Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Elden Ring (George RR Martin and From Software)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,807 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Completely missed the letter on the table. The girls transformation threw me a bit :) Have the red letter now and the one for the original round hold members which i don't like the sound of what I'm doing but feck it.

Thinking now about the Manor, did anyone manage to finish Tanith's questline? I tried to give her the item you get from another NPC but won't take it and keeps feeding, I'm wondering now if I should have used the potion she gives you and spared someone else the sword.

Also I never did find the NPC again who gives you the item for Tanith, seemed somewhat unfinished in terms of their quest?

Must look it it now I've a mind to.

Ok Volcano Manor quest done, i think?

Killed all the targets, killed the snake boss (handy with the weapon you get and mimic tear), killed 2nd phase (goddamn what a cool boss) and now the lady is telling me the manor is no more. That was a class side quest.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,594 ✭✭✭✭Penn

• Registered Users Posts: 23,161 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

That's weird. I'm level 110, 90 hours in. Also Altus Plateau, also finished Ranni's questline last night and also spent ages on Alecto, before I realised standing on the edge of the cliff makes his AI go to shìt and limits all his movement.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,267 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Are... Are you my brother?

I took him on the hard way. It was getting the timing to avoid the fireball he throws into his combo was the big issue which he usually followed up with the flurry attack that was a one hit kill on me.

Beat with the help of copious swearing

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I dont get as much time to play as I'd like, so have about 50 hours logged, level 80 and have just decided to tackle nokron, finished up last night after defeating ( I cant use spoiler tags, so lets just say, the boss that you activate by lighting the flames), beyond where I fought a mirror image of myself.

Id gotten as far as the royal city, by way of climbing the peasants path to Atlus Plateau, but the assassin perfumers and knights in there were making life too tough so i said I'd go elsewhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

So I think you've finished the questline but haven't explored the volcano manor dungeon yet?

You basically skipped it by transporting to the boss. But if you follow the illusory wall in the private room you get access to (first door on the right - opposite the drawing room - if you're going down the corridor from the main hall) there's a hefty dungeon area to explore with a few extra bosses and items.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,518 ✭✭✭bren2001

haha, I have now encountered these bosses, it is much much harder now.

Is there a guide for recommended stats for build types? I have quite evenly split a lot of my stats over everything (except for arcane). Seems like a very silly approach and I should maybe respec as I actually have a few tears.

Ah i forgot to go back to do that dungeon, will check the boss arena as well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

If you hope to specialise in one area I'd definitely respec. Weapons and spells will scale according to your level in particular stats.

For my sorcery build (starting as Astrologer), I ended the game with around 41-42 vigour and mind, 65 intelligence, and a few extra points in dexterity (25 or so). And then just a few other scattered points elsewhere as needed for particular weapons. I'd say vigour would be shared across most builds, but a lot of players would pump a lot of levels into the likes of strength and endurance if they're using heavier weapons and armour.

Yeah it's best to pick either Strength or Dexterity, and either Faith of Intelligence. Level up one of each. It limits what weapons/spells you can use, but it means the ones you do use will be a lot stronger. Then if you're going melee focus on endurance, or if you're using spells more often focus on FP.

The most common builds seem to be Dex/Int, and Str/Faith. A lot of weapons seem to scale more in those ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

ok I'm starting to realise how op the bow and arrow is. Astel just demolished me and I got her on my second run and then beat a huge dragon. I had the advantage of a horse for the dragon but with the mimic distracting them, they both turned out way easier than expected.

Ok, finished the Volcano Manor dungeon, incredible place and to think i could have completely missed it. Made it back to the main boss room and ..... yeah, I'll let you to it love... I didn't have swordstone keys for the 2 doors i found, annoying im missing what's behind them and will probably forget to go back.

Anyway, I'm level 95 now and have some bewitching branches so my next stop is commander Niall, the dirty bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,408 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I watched a cheese strat for Commander Niall today that's durty af but I think I'll use the bewitching branches too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Ok, finished the Volcano Manor dungeon, incredible place and to think i could have completely missed it. Made it back to the main boss room and ..... yeah, I'll let you to it love...

