Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 38,312 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

shite first half by us

We just can't keep up with the flow of the game. Very lucky to be only down by 4 points

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Gleeson and Barron on at half time

• Registered Users Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭decies

looks like we are still in Thurles . Can’t win the 50/50 . Tipp going for the kill . Just as well they had those wides . Gleeson to save day in second half !!!

Lose here and its curtains

No way we're beating Limerick up there if we can't get win here

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

lucky to get a win. Tipp had plenty of chances to bury us and a better team would have.

Gleeson, Barron and Iarlaith all have to start the next day. Start your best players on the field Liam

Delighted with the win and so great to get one monkey off our backs in not winning in the round robin format but overall performance today not good and a better team would of buried us.

Hopefully this is a wakeup call for us, if we had lost today we could be out of the championship next Saturday. Not as much pressure on us next Saturday after todays win

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭IanVW

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

What was the wide count for both teams today? We had a period around the time of the tipp second goal when we had 7 shots and 6 of them went wide. Tipp had some bad ones too

Limerick slowly getting back to there best, does Cahill have a plan b because our running game wont be good enough against them ?

Walsh Park was pretty eery today for the frees, it was so silent

• Registered Users Posts: 12 jmf1993

Tough game but will stick to them going forward. Bring on Limerick next week ⚪️🔵⚪️🔵⚪️🔵⚪️🔵

Well it was a case of bend but not break . Were we at our best no but we fought back well and went again when we had to at the end . Plenty for the coaches to look as they will know have to be better against limerick . From a purely psychological point a view I hope we snatch it next Saturday night . This time we will have to play for 70 mins plus !!!

Patrick Curran becoming an absolute rock for this team another 4 points from play today. Having low key a fantastic season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

No dressing up the fact that it was a disappointing performance. Seemed to be some really poor errors from the defense in the first half, lucky to get away with the win.

Maybe it's the kick in the arse we needed

Limerick back on form and will be out to prove a point next weekend. Be nice to put them back in there box, Marty almost in tears talking about them on commentary

Any day we beat tipp by 4 points in championship hurling is a good day. To do this while getting a 'kick up the arse' is a great day.

We were never going to hammer tipp despite what some chatter pre match might have suggested. We really reaped the benefit of having such a strong squad today. Great position to be in to bring on a hurler of the year AND a hurler of the year nominee at half time.

Brian Cody often references 'business time' of a match as the five mins before and five mins after half time. In the 33rd min today the score was Waterford 0-9 tipp 1-12. In the 38th it was Waterford 1-14 tipp 1-12. Huge

Patrick Curran absolutely outstanding for me today. A rock, he won't get the plaudits others get but low key becoming such an essential player for us .

Bring on limerick next weekend. I think we will give them a right old rattle

• Registered Users Posts: 3,997 ✭✭✭Rosita

Has Cody said this in interviews......about "business time"? Never heard him say it.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭JD. 60

Curran has come of age this year ; what a shame he wasn’t utilised to the same effect under previous managers. He’s every bit as good as Cian Lynch but without getting the same plaudits.

A workmanlike performance today. Thank goodness the rain stayed away ….. if the west Terrace is good enough for Ken McGrath and Maurice, then it was good enough for me ! Pressure off a little bit next week ; the best time to beat Limerick will be later in the championship but would take a win in the meantime. Nothing to fear from Cork in mid May ; they were a shambles today.

Tipp showed some fantastic attributes today in terms of stickwork,defending and picking holes in waterford plan (was suprised with the astuteness of colm bonner layout),and blew open all the preceived wisdom/shyte talk around hurling

I hope ye make it out of munster (after ourselves of course)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Yeh it was a good performance for sure. Just don't have the depth Waterford have which is unfortunate for us. Ye will take some beating this year for sure. Big thing is to not panic if Limerick beat ye!

Waterford incredibly lucky today,tipp should been out of sight by halftime,must rue missed goal chances,if we're honest with ourselves

Some woeful blunders at full back cost us the goals (tbf he at other times did some fantastic defending too)

The goalkeeper is a liability at times,de burca got taken for several scores and made uncharacteristic mistakes in distribution......

the whole running game/getting goals,if defended againest and teams dont have to funnel players back to shore up defence,quickly becomes ordinary enough......felt we put ourselves in a position didnt need to be at halftime, by trying to walk in goals,when points would have kept scoreboard ticking over and better options soon present emselves

Some terrible shot selection and decision making in second half,in particular left it alot closer than necessary againest a v.under rated (why?) Tipp team

Play like that vs limerick and we will be beaten by 15 to 20 points

But,we ground out a result againest a team could be argued hurled better than us,the running game slightly mal-functioned,showed great maturity to not panic and decend into giving away stupid frees/general indiscipline and mostly kept trying to find better position player for large periods....a game/experience that will stand to us alot more than the games vs cork and wexford

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Played poor and win is a good thing but a sloppy performance all told. The first Tipp goal was awful defending after a good start, gave Tipp a jolt and they went from there. If they got the secodnd goal in the first half when O'Brien did well, it could have been too far to come back. Ditto with the second goal, keeper was poor on both goals. Puck outs were disappointing as well and took a long time to figure it out. Also some of the wides weren't happening a couple of weeks ago. Glesson came on and they played really well for 10 minutes and I'd say Cahill has some serious words at half time.

Limerick looked very impressive again, probably due to Cork coughing up goals for forwards again so next Saturday will be interesting. They need to go for it fully as its the best way to know where the team is, forget the dummy war that you'll hear all week.

