Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend Knife for humane dispatch on Deer

• 17-04-2022 9:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

As titled. I recently attended the humane dispatch course and the knife was discussed as a tool that is suitable in specific circumstances..

So.

Looking for a suitable knife which might effect both rapid cutting at the neck and good point penetration lateral to the atlas joint.

Its hard to conceive of a knife that can cut through fur with easy jet be stout enough to scramble and twist in the cranial cavity of an animal.

As such the technique of cutting from the outside to the inside might not be recommended. ??

It might be best to plunge cut a a point behind the main artery and cut outwards this a dagger blade might be more suited

6-7 inches would be idea lol for a blade length and the handle could be a short 4.5 inches with a rounded pummel to aid with a palm thrust.

I have been considering a military styled bayonet/dagger knife.

Its hard to know if serrations are beneficial or a hindrance when cutting flesh.

I know it’s a bit of a ghastly subject so…

Post edited by Cass on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Are you looking for or thinking about something like the Gerber Steadfast or something more refined?

Also, and just asking due to the nature of the thread, why a knife? In what situation would one be necessary over say an additional shot?

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭BSA International

Sounds dangerous approaching a large injured animal, with a knife 😕

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Yes, it’s dangerous and not always advisable.

The deer, being mobile, could easily wander/run out onto a road or some other place where a shot might not be advisable or allowed without authorisation..

Gerber Steadfast? Looks robust but. again it only cuts on one edge!

If, I’m guarding with one arm then I’d like to think that any knife wounds could be opened up in any direction with either a push or a pull so, I leaning towards a double edged blade. ( which is a positive here)

??

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭kunekunesika

Did they not show or recommend a suitable knife?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Using one of these at the moment -really like it - very sturdy and you put your index finger along the back of the blade to the tip for better control to use it like a scalpal.

No! they only recommend a min blade length..

As far as I remember they never tendered much in technical issues as I feel that the use of a knife is more academical than practical thus the instances of such usage is all too infrequent hence a low knowledge base on the subject.

As you known there are folk that could write chapters on the use of a knife.

To date I have only over use a blade to finish a beast twice. One was a shot pricket and the other was an injured Sika stag (deer-vehicle collision)

As such I also have limited experience..

Looks like a grand knife for controlled cutting but the blades edge seem quite proud of the handle! so much so that it seems possible that such a configuration could a tendency to rotate off the line of force..?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭Feisar

I would have said Cold Steel Outdoorsman. But you want a double edge blade. The Outdoorsman is study/thick but hollow ground so sharp as feck. IMHO for a blade of it's thickness is scary sharp after you get it on a waterstone of circa 3000 grit. It's not going to be as sharp as a Victorinox Fibrox utility/rabbit knife but those are like a damn scalpel. Just on thickness there has been a trend towards thicker knives born partially from what'll pass some youtube bullshit survival test. I've a knife that looks like an Old Hickory butchers knife I found in my Granny's lean to turf shed when I was a pup. Thin blade but I put it though hell as a kid. Don't be overly concerned about thickness unless yer batoning oak or something similar.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Never found to be so, the blade is quite short so very easy to control .

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The deer, being mobile, could easily wander/run out onto a road or some other place where a shot might not be advisable or allowed without authorisation..

In reality how practical is catching an injured (but mobile) deer and severing an artery with a knife to finish it off?

Probability of this event is low. However, with that said it can occur and as such I have had to use a blade twice. Both deer were not shot by me! Or iow, not shot my a highly trained shooter..

Regards Ivan

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Did you consider a 22lr pistol? There was a thread not too long ago discussing that very topic, and it seem a lot safer than a knife.

Safer but for who! The humane dispatcher but not the school of children in the field beyond.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Confused, how would a HD pistol be less safe?

Literally everywhere that allows pistols(and even those that generally don't, like the UK), allow HD pistols simply because they are the safest option vs a knife or other traditional methods, or a close range shot with a relatively high powered rifle round. And certainly a lot more practical than carrying around a spear or other item which would give you some standoff distance, but without firing a projectile.

Even if there was a ricochet, once that 22 has passed through part of the deer and then impacted the thing that caused it to ricochet, it is going to be nearly completely spent, assuming it even gets to the point of ricochet.

I just cannot see any scenario where a knife would be a safer option for anyone, either directly involved or not...

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

I hope you're not implying that pistols are somehow predisposed to shoot up schools.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

MODERATOR NOTE

Pre-emptive warning lads. DO NOT attempt to bring the discussion in that direction. Keep on topic.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

I have shot a pile of foxes with the 22lr and I have on several occasions seen/heard bullets hit hedging behind the animal at ranges of 2-300 yards so rifles and pistols are dangerous in built up areas and I mean suburbia.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

This is the one part of the HD course I was totally at odds with.

I've seen enough of them done in Germany,but it is VERY much a skill you would want to practise on a cadaver before you try this in real life.

As well as it being downright dangerous and leaving you liable to some serious injury.I know two professional old school German hunters who have got ligament damage in their hands after getting Roe deer antler prongs thru their palms while either trying to sever the spinal cord via the base of the skull and Atlas bone or trying a throat cut. A Roebuck isn't exactly huge,so consider trying this on a Red stag??? What was being said in the course of folding the deer's head into its neck to then cut the exposed neck was IMHO highly dangerous and irresponsible. It is now also illegal to do as a humane dispatch method in Germany anymore due to the animal rights mob and cruelty issues. It is now finish them off with a pistol or rifle and preferably away from public view.

That being said.No need to go all Commando with a double edge blade. The traditional German "Hirsh fanger" [deer catcher] blade used for humane dispatch is a single-edged 12/18in long bayonet like blade that has dispatched countless deer over the centuries. Google it for various pics and versions. So a bayonet in the style of an old French Lebel or the like would give you some stand off distance.

However, I would think a possibly better and more humane solution would be;

Silenced .22 pistol or CF if you still have. I'm sure if you could justify the need you could get an extension of use note from the relevant authorities for use outside a range and/or can?

3 to 4in Subcaliber insert for a pistol round in a shotgun. You are NOT hunting and you are not taking shots of any more than 10 feet. After all, you are supposed to be the expert dispatcher and have the situation under your control at the traffic accident scene. So you should be on top of the deer.

Seen a UK gunsmith /HD devise from an old single shot 410 "poachers shotgun" a great HD gun,by making an integral silencer and keeping it at a 25in length using a mesh screen and an old PCP rifle air tank as the outside tube. Very discrete and was hard to discen past 25 yards apparently in the sound As it can be folded up and hidden in a small bag or in a large coat pocket as you go about your job. Using wax or hilbilly slugs, if you cant get 410 slugs, would be a good option for a gun like this? They were even close enough to suggest using a shotgun with this kind of load on the course.

00Buckshot...That's what it was made for after all way back when.

In short, this animal has suffered enough already...You are not hunting you are doing a humane dispatch,so any other humane methods should be considered first off, IOW a firearm of some type,and then a blade...As a very last recourse,and you had better know what you are doing it and where. Hacking away at an animal on a public road where there has already been an accident and no doubt attracted rubberneckers,is not going to do us any favours or show professionalism to the AGS. I cant really see a justifiable reason or scenario where you need to put yourself at risk using this technique with even what we have here in guns available in Irl either.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Bosco105

Hi I make my own knives,

Post edited by Cass on

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭Rescueme0007

Very nice looking knife!☺️

• Registered Users Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Either it's a very small knife,or he has killed a giant Irish Elk last deer season!😮

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "