Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

The whole NGO industry are certainly not moderates either, and it's no stretch to call them far left. They get millions in funding from the state every year, and have more power over policy than the Irish people ever will. The comparison is between a powerless group and a very powerful group, yet certain posters have to pretend that they have equal footing in society. The same posters like to frame themselves are moderates, yet their posting history tells a very different story.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Just missing the canard of "paying for our pensions" there, Kermit.

And the Far Right "threat" is exaggerated to the point of manic hysteria. An almost "Reds under the Bed" existential threat to the nation, parroted by the NGO Industrial Complex, the Media, and even posters on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Any and all opposition are "far right", from literal Nazis to people who simply have a traditional view of gender. The "far right" spectrum is incredibly ideologically diverse.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m wondering how you’re characterising as far left that you’re claiming is continually platformed by our media. It’s an accusation that’s levelled at Irish media by either side depending upon wherever the accuser are themselves on the political spectrum. By way of example, there’s this -

https://seanhillenblog.com/2020/02/06/miriam-ocallaghan-the-discriminating-face-of-rte-bias/

And there’s this -

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-31006275.html

And this -

https://mediabiasfactcheck.com/rte-radio-television-ireland/?amp=1

And between them both the Irish Independent and the Irish Times have historically had their own political biases -

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Independent

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Irish_Times

Both dwarfed in circulation by British tabloid media which could definitely not be accused of promoting a far left agenda. On Boards the piss was regularly taken out of anyone using the Daily Mail as source material. These days it’s the paper of record.

I don’t know about you, but I’d really rather Ireland didn’t return to a time when Charlie Haughey berated the Irish people for living beyond their means, or Padraig Flynn lamented the trials of running three homes, suggesting that people try it some time, or Bertie Ahern showing a complete lack of understanding of people struggling at the time -

'Sitting on the sidelines, cribbing and moaning is a lost opportunity. I don't know how people who engage in that don't commit suicide because frankly the only thing that motivates me is being able to actively change something,' he said.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0704/90808-economy/

It IS a stretch to call all NGOs far left. There’s plenty of people working in them and for sure their politics and policies are left-leaning, but there are just as many working in them who’s politics are too far right leaning even by my standards. I worked in the area of social care for the best part of two decades, I don’t any more, I figured I’d rather avoid the politics and insincere posturing that enabled some absolute shysters, cronies and useless fcuks who were only interested in feathering their own nest.

As annoying as genuine lefties often are, and as little time as I have for them and their ideas, I have even less time and patience for the sort of person who tries to pass themselves off as conservative when they don’t actually have any sort of constructive policies or principles or beliefs. They appear for all intents and purposes to define themselves by objecting to anything that has a whiff of the left off it.

Using something on gript as a source 😂😅🤣😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Yeah not a great source I admit, unfortunately its among the few sources in Ireland that aren't afraid to address certain issues. Could be worse, I could have used RTE.That said have a read and tell us what parts of the article are untrue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Oh come on, you said the far left. Those two are certainly left, but your claim was that the far left are continually platformed by our media. Far left would be Mick Wallace and Clare Daly -

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40823895.html

And they certainly aren’t continually platformed by our media -

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/meps-mick-wallace-and-clare-daly-sue-rte-41545192.html

• Registered Users Posts: 12,582 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

At least Gript has the balls to at least question some of this governments crazy decisions. Not seeing anyone else doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭ATR72

They are far-left. PBP are a socialist party. That is far-left. Left would be social democracy. They are always on RTÉ and Virgin.

Socialism isn’t far-left? Just because Paul Murphy can’t get along with anyone doesn’t make him far left, it just means he can’t get along with anyone. I don’t know much about the Social Democrats policies but I’m guessing the idea of their appearances in Irish media is to avoid the appearance of media bias. Like I said earlier - I don’t watch much of RTE, even less of Virgin, their output generally is abysmal. I used to buy the Sunday Business Post until it went up to €3 and I figured it wasn’t worth that! 😒

Further confirmation that there is currently no limit set on the numbers of Ukrainians able to come here

Taoiseach Micheál Martin has said the Government is not contemplating a cap on the number of Ukrainian refugees arriving into Ireland.