Most important thing is to not be drawn into a dogfight of turnovers with em

Feel,cork went about it correctly as regards isolating full back line,but let emselves be dragged into a dogfight running it down centre,whereas landing ball into space/on top of 3 front forwards would have reaped better rewards imo

We must be utterly willing to adopt tp suit what limerick throw at us,they used change/tweek tactics last year at water breaks and teams would be 5 to 10 mins behind adopting to it then....alot to be said for having someone in stand,to catch changes quicker as 5 min delay in catching em changing from direct to diagonal balls to forwards could be too long and cost us the game

Id expext de burca,with his exceptional reading of game,to excell sat night and go along way to closing the gap between us.....most important thing is noone be afraid to get stuck in and stand off/show em too much respect,they arent unbeatable by any means,but are utterly professional in pursuit of gameplan/tactics,so must be meet with maximum disruption of it

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

Sorry but Patrick Curran is not every bit as good as Cian Lynch,

One has done all there is to do in GAA, multiple times and has bossed the biggest games with the best players,

The other is finally making his county team and hopefully showing some of the promise he has shown as a youngster.

PC is a super player but a bit of common sense needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Massive relief to get the win today, we were lucky to be only 4 points down at half time after a below par performance all over the field. second half was much better, but still lots of room for improvement, particularly some of the scores we coughed up.

Still, we won a crucial game and we are up and running now. Huge game next Saturday, limerick put all the poor league talk to bed today. Massive challenge ahead next week. Great to have Jamie Barron back playing as well so that's another big positive from today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Cork were awful though it has to be said apart form the first 15 mins of each half…a loss to limerick isn’t the end of the year as we all know. Could still end up meeting them on two more occasions so play the percentage game against them. Go for the win of course but keep a small bit of powder dry perhaps. Munster titles are nice but the ‘big one’ is what is needed in mid July….long way to go and it’s paramount not to get carried away ‘counting the chickens’ …..cork and their media fell into this trap after a kk victory in the league semi and they have had their asses well and truly kicked / sliced apart twice since. Another loss and they (cork) are probably kissing their season goodbye……Tipp were gifted the first goal today and the keeper should have done better with the second. Also Kiely definitely missed a second goal which on another day would have been converted so the final score line could easily have been 3-24 to 0-20…….also Stephen Bennett had an off day from play but also if my aunt had b@lls……everyone knows the rest…..question now is if limerick get the victory next Saturday can Waterford ‘sow it into cork’ again a la Limerick did and repeat the same v lohan’s lads…?

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Ballyvoile Boy

Good to win while not playing our best. I feel we are still a bit short of Limerick though for Saturday. Would love to be proven wrong, but I don't see us beating them just yet, based on todays performance - maybe in a Munster final (if we can get there). I was confused as to why we did not create more space in front of Dessie & Kiely in the 1st half. As soon as we did in the 2nd half, it yielded results. Also I reckon Shane Bennett gives more off the ball work ethic than some & is as good if not better a finisher as many of the forwards (as we saw in Nowlan Park). Iarlaith Daly showed his worth, as did Jamie & Austin (but we know what they can bring). For me it needs a different starting team against Limerick (if everyone is available again). Jack Fagan hobbled off, so who knows if he will be right, but there is a good replacement in Iarlaith Daly & he can play anywhere from 2-7. Fagan did fairly well I thought & Conor Gleeson was solid enough, apart from getting a silly yellow card. Overall the Waterford discipline was quite good. A few defensive errors & some underwhelming play though, so you would hope it won't be like that on Saturday, but then again Limerick force you into errors anyway, so quick handling & release will be vital (as it's much harder to break the tackle with Limerick, usually more than 1 of them near you in midfield) as well as having a deep half forward line & trying to drag Hannon to one side or the other with timed runs, so the ball can bypass him to the 2 inside forwards. I rate Jack Prendergast very highly usually (for work rate in particular) & Patrick Curran was impressive again. Dessie, Austin & Stephen Bennett are starters for me, so the questions in the forwards centre around whether Montgomery & Kiely hold on to their starting position (1 of them will likely not start if the other 5 named do). Shaun O' Brien once again has shown that he is the preferred goalkeeper to start & while he is human & prone to the odd mistake, he is a great shot stopper. The puckouts are not his fault when they go wrong, as he can only hit the ball out to those making themselves available. I really feel this is a weak point for Waterford tactically, as there is no real bunching for run-making into space. It is left entirely up to the opposition forwards as to whether the short one is on & it surprises me that more work is not done on the movement & the timing for puckouts. TBH I see the lack of tactical ability in the management regarding restarts as being an impediment to winning an AI. So many times today Tipp claimed our long puckouts in their half back line. Other teams will have noticed our lack of a plan in this regard, especially after Wexford just let us have the ball each time in Nowlan Park. Limerick will not be naive. Having said all that, Waterford could still hit the ground running next Saturday & give a great display. Some of the issues will need to be sorted out anyway as we go along though, as Kinnerk is as cute as the bees & we could end up playing Limerick 3 times this year in the championship. Especially important is creating outfield options for puckouts & the positioning of the Waterford half forward line. The main thing Sat is to not get well beaten by Limerick (like Cork today), as it could be a blow to confidence. The players are there now, so if the tactics can be got right, including the effective man marking of Hegarty, Hayes & Lynch & also a plan for Will O Donoghue too, well who knows? Limerick will be deserved favourites though, Diarmuid Byrnes was scoring for fun today. Anyway, one win in the bag today & that is huge for us in the round robin. Saturday night won't be long coming around.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 jmf1993

The goalkeeper is a liability? Keeper made two great saves to keep us alive

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭seananigans