Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It most certainly is not - with regard to the Senior set up.

Cork club hurling has been fairly poor for a very long time and that really is a fact.

Outside of the 3 times that Newtownshandrum won it, I don't think a Cork club has won a Munster Club Hurling title in around 35 years.

Other Counties club teams have little difficulty in beating the Cork champions, Year in Year out.

That record is truly abysmal.

The Cork Senior hurling league is tippy tappy. Referees blow for any kind of contact. Once our Club Champions get into Munster, inevitably we lose.

We have had some success at Intermediate and Junior - but the Senior club scene is truly awful, standard wise.

A Cork team from Intermediate and Junior clubs Only would probably beat a Cork team from Senior Clubs - that really shouldn't be the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Only two Cork teams have made the Munster Club Final in 30 years. Both lost. It's not a great sign really.

Erins Own in 2006 and Glen a few years back

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

As an outsider who's looked in at the Cork senior championship over the last 3 years I think the standard of hurling is high. Cork has more players of a similar high standard than other counties but it's not a physical championship. Everyone is a ball player and that's ok but a physical contest should be allowed develop. Its is refereed a little bit soft but Iv noted more robust challenges are being allowed over the past year.

Cork hurling is going in the right direction ,under age especially. It will come good. Unfortunately there is a perfect storm of poor coaching, weak players and Limerick around at the moment for the Seniors. That will eventually change. I wouldnt be too negative.

Cahalane wouldnt get on any other team in Munster after all the disasters he's committed. He's a good athlete but his hurling isn't adequate. This is a drum I beat every year since forever. He's got a good attitude, that's not enough

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Cork had a similar problem with Clare in the 90's, but they managed to slay that particular dragon in the 1999 munster final. Corks most successful teams always had that mixture of skill and toughness. The toughness has gone out of Cork hurling post 2008 in my opinion. The last hurrah of the 2003-2006 Cork team, was the Galway and Clare championship games in 2008. Since then our teams seem to have a fear of the physical nitty gritty stuff.

Really i hope that Corks hurling history and tradition, is an inspiration to the next generation of players and not a burden. In business a company has to adapt to the changing environment around it, or risk being left behind. Cork hurling faces that sort of challenge right now. Adapt or get left behind.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 34,147 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

How many cork clubs have had great sides on last 30 years? Newtown and that's about it.

Look how bad cork sides have done in Munster in past 15 years.

It's there in black and white

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mossie

Newtown won it in 2003, 2005 and 2009 but it's still bleak when compared to earlier years,

• Registered Users Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Kerry going along with match being held in Pairc Ui Rinn instead of Killarney. https://twitter.com/LawlorDamian/status/1517400428216000513?t=bfWdzCj_oo-yoLIcrl3hww&s=19

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Anything that could make it a little more competitive is in their best interests. They don't want to get to an All Ireland semi without being in some way challenged. This is the year Sam goes back to the Kingdom I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

I think you are overestimating Tradition and Cork success.

Some of the seniors + All of the Minor and under 20 would have been in nappies or in the womb for the 2004 + 2005 wins.

They wont have any memory of cork success, never mind it being a burden!?

All teams have history and tradition, not that I think it matters a whole lot to a current intercounty player.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

It's not nothing though. Tradition means you have clubs with fellas there for years who know how to run teams, give advice, spot talent etc. We read about JBM giving the Barrs a team talk on their AI run this year and I'm sure they hung off his every word.

If you dropped the equivalent population of Cork into Leitrim and forced the same amount of kids to play hurling, they won't win the same amount of All-Irelands in the next 25 years.

Agree with Straight Talker, Cork absolutely need to toughen up and find some bruisers to go along with our lovely wristy hurlers. Our greatest, Ring, decided he needed to up his weight and get much dirtier (aka look after himself) when KK roughed him up in the late 40s. The same thing has happened again in the modern era, Cork have only focused on the speed department of S&C and nearly every other county has left us behind in the physical stakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

And you think Cork are going to be competitive and give Kerry a game?

I think they will be more competitive than last year.

But less competitive than the year before.

