Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Few things

1. The green party are objecting to the LNG terminal pending the Energy Security report that is not yet published. The Greens have said they'll revise their position when that report is released. The report should look at all options, over the relevant timescales. Therefore, the benefit of LNG should be offset over the opportunity costs of investing in more sustainable longer term solutions.
    2. A LNG terminal is not an 'Instant solution' as some people are on here saying 'What can we do in the here and now'. Any LNG terminal will take years to complete
    3. Adding a single LNG terminal also adds another single point of failure. What if a boat crashes into the terminal and knocks it out of action for months, what if there is an explosion in the storage tanks...
    4. The proposed site in Limerick is 600 acres, this would involve knocking down lots of trees and hedgerows (I only mention this because others felt it was a compelling argument against Solar) The 600 acre site may have some grass on it, but other than that and a few flower beds, very low biodiversity compared with solar farms that can still allow plants, insects and small animals to use the land)
    5. The Proposed site will cost over 600 million euros and will take years to construct. Unless there is also a LNG pipeline to the power stations, all of the LNG gas will also need to be transported by road to the power stations to be burned at a large ongoing cost and with risks associated with transporting volitile chemicals by road.
    6. The new LNG site will add significantly to the cost of all of our energy bills as we will have to pay market rates for gas, as well as the costs of construction and maintaining the LNG facility, and transporting that gas to the gas turbine power stations that we will also need to keep operating, and this infrastructure is expected to last up to 40 years, so your kids will be paying for this terminal even if we don't need the gas anymore.
    7. For the same 600 million Euros, in Greece, they are building 2 250mw battery storage sites with a total capacity of 2000mwh. For day to day grid balancing, this would allow us store energy generated using clean renewable energy and release it almost instantly during the peak energy demand.
    8. Adding additional grid storage and interconnectivity will allow us to retire our gas power stations, or at least consolidate them thereby cutting those costs. And given the variable element to the availability of wind power, the fuel to recharge the batteries will be cheap most of the time, as they will be recharged when supply exceeds demand (throughout the interconnected grid)
    9. These grid scale batteries are an enabling technology. They are Load Balancers because they store excess power and this means we do not need to shut down power generation capacity when there isn't immediate demand for it. Combine this with local battery storage at plant and domestic scale, and smart grids and smart meters and the entire grid is much resilient to daily fluctiations in demand and supply.
    10. The price of Battery Grid storage will fall over time as the technology matures. The price of Gas will only continue to increase and we are always vulnerable to the next energy crissi
    11. For strategic reserves, ireland could use excess power to create green hydrogen, stored as ammonia and we could adapt our gas turbines to run on hydrogen instead of Natural gas. Doing this would make us energy secure, as we would be able to generate our own hydrogen reserves rather than compete for them in a volatile open market. Currently Green Hydrogen is much more expensive than Natural gas, but we're aiming to get to a world where hydrogen is much cheaper, and that requires investing in the infrastructure to produce it using surplus renewable power.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭timmyntc

I said banning fossil fuel licenses is a green policy - i.e. a policy with the green movement/environmentalist movement at its core. Not that it came from the green party who as you correctly stated were not in government at the time.

Thread is about green policies, not green party policies, although there is considerable overlap between the two.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

I know but they won't. A lot of people in Ireland seem to want to live in a nanny state. They seem incapable of having the ability to think for themselves or use their own cop on. It's a pity because the rest of us end up paying for them

• Registered Users Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

The law to ban exploration was a condition of the Green party that had to be accepted before they would agree to sign the Programme for Government and was proposed and introduced by the Green party. So no need for you to put any thought what-so-ever into that. It`s a fact.

What you and Green party supporters should be putting some thought into is the implications of that Green party sponsored law and the present proposed Green party bill on the banning of LNG in light of what the chairperson of the CRU, a state agency of Eamon Ryan`s department , had to say on energy security. Rather than the usual ignoring of reality in favour of rambling fantasy.

I think you need to learn how to read before you accuse people of being Liars.

The screenshot was posted yesterday morning around 9:30am. How many posts since then have you accused this poster of lying? A decent person would apologise for that.

It makes perfect strategic and economic sense if you are looking at the long term instead of a 'strategy' of lurching from crisis to crisis

Ah yes, and banning exploration of oil/gas so that we are decidedly not energy independent has proven to be a great strategy, that has not at all left us lurching into an almost european-wide energy crisis. Yes, perfect economic and strategic sense alright

The Green policy of banning new oil and gas exploration 'is not destroying our country' In fact the opposite. Continuing to burn current proven reserves alone, will destroy our country, and the rest of the world, so adding to this by exploring for more oil and gas is utter madness in the long run.

Yes yes eamon, we are all going to die in a fiery blaze if Ireland taps another oil/gas well. 🙄 Our industry being decimated by sky high electricity prices and thousands across the country being forced into fuel poverty are a good thing!

First it was plastic bags

Then it was single use plastic straws

Next up its the disposable coffee cup

This is being brought in through the Circular Economy Bill

The Bill also effectively calls time on coal exploration by ending the issuing of new licences for the exploration and mining of coal, lignite and oil shale. This follows-on from Programme for Government commitments to end new licences for the exploration and extraction of gas, which was in line with the previous 2019 decision to end oil exploration and extraction.

The current cups cannot be recycled which is absolutely crazy and is clogging up landfill etc for years. They should have never been allowed in the first place if they couldn't be recycled. Like you would swear that recycling was a new thing and not something that has been around for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

What fact would that be ?

The one that it was the Green party that along with refusing to enter government until it was guaranteed, sponsored and proposed the ban on exploration licences, or the fact that the CRU, a state agency of Ryan`s Department have voiced the insanity of the Green party proposed ban on LNG and its implication for energy security which even presently we are not in E.U. compliance with.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Contractors should have something like Garda clearance stating they have no relatives/cronies living or dead who are / were politicians of any hue, too many state contracts in the hands of politicians cronies

Green Hydrogen isn't a runner, it's inadequate in every way and the costs associated with converting existing gas infrastructure and it doesn't burn properly for industry, Methane would actually make more sense.

Literally none of what you said is true except for the last few words of your post

Well done. You just managed to come up with the most ridiculous idea I ever seen on boards.

I

Why, chances are the guy fitting the insulation is just a subbie to the actual contractor and is getting paid cash in hand, Homeowner is getting screwed,State is getting screwed, you can't hire a bouncer on minimum wage without proper documentation but any old Ned can be let muck about with houses, Mica version 2 waiting to happen, substandard Chinese panels horsed on by someone who failed junior cert woodwork, but sure it'll be grand

What are you talking about? a minute ago you wanted no contractor to have a relative who might have been a politician

Now you are talking about dodgy builders?

The whole point of the earlier discussion was certified builder cost more. You are asking for builders to get certified I think? is that what you are asking for because it's a very strange way to say it?

All you need is inspectors, instead of having to get the local sleazy councillors halfwit cousin to batter and sledge the shite out of your attic, let everyone choose their own contractor and get the inspector out to certify it, there a two year waiting list on warmer homes because only a few have preferred status and can't do the work fast enough

You do realise it took 11 years for the Corrib gas pipeline to come on stream from when development work started. You're talking about a gas field that is still in exploration phase and was deemed a worse candidate than the Corrib field

Yeah, a gas field coming on shore some time in the middle of the next decade will really help with our energy security today.

After all SEAI work a BER cert is done and work inspected. Why are you now talking about councillors?

Why are you also now talking about warmer homes?

We have corrib gas today, and our energy prices are 'sky high' Exploring for more, less suitable gas fields, is somehow going to bring down our energy prices.... because of... reasons

Or, we can redouble our efforts in bringing offshore wind on stream ahead of schedule, push ahead with the interconnectors, invest in some modern Energy storage systems to take advantage of our natural advantage in renewable energy production, and meet our targets at reducing CO2 emissions ahead of schedule instead of constantly missing them and making excuses afterwards.

How many energy storage systems will we buy with the billions in fines we have to pay for missing our targets, or to offset our emissions through the carbon credits we'll need to buy

We face 600 million euros in fines a year for missing our renewable energy targets. (if the EU ever decides to impose them)

Based on my figures above, we could add 2000mwh battery storage every year for that cost alone. And in doing so, lay the groundwork for a future economic windfall rather than buying fracked gas from the yanks at higher and higher prices each year, and paying the EU fines on top of that.

While people are saying it can't be done, the Australians are going ahead and doing it (not their scummy central government, but the

In 2030, and probably sooner, they project green hydrogen to be price competitive with natural gas. But only if the investment is made now. And that investment won't be made if that money is diverted to exploring for more oil and gas and building redundant infrastructure

The problem here is that most of the people can't see long term, they seem to think if the government approves the LNG plant that tomorrow the price of electricity will suddenly drop. Or that if we give planning to some unknown oil/gas field that suddenly we will be making millions selling gas & oil.

The only way that Ireland can guarantee out future electricity is to generate our own and the only way to do that is via renewable. I said it at the start and that hasn't changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Billcarson

I'll bow to your knowledge then that you think its not

If I wanted to read twitter I would log onto twitter. What point are you trying to make?