Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

I can assure you that Ireland is a great place to live. We have freedom. Freedom to live, speak, worship, love and marry as we wish. That is priceless.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,171 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

We have retractable permissions from government, don't confuse it with freedom.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭pluckyplucky

Sure feels good, all these great things happening.

Those people who lost their heads recently, and the schoolteacher, for recent examples, sure are loving it. Families, I'm sure, are praising the status quo policies of wonderland Ireland.

Housing situation is grand for you, is it? Medical situation is sorted, is it? Education for the kids only getting better, hm?

"But there's no drinking water in the Gobi desert, therefore it's great here.'

The only people who think this country is getting better, not worse, are simply out of touch with reality. It's as simple as that.

I take it that you aren’t a child of the 60’s and 70’s. Having survived those, one would survive anything!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

You are exactly the people I was talking about. I know some people that moved to the Middle East and saved for a house there. Don’t know if that’s an option for you but being caught in the rental trap here must get pretty soul crushing if also trying to save and watch prices jump out of reach, and foreign culture funds hoover up what little supply there is. Seem to recall it was that utter stooge Micheal Noonan as finance minister thought that would be a wonderful idea. No doubt he’s been well rewarded since

Noonan is accused of 'rolling out the red carpet for vulture funds'

https://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/noonan-is-accused-of-rolling-out-the-red-carpet-for-vulture-funds-31069286.html

Post edited by road_high on

I am now. Wasn’t always the case! Being a single mother back then wasn’t easy. I just had to get on with it. I had 2 children to rear, educate, clothe. All on my onio. Thankfully, I’m on the other side now. Retired almost 18 months and bored out of my skull! Volunteering with refugees to make myself feel useful.

Things were unquestionably tough then but the difference now is people that are well educated and in good jobs are struggling to buy a place to live or even rent one. To use a cliche, but If you had a job like teacher, Garda or nurse back then there was no question you couldn’t buy an ok house in a decent area. You could raise a family on one salary. The goalposts have shifted enormously since then. That is the issue

Well that's lovely you're all set up and comfy.

Just like I predicted when I said that the only people who could possibly think this country is grand are those disconnected from it.

You must realize that as time goes on, you are going to be more and more of minority too.

And to be fair, pretty much the last thing the majority of this country needs or wants to hear, is how a minority thinks "it's fine".

You had some hardship, who doesn't? But what would you say to an irish family stuck in a hotel room for potentially years waiting for a chance to have a home, while they see more and more thousands of non-irish people arriving for housing and getting it? When do you suppose this little problem will pass? What about an ordinary worker in a Tesco, paying increasingly exorbitant rent out of a shrinking value wage over the last decade that wants to have a home, a proper relationship or start a family? How about a fella in his thirties with a decent paying job that can't escape the rent trap? What about the invisible people, couples, maybe with young children even, stuck at home with elderly parents into their 30's, 40's and more? What about a student that earned their way with hard work into a place in University, only to have to turn it down because the accommodation is simply unaffordable?

And so on and so forth. This isn't a blip, this isn't a phase, this isn't going to blow over in a few years. It has been measurably getting worse for many, many people in this country, and every metric under the sun is pointing to it going and going and going, worse and worse.

So, congratulations on your comfortable situation, but you don't represent the majority of this country, and I sincerely doubt you care beyond a passing comment while you're nattering away your retirement with a bunch of refugees.

“So, congratulations on your comfortable situation, but you don't represent the majority of this country,”. I beg to differ. I’m from a generation who looked out for themselves. You obviously come from one that expects others to carry them. Thankfully, my children learned from my lifestyle and now own their own homes, admittedly with a serviceable mortgage.

I think that’s exactly not what the poster was saying. Seems to be some implication here that the younger generation are too soft and expect some kind of handout. This is disingenuous beyond belief and shows a real lack of awareness and indeed empathy for what’s going on in society more broadly. You believe you “had it tough” and by implication everyone else has/had it easier and you’re not moving from that.

Perhaps another real life example might get the message through- guy working at my gym- I guess early to mid 30s, renting a place €900 month. Desperately trying to save for a house. His salary unlikely hits €30k gross. He commutes 35 km each way to work with diesel pushing €2/litre. What is his solution? Or did he not learn like you and your family and is only reaping the reward of his ignorance?

