Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

If government are paying hotels on a room per night basis there’s a ton of savings to be made if they give home owners a piece of that business - so instead of paying 100 euro per night to hotels pay for room in a private house for say 1000 pm- saving 2000 per person per month

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

We certainly should have done something about housing, health too, but it was kicked down the road because of various vested interests and infighting and government laziness hoping the next bunch would do something, so they couldn't be blamed for it. This humanitarian crisis comes along and we go full on kneejerk, understandably, throw open our doors and open our wallets, but of course emotionals to the fore, again understandably, but without a clear medium, never mind long term actual practical plan in place. Looks great for the political optics of course and very few non political Irish people are going to be so callous as to ask WTF and assume somebody somewhere has a firm hold of the reins. Bloody rightfully at first, but that day will come. And will the powers that be have an actual practical plan by then? I'm not so sure how long I can hold my breath. I live in hope as they say.

EU energy dependence is mostly centered around Germany and they're dragging their heels. And yep I can see the practicalities of why too. Now we can again crow on Twitter on the horrors of war and what about the children!! stuff, but it's no good imposing sanctions if they bugger you up as well, or enough to cause enough problems which lead to grumbling and pushback in the medium and long term. Democracies with much bigger economies, a much better off general population and a free media are a lot less resilient to such things than autocratic dictatorships with a large percentage of the population under their thumb and spell with moo cows out the back yard, a tiny economy, and a completely controlled press and narrative. If you're not careful you can get into a game of chicken and the facist is less likely to blink first. He and his minions are rich beyond measure, his peoples controlled and primed for sacrifice to Mother Russia. I can see Germany and other feet draggers doing their bit and nobody will ever trust Russia again. In the long term Russia is fúcked.

On our defence? Our wee army and navy have bugger all to do with how putin sees the West. His rhetoric against the West and her "decadence" is for his own brainwashed peoples and some outside Russia. He regularly returns to this script of the "Woke West", "cancel culture" and "Gender fluidity" and how the West is weak because of this stuff as he knows this stuff sells, both to his own and the Tucker Carlson Right winger types beyond Russia's shores. Now one may argue it does weaken our resolve. I would say the trend to more Jaw Jaw and forgetting about War War was a mistake. One casuality of that was thinking commerce with an autocratic state would reduce even stop the risk of them going to war. I would say it increased it.

However in reality he's looking at America and France and Germany and Turkey and fears them. For all his guff about "weakness" he knows 100% that without his nukes NATO if they wanted to could be kicking in the unhinged doors of his Kremlin after they shock and awe'd it into rubble. Of putin's forces they'd make 10,000 widows in a week. Before they put boots or tracks on the ground. He's wary of Turkey on her own. When the Turkish shot down one of his planes who strayed into their airspace and killed the pilots(or one can't recall), he blustered about banning some foods from Turkey but did bugger all in actuality. They called his bluff.

He's been described by his lickspittle fanbois of being a "chess master", IMHO he's a poker player and fairly good at it. Unlike the US of late he's actually won most of his wars. He won in Georgia and got back the bits he wanted, he won in Chechnya and installed his bootboy puppet. He won in Syria, to the degree that his boy is still in charge and even took Crimea with barely a real response from the West. Bit of down with that sorta thing! in speeches, but bugger all else. The West could and should have called his bluff. Could the West do it this time? I don't think so. To stretch the poker analogy further; in previous games he had halfway decent hands and he didn't put much in the pot so could afford to fold and chalk it up to the luck of the draw. This time he thought he was dealt a decent hand and went all in, only to find after the draw he had feck all, but the pot is huge and raising the stakes means he has to fold or double down.

As for Ireland. If I were running our defences and international relations, no way would I join NATO. An EU force, yes but with caveats. I would look to our past and go all in on the UN type peacekeeping, the humanitarian and peacemaking too. I'd try to make us one of the one stop shops for that, geopolitically and militarily too. Militarily "neutral", but for peacekeeping and stability. As a non neutral military part of NATO we'd be the one guy with bandy legs and cross eyes in the back of the class with almost no say in things. Even if we massively increased our military spending we'd barely make up a tiny part of the US National Guard, with less kit. I don't want to send Irish men and women to die on foreign fields for that.