Tradition is what i was reared on. Tradition is the deeds of the past that will inspire future generations. Tradition is Jack Lynch Christy Ring JBM and Teddy Mac. Wouldn't someone in Clare Mayo or Waterford, love to have that sort of tradition?

Edit: Look at Mayo they have a tradition of the wrong kind, they have a tradition of always losing all Ireland finals. Every single Mayo team in an all Ireland final, is weighed down by the failures of previous Mayo teams. Last years all Ireland final defeat, was another layer on that losing trifle. You are correct when you say, that all teams have a history and tradition, but Cork have a tradition of success. Mayo Clare and Waterford have a tradition of failure.

Post edited by Straight Talker on

Biggest load of rubbish!

No young lad nowadays will care about what somebody did in the 60’s or 70’s.

You are looking down on Clare, there will be a generation of hurlers in current and future teams who will have seen the 2013 All ireland success (Beating Cork in the process) . This is more relevant than ancient history of ring or anyone else to a ten year old with a hurley.

Fact is the last 3 times Cork were in an All Ireland final they lost. Clares ‘lack of tradition’ didnt hold them back. Waterfords ‘lack of tradition’ didnt hold them back in the semi in 2017

limericks ‘lack of tradition’ didnt hold them back when they won the semi against cork in 2018 or embarrass cork last year.

I dont think any of those counties would love the tradition all those recent losses, you can keep it. Ten years time you will still be wondering why the team isnt progressing which you watch reeling in the years reruns.

Well Cork have 30 all Irelands, Limerick have 10 all Irelands, Clare have 4 all Irelands and Waterford have 2 all Irelands. Those three counties have 16 all Irelands between them, and they still run well short of Corks all Ireland total. Like it or not those are the facts. For gods sake Clare haven't even won a Munster title since 1998.

Waterfords most recent all Ireland was in 1959, and they have had ample opportunities to break that hoodoo since 1998. Waterfords main problem is all Ireland semi finals. They have lost a hell of a lot of them since 1998. Limerick are a great team, but form is temporary and class is permanent my friend. I'm just very proud to be from Cork, and i'm proud of what my county has achieved over the years. If that offends you, well then there's nothing that i can do about that.

Post edited by Straight Talker on

Doesnt offend me, i find it quite amusing.

Again going straight back to the ancient history books. While the other counties are in Croke park on the field in July, maybe you can spend a few hours in the GAA Museum. Sounds like you will enjoy yourself more there .

Even if Cork don't win another all Ireland ever again, it doesn't take away what was achieved in the past. No other county will produce a Teddy McCarthy. In terms of all Irelands won across all the grades, and ladies football and camogie, we are the GAAs greatest all round county in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Would you just get out of here If you are purposely trolling in a Cork thread.

Cork also lead the role of honour in camogie and are joint leaders of the ladies football role of honour. Some people might say size and population has something to do with that, but Galway the second biggest county in Ireland only has five all Irelands combined in camogie and ladies football. However with regards to senior hurling and the mens senior football, we are a bit off the pace at the moment alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭topnotch

Is the Cork V Clare game going to be televised. The Kilkenny V Galway game is on at 2PM as well on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Clare have what we dont, massive workrate. worried enough for next weekend. Cork and Tipp to miss out in Munster?

Munster camogie semifinal result, Cork 2-17 Waterford 3-10

Munster u20 football final tomorrow at 7:30, live on TG4

1. Callum Dungan (Carrigaline)
    2. Jacob O’Driscoll (Valley Rovers)
    3. Tommy Walsh (Kanturk)
    4. Dan Peet (Clonakilty)
    5. Darragh Cashman (Millstreet) Joint Captain.
    6. Neil Lordan (Ballinora) Joint Captain
    7. Sean Brady (Ballygarvan)
    8. Kelan Scannell (Carbery Rangers)
    9. Alan Walsh (Kanturk)
    10. Richard O’Sullivan (Newcestown)
    11. Colin Walsh (Kanturk)
    12. Hugh Murphy (Éire Óg)
    13. Ryan O’Donovan (Barryroe)
    14. Conor Hanlon (Buttevant)
    15. Darragh O’Mahony (Ballincollig)
    16. Ronan Cashman (Kanturk)
    17. Adam Walsh-Murphy (Valley Rovers)
    18. Mikey Browne (Newmarket)
    19. Paddy O’Driscoll (Gabriel Rangers)
    20. Tadhg O’Donoghue (Carrig na bhFear)
    21. Liam O’Connell (Ballincollig)
    22. Conor Daly (Clonakilty)
    23. Eoin Walsh (Clyda Rovers)
    24. Fintan Fenner (Castletownbere)