Post edited by road_high on

Would you ever snap out of it.

Why don't you tell me to ear less avocado toast, ffs. "Just grab a money bag from the money tree, you entitled brat!"

Yeah you're the real hero generation, the doers and the movers, the champions of Ireland, the insular little island folk that bought homes for pence on the pound compared to people today up against the entire freaking world trying to squeeze in, then rapidly pulled the ladder up after you while coincidentally your children are grand too. Well, what a surprise. What a shock.

And then the comment about spending time with refugees, God almighty. You're so far out of touch you've almost double-backed on yourself. What you represent, truly, is an "I'm okay jack, f**k other Irish people now that me and mine are set"

Here's something to think over, the Irish people coming up behind you are going to control things eventually, and this kind of sewer level sentiment won't be forgotten. Not a chance.

You deflected. Again.

Also, I said that Ireland was a great country.. but it has real problems, with little inclination from the Government or State to fix them. It's also a very expensive country for what you get back.

Oh, and the only people who ever talk about things being "priceless", are those who don't have to worry about money (or they just love superficial soundbites). Also "freedom"? Ireland is a very regulated country, with laws everywhere to "protect" the people.. and more laws to control what the people can do, within a system that favours those with wealth. So.. freedom? No, sorry, there's definitely a price involved in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Mobius2021

I don't know. I have a good job, lucky enough to own a second home and rent out my first home. But I feel our politicians have fcuked over hard working people with their champagne socialist crap. Why should tax payers always have to pick up the pieces for the ineptitude of our politicians by paying more taxes and getting terrible services for it. Meanwhile criminals and lazy layabouts get the kiddy glove treatment.

It boils my blood to hear McEntee make thinly veiled threats to take people's property that they worked hard for. How dare she. If she was around a hundred years ago her predecessor Kevin O'Higgins would probably label her an anti-state traitor for that sort of talk and give her an audience with a firing squad. But the opposition we have these days like Mary Lou are probably delighted with her spouting that nonsense.

Maybe you're fine as you're of retirement age but think of the country your children and grandchildren will inherit.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭B2021M

An absolutely extraordinary and unacceptable comment from McEntee. It really seems to have hit a nerve with people and rightly so.

It sums Mcentee up. Completely clueless and out of touch

It is, without a shadow of a doubt, pure delusion.

When these people, unironically, talk of their hard work, passing on their hard work ethic to their children and how they think they represent the majority of this country, they genuinely believe it. They actually believe it. And if that isn't a clue as to the corruption of media in this country, nothing is.

Look at this here

This is the kind of twaddle these illusioned people have. They'll read that in the papers and not see a single issue with it. "Good on him!"

I liked the comment from someone saying "I had only two things, a simple dream, and 6 million pounds from Doddy."

If the one above who thinks they represent this country were to lay bare the forensics of how they managed to get a home during "the hard times", you all ready know it would be laughable. They don't want to do the numbers, they don't want to know that the equivalent today for some Jane soap would be working 90 hour weeks for 70 years to afford a home. No, no, they don't want to know.

What they do like, however, is schmoozing with refugees and immigrants, patting them on the back while telling Irish people "you have it so easy, shut up. Now work harder for my pension. Who cares if there won't be pensions for you because of the hollowing I've ridden upon, shut up and prop me up. Now, this Muhatma, is what we call a Jaffa cake, amn't I such a lovely person?"

Genuinely, the selfish, dopey attitude is infuriating for so many people here. But you won't be reading about it in the times, or hearing it on rte, or out of a politicians mouth, or anywhere except the dark recesses of tightly controlled internet fora.

Well, like I said, what these short-sighted gombeens don't reckon upon is that they'll be put out to pasture, and it won't be boot-licking people that take the mantle. Far from it. What goes around...

Actually, never mind.

Anyone a quote to the original pronouncements from this bimbo? I only read it secondhand. Something about commandeering private property. Also sums up her breathtaking lack of knowledge of her brief ie property law.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

That old chestnut. It really isn't like for like. The older generation will be far more asset rich than the generation growing up today. The challenges are entirely different.

Pensions and elderly stuck in the rental trap 30 years from now is an absolute crisis in the making. Many people simply cannot get a roof over there head.

We have just bought a house in the North West for upwards of 300k :'(. Love the house but we know it is overpriced and we will be paying it off until and probably into retirement age. We didn't have any other choice...Wait until house prices rise even further beyond our reach or wait for a recession and we wouldn't get a mortgage then anyway.

I'm just sickened at what is going on in this country.

I am an open minded person but the floodgates of immigration were opened way too way wide, especially to people who offer very little to this country. I feel this one issue in particular is at boiling point now. I see people who were just handed very good houses in prime locations in my local town and it just sickens me.

When we move out of this rental, the landlord is increasing the rent to €900. What the absolute f^*k. €900 for a house that is an E rated, cold, mouldy house. He has zero plans to spend money or modernise the house as he knows it will be snapped up by some 'lucky soul' out of sheer desperation to have some kind of roof over their head.

I'm seething and I'm very upset at raising my children here, not knowing what the future will bring and what their prospects and quality of life will be.

The sooner this government get voted out, the better!

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭tommybrees

You'll own nothing and be happy.

“Pensions and elderly stuck in the rental trap 30 years from now is an absolute crisis in the making. Many people simply cannot get a roof over there head.”

I just don’t understand why this issue isn’t getting more coverage. It surely is the biggest existential risk to our society out there: it will utterly change our social construct and economic system when vast swathes of our population are destitute. And it’s not that far away

i just don’t get why this is not being shouted about each and every day

• Registered Users Posts: 24,891 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭livingdgx

just seen a Facebook post from a Ukrainian woman stating her and her family have already received council housing. How the f is that fair? This country is literally a joke.

As an Irish Person, I don’t want to live in a country that’s being population bombed with refugees when we can’t even support our own national people. Why the hell is nobody fighting this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

The problem is Dancing, most of us are all too busy trying to keep heads above water to do anything about it

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Mobius2021

There is, at the moment, no effective opposition to the nonsense of our politicians, as I said earlier I think they are only all shades of the same colour. The main opposition party, SF, would only be delighted to see the government redistributing people's property.

The only ones that might be a threat, particularly to the cabinet, are the Loyalists and in particular, the UVF. I don't think they were realistically going out to kill Coveney a few weeks ago in Belfast, it seemed like more of a warning regarding the NI Protocol. But if they continue to feel that their backs are up against a wall they might escalate things.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Integritate

The main article on the front page of today’s Sunday Times states that the majority of Irish people want to set a cap on the number of Ukrainian refugees. This deduction by the Irish people is based on logic and the acknowledgment by majority of the limited resources that are currently available in this country. However, the Irish government does not use facts or logic in their no-cap Ukrainian refugees policy, which in turn will substantially effect not only the expectations and experiences of the refugees, but also in even further delays to people in this country for basic services such as healthcare and housing.

Isn’t it also amazing that once again it takes a news-source from outside Ireland to actually dare to allow this discussion to take place. Not a peep on the topic from the Irish broadsheet newspapers or even the Irish tabloids. This Groupthink approach by the Irish media on “sensitive” topics such as migration and refugees is a major disservice to the country and a failure in impartial reporting.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I'm just flabbergasted at the sudden, concern, interest and focus of this government in the housing crisis they've been fully aware of for over ten years and did nothing to address it. It's as if they've had an "Epiphany"

"Housing For All" was a clever Slogan but of course, utterly meaningless and unachievable with the half baked notions of the Housing Minister.

Such is their almost obsession not to look foolish (a bit late), we've now gone from fiction to farce.

It was no mistake Helen McEntee dropping hints and putting her foot in it re forcing people to give up their properties. She was not only putting her foot in mouth, she was a also dipping her toe into public opinion , testing the waters so to speak. There's been predictably an outcry but we know what people are capable of when they are desperate and this shower are certainly desperate.

What is, however intriguing is the fact not a second of thought appears to be given to their actual electorate, it's as if they almost want to loose the next election.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.