Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AEW - All Elite Wrestling (*Spoilers for Latest Show*)

• Registered Users Posts: 54,282 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭nazmoalex

Jaysus pushing Great Balls of Fire close for the worst ppv name. Could be great, hope we get to see the best of New Japan on this one, and hopefully Kenny is back by then. Some potential with this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,601 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Love the name I can just the see the piss boiling it will cause.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Basically the reason his contract wasn't renewed was down to himself and bad timing with injuries and also not being great at pitching idea's for TV and he holds no ill will to AEW.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

That was another really good episode of Dynamite, standard really. Had a bit of everything, old school with Punk and Rhodes, brutality from the BCC, the more modern technical style from KOR and JB and then the main event. Get Hook away from Danhausen though, he's cringeworthy.

FTR facing each other in the Owen qualifier is an interesting one.

Great announcement from Khan, definitely one for the pro-wrestling heads. Funny that the Switchblade pops back up a few days after the lads were on here giving out about how his previous appearances went nowhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,077 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Felt if they wanted Britt to do a promo, they shouldn't have used it to bury the division. I know she has to get herself over but pointing out what others have said about the poor state of the division probably isn't the best idea unless Tony plans on addressing the problem.

I find it funny that Lambert is meant to be heel yet they've put him against people who are disliked more than him. First Brandi and now Sammy/Tay.

Looking forward to the FTR match.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭ThePott

I find it weird you're using Jay White showing up again as an example of a story going somewhere. He was here, then he wasn't, now he's back. Is that meant to be great booking or storytelling? Would have been a bigger moment if he hadn't shown up before if anything. Like his past appearances didn't add to him showing up here at all. Imagine we'd never seen him and then out of nowhere the leader of the Bullet Club shows up on AEW TV, far bigger moment and would immediately confirm how massive the PPV would be. Not everything has to be a slam-dunk like.

Forbidden Door PPV has a wealth of potential, that hopefully it can live up to. The only pitfalls I think it can fall into are that they wouldn't have the top guys of NJPW or that it becomes a multitude of inconsequential tag-matches. Then again it's exciting to finally have an official NJPW x AEW show. Think everyone is already fantasy booking when the coin will drop. Hoping for some great surprises at Double or Nothing to set it up. The other big question is Omega, can't imagine leaving him out in the cold altogether but not sure where he's at with injuries, could certainly see a staredown to end the show with him. Definitely a big announcement worth hyping though, tbh Khan normally delivers when it comes to these.

Show aside from that decent, crowd was a bit hit and miss. Guessing they're doing the double turn with MOTY and Sammy/Tay. Also not a fan of Britt running down the whole division personally. FTR face off next week could be amazing and a TNT ladder match could be excellent as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,170 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I find it weird you're using Jay White showing up again as an example of a story going somewhere. He was here, then he wasn't, now he's back. Is that meant to be great booking or storytelling?

It isn't but that doesn't matter because any perceived slight on AEW must be met with bitter sniping at every opportunity.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Forbidden Door - it's got great potential I think most will agree. The Jay White cameo a few weeks back was TK trying to correct a mistake (entirely of his own making) and I dunno if we should have made any more of it than that.

Punk v Dustin was a rock-solid match and a great opener. BCC were great too, no surprises. William Regal is having a ball, you can tell with the way he's going on when on commentary :)

The Sammy/Tay confirmed heel turn - I think this whole thing has been a mess but at least they're no longer ignoring the fan reactions or sweetening the audio. I don't think anyone wanted Dan Lambert as a face, whatever about Sky and Page, but here we are. Not sure if we're getting a mixed-tag ladder match or what's happening, it wasn't terribly clear.

The Wardlow/Butcher thing was kinda fun - it's pure MJF stuff with the OTT nature of it - handcuffs and escorts and all the rest.

O'Reilly beating JB wasn't what I was expecting, but I guess it feeds into the tournament.

A decent show overall I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Yeah decent show again. I'm not mad about respectful veteran Punk though to be honest, he's much better when he's fired up about something. Hopefully he and Hangman will get something going. I love Regal and the BCC though, they're great craic. The Sammy and Tay vs Paige and whoever mixed tag will probably happen at Double or Nothing.

Yeah think commentary weren't too sure either but they tried clearing it up by saying they guess it's a ladder match for the title next week which was confirmed later then a mixed tag down the road.

That really was a huge announcement having a major cross promotion ppv with some of the best pro wresting talent in the world available to take part a real dream for pro wrestling fans

Also its fcuking crazy that 63 year old Sting is turning into Jeff Hardy jumping off balconies

This would be the dream top of the card for me.