It's easy to forget at the moment when the blood's up and calls for NATO membership and all that gung ho guff, that people will get around a table. This war will end. The guns will fall silent. There will be an afterwards. If our military were involved it would make little difference, but if our peacekeeping, humanitarian and peacemaking were in play it could have far more of an impact and for the longer term too. It could also be good for us economically as nations like Ukraine rebuild and we help them do that. I'd rather our Irish forces get statues and praise for protecting the peace, the people and building a new Ukraine and whatever nation comes next, than get statues for blowing a couple of things up.

My 3cents anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• I imagine a lot of Irish folk will be taking affordable holidays overseas this year, between lack of availability of Irish hotels, 2 years of having no or limited access to going abroad, and value for money. Smaller b&b type accommodation will do better within the Irish market.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Casati

I think that this a great solution in so many ways but the government have said they aren't looking at it, as it should be an altruistic thing (unless of course your a hotelier)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I agree. To give people a renewed sense of hope and turf them out after a couple of weeks is cruel in my opinion.

Need to think deeply about things before committing.

As for the Govt. They have made an absolute hames of of infrastructure for future growth of the country and that was before the war. This crisis needs to be the catalyst to borrow money on the markets and spend big and spend big now. Hospitals, schools, prisons, social housing, metros and everything else that's needed. Get on with it.

Proactive not reactive. I'm a renter but and can see clearly how worse this housing crisis is going to get very quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Lots have their cars problem is that their licence isn't valid here according to a garda email I saw to the hotel this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

And a fair and reason 3 cents it is. I'd only clarify that (as you'd expect) I'm not at all suggesting that even a greatly enlarged Irish defence capability would matter much in the scheme of things. It's more what contribution we made - and we obstructed the EU developing its defence component. And a weak EU defence posture (I'd feel) was probably a factor encouraging Putin's miscalculation in this invasion.

I suspect making it a funded scheme raises legal liability issues, which can't be disapplied. And, yes, this is another reality which the "don't you know they're fleeing a war" crowd won't want to contemplate. If a Ukrainian kid trips over a loose carpet and falls down the stairs, or granny falls asleep with her fag in her hand and accidently sets the bedroom ablaze, who's liable? Who actually pays out?

TBH, even on a voluntary basis its a bit of a minefield. Are the Red Cross liable? The homeowner?

They won't because if they did that, it wouldn't benefit their buddies who own the hotels. serviced apartments and housing developments.

They might do it eventually, but they'll probably aim at the hospitality/B&Bs as a way to take off the pressure from those areas post covid.

The EU member states didn't want to spend on a defence force. It's really that simple, and nothing to do with Ireland. Every military organisation they've created, it's been changed to "other" duties, because the costs of maintaining a force were just too high, compared to all that social spending their electorates were demanding.

While, now, there's a lot of talk with pledges to create such a force, I wouldn't be too surprised to see it falter once the Ukrainian conflict stutters to a close, and Russia is demolished economically. Someone will point out that guns weren't needed, and economics is enough (not that it is), but it will be music to most of Europe, because then they won't have to raise taxation further (beyond what they're doing for the recession, post-covid blues, the debt crunch in businesses and institutions, etc). Politicians know that attention spans are rather short, and domestic problems will shift peoples attention away from the dangers of other nations, and instead, the political parties will point to the various social issues that have been simmering in the background for the last few decades... spending the money that should have gone on an effective military, but instead on ineffective social programmes.

And that's fine, and I'm not suggesting that Ireland's weight would have been decisive.

I'd just point out that its not "nothing" to do with Ireland. We were very clearly obstructive of EU co-operation on defence matters. So a weak EU defence posture was actually an object of Irish policy.

Not saying we're alone in that - just that we share responsibility for a weak EU defence posture, it being something we wanted.

If you're not careful you can get into a game of chicken and the facist is less likely to blink first.