Additional Panel Members; Conor Dodd (Canovee), Danny Linehan (Castlemagner), Robbie Minihane (Castlehaven), Daragh Murray (Glanmire), Hugh O’Connor (Newmarket), Michael O’Neill (Buttevant), Peadar O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), Joe O’Shea (Urhan), Ciarán O’Sullivan (Kilshannig), Ben Twomey (Fermoy), Fergal Walsh (Argideen Rangers), Sean Walsh (Argideen Rangers)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,657 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Bit of a stinker of a result that, with essentially a 1st choice lineup out.

I suppose they’ll say it’s knockout hurling so the win is all that mattered.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I have been saying from the start that at least one of Cork and Tipp to miss out and maybe both. We seem to have more in us though but we are hampered by a manager who doesn't seem to learn from previous games. I am hoping the weekend off will have galvanised some lads in our camp and we come out with more purpose. Going to have to be a serious improvement to match Clare

I said the above during the game against Limerick. If you can't be arsed reading, no plan B and not getting enough out of the players that we have and not learning from previous games. I am happy to read that the great Teddy Mac agrees with my analysis 😁

“Cork will always do well against moderate teams but when they come against managers like John Kiely and Liam Cahill they consistently struggle. Not having a Plan B is a major problem because in my book if you are digging a hole and you come back in the morning and it's full again then something is drastically wrong with your method.” 

“It's sticking out a mile that some of our present players are not showing their full potential in this present Cork system. I was on the 13-yard line against Limerick and I could have shook hands with Conor Lehane so my concern is what was the corner-forward doing back there?”

“The Cork management need to stand up to be counted as we suddenly haven’t become a bad side overnight. It has now come to the stage that the coaching staff need to make changes although I am not saying radical ones.

“I rest my case with a player like Mark Coleman playing superbly at wing-back and consistently on the scoreboard and suddenly he is a centre-back not closing down his opposition and not scoring.

“Let me add I have great respect for Mark Coleman as a hurler and hopefully he will be back doing what he does best in the coming weeks.”

“I watched Limerick when they were playing the short puck-outs and they had four defenders and what did Cork have only three forwards. 

Technically Limerick had the overlap straight away but what are the management doing to rectify this as it looks clearly some players don’t know what to do when it breaks down.

“I am trying to be as positive as I can but the management are persisting with this so-called high press and to me it is clear it’s not working.” 

The full article is here but it is everything that I and others have been saying here on Boards for ages. So frustrating to watch.

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-40857125.html

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i dont think this is the case at all , i think if you take the cork half forward line they would kill clare , tipperary were awful today in the first half but they beat us by 5 points in the second half , we got destroyed in the (clare) half forward line in the second half ,

plus i think either kingston or horgan would beat cleary for pace all day , corks top 6 are very sharp i am not sure we could do to ye what limerick did to ye physically in the half back line , we always have a fight in us but we also hit some amount of wides , its a totally different type of game

how cork set up in the half back line will be huge , and if they drop a 7th man back which tipp did not do today when clare had a strong wind .were not limerick remember

I agree with what your saying but Clare really played well as a team today and they did really well. Cork in my opinion have the better players but its not about whats on paper. Each game does take on a life of its own though but I am hoping the rest will be a reset for us. Tipp were poor today but Clare really worked well so I can't help but but admire them and be slightly worried if we don't match their effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

match ups are everything in hurling , if say you put Kingston full forward on Cleary , Horgan on Flanagan you are playing to your advantage , likewise if you put lehane or harnedy or even someone with pace like robbie o'flynn on david mcinerney they could cause us huge problems ,

if i was negative on cork i think tipp today have a better back 6 man for man but bonner didnt know how to manage it

Good news, the Cork v Clare game will be streamed on GAAGO