Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I wouldn't ban per se, but I also would not be opposed to it being possible to CPO holiday homes or even second homes where the local need for housing warranted it.

Will I hazard a guess you don't have a holiday home?

Why stop there?

Why not CPO any free rooms in occupied houses?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There's no reason we can't do these things in parallel. The lack of infrastructure is not a de facto reason why a property or set of properties is unsuitable. We hear constant stories about housing stock that can't be used for council housing because it's not up to standard. Even though 75% of the rest of us live perfectly fine in housing that wouldn't reach that standard. There has to be a balance somewhere.

This I do agree with. The "standards" are too often used as an excuse. I grew up in a house like you describe in suburban semi dee Dublin. Didn't get central heating until the 1980's, insulation was thinner than a Parisian runway model and there were more drafts than a sieve. I'd reckon most over 40 anyway did. I remember a couple of times where frost was inside the windows. 😮😁 Hell my own gaff today still wouldn't pass muster on a couple of these standards.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭facehugger99

People are great at insisting that something needs to be done.

Right up to the point it starts costing them money.

Red Cross guy on the radio just now. Almost 24,000 offers. Of 5,700 total vacant properties. Almost 600 changed their minds. 2,500 uncontactable. Shared offers now being contacted

A great response overall.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

"People are great at insisting that something needs to be done."

Right up to the point something has to be done, not even need money involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,024 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

We get several deliveries every day from all of the companies. Amazon driver knows us as we see him so much. He had a parcel for a house maybe 7 houses down & asked if we could give it to them as no one was home. My wife knocked on the door day and night. Put notes in his letter box. She put a shout out on the local Facebook group. She eventually taped a note to his front door. This got his attention and he called in for his amazon parcel. It took around 10 days in total.

The point of the above story is that some people are very difficult to get in contact with. The Red Cross saying 2500 were uncontactable after only 3 attempts says a lot about the Red Cross's experience in contacting people. I don't for a second believe that 2500 people are looking at the phone number on the ringing phone & assume it's the red cross. Some might obviously but 2500 people aren't trying to dodge the Red Cross. The red cross needs to keep calling the 2500 people until they answer. The red cross have only mentioned phoning people. They do have our email addresses too.

When they say 600 changed their minds they don't say how many of these wouldn't wait & organised their own refugees. I know a lot of people who were so frustrated not being contacted by the red cross. Then the messing of inspecting property to make sure it's suitable and then wait another few weeks for a police clearance. People were able to go on Facebook and without inspection or police clearance to organise their own refugees. They had them housed in days instead of months.

The red cross are operating in the way you had to operate 30 years ago. It's 2022. I can get online with someone in Poland now and house a refugee in Dublin on Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The stats citied are 8 years old, 2016 in my locality there was a noticeable amount of unfinished houses, semi ghost estates, 70s bungalows half through renovation, etc.

Not one of them remains today, they are all finished and have people living in them. Almost every ruin and semi ruin has been knocked and built on or renovated.

Re moving in and doing up a 70s or 80s dwelling piecemeal, that is absolutely fine, but that depends on 2 variables. How well the house was built initially and how it was maintained. If the mould is growing up from ground level through the walls, moving children in there would be abuse and any builder that says "be grand" should be outright ignored.

I have seen houses built in the 50s in far better condition than houses built in the late 80s early 90s.

You also have the quirk that inflates vacant home stats, old farm houses and shacks 100 years old that still have an active ESB connection because the family kept them on for future planning reasons, but you wouldn't pigs in them.

I imagine if they did a proper stock take of suitable habitable homes it would be an absolute fraction of the headline figure of 180,000+.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,099 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Daft.ie etc is not a measure of housing available. It's only a measure of properties that owners are interested in listing. Two different things altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Glenomra

This could be an opportunity to revitalize a number of neglected provincial towns. I don't like naming specific towns as if they are particularly bad but here goes. Recently, I drove through kilrush, ballinrobe and claremorris. All 3 places had the most substantial stone buildings lying totally abandoned at the periphery of the town. Imagine if those, some 3 story, buildings were renovated and people housed in them. The spinoff for schools , local economy etc would be very significant.

It’s actually the defence forces making the phone calls. They’re hardly going to keep ringing the same number over and over when there’s thousands of others on their list!

Re contacting refugees via Facebook or other Social media, that’s very foolhardy, in my opinion. Despite the delays, it’s best go through proper channels. That way checks are in place to protect and support both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Casati

I wonder if people are annoyed that no financial allowance is being paid to individuals inviting refugees into their house, while the government is paying top rates to hotelier’s?

I agree that the Facebook approach isn't the best but the the official Irish route is so slow. Its pushed people into the Facebook route. Even the police clearance doesn't make sense to a lot of people if it slows things down. If an Irish person or even a regular person from Ukraine rents a room in a family home they don't get Garda clearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

• Registered Users Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭timmyntc

And who will renovate them?

With what money?

