Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

🤦‍♂️ I gave an answer. But anyway

I provided a link and how to find the information. The thread is not just about the Green Party, I have no idea what they have proposed but I did provide the information on how to find alternatives to fertiliser which is from the farming industry. The post was clear on how to find ti, if you can’t sorry I can’t help you anymore. You must be reading the examiner too much as they lock down after a certain number of views. Says it all really doesn’t it 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Yes there is, for one existing battery technology is limited to about 100hp that just doesnt cut the mustard for farming which requires a lot more. Yet agaij another green idea that doesnt stand uo to any scrutiny.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

I guess electric tractors will eventually come along, but one of the main issues afaik is the length of time required to recharge the size of batteries needed for a large powerfull tractors.

And many agricultural contractors etc do indeed travel large distances when engaged in agricultural work such as cultivation, harvesting or silage making. So yeah potentially that's a big problem

The current energy crisis needs some fairly immediate solutions so a lot of these concepts which still face significant technological challenges- aren't a runner at present.

I suspect that alternative sources of oil will be sourced in the immediate term with possible rationing for essential industries such as agriculture.

Of course if we had access to our own natural reserves during this period of transition- it would make things a hell of a lot easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

• Registered Users Posts: 15,074 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Shite indeed.

Seeing as you wish to ignore that in the U.K. especially, poor monitoring of standards in the production of meat and bone meal was to blame for contaminated meat causing CJD in humans, that also resulted in 4.4 million cattle having to be slaughtered there, and you are now posting out of date information on human sewage where a more recent report shows the same happening, not just with inadequate regulations, but in lax monitoring of the present regulations, I would not find much to laugh about.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If China builds a hundred new coal powerplants and uses that power to build solar PV and wind turbines and BESS then its still much better over all because in 4-5 years those infrastructure will have saved more C02 than it cost to build them and we can then use that carbon free energy to make more solar cells which will be carbon neutral from day one.

It's the difference between exponential and steady growth. But the pro fossil fuel propaganda merchants tend to leave that part out of their blogs and memes

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Spread shite on the field next to me.

Had to keep the windows closed for the last 3 days.

Sickening. If these greens lived beside it on an ongoing basis they be screaming holy war.

Imagine every farmer resorting to this. The country would stink yo high heaven.

Where did anyone say we need to immediately electrify agricultural machines?

There is a potential diesel shortage but that's nothing to do with climate change and everything to do with geopolitics, and that's just another reason why we Should focus on electrification as soon as we can

I live beside it. No idea why you need to keep the windows closed for 3 days?

If you choose to live in the countryside it is one of the many many smells you get.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Leaving aside that fact that battery technology on a farm vehicle is impractical for anything larger than a quad. Tractors are operated in rural areas that in general do not have access to the charging infrastructure needed to fast charge several tractors at once. During harvest season tractors go nearly 24x7. I've often driven for silage contractors starting at 9AM in the morning and not finishing until 4AM, then back on the job at 9AM. You only have a limited window to get the harvest in and weather conditions play a big part, faffing around waiting for tractors to charge is not on, unless it can be done during lunch.

As for Hydrogen fuel cells unless the technology works economically compared to available options it will not be used. The horse got sent to the knackers yard because of the immediate productivity gains available using tractors. Having expensive to run vehicles means their productivity must exceed that of the current in use solution.

People whose sole farming experience is growing geraniums in the front window are not the people we need telling us how food must be produced. This is the problem the Greens have no solutions, and have no the cost benefit analysis to backup their claims. They resort to impractical claims about technologies that do not exist, are not economic in the circumstance applied and do not scale.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

It`s just more of the same fairy tale thinking attempting to explain away yet another gapping hole in the "green logic". A few days ago this logic attempting to fill the hole of no natural gas or nuclear was tidal energy, today its human sewage doing the same for fossil based fertilizers.

It`s getting to the stage that one of these days perpetual motion being touted as the answer to all our energy needs would not surprise me.

As the price of energy is going up, green hydrogen automatically becomes competitive, plus it gets cheaper as the technology and industry matures. So we should plan ahead, build the infrastructure we need for tomorrow now even if it means subsidies. (Ps: if the subsidies given to fossil fuels were removed green hydrogen would immediately be cheaper)

No it isn't more than half of tractors sold are smaller tractors. John Deere for example sell whole ranges of farm tractors with less than 80hp that are all capable of most farming tasks

For the bigger specialist machines I'd expect these to be fuel cells as they need to work long hours during small windows at certain times of the year

There is the technology to do this. Regulations and incentives need to be put in place to help speed up their adoption

Fyi, open the link in an incognito tab and you can read it no problem

Well you're clearly a blow in from the city. The smell of fresh slurry has filled the rural air around this time of the year for decades. The greens and the EU actually want this reduced because they're using too much of it and it's running into the rivers and streams

Nope. Once again you failed to answer the question asked

No one asked you to provide a link to find the information because that's not what was asked in the comment you replied to viz

What are the proposals of the green party (or your own if you like) for humans to produce more crap to make up for the the fact that 80% of all treated sludge here is already used on agricultural land?

So you having randomly googled "how to find alternatives to fertliser" and linking to an article behind a paywall that you can't even quote from, you then spend paragraph after paragraph repeating the same old nonsense that you've "no idea" and you've "provided a link" etc.

