Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the weather like in your area 2

Great fun yesterday, got blown over a couple of times carrying hay. Had to move the van while I was watching a few oldies eat at the trough it was bouncing so much. Had found one of their troughs 60 yards from where it had been, across a fence and stream. Out the end of the bay the sea looked like it does under a low hovering helicopter. Was fairly wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,784 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Some wind out today, great drying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Rain with it down here, had to run to the vets earlier, should have brought the cows in first🤦

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

What a week of weather it's been, lads will soon have to wait on a rain forcast before spreading slurry.

If I'm not mistaken the last time I remember the last week in March as warm & sunny was 2012.

Weather broke for the year more or less round here on the 11th June that year. Think may had been hungry that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Talk of wintery showers, possibly snow next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Tileman

Yea hard to believe as it nearly a summer day here today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

How long is this cold snap coming on Wednesday predicted to last?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

I'd say till round the 18th may, given the harmless winter we had. We need some omen for the early summer after the last freak week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

I told the Cattle that ye are worried that there could be snow and cold weather on the way and asked them did they want to go back in so. They said NO they are happier outside than stuck inside in a shed eating pickled grass and dusty hay

I wouldn't blame them, it's like the south of France here this week

Is it me or was there a significant change in the forecast for the week ahead since last night. I saw rain from Wednesday on, and now mostly dry which would be fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

If there is cold from the east this time of year its generally dry, bar parts of the east and once it doesn't meet warm air over us. Will hopefully give a chance to graze off some wet ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

i understood it to be dry and very cold for the latter half of this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Yer making a liar out of me now, I told them snow on the way midweek but now the BBC weather forecast is showing it dry for another 10 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,734 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Now you know why I'm quiet on weather forecasts lately. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Cool yesterday afternoon and evening, nice frost this morning. Hopefully that it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bucket of water here had a good covering of ice on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,784 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ground hard enough driving fencing posts today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭older by the day

Looking at met eirann, lot of rain down here next Sunday and Monday. Hopefully that will change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Meant to rain heavy at the end of week, is it dodgy to spread silage ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭kk.man

Apart from the rain I think its to be frosty at night, I'd love to spread on mine but holding off. Not a year to take a chance with the price of fertilizer.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Yesterday was ideal weather for fert, ya could probably go today as well if the wind isn't too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Urea would be safer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Few heavy showers here yesterday, but was good to get them. Grand morning now again…

Could do with a bit more heat for grass growth I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Had lads in spreading slurry yesterday, good to get the few showers to wash it in, no re-growth anywhere though the cold biting wind is a killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Tileman

Unbelievable hash northern wind over past few days it would skin you.

hailstones here today aswell. Brightened up in the evening though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭MfMan

Warm, breezy day here in N Galway. First swallows sighted here today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭tanko

Forecast not too bad for the rest of the week but possibly back to cold and wet weather from next Wednesday on, lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Very sunny now but there was a good frost first thing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Dozer1

the rain on Sunday here made a right mess of the place, badly need some heat to kick start some growth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.