Danielson vs. Okada

Punk vs. KENTA

Omega vs. Ibushi

Mox vs. Tanahashi

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭nazmoalex

Enjoyed the show overall. Just felt bad on Andrade and Darby having rush through everything with the time they had. They had a pretty good match the other week, if this was supposed to be the blow off match to the feud (which the coffin match should be), it didn't feel right. Like Andrade didn't even get an entrance. And personally, the Sting spot with the dive is not needed, first time he did it was a cool, this one wasn't as smooth and I don't want him getting hurt. His call I suppose, but still.

The Punk match went too long for me, like it's Dustin, should be squashing him if he's going on to challenge for the title. Ok match regardless.

Britt ate into the time too with an unnecessary promo, I get it's her home town, but she could have came out after the show ended to do that.

Everything else was pretty good. All the matches were entertaining, and the big announcement was genuinely big this time.

BCC are cruising along nicely, MJF and Wardlow stuff is still fun to watch. Tiny criticism of Wardlow's powerbomb spot, he should have to drag the opponents up after the second and third one, Butcher being able to pop up after them doesn't make it look as effective.

Excited to see how the PPV goes, still think the name is silly when the forbidden door has been revolving for a while now. Would have called it The Forbidden Show. Chicago getting all the big shows, lucky hooers!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Sting stole the show, I'll never not laugh my ass off at Sting in a Sting mask. Yuta's new gear is a big improvement. Britt **** on the whole division who probably won't respond is not a good look. Flights booked for Chicago, ending my event hiatus with an AIW event and the Forbidden door.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

A big factor in how they book it will be the availability of Kenny and Ibushi. I'd say probably expect a good few tag matches with some top singles matches.

You'd have to think there's a good chance it will be Okada/Punk after Punk's reply back in January to Okada's dream match comment. Could see some big multi man tags involving any combination of BCC, CHAOS, Undisputed Elite, Suzuki-gun, Bullet Club, AFO, LIJ etc. Hope they go nuts and do Darby/Hiromu. Seeing any of Shingo, Ospreay, Tanahashi or ZSJ in singles action against the AEW crew would be pretty cool. Maybe a very slight possibility of Bushiroad using some of the STARDOM roster to face some of the AEW women too. Some nice possibilities anyways!

Okada/Punk would be interesting. I'd imagine they'll keep Okada as champ till Forbidden Door and it looks like they're going for Hangman/Punk at DON so do we reckon Punk will become AEW champ? In which case it would be champ vs. champ. I do think regardless NJPW won't want Okada losing which is understandable. Be interesting too with it being in Chicago and basically anyone against Punk might as well be a heel.

I think United Empire vs. BCC could be an easy tag match to make, considering Mox just fought Ospreay. I'm assuming they'll have Mox fight Tanahashi before then. With Moxley having a foot in both promotions I think the result would be more interesting too.

TUE vs Bullet Club seems like something that's bound to happen too. Be nice to see Andrade team up with LIJ and the like as well. I think at the very least the amount of stables in both allows for the tag matches to be more interesting than usual. Most curious to see if Jericho's stable faces off with someone and who.

Hope Stardom get involved too, Kairi would make a great addition.

Really really hope Omega is back for the FD PPV, it's something that he belongs to headline tbh

It would be great if ftr could take the njpw tag titles off cobb and great o khan and go on there own belt collector run maybe have a njpw talent take the tnt title

Apparently Meltzer has said that last he heard it was unlikely that Omega will make DoN. Considering there's only four weeks between them you gotta imagine him being a Forbidden Door is unlikely. Think you could have him come out to set up a match at All Out or even for another Forbidden Door show down the line, sure he'll be beating himself up if he can't make it.

Would be cool if Forbidden Door sticks the landing and becomes a fixture of their PPV calendar, be nice to add to the usual Big 4 with a show like this.

Britt Baker gets a match + promo time after and is already advertised for an interview segment on Friday. Rosa gets a nothing 30 second video. This is exactly what I predicted when Britt returned, Rosa as champ will be even more of an afterthought. Horrible promo from Britt as well just burying the division and she could hardly get it out she was so gassed from the match.

Other than that it was another good show, a few things did seem very rushed though so something must have went over time. I just hope the NJPW AEW show doesn't have a load of multi man matches just to get everyone on the card and it's made up of mostly single matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Davy05

Not to start the whole debate again but what's the difference between a sports entertainer and a pro wrestler? I just mean what could the JAS do to distinguish themselves as sports entertainers?

And Hook speaks!

Get the Golden Lovers and their Golden Shower in throught the Forbidden Door.