what would the king of kindness do???

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Tubs shillin' for a trip to see To Kill A Mockingbird in London.

Tubs reading out the same text messages again................as I said, zero prep.

My god, that new Arctic Monkeys song is absolutely terrible!

I’ve never been a big fan, but that sounded like some Poundland Michael Buble effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Norm mcdonald suggested we change Huckleberry Finn to a black character and then everything is ok and no changes are required :)

Surely a black disabled non-binary lesbian with alopecia who identifies as Huck Finn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I missed the show? What literary classic? Hmm I am guessing not something from one of Ryan's usually roster Potboilers or Irish celeb ghost written chick lit.

Go around to his house and break his legs of course.

To Kill A Mockingbird (and it’s use of the N word). Woke Tubs of course couldn’t even bring himself to say “the N word” lest he offend someone, instead saying “difficult language”.

I bet he’s never even read it.

I doubt he has as well.

But Aaron "I can't believe its not David Mamet" Sorkin has adapted it for stage. You can bet he will be all over that.

"It's just like they took they took the West Wing and set in the deep south. Their is Toby and Josh and Bartlet. Go and see it. If you like your politics and your history and your books and the west wing I guarantee you will love it. I've read all of Harper Lee's books. There are so many. But this was always the best one. Yes countless nights I have spent reading one of her court room dramas in my cousin's hotel in Cliffdon".

I'd be willing to bet that he thinks Harper Lee is a man.

Yes, Tubs fixation with Sorkin is a little weird, bordering on obsessive. Sorkin has some gems in his portfolio, but also some stinkers and flops - I've just looked at his IMDB and I've actually seen everything he's been involved with screen and cinema-wise.

He's had a lot of drug problems and has a fondness for both cocaine and crack cocaine. Maybe that's why Tubs likes him so much, you know like Saint Gerry of RTE...................

New headphones AND a new chair AND a new carpet for his Majesty!

You shouldn't be thanking "the team" Bryan, you should be thanking me and the other Licence Fee payers!

Tubs talking about the freebies the Ukrainian refugees are getting. Am I detecting a hint of jealousy?

Did you give anything to Ruslan Bryan apart from gracing him with your presence?

"I don't know why people find it comical that I would be on a bike?"

FREE BIKE LOCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ryan pictured cycling yesterday…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

I reckon he thinks that his presence is worth more than presents🎁 🤔

Deadly serious

Humblebragging by Bryan about helping a peasant with a speech.

More humblebragging.

This morning:

New FREE Headphones

New FREE Chair

New FREE Carpet

FREE BIKE LOCK

More "Irish tings are de bestest tings in de wurldid" blarney

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

He almost bought an arran jumper but was called away..... wtf. Is he trolling?

Oh I 100% agree with that. In his mind it's the Irish equivalent of a Royal Visit. I bet he's expecting a plaque to be erected beside the front door of any establishment he visits along with a large framed photograph of him inside.

Like yesterday after lecturing us that films should only be watched in the cinema on a big screen he started to watch the recent Jessica Chastain film at home but was also called away. Called away for what? Another DHL delivery of freebies that he had to sign for?

Roman O Bramovich?

That arran jumper story was an "iceland" style sly request for a free jumper. Then he moved on to the quintessential definition of happiness being the feeling you get when you give something to someone without expecting anything in return....

The man, like his colleague Joseph Duffy, is utterly shameless.

Freebies list since 23 September 2020: 

Free Unknown volume of books

Free Bespoke jewellery x 2

Free Essential oils for mask

Free Buns from Bewleys

Free Trip on the Irish Navy ship

Free 8 Glasses cases

Free Accessories for vinyl record player

Free Flowers

Free Yop, Fruit of the Forest and Yakult

Free Holland and Barrett supply

Free Calm App

Free Scents of Ireland commercial air diffuser and scents

Free Epicurean Delights (i.e. Grub)

Free Watercolour

Free Candles

Free Book about Elvis' comeback in 68

Free Waterford Famine Buke

Free Pints

Free Sweets from Shandons

Free Loose leaf tea

Free Bread knives

Free Candles possibly wickless candles

Free Teapot

Free Vinyl record (Beatles/McCartney)

Free Tea brack

Free Cards

Free More cards (rejected - Catholics need not apply)

Free Halloween masks

Free Cufflinks (monogrammed for Tubridy, of course)

Free Fudge

Free Southern Star newspaper

Free Opinion magazine

Free Print from book (gorgeous, apparently)

Free Crisps and Earplugs

Free Greetings cards

Free Beatles book

Free Bottle with fairy lights

Free Hot Chocolate Bomb

Free Personalised Christmas Stocking

Free Novelty Mug

Free Handmade Scarf (moss green in colour, and long)

Free multiple handmade Christmas Cards

Free John Banville Book (delivered personally to him while shopping)

Free Barack Obama autobiography (extremely large and heavy)

Free box of Lindt chocolates (only 8 in box, Tubs not happy)

Free Face mask from Chester Beatty

Free Books

Free Paul McCartney poster

Free Aerial photography coffee table book

Free Christmas jumper

Free Waterford Festive Star (a magazine)

Free Holly Bough (a Cork annual)

Free Santa Beard Face Mask

Free Chocolates from Bean & Goose (called out paucity of Lindt in their freebie, again)

Free Art from Trish Taylor Thompson (something visual)

Free Books (from “listener” doing her Marie Kondo clearout)

Free Shandon Sweets, again

Free invite to chess convention

Free Lighthouse Book

Free chess lessons

Free Book (Elf Isolation)

Free crate of Club Orange

Free Bag of Marbles, (but no "steelies", much to Tubs' chagrin)

Free Ireland's Own Annual

Free Band Aid vinyl single, with beautiful artwork (Tubridy checked artwork was included, before accepting it).

Free Paul McCartney - Back in the CCCP vinyl album.

Free Box of Turf

Free Puffin Christmas Decorations

Free Puffin Christmas Cards

Free Puffin T Shirt

Free Meal in Kilmore Quay

Free Motivational Quote Cards

Free Book (Dauntless Courage)

Free CD

Free Personal Guided Tour of St Patrick's Cathedral.

Free Hand crafted Gin

Free Crystal Glasses set

Free Cocktails

Free Craft Beer Selection

Free Visit to brewery

Free "County Mayo in a Jar" x 2 (Wool, Shells, etc)

Free Vintage 1955 Comic (original copy)

Free Personalised Water bottle

Free White Vinyl Christmas record

Free Handmade Cards

Free Magazine about schools during Covid

Free Donegal Calendar

Free Bird Calendar (includes Puffin)

Free Fry’s Chocolate Bars – 4 pack - (Passed over to Mater Tubridy)

Free Patricia Gibney Book

Free Terry Reilly book – Ballina People

Free signed Rick Stein in France book

Free American edition of Liz Nugent Book

Free Frederick Douglass book (as asked for earlier this week, but no mention of payment).

Free Sanatorium (Abi Palmer) book

Free Robert Harris Book V2

Free Coffee Beans

Free Grand Canal to Dodder Book

Free Murder Mutiny and the Muglins Book

Free Smart Cooking Books – both editions.

Free Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan book.

Free Sherlock Holmes walking stick

Free Jenny Wren S’mores kit

Free chocolate bunny

Free tour of St patricks cathedral

Free walking tour of Dublin

Free currach trip on the liffey.

Free gift bag from St Patrick's

Free tour of Rowntree's factory 

Free stay in Kerry Hotel

Free bog Oak tea light holder

Free Hand made muppet toy

Irish country magazine and pen

Braile book

New York magazine (succession edition)

Free lunch post toy show

Free preview copies of books

Private Screening of Belfast "for work reasons"

Hand carved walking stick

Free daffodils 

Braille keyring / Patrick and the president

Advance screening of Elvis movie

Free water bottles

New FREE Headphones

New FREE Chair

New FREE Carpet

FREE BIKE LOCK

Ryan listening to this Oasis song…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,429 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Will the Isle of Arran start up a jumper making industry just for him?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isle_of_Arran#Economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Not just any old donations. The clothes and goods have to be new. None of yer ol' secondhand crap.

The saying 'beggars can't be choosers' is now made redundant.

Is it just me or is the whole country bending over backwards for the latest refugees. Every Tom Dick and Harry is 'fundraising' all trying to outdo each other with ideas for raising money.

Ten thousand euro here, five thousand euro there. One thousand three hundred and ten euro and 60 cent at hundreds of coffee mornings up and down the country. Artic loads filled to the gills driving overland to the Ukraine border. Every school in the country raising money for Ukraine.

I think it's time I confessed to something my friend I did years ago. We used to rob pennies from the Trocaire box on the top of the telly during Lent to buy sweets and repayed it before we brought the boxes into school at the end of Lent. That's a great burden lifted off my shoulders.

I got out the wrong side of the bed this morning.

I was raised to believe that giving you those less fortunate than you is very important, but also that is was important not to boast about it or seek thanks or praise for doing so.

Nowadays it seems that people do it FOR the praise and the social status awarded to one for doing something - the cause is completely irrelevant. It’s like competitive oneupmanship (or “oneupwomanship” for the woke folk) to see who can get the most likes on Instagram etc. Makes me sick tbh.

Why has'nt there been any update from anybody about today's show? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's who we are, like it or not.

A kind of soft power that is part of our culture from the pennies in the collection boxes you mentioned to Facebook and Instagram today.

We are not supplying troops or military hardware but this kind of voluntary aid is needed too.

It's not compulsory to help out or take part.

• As Tubridy says “they looK like us” and then (I think) Brenda Power subsequently said on BOC “Ryan is right… they ARE us”.

• This extends to Instagram, FB & Twitter candles in the aftermath of somebody else’s tragedy… in a way that tries to make one seem ever so empathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Totally agree with this,

Every day is like a school day with tubs 🤔

Don't give second hand stuff to refugees 👍 buy them new stuff, no second hand shite.

Ten minutes later have someone on telling us to buy second hand that the clothes are as good as new stuff , that you save money,/ environment

Lesson learned today second hand stuff is good enough for yourself but not for other people, and definitely not a second hand Arran jumper that tubs is looking for.......... He wants a new one

People value their mental health...listening to tubridy definitely has a negative impact on humans that think.....

I think that “humankindship” would be a good, all purpose substitute here. If you give a f…ck, that is.

• Did you see this Twitter storyboard thread, a day in de loife of Joe:

I might create one for Ryan. Suggestions welcome for the scenarios.

A very good effort caller, but no JFK and no Toy Show mention so therefore in the word's of Bryan's favourite US President - FAKE NEWS!

Also, 5am? Tubs gets up at 8:29 and gets the Dart over to Montrosia for 9. Anyone who's ever listened to the show knows there's no prep done.

I'll just leave this here:

Ye are all bad eggs on this thread

Tubs delighted for the soccerball team who beat "INSERT RANDOM TEAM NAME HERE _____________".

Lol - "2-all wins" 🤣

"The Late Late TROY Show" headline caught Tubs' eye.