Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancies For Today III

• Registered Users Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

Just waiting on the last race, done them in a lucky 15 so still in with a chance. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭zimmermania

Another ok day,bits and pieces coming in for a profit.

Sorry about some double posting,everything goes ok on my laptop but all over the shop on my phone,i got a present of an Iphone from my kids and its still in the box but one of the days i will get one of them to move over all the stuff on my Samsung,if i tried it i would make a mess of it so until then my Samsung will have to do despite the mess.

Last day tomorrow and i am hoping to stay well in front for a change at Cheltenham.

In the 1.30 i like PIED PIPER one of Elliots 2 runners.Pied Piper was useful on the flat and looks like being better over hurdles,still improving after only two runs and can win the opener.

2.10 The County Hurdle is a race i have always liked and it has been lucky for me from time to time.

With 25 runners its a handicap that seems almost impossible to solve,favs have a very poor record and we should not be afraid to back one at a big price.

I really like Cormier who is getting better with every run,won over c and d and trained by one not renowned for getting winners here.

I have already backed him at 33 to 1 7 places PP and i have a score ew on which is more than i normally would invest in a race like this one so i am sweet on the horse and he may give Brian Ellison a win,West Cork also may run well.

2.50 MINELLA COCOONER stayed on well to beat a fancied Elliot horse last time and can go well over the 3 mile trip.

3.30 The Gold Cup in recent years is being won by younger horses and the last 5 winners were under 9 which was once thought to be the best age for a staying chaser.

No 10 year olds have won in the last 20 years which does not auger well for Mullins main runner Al Boum Photo.

My fancy is A PLUS TARD who is top on ratings and the right age.

4.10 WINGED LEADER can make mistakes but if putting a clear round can go well for one of the smaller yards.

4.50 CONCERTISTA can give Mullins another winner in the mares chase following a good win in Limerick.

5.30 LANGER DAN second in this last year has only run once since when last of 6. May have been aimed at this for some time and can give the home team a much needed winner if anywhere his best.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

£10 e/w IL ETAIT TEMPS in the 1st, sky doing money back as cash (win part only) if 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th so at 9/1 definitely worth a punt.

Small stake Lucky 63

First Street

Bardenstown lad

Chantry house

Lord Schnitzel

Zambella

Herbiers

Good luck all.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Today's ew Yankee

Icare Allen

My mate muzzle

Chantry house

Bob and Co

Not a bad Cheltenham,won a good few quid,the one I liked best was Cormeir today.

Imagine winning 112 quid off a horse that finished 7th.

It shows the value of of getting the best deal on offer.

After all the study trying to find winners at Cheltenham i need a break from it so i wont be doing too much tomorrow.

However the Midlands Grand National run at Uttoxeter at 3.35 is always worth a look.

Shark Hanlon won one of these Nationals with HEWICK at Sedgefield 5 months ago and has gone up in the weights as a result.

However he won like a very good stayer and as a 7 year old should have a lot of improvement in him.

We have to take his fitness on trust but Shark would hardly send him if unfit.

PP goes 6 places and at 10s HEWICK is worth chancing ew.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

I see Denis Hogan has one in there too.

The start of the flat tomorrow and the Lincoln is the first big handicap and betting race traditionally.

The draw normally favours high drawn horses but low drawn horses can win.

I am backing SALEYMM trained by the Crisfords despite being drawn in stall 3.

He has won twice on the AW by big margins and following a wind op should be ready for a big run,6 places and 6/1 is good enough for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Backing war horse in the 5.25 today at 7/2

Won over this distance last time out.

Looked to have scope for improvement.

The Scottish champion hurdle 2.25 Ayr is a handicap that usually attracts a few that ran at Cheltenham and is always a good betting race.

Milkwood won it last year and has a chance of winning again this year having missed Cheltenham to wait or this.

West Cork who ran very well at Cheltenham can be fancied as can Onemorefortheroad who ran well in the Imperial cup at Sandown.

I am backing ANNA BUNINA who was 2nd in this last year following a good run in the County hurdle at Cheltenham.

She missed Cheltenham this year and after a reasonable run last time she should be hard to beat,well handicapped now with Milkwood and also with Socialist Agenda she is my bet ew tomorrow.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mentioned 4, the winner and 3 others top 5 finishers - great work.

Won like a well handicapped horse is supposed to win.

Still confined to barracks so had plenty of time to look at todays cards and they seem better than normally found on a monday with some decent handicaps.I fancy a few,maybe too many but i have put the 6 i fancy most in a small stakes ew (.25) lucky 63 and i will have a few singles on some of these as well.

