Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scrambler Bike Infestation

• 28-03-2022 4:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭

Why is it that all these scrambler bike riders are being allowed to ride around the city at high speed, wearing no helmets or other PPE and not a tax disc or registration plate in sight ?

Over the past couple of months their wreckless behaviour has been getting worse and worse. Things I've witnessed myself in the past couple of days alone is them going around roundabouts on Childers Road on the wrong side, going over them too, threatening car drivers in 'their' way. A couple of them literally tore up a very busy William Street today at high speed, not a helmet in sight.

Surely the Gardaí can't be that blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Sure, 'tis their "culture".

• Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Should be perfectly legal just to plow straight through them or over them, play stupid games win stupid prizes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

It's not travellers. Plenty of normal scumbags riding these things. Huge problem where I live. The riders are known locals, but under 18 so the Guards won't do a thing. They parents don't give a damn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Quitelife

All part of the general break down in law and order in Ireland, soft on crime Politicians and Judges.

The law is only for the Law Abiding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

They are simply making a statement that they are above the law and don't give 2 hoots about those trying to enforce it. Rather than try to stop them, their parents would virtually encourage them to behave like this as they are of the very same mindset. Just look also at the sulky races on the various motorways around Limerick and the comments being made from those behind the videos and you will quickly get a glimpse of the mindset that prevails among them. Not travelers alone, the ordinary scum too. Society is rapidly going down the tubes as ordinary decent working people are becoming out-bred and thus out-numbered. The people in charge are happy to sit on their hands and allow this to happen rather than be called kill-joys or racists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

But sure they have no resources or any youth facilities in the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Mac 3

I met one last night near Baals Bridge, came from the canal bank. Got a little pissy when I didn't stop to leave him onto the road.

Looked like he was making for town . Was driving through Janesboro and had some dame behind me on a small quad bike with a child on board.

Driving / parking standards in Limerick have to be the worst in the country. People just don't give a fook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,437 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

If you see a copper near one wave him down and ask what's the story with it, above all else they're definitely driving around without helmets

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Saturday afternoon last there was one driving up and down Patrick street in the bumper to bumper traffic. No helmet and driving like a muppet. You can hear them a mile off, if there were garda patrols on foot or bicycle they might actually see one!

Do gardai patrol on foot anymore?

Gardai not interested in the slightest. They have simply given up on these folk. My opinion is that they have been told from "on high" to ignore them as there's no revenue to be collected from them. Concentrate on where money can be made. Like the dude that seems to spend his whole life at the exit of the tunnel on the Clare side with a speed gun. Judging by the state of him there is'nt much more you could ask him to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,336 ✭✭✭✭phog

Gardai have no interest in them in the same way they have no interest in cyclists acting the maggot, no way to slap a fixed penalty point to and the courts don't want to be dealing with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭sioda

Why not just confiscate the bikes?

Driving though the city yesterday evening, every green area meant for children to play seems to have horses illegally grazing . It really drags down the appearance of the place , their owners get up mid afternoon and take them for a trot on the roads ( beside the scooters) . They only laughing at the law abiding getting up going to work every day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭sioda

Sorry the Motorcycle cops should give wheelie lessons although think if speedgun cop got on a scrambler it would collapse 🤣

At least you can say the horses are being taken care of to some extent, the scramblers on the other hand are just a scourge

Most of the horses are emancipated and been whipped aggressively to go faster on road surfaces that hurt their legs badly. Wheres the Green Party or anyone else that cares about animal cruelty ?

Like everything else, unless they can tax it or collect revenue from it, the Greens are not interested.!!! A shower of complete and total frauds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭lalababa

You're blaming the green party for emancipated horses in Limerick.....I've heard it all now...you might as well blame them for your milk turning sour..

Emancipated doesn't mean what you think it does.

It's their Culture and they are unwinding after a hard days work.

There is also no community facilities where they live what else can they do.

Driving uninsured and untaxed scrambles is the only thing open for them.

Lets relax on them please.

You should be more careful on the road on the way to your work etc I mean your only paying a fortune for the privilege of a car these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Same way they dont police motorists that park illegally or break red lights

The Greens are quick enough to be giving out about Greyhound racing etc but stay very quite about horses been whipped up and down the roads of Limerick city and County!

One of these days they'll kill themselves (and sadly somebody else) and then the laws will be better enforced. Takes a crisis for anything logical to happen here

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

One of them already killed themselves up in O'Malley Park a couple of months back. There were videos going around of his funeral where 20 or 30 of them were tearing up and down Mulgrave St ahead of the funeral cortege. Absolutely nothing done by the Guards to stop them.

And seeing as some continue to use the 'It's their culture' phrase, I'll say that he wasn't a traveler either.

That's the sad thing someone will die but usually some poor person going about their day and minding their own business.

Just imagine coming up to a garda checkpoint and no tax on your car you would be fined etc

These scrambles on a public road hardly taxed many of them.

One rule for one one rule for the other in Ireland 2022

The rules ie the law are only for the law Abiding because they will pay fines.

Free legal Aid Solicitors, soft judges, weak politicians protect the criminals and their children whizzing up and down the streets and estates of Limerick City!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Cetyl Palmitate

2 lads drive up on the footpath from mcdonalds past matthew stevens and took off up william street today around 3 in the afternoon. 2 full size scramblers it looked like rather than the mini you see sometimes.

This happened today and its not limerick but it could only be a matrer of time.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The Gardai need to act on this. Bikes and quads driven by idiots with no helmets, no clue, no sense, no license, no tax and most importantly no insurance are far too common place.

They are a scourge.