Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great House Revival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I think Hugh said the ground floor was the same size as a 3 bed bungalow. I don't recall the actual square footage in the end being mentioned.

I'm such a messy creature I'd be living in the mezzanine or even on the third floor away from guests eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,776 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I thought they said near the end it was 420 sq m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

A 3 bed bungalow would be around about 100-120sqm so they basically have the space of three regular houses. If anything they would have been better off shaving off the top floor and and just going with about 240sqm over two floors which is still a very big house. Though Id guess if it was a listed building they had to keep it at three floors to get planning permission.

I know the trend in Ireland is that our houses are getting bigger than what they were in the past, they are heading toward American sizes rather than European ones. Things like home offices, walk in wardrobes, utility rooms and more en suites all add on to make new houses about twice the soze of a regular 3 bed semi or bungalow that a lot of people grew up in. New builds in the range of 200-240sqm are common enough these days but what they built last night is twice that size. It would be like living in a small hotel or guesthouse. Some people would love that but it just wouldnt be for me, I think there is such a thing as having too much space that the place feels almost cavernous when there in only a small family living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,929 ✭✭✭✭Penn

They definitely would have had to keep it at 3 stories due to the existing windows. They did say they weren't planning on doing the third floor yet, but the builder convinced them to do it now. In fairness, I'd agree with the builder. You'd already have to do the majority of the work in terms of structure/stairs etc to the point where finishing the building internally while all the other works were going on made the most sense. It would have been more expensive and disruptive to do it in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭recipio

Fair play to them for taking on an old mill. If this was in the UK they would have all kinds of heritage bodies giving advice. The old saying " The time to buy it is when you see it " applies here. If this is their forever home then they were right to do the third floor and get the place watertight. My only suggestion would be to put in a lift and futureproof the building for 'old age.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

She was very fond of bra tops, even the kids were laughing at the get up of her on National TV..

very hard to believe she did all that work for under 350k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭alias no.9

It was nice to see the building rescued, the granite looked spectacular when it was cleaned up. It was essentially a new build inside the old structure which is why there was no stonework visible internally, I expect there is a ventilated void between the old and new for insulation and to prevent damp / mold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

yeah it looks like there was a few fireplaces and other features embedded in the walls just covered up. I'd have left some of them exposed and maybe the stonework in the stairwell.

I'm guessing there it was not a listed building so no conservation issues, the outside was maintained anyway.

They would have certainly needed planning though, I would have thought that there would have been planning constraints on the windows and natural slate on the roof etc.

I think it was said that there was no preservation order or listing on the building/shell.

I was surprised they got away with the horrible (to my eye) uPVC windows.

It occurred to me a couple of times during the programme when Hugh was suggesting all sorts to her, that surely a lot of stuff would have been nailed down in drawings and with planners in advance of the job starting - was that all just fluff for the programme? Although she did change the master bedroom to the second living room area.

But I'd definitely have thought the planners would have strong opinions on the likes of the windows.

I don't think the planners would be too bothered about changes made inside. I'd like to know more about the fire protection in the 3 story stairwell though.

Hugh mentioned that none of the original windows remained so there was nothing there to show what it "should" look like.

Tbh I'm on the fence about conservation. No one gives a toss when a building is falling apart but then suddenly when someone decides to invest in the property there's a whole list of rules to be adhered to. (I'm talking in general)

In this instance when you see the before picture when it was covered in ivy you'd hardly think a building was even there.

True, and I saw an article in the Examiner, I think, where An Taisce (or some similar conservation body) were tearing strips off the programme for not maintaining integrity and involving conservation architects and planners - and Hugh made the same point - basically, do you let it fall down, or do it up to suit modern tastes/requirements?

There is definitely a middle ground.

Lots of comments on Twitter about the suspiciously fantastically finished state of the house, when Kelly was reduced to painting it herself (allegedly) and they were all out of money (allegedly) - talk of lots of furniture being loaned for the big reveal, and the sponsors being Dulux heritage paints.....

The same is obvious with Room To Improve - and I really wish they'd be more honest with the final upshot - these series always seem to start off with the best of intentions, and then veer quickly in to the realm of fantasy and fiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭gipi

Thought I heard at the end that they had 5 bedrooms

Yeah, that struck me too. I remember a Grand Designs where a couple did up an old mill building, the council wouldn't let them attach an enclosed staircase to the outside of the building as it was listed, and they had to completely enclose the stairs built inside for fire safety. It resulted in smaller rooms, and the stonework which they kept could no longer be seen on one side of the house

They said that the stairwell was built into the old kiln of the mill, so maybe that was boxed off/separate enough for it to meet regulations?

If you look at the picture posted here earlier today, there are some windows on the top floor of the old building. They were the type of window I thought of when I saw the old mill - Georgian type small panes.

Perhaps it was but I'd have like to see how they achieved that. It is costly with fire doors and AOV's etc.

No chance they'll ever go into nitty gritty boring detail like that.

It's all the fairytale stuff.

Very frustrating.

Theres a picture showing a good roof, downpipes and good enough windows, maybe that's the other mill he lived in with his parents?

Looks too good to be same place.

I'm not too sure that first picture is the same mill....it looks in too good condition to what was shown with the ivy covering it etc.

I honestly don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭youllbemine

Have a look at the website: Buildings of Ireland.

That photo posted above is of the parent's mill which is approx 400m south east of the building featured in the programme.

The mill isn't even recorded on the website which is strange considering they detail everything from gerogian houses to ring forts etc.

I'd imagine that the original windows in the young couple's mill were very similar to the mill featured in the photo above. Baffles me why people try to reinvent the wheel when the solution is literally in yer man's home place across the field.

Sounds like some of of the proceeds came from the sale of Kelly's house and 'savings' although having lived at home for the past 2 years myself I'm not sure that would be significant when you're spending the guts of €500k.

Thanks for that - I missed the start of the programme, didn't know the parents lived in a mill as well.

To be fair you'd probably save €2k a month between them with no bills, rent and less going out during lockdowns, so there could be €50k there.

Even on the PUP @€350 each they could survive away on €400 each per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭youllbemine

Ya that's the kind of money I'm talking about. But €50k is quickly swallowed up when you're decking out a house. They had say €400k of a mortgage. I'm guessing it took €550k to finish the house to what we saw at the end of the episode.

The pannelling alone in that corridor was €2k. You're talking about flooring for a huge area. Even if you go cheap it still costs a bomb. I think they said there was 38 windows. Huge costs involved. €50k ain't much like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

43 windows in total so the glazing alone probably ran to about 35k-40k and thats not including the builder having to repair all the cills so the windows would fit in. That alone was a big job to repair 43 cills.

Id say given the parents live in a mill themselves and owned this derelict one too that they come from a merchant family and have a few quid behind them and helped the young couple out financially. Either that or they picked up the derelict mill for next to nothing during the crash, there was buildings like that selling for cheap back then, I remember a small castle in the midlands going for 120k at auction circa 2013.

Windows €50k, roof including removing the old and scaffolding about €100k.

Keep going and going after that.

Wasn't a shortage of money when they can splash €2k on panelling near the end either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭LunaLoo

I'm looking at Instagram and a lot of the companies are getting shout outs so wonder was there some kind of discount in return for the advertising. The panelling supplier, floor supplier, doors, windows, carpenter all getting mentions

I'm pretty certain she said it would be nice for the lil one to grow up where her granddad lived...so I think in the family for generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭siblers

She did take the advice in changing the master bedroom into a sitting room to be fair and she took the builder's advise to finish the third floor.

She never really gave the impression she'd go with Hugh's suggestion for the windows which was a shame.