Very true, but Russia isn't really such a state anymore.. not due to political change, but social change. There isn't the degree of indoctrination in place to convince people to shoulder the problems to outlast the westerner aggressors. China could possibly do it... but not Russia (and even for China, it would be difficult. Too much has changed due to technology, and access to information). I suspect we're going to see it torn apart from the inside, with a little help being contributed from the Western powers.. but we might see a short period of actual democracy in Russia within our lifetimes (before they bring back in another autocratic style of government again)

Excellent post, Wibbs. Mostly mirrored my own thoughts.

We were very clearly obstructive of EU co-operation on defence matters.

Along with every other western European nation.

Only the Scandinavian countries, and the Eastern European nations really committed to any kind of European defence, because they have a long-standing fear of Russia. But France only got involved because it wanted to lead it, and Germany tried their hardest to distance themselves as much as possible.

Sure. We share a responsibility, the same as every European nation does. Although, TBH, I'm sceptical of what could have been done anyway. France and the UK are the only European nations with practical experience of military operations, and for both of them, it's been limited to certain types of theatres. Usually counter insurgency, and the use of small mobile forces. There hasn't been any real conflict for European nations to get the experience of what works and what doesn't.. and following the US in such matters, isn't always the best thing to do.

In any case, I think Europe had a weak defence because there wasn't any interest in having one. Just lots of interest in meetings, parades, and soundbites. Not investing in a modern military capable of taking on something like Russia (the way they were seen before they fell on their face in Ukraine, that is).

In any case, I'll leave it at that. We already have a Russia thread, and meh.. this line of discussion attracts really abusive posters. not worth it.

Look, my idea is not "perfect" by any means, and while this thread started like a sh1tshow, I'm seen proper dialogue and discussion develop, like yourself and others over the last few pages- and I'm open as to challenge as to why my idea mightn't work - and possibly due to what you've outlined above and also other reasons.

And, while I'd like to subscribe to your optimism in terms of altruism, unfortunately, I'm a believer that altruism is short-term only, right now, given current economic conditions, short term future predictions etc etc .

So if we wanted X amount of homes to house 100K + Ukrainians for say, 1-3 months- I'd say it would be over-subscribed, in terms of the generosity of the Irish people, and their willingness to "suffer" a little "hardship" for that time.

BUT- I don't think that will be the reality- the reality will be 12-18 months minimum and beyond- and that's a whole different ball game. And that requires a lot of legislation, retrospective, and dog gamm common sense- I'm not entirely convinced our government have "common sense" 😀

PS- this thread will "explode" by mid-Summer- that, and diesel shortages . The Joe Duffy/Claire what's her name and the other yabba-dabba-dooo talk-shows, must be having a collective orgasm right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 hillwalkingjesuslovesme

we are being unrealistic regarding helping the Ukrainians. Ukrainians that are affected need help that’s true, we can and should help. This should be a realistic and limited type of help according to our ability. What we are doing is completely foolish and unmanageable. There is a lot of anger out there amongst people who are not on board.i.e. Or on other forums. Because there are a lot of Irish people with families who cannot buy a house in their own country because there isn’t a house to buy and because the banks won’t kend them enough money. These are Irish people who want to live in their own country in their own home. So, we need to help as many Ukrainians as we can, for a limited period of time, not provide them with unnecessary payments like child benefit. And facilitate them to get back home and rebuild their country as soon as possible. It should be short term. some refugees in Poland are already making their way back in to Ukraine , I believe Am I wrong?

Depends where they are from.

Talking to some of the women, they are saying their houses and villages are piles of rubble. Their friends and family who stayed are being raped, tortured and getting pregnant as a result of the rapes.

They have nothing to go back to

• Registered Users Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Not a good look for AGS to be pulling them over en masse. PR disaster if they did.

Problem would be getting insurance.

One couple I know left their car in Ukraine at the border. Hoped to buy here. We looked at insurance if he got a learner permit. Over 3k. Pass his Irish test it becomes 2500.

Thought the government said they could drive here on their Ukraine license

Most want to work but being 10km out of town and no wheels makes it impossible

Absolutely shocking! Horrific.

Ukraine is a vast country more than the size of Ireland England and France put together and when the women say that those atrocities are happening I assume they mean in their region. Ukraine is still their country, their home and it’s still possible for them to remake a home in Ukraine, to have a home and a life in their country of origin.