Far left... there is only the left. Any attempt to push a "far" left, seeks to diminish the impression of the strong influence the left has on western societies.

At least, the Far Right has an established presence (in other countries). The only far left I can think of would be the eco-terrorists.. Nutjobs on both sides.

Ireland has a left, middle and a right. Irish people are far too conformist and centralist to bother in any serious way with the extremes (except for the nationalists but they're a different kind of nutty, not really comparable with the ideologically driven "far right").

No. They are far-left which is why they can only win a few seats in Dublin. Socialism is a far-left ideology.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Funniest post I've read in a long time on this site.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭Cordell

Yeah hilarious. All those millions dead during socialist regimes are so funny.

Socialism isnt far left and its basically a lack of education to claim it is.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Socialism is far left and its basically ignorance to claim it isn't. See?

First of all, you got defensive and insulted me when I criticized your beloved ideology - this should be a clue in itself that there is something very wrong with it. Maybe you learned about it in one of those useless political studies universities infested by (far)left ideology, if that is the case it's very little I can do, sorry.

Socialism can only be implemented by force and it was always implemented by force. All that you call ex-communist east european countries were in fact socialist. Even the names stated that, they were either Socialist Republic or Popular Republic, but not Communist. Communism comes after the people are tamed into socialism and force is no longer necessary and this never happened. Even North Korea is still a socialist country, according to their own constitution.

Now for some common ground, I fully support LGBT rights and somehow this is now a left wing thing, but I can tell you that homosexuality was illegal in most if not all socialist countries. Some also banned abortion and birth control - see how much socialism and far right are alike?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

"The measures will also include an expanded acquisition programme where local authorities will have greater flexibilities to acquire certain homes"

What exactly do they mean by acquire certain homes?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Mr.KarateII

Millions have people have died because of Socialism [and its end goal, full blown Communism]. It is a Far left ideology.

Millions have died because of democracy too. Either in defence of it, or because others decided that it should be the chosen political system in another nation.

Double standards.

All political systems taken to extremes are shite. Socialism in small doses is a positive for any nation. The same for degrees of authoritarian systems. It really depends on how far those ideas are implemented and when they become the only one allowed to be spoken of.

People are far too interested in the theory, and less interested in how their preferred ideology has been implemented in the real world, and the consequences of it.

Absolute nonsense. The NHS in the UK was a socialist invention. It wasnt implemented by force and it isnt particularly far left.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Mr.KarateII

If Socialism is positive for nation, then why are there no success stories about it? History books are full of Countries being economically destroyed because of it. Hell, we all watched Venezuela go from the 7th largest economy to a 3rd World Country because of Socialism under Chavez and now Maduro. Monopoly money and fake euro notes that you can buy at the euro shop for pretend gambling is more legal tender than the Venezuelan Bolivar. And LOL@ Socialism in small does. You don't pick and choose which parts of Socialism to implement.

To be fair the NHS is not a political system. It is an element of a political ideology, but not the overall system of governance of the nation.

No-one has said that elements of socialist ideology/theory around healthcare or welfare programmes are a bad thing. Particularly when married with a democratic, market capitalist system.

But the overarching Socialist political system itself, when it has been attempted, has led to nothing but misery for most people.

Social policies and welfare is not socialism. To make it really simple:

Not socialism: unemployment benefits, free education and healthcare, other various welfare benefits no matter how generous

Socialism: take wealth away from people, using force when required, kill them if they complain to much

Because the fall of communism (which was in fact the fall of socialism) in the 90s was not followed by something akin to Nurnberg trials people still don't realize how close the nazis and the socialists truly are, and that supporting a party that flies a red star is the same as supporting one that flies a svastika.

Lol. Socialism isnt about killing everyone who disagrees with you.

Terry Pratchet

If Socialism is positive for nation, then why are there no success stories about it?

Again, with the extremes. You do realise that most of Northern Europe is quite socialist, Ireland included? Successes (especially standards of living) abound when socialism is applied in small doses, and when it's applied too much, cracks appear.. the same as what's happening in Europe right now.

And LOL@ Socialism in small does. You don't pick and choose which parts of Socialism to implement.

I'm getting the rather strong feeling that you're not really aware of how European governments, politics and societies operate..