Did you attack her?

What choice did you make concerning the fate of someone else there in the manor?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,267 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Forgot to mention the brilliant piece of From Soft comedy after the lake of rot.

I was exploring the grand cloister and came across two items in a stream on scarlet rot hidden away in an alcove. Littered on the ground were loads of messages warning of strong foe ahead. But no way was I leaving those items behind. So in I stroll expecting a Crab at worse.

Nope. Putrid **** dragon out of no where.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,161 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The real comedy is when you finally cross the lake, after no doubt exploring the lake and using countless persevering bolluses, they give a single one of them at the end when you reach dry land. Thanks very much, big help now...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,844 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Malenia can f*ck off, that is all

Ha, no, guess I'll take another trip back :D Enfilade, which one? Snakey lady disappeared from the room she was in, the Knight at the dining table? I tend not to kill npc's in case they play a bigger role later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Finished Raya Academy last night and trying to figure out where to go next, which of the 3 options makes most sense?

1.Made it as far as Kingsrealm ruins on the West so could do Caria Manor

2.Made it to Bellum Church on the East so could push on there to Altus Plateau

3.Go back and explore Caelid(found it early and ran away)

Imo, start caria manor. I ran away from there first time i got there but after the boss you can start a pretty hefty sidewiest that unlocks a lot of cool items.

Then Caelid, again i ran from there first time around but once you're leveled up a bit, some great content and side quests there too including a legacy dungeon with major boss.

Atlus plateau then after that.

I'd say Caria Manor. So long as you're over Lvl40, any of those three options should be okay. But I'd go 1, 3 then 2. If you're struggling with any, make sure you're picking up as much of the side stuff (dungeons, tunnels etc) you find along the way.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Caelid nearly broke me last night. Seems like every enemy of just a massive animal that charges in and wrecks me. Those dinodogs aren't too bad, but **** those giant crows. Also, the double pumpkin head boss in a tiny room...**** those guys too. Went back at it this morning and exploring the lake region. Underground now, fighting some giant ants and some awful looking yoke firing streams of rocks at my from a huge distance. Might bail from there and try the Academy, as i definitely think i need to respec.

Still only beaten Godrick, and no idea where the other main bosses are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

Ha same, I'd say caria manor, mainly because it is relatively small area. and ya if you want you will be able to officially start the sidequest of the witch (who gave you the spirit bell) after the manor. And then caelid and plateau/capital.

It is weird that it feels like we are supposed to kill her there (it will trigger an event ha) - i killed her in previous playthrough so i let her live this time, just in case From comes and patch her sidequest further (it feels unfinished?). Rya disappeared also after I beat Rykard - i forget to give her the amniotic thingy before i went to Rykard - apparently she should be hiding somewhere in the manor (but I didn't find her at that spot though...). This is the second time I made the same mistake aha.

Supposedly you could find her in a secret room - from the grace of the church you fight the godskin guy, go out the church through a side door (left side of the church) and then use the elevator in this separated building (you will need to activate this elevator before hand), look carefully when you are going up, you could jump out before you reach the top, go through the big dark room and out the windows, there is a small room nearby with candles - i saw message left there "Not here!". So ya I think i found the spot but she is not there lol.

That place is grand as long as you ignore the rock guys, there's just too many of them. The area is entirely optional and ends with a tough boss fight that gives you a +10 summon ash upgrade item which you won't be able to use for aaaaages so might be best to comeback.

I'd recommend doing Liurnia. Explore there, take on the raya academy, then caria manor and then start the side quest after it which leads back to Caelid. You should be well levelled up them to take on Caelid properly.

Caelid sounds like a zoo or circus there ahaha. Ye most people ran from Caelid and come back later. The crows are insane and not sure if you encountered some super insane crow at night...

So ya the 'natural' path is Limgrave-Liurnia, mainly because you will be given a reason to visit Caelid after you explored Liurna all the way up north (if you are doing some key sidequest of the witch that's it).

And Niall is done! Had to kill the dual sword Knight first, turn shield Knight against Niall and then summon Lanetta. Between those 2 and my corpse piler, made quick work of him. Phew, onto the next.