Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Star Trek thread

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭eadrom

Whatever their personal positions are I can only go by what they put out there.

I thought the opening points about Starfleet acting like a colonial power were fine and I remember thinking the same watching that episode, but later they literally pause the video on a scene to complain that there are no straight white men in it. And go on about "the only male character" being a "beta" Admiral they killed off. Then I just had this realisation that I was watching 5 straight when men complain about "lack of representation" in a mass-marketed pop-culture science fiction show, and not really the scholarly critical thought piece as advertised.

Arguing in favour of more men on TV because you want better TV isn't good, no. A scene like the one depicted without any straight white men in it would have been cool, if it had been a good scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,586 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I've tried rewatching ENT and honestly I think it's useless with the exception of T'Pol. In no way did I ever find it dark and if anything wasn't dark enough.

I found about 5 episodes of Voyager that I enjoyed and wanted to see again.

I wouldn't bother rewatching either of them or Discovery again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Rawr

It's a genuine pleasure that one, one I'm very willing to wait for. (Take your time, make it good)

During a Lower Decks week, I'll wait till that Friday, wait until I've put the kids to bed, crack open a beer and start my weekend with an enjoyable trip to the USS Cerritos. Lower Decks, and especially last season were a pleasure to watch. Animated or not, this is what Good Trek is about and I have enjoyed it more than "VOY" or Enterprise in their first 2 seasons. If they keep it up, this animated comedy might creep even higher on my list of favourite Trek.

Even BGS got ropey at times. Expanse is my new gold standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭JayRoc

You'd rate it overall as better than BSG? I watched the first season and enjoyed it, but not enough to stick with. Should I give it another try?

BSG is one of my favourite Non-trek sci fi shows ever to be honest. Apart from the last episode obviously!

Expanse gets better as it goes whereas BSG got a good bit worse as it went on. I do love BSG but found myself doing a fair bit of skipping on rewatch last year.

The early sci-fi seasons of Expanse had some average effects and acting alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭Evade

It was never advertised as scholarly, the poster here added that, it's just a group of acquaintances talking about something.

The straight white men bit wasn't a commentery on that scene specifically but more what they infer to be going on behind the scenes where identity is prioritised over ability and this is the result, although I watch two of the people in that video occasionally so I have more of background on them to pick up what they mean.

Give The Expanse another try? Absolutely!!

I found season 1 difficult to get through too -- that hard-boiled space-detective thing just wasn't for me -- but it's 100% worth it. Would be my gold standard for TV sci-fi at the moment too.

"identity is prioritised over ability"

Sounds like what this Mayer guy is doing.

That's fair. I don't know these guys but from the video I feel I know the type. Maybe that's on me.

scenes where identity is prioritised over ability and this is the result

That's the bit I don't like, and they discuss it with the usual tropes and phrases (dismissing "the only" male character as a "beta", etc). The scene, or the series, isn't bad because not enough straight white men are in it and I think if the writing and production weren't so poor otherwise, then the diversity of characters and casting would be a small triumph. It would definitely be cool to see and in definitely in keeping with the idea of a Star Trek future.

So maybe it's just a poor clip, but it's just the clip I'm commenting on.

The other thing is these "reviewers" just redo these same lines over and over for every episode of every season. If it wasn't about wahwah "woke" they would have just stopped reviewing it a long time ago.

Worst of all are the "here's my episode by episode review of the show NOBODY is watching". Like why the fk are you reviewing it then. Plenty more balanced reviewers just stopped when they saw it had nothing for them.

I think if the writing and production weren't so poor otherwise, then the diversity of characters and casting would be a small triumph

That's kind of their position too, the ones I'm familiar with at least. If I was to boil down Drinker's (the one I watch the most) position it's essentially writing/production roles get filled by people very keen on promoting diversity but without the actual ability to back it up to the detriment of the series.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

The irony IIRC in all this Alpha Male bullshít is the originator of it, the scientist who coined the term around wolf packs, later recanted when he realised there was no such thing as this dominant, leader wolf male, but they all worked together as a commune; a federation, if you will. Flash forward how many years and Insecure men on the internet use it now to whine about their brittle masculinity being eroded by badly written women.

These reviewers are guessing that this is why the showrunners and writers are picked. A guess that just so happens to coincide and back up their pre held political views.

It's like the "I think a character is crap so it must be a contract forcing the show to keep them"

There is no basis other than guessing

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Yes. Expanse is easily a sibling with BSG for GOAT Sci-Fi shows. Season 4 dropped the ball a little but otherwise the show has been consistently fantastic.

As to BSG, I was never sore about that ending. I liked it, it was muddled but bittersweet and the negatives washed away by that final scene with Adama and Roslin.

When awards, Oscars/BAFTAs/etc, mandate diversity in front of and behind the camera in order to be eligible maybe they're not unfounded guesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭ilovesmybrick

Definitely give The Expanse another try. I'd be the same as you, BSG is one of the best sci fi series in the past twenty years, until The Expanse. Though The Expanse takes a lot longer to get into. It didn't have the advantage of the mini movie setting the stage, or the "first" episode which immediately creates the tension. It's slow, and takes its time. But well worth it.

With regards the posted video I didn't keep watching once I saw yer man Nerdrotic was involved. I will pile heaps of (deserved) criticism upon Discovery, don't get me wrong. I think it is the worst Trek show with very little to be found in terms of writing or acting ability. But as far as I'm concerned he's a crank, and the type of youtube commentator that gives fuel to those who say that any criticisms of Discovery are due to people not liking the show being led by a woman (though not the best I enjoy Voyager quite a bit), a person of colour (Sisko is the best), or because it shows diversity (to be fair, subtlety in story is not the strongest point of new trek). I just can't abide these disingenuous reviews on youtube that approach everything as negative for the sake of the algorithm. Make a coherent argument that's fine, but both sides should stop with either the fawning praise, and the utterly damning criticism, for the sake of views. I can't say I've come across the other participants in that video, but I take Nerdrotics criticism in the same vein I take Ferricks trekculture praise. With a massive pince of salt. Though at least Ferrick does spend some time actually enjoying other trek shows.

Enterprise I did stop watching at the time as it came out due to season one being a bit shite, and being in college with no TV, but there are some solid episodes there, and I really wish they had gotten to season 5 because the redesign is fantastic, and the writers did seem to find the way during season 3/4.

As a bit of a neckbeard, F**k those neckbeards on youtube giving the rest of us a bad name!

Ending of BSG, I always overlook the last few minutes. The scene with Adama launching the Viper passing the ship 😘 Pure sci fi pornography!

Jesus lads. Yee have me convinced.

Back to The Expanse for me, so!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,903 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

You mean this ending, Ye it's good but you will never bear Star-TreK TMP for pure ship port,

it's good but you will never beat Star-TreK TMP for pure ship porn,

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

You can thank us later. We are those guys! (Best. Expanse. Scene. Ever!)

I will, with respect, disagree. The scene when she broke her back. God, it still hurts!

I think a massive problem with Discovery in particular is that they don't understand that the ship is a main character. Moore knew that as a Trek producer and ran with it to where Voyager should have gone with Year of Hell.

Don't get me wrong, I love Trek porn, and it's sorely lacking in new trek. But I have to say I've never felt as upset as the death of a ship as Galactica!

I've never teared up over a fictional inanimate object ... but Galactica breaking her back, her final fight done? Oh gosh that was too much. Even Trek III was more about the captain committing the self destruct than the ship itself blowing apart.

Oh, and Tigh, with all we had with that character. She broke her back. F**k what and great ending.

Right, I know what my rewatch over the Easter holiday when the wife is away is!

Discovery literally made the ship a character.

I love the final episode of BSG but the last season had problems as did the New Caprica section half way through. Galactica is possibly the best looking ship in sci-fi (proper alpha captain too🤣) and your dead right that after a 7 year trip we should have felt that about Voyager but it never got there outside year of hell.

Also very right about the lack of ship porn although they finally gave us a little bit in Star Gazer.

Right, I know what my rewatch over the Easter holiday when the wife is away is!

Will you have time for ships in your porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

So when Seven developed multiple personalities due to some Borg technology going wrong, Tuvok tries to help her with a mind meld, which the Doctor is against due to the unpredictability

Out of nowhere, The Doctor then hits Tuvok with a devastating quip

With all of these new personalities floating around, it's a shame we can't find one for you.

What the fck Doc? Thank God Tuvok suppressed his emotions cos that was vicious.

I hate you for getting to run through it for the first time