2.O5 Redcar HARVEST DAY 9/2

2.50 Windsor BERNARDO OREILLY 5/1

2.40 Redcar COPPER MOUNTAIN. 9/2

4,20 Redcar ZIMMERMAN 5/1

4.53 Redcar AL QAASIM 9/4

5.oc Windsor MABRE 5/2

Covid free and happy to be about again and looking forward to a visit to the Curragh on sunday when Cailin Cliste makes her comeback after a long layoff with an injury to a leg.

In the meantime i can visit a bookie tomorrow after 10 days off being confined to the house.

I am backing two at Aintree with reasonable chances 2 ew singles and an ew double.

1.45 COBBLERS DREAM has plenty of weight but has earned it with a very good run in 2nd in a very hot handicap hurdle at Cheltenham.

Six of the first 8 home were irish that day and he was well best of the UK runners just run out of it up the hill. Langer Dan (fav tomorrow) was brought down early in that race.

Aintree will suit COBBLERS DREAM better and although up 4 lbs his rider taking off 5 lbs makes him a very good ew bet at 8s 5 places.

The 2.20 is a novice with only 9 runners and Jonbon is evens or odds on to win for J P McManus,he may win but having been beaten 22 lengths at Cheltenham he wont carry my money.

My idea of the winner is FIRST STREET a horse that one would hardly call a novice having run in handicap hurdles in his last 3 runs,two off the top class handicaps at Cheltenham and Newbury finishing 2nd and 3rd in large competitive fields.

FIRST STREET will be hard to beat at level weights and is an excellent ew bet imo.

Thanks,Omicron appears to be easier to handle than Delta,no more than a heavy cold in my case,in the old days i would have worked through it with a little discomfort.

Had no trouble sleeping,aided by a few hot whiskies most nights.

Not getting out became tedious but i found a few new ways to get through the days and my garden is looking a lot better.

My two fancies ran badly today leaving me down a good few quid.

Got a good tip from a reliable source for one i posted in the tips thread,ran very well to finish 2nd in the 5.15 Ain,had a nice ew bet on it at 6s so no damage done but would have put me nicely ahead had he won.

Thinking of giving the placepot a shot tomorrow using a decent size number of horses in a perm,with the National being the last leg could be a big enough pot if one could get it right.

I've always felt Polly Gundry's horse Santini was capable of going well in a grand national, at 40-1 with nick schoolfrield on board will carry some of my ew money.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭bassy

all on the table for cloth cap and run wild fred.

In the last 6 years 4 8 year olds and two 9 year olds have won the National,in the previous 12 years no 8 year old had won it.

So we can take it that chasers are maturing earlier and or are being trained in a different way.

Half the field are either 8 or 9 and may have the race between them.

Out of the 9 eight year olds in the race I like Eclair Surf with a low weight and Run Wild Fred and a nine year old I like is Delta Work.

We shall see if my theory is correct at about 5.30 and the National becoming a race for younger horses.

Placepot suggestions Aintree today.

1.45 1 and 6.

2.25 2 and 10.

3.oc 2 and 5.

3.35 3 and 8.

4.15 3 and 6.

5.15 2, 5 and 39.

Full cover on all selections requires 96 bets and I will do it for 50 cent.

Leaving out 1 will reduce it and leaving out 2 reduces it further

These are group that may pay to choose from imo.

Happy hunting in the National.

Still alive in the placepot due to Empire Steel coming out,Tea Clipper my other selection finished 4th and that will get our money back from the Books but only 3 places for the placepot.

Delta Work (a drifter) Run Wild Fred and Eclair Surf (who i expect to try to make all or at least be up with the pace and stay out of trouble) are my 3 to try and land the placepot,it wont pay too much but it was an interest for the day and i got yesterdays losses back,all my selections being on the premises more or less.

Placepot up 4 times for 50 cent so two 1 euro units,paid 96 euro 20 cent for 1 euro so I get 192 for my 48 better than nothing.

On my way to the Curragh to see Cailin Cliste run in the 5.20,hoping she runs well in a huge field coming back from long layoff.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,371 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Enjoy your pints Zim 🍾🍺🍾

You must be delighted and proud (and a few bob better off!) Zim

• Registered Users Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭bassy

a pure cracker from zimmer :) nice one :)

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭hudhastings

Thanks you are the king did your placepot too for ,25c got me out of a hole.