It's "not just about the Green party" ? Well the thread is certainly about How "Green" policies are destroying the country

Funny the only links to the examiner I've seen posted here were your own and you apparently can't quote from the one here you've now linked to

I've borrowed this and some more. They look a helluva lot better here 🤣🤣🤣

That reminds me of the story of a man who told his friend he had hit on the way to make his fortune. Breeding cats for their skins.

When asked by his friends how that was going to work, as the cost of feeding the cats would outweigh the price he would receive for their skins. No problem says his friend, I`ll breed rats as well and feed them to the cats. But you will still have the same problem says his friend as you will then have to feed the rats. Again no problem to yer man. He was going to use the cat carcases to fed the rats. His business plan boiled down to rats for cats, cats for rats and skins for free.

To expand on your thinking on China and solar panels etc. why would we not all just carry on doing as the Chinese are doing Burn whatever we wish until the Chinese have manufactured enough solar panels, wind turbines and battery energy storage systems so we can all stop doing so at the same time and everyone becomes carbon neutral.

Those harvesting machines are not the typical tractor and they would likely be run on Hydrogen in the coming years.

But biodiesel would be a suitable stepping stone for this kind of niche use case if farmers are looking to reduce emissions

Because the chinese won't be able to make the solar panels if we don't buy then off them

The cheap solar PV is what we need, China can do it but need coal to make them for now,

As long as the Coal is used to make infrastructure that will save more CO2 in the long run then its worth doing

As PV and Wind generation capacity increases, coal will no longer be needed and they will be shut down because they will be too expensive to run them

Except there several major problems with your theory.

Why not build solar PV and wind turbines in Europe and stop the world's climate going to hell in a handcart in the first place?

How the fook are we going to undo the damage done to the climate caused by China single handedly emitting most of the world's greenhouse gasses and continuing to do so

And the problem isn't that China is just going to make the first batch and stop. They are building yet more and more Coal power plants and apparently have fuk all plans to stop in the near future

And because the shelf life of many Solar PV and wind turbines is relatively short - the rest of the world is continuing to buy more and more solar pv and wind turbines to replace the old worn out ones in an ever increasing circle jerk .

Burn coal and stop climate change! is an awful slogan btw

None of it makes any sense whatsoever!

Every political party has "Green" policies. Not just the Greens.

One minute you can use google the next you can't. One minute you constantly refer to Germany, the next you are questioning someone for posting a link about UK.

It's very hard to keep up when the goal posts move every post.

I hope you are not suggesting for others to circumvent paid access to a business's legitimate website?

As I said Examiner is free unless you constantly click into it. So putting it into incognito is the same as just clearing your cache. If they wanted peopel to pay they would block you from day 1

Why can't we build PV ourselves? Because while we in the west were pissing away decades having pretend debates about climate change and giving trillions upon trillions of dollars to the fossil fuel industry, China was secufing the resources and ramping up their production capacity and doing the R&D needed to allow them to be the globes dominant supplier of this technology.

They did the same thing with electric cars. They're a decade ahead of the west in BEV technology.

And the average life cycle of Solar PV is 20-25 years. They pay back the CO2 cost in 4 years (If manufactured with coal) so the 'circle jerk' you describe is saving CO2

The emissions generated during the 25 year life cycle of a new Gas turbine plant vs the same electricity provided by Solar PV totally justifies the use of Coal to make the Solar PV

Ultimately coal will be phased out, and that will happen much faster and more cheaply because China planned ahead while we waited for an energy crisis to finally take notice

Lol. So just more bs then?

The thread title is "Green" policies are destroying the country". Maybe you missed it? 😅

And I asked a question regarding

In a reply to a comment to another poster about Treated Sludge (biosolids)

You attack the poster and make up bs about some "week talking about Germany" and the next you go on about having no idea that a link to gov.uk legislation has absolutely nothing to do with Ireland???

And on top of that you spectacularly once again fail to answer the question asked in the comment you replied

I mean wtf?

You have utterly and totally lost any credibility as a poster at this stage. But more importantly you're fooling no one with that type of rubbish.

You struggling again. Sorry I can't help. All my posts are clear and concise.

To be honest if you think I have lost all credibility then I am happy.

That really does not address the point. The technology to produce any of those is not that complicated, so why would all other countries not do what the Chinese are doing and use the cheapest energy source the have to produce them. The Chinese are using coal doing so, a particular high emitter of CO2, whereas others could use cleaner forms of fossils fuels. I imagine, doing so, like China, would give some a great boost to their economy as well as having the same result as you are proposing in leaving it just in the hands of China.

Nope. Your posts so far have been ridiculous.

So try again. This is a simple question

On the topic of using Treated Sludge (Biosolids) to replace artificial fertiliser

How do you, the greens or the green party (which btw you've mentioned many many times on this thread) propose to get humans here literally producing more crap to make up for the the fact that 80% of all treated sludge here is already used on agricultural land?

And no an answer " I've provided a link" does not suffice because what your bizarre reply ie alternatives to artificial fertlisers and your supposed link on that on that is irrelevant to the question asked

And no an an answer " I've provided an answer" does not suffice because that 'answer" was again irrelevant to the question asked

And you saying "I can't help you" because that's more bs

That includes any or all of the other autoreply stock answers you try to constantly derail the thread with.

So I'm waiting.