There will be a lot about living in Ireland that will encourage them to stay, but again I need to just reiterate that Irish people struggle to get homes in their own country of origin and we need to put Irish people first in this regard

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

the reality is, we have decided to financialise our economies which in turn has completely wrecked our economies, particularly our property markets, the only way out of this is to flood our economies with publicly created money, but we need the absolute backing of the ecb and the eib to do this, this also requires the full agreement and cooperation between eu nations, so best of luck with that one!

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭LJ12345

Nothing about the invasion of Ukraine made sense to me until I read this article... it’s the only logical reason I can find for what’s happening there. The article is from 2017:

https://www.news.com.au/world/europe/1990s-manifesto-outlining-russias-plans-is-starting-to-come-true/news-story/343a27c71077b87668f1aa783d03032c#l1s33pliy8ewtwxtaq

everything else aside, Putin has to lose this task he’s set himself, if he loses he will have to leave power, if he wins regions in Ukraine it’s only a matter of time until he’s back for more and we’re back to square 1!

Forgive me for throwing this into the mix but I’m also really concerned that Macron will lose to Le Pen

https://twitter.com/nickreeves9876/status/1512014324797169664?s=21&t=uU0mPJlaiKlDw0UUnEC7tA

Post edited by LJ12345 on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

It's fascinating seeing the reaction to this. No homeowner will get HAP... because HAP isn't paid to homeowners, it's paid to tenants.

Honestly, Ireland isn't set up for taking 200,000 refugees in. It's going to be a horrible mess.

I feel sorry for refugees coming here expecting peace, and I feel sorry for people taking them in.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

So a three bedroom house trumps someone’s life. I used to manage a team in the Ukraine: one dead, one missing for two weeks now, three OK and a woman and her daughter caught in an area occupied by the Russians. There are far more important things than you and your bloody house!

Such a pity we cannot be civil to each other. No wonder there wars.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There are indeed Jim, but not for long for most people unless they're personally connected and invested like you. In the wider society the honeymoon period will end and it'll end more quickly and with more risk of empathy fatigue even backlash if the government don't get a handle on this and quickly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭jackboy

This division suits the government very nicely. As usual, there is no real plan to solve the housing crises, it will not be solved for at least the medium term. The Ukrainians will be used as an excuse for lack of progress and anyone who speaks out can easily be dismissed as racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The problem as I see it is that the government dumped the sorting of pledged houses on the Red cross .The RC are ill equipped for the task and are struggling to get this sorted .Its five weeks now since we and many others pledged a house or flat or room and we are still left hanging .We had thought we would give a house to a family for six months while the government get their act together but looks like two months will have passed and still no family in a vacant , fully furnished house . We are delaying putting the house on the market so to ease someones burden but cannot wait forever while they try to get this sorted . I have a friend with a lovely granny flat also waiting five weeks now to hear anything while in the meantime women and children are in hotel rooms very close to her . Its simply not good enough to leave people hanging around waiting to hear back if their house/room/ flat is needed .

I don't think you're wrong, and I think we're mostly struggling to find a way of saying all that in a way that doesn't seem dislikeable. At times like this we're all like Father Ted, doing our best not to offend whomever we're talking to at a particular moment.

And its a difficult topic to navigate, where sources of information are unreliable and not necessarily driven by a desire to give you an objective view. For some reason, I'm remembering Edward Behr taking the title for his memoirs as a foreign correspondent from an event he witnessed in the Congo in 1964, in a context where there were allegations of atrocities by rebel forces. He saw the BBC reporter walking through a group of recently rescued Belgian settlers, shouting at the top of this voice "Anyone here been raped and speaks English?"

Strangely enough, we actually know how to run a country. We should stop trying to forget. So, absolutely, no disallowing driving licence rules, no automatic recognition of qualifications. Clean, basic shelter and food safe from mortar fire. That's what we can offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

And its a difficult topic to navigate, where sources of information are unreliable and not necessarily driven by a desire to give you an objective view.

Huh? An objective view of civilians been mass executed?

What would that be?

😕