And what labour? You do know we have a chronic shortage of construction workers right now? or are we going to CPO them aswell?🤣

Anything along or close to the wild Atlantic way is being rejuvenated at the minute. The pandemic has seen a sea change on how people can work and how they want to raise their families. Never seen their families and 4 hour commutes are no longer seen as a life for many who can afford to move. You'd struggle to find anything viable to buy or do up along the most popular parts of it, planning laws are much stricter too.

As for big old stone buildings, probably protected, you need to get permission to a drill hole let alone refurb, so multiply all costs by 3. Then you need to refurb a dwelling that is 100 years old to standard that were set this decade.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

A thought that occurs from reading your excellent post is how situations like this point to all the weaknesses that we haven't invested in. And, to be clear, its not that I'm saying Ireland could have lead some huge international coalition that would intimidate Putin into submission. But you do have to ask:

• Should we have done more about defence over the years, in combination with countries that we surely have no principled objection to? When we've done nothing at all about defence, when we've obstructed EU action in that sphere, have we helped form Putin's view that the West is weak and has lost the will to defend itself or act in defence of others?
    • Should we have done something about housing? Does it not provoke some feeling of incredulity that Government can agree overnight that - by whatever means - tens of thousands will be accommodated, where apparently measured responses over a longer period to meet normal housing demand were apparently impossible?
    • Did we take any position on whether it was gonzo for much of Europe to become energy dependent on Russia, as if this wasn't creating an obvious strategic vulnerability?

None of that helps Right Now. But if you're in a hole, stop digging. Yes, we should continue to insist that all pets coming into the country comply with health regulations, and stop the spread of Chronic Short Termism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

So if I’m looking for a property to rent for myself and my family what should I do?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,328 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

yeah, see what starts off as ‘incentivising’ then compulsory downsizing and all of a sudden you’ll find yourself not living in a democracy.

wont be allowed certain property, house, what next ? vehicles ? Only a certain number of holidays a year ?

current situation is imperfect but fûck going down that route.

fella with a big garden, cpo the land to build a house on it ?

Stalinesque, not democratic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

I assume your being sarcastic. My sister closed up her house in March 2020 to go to the UK to care for her disabled daughter. She doesn’t know when she’ll be back. But she will be back.

Maybe she will bring her daughter back here to live with her.

I don’t know.

You think her house should be subject to a CPO?

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

That's the problem with Socialists, Wibbs. They are about to find out quickly that you eventually run out of other people's money to fuel and fund their fantasyland pet projects.

Not a bad idea imo. It could house 1000s and at 3 or 4 hundred euro per month its going to cost the tax payer a lot less than HAP or rent allowance

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

It is an idea but alot of loose ends (like many of the ideas being thrown about at the moment) and more of a soundbite.

Who covers bills? 300 wouldn't break even with potential energy prices.

Who pays for damage/wear and tear etc, again could go way behind the money offered?

Not sure it would entice too many extra pledges

Obviously tenant pays bills the same as almost any letting

300/400 isn't very much I agree. They will pay €100/€300 per week for a room in shared accommodation Dublin let alone a whole house

• Registered Users Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭enricoh

Yeah they'll have to do it- definitely cheaper than hotels. I'd be wanting guarantees that I'd be getting it back in a year though. The missus' friend is trying to get non paying tenants out since before coronavirus n still no joy getting her gaff back.

I should have said "not a bad idea if they can get holiday home owners to offer homes.

It's not a lot of money per month

If they are going to take in lets say 50,000 refugees (200,000 is fantasy), incentivising the holiday homes, Air B&B lets and people homes is the only way it can be done.

300 euro a month for a holiday home which is probably coming into the season making 10 times that will incentivise no one.

The lad from the council that pulled that figure out of the air hasn't left his spare bedroom in 2 years I'd say.

Also holiday homes are usually quite rural so some sort of transport system would have to provided.

The means and will are there to accommodate these desperate women and children, but it needs a robust plan last month.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,256 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Still harping on about the doorways line. Still ignoring the statistic quoted by another poster estimating 10k homeless people in Ireland. Great, you win. I accept, if it'll make you happy, that NOT EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THOSE 1OK PEOPLE IS SLEEPING IN A DOORWAY. Are you happy now? Are you finally prepared to discuss the actual point I was trying to make - which is the fact that we do have a homeless crisis in this country and that we should be sorting that out before inviting the unfortunates of the world's conflicts into the country?

this is it! I've booked a week away in Kerry in early June, hoping to bring my daughter and 2 grandkids away. Its €662 for ONE week. So I doubt €400 a month would attract many. Also there will be a huge demand for holiday homes this year as so many hotels have been taken off the market for refugees.

A friend had her wedding cancelled yesterday with just 2 months to go (Government have given the hotel a contract for 2 years!!) and a gang of work colleagues I know arrived to rural Galway last weekend to be told the hotel was already closed and refugees in it (they had forgotten to tell these particular guests). When news of this kind of stuff gets around holiday homes will be able to charge whatever they like!