Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

The laws dont apply to the ruling class or rich here,its ever been the same kid

Hence how we have those who bankrupted the state with their banks walking about free,while failure to pay a dog licence can land you a week down in cork gaol

Nothing ever changes here

• Registered Users Posts: 26,976 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

It seems on every thread you prefer to discuss posters and not the actual topic.

LOL, says the Poster who spends 99% of their time critising posters and their posts and rarely ever has something constructive to say.

Need I remind you (again) of your expertise in copying and pasting previous posts from contributors from various Threads in quite bizzare attempts to prove your points, your last attempt didn't end well did it.

But back to point, you have repeatedly critised Twitter, actually made some bizzare comments about fake accounts (Knowing the accounts quoted from are ligitimate and verified accounts) and also have (when it suits) a problem with posters attaching links to Tweets which you know full well is permitted on Boards. What is clearly apparent is you assume a Twitter account is fake if the account holder dares to disagree with your point of view.

I simply pointed out the Hypocrisy is Breathtaking and my word it is.

You really can't have it both ways.

Its called playing tennis without the net

Demanding standreds of yous,they have zero intention of keeping themselves

If you entertain such a clown,yous will only end with a circus

Another post, all about the poster and not the topic

Post edited by brokenangel on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,870 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Hard to see Varadkar having anything to worry about in this cosy little country for those that count.

A large number of members of the RC cult assisted in covering up child abuse, none arrested, none charged, no raids on Clonliffe or anything like that.

The likes of Enda Kenny not held accountable by the media for the abuse of women by the same mafia while he sat in our national parliament and done nothing about it.

Meanwhile, SF members get hammered by the media about stuff that happened before they were even born.

The system works. 🙄

Agreed

Frankly again, Varadkar has nothing to worry about only if he has not broken the law

This country is not Belarus or Russia,where you'd get jail or worse a cup of polonium tea for suggesting some of the crap posted here

We have a robust democracy that generally delivers what the people speak in all their colours

We have the freedom to be entertained by opinions and rants we don't agree with and the liberty to test them at the ballot box resulting in usually centrist safe Dáil's thankfully

We're you not looking for a response 🤔 you did after all quote me, I was just being polite.

Found out again 😉

Is their anything you'd like to say about the Topic 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

We all agree:

Varadkar has nothing to worry about only if he has not broken the law.

Can you point me to 'rants' saying otherwise?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,150 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - Posts like these are wrecking the thread. They've always been a problem but they're getting considerably worse of late (not just in this thread)

It seems on every thread you prefer to discuss posters and not the actual topic.

LOL, says the Poster who spends 99% of their time critising posters and their posts and rarely ever has something constructive to say.

When threads get bogged down with this type of back and forth 'discussing the poster' then those involved can expect a threadban from now on

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭notsocutehoor

I think this is a tricky one for Ms Pierse, if she doesn't let it go to court there will be inevitable questions asked and as far as I know she doesn't/cannot explain why, so she may very well let it go ahead in the interest of avoiding any suggestion of bias, irrespective of whether she believes there is a good prospect of conviction or not.

That not how it works, if she makes the decision it shouldn’t go to court that the decision

if she makes the decision it should then it should

People will moan either way so it doesn’t really matter

Yea I know how it works obviously, she makes the decision whether it goes ahead or not. Why would anybody moan if it goes to court, Varadkar gets his chance to be vindicated in an open court and there can be no question of bias. Who would moan if she decides to let it go to court.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,835 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's not a position she or anyone else in that role or other senior justice positions should be placed in by circumstances like this. If nothing else, it's unfair to the individual to ask them to adjudicate on something involving someone who was directly or indirectly involved in their selection.

Key roles like that should be wholly independently appointed so that there can be not even a suggestion of a potential bias or conflict of interest, if for no other reason than to not give one side or another something to "moan" about in the first place.

I'd tend to accept your point

However I'd counter it by asking the question,if there's no crime,shortcut being not the right way to do it,outcome though being a successful gp contract uptake with effeciencies for the service and coffers of the state...who are the bigger eejits,the person who did the state some service or the people making a hoo haw for political and vendetta purposes ?

My view is known and doesn't need more re-stating

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

• Registered Users Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Hugh O'Connell in Todays Sindo is saying that FG are worried about this going to the DPP. He says if this drags on and on Leo won't be able to become Taoiseach again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

If we are to believe he did it for the greater good, not as a favour to his friend...

He still leaked a confidential negotiation document.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,840 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Presumably LV and his supporters would moan because if it goes to trial it would affect his becoming Taoiseach.

Not the end of the world for FG, Simon Coveney would be a good stand in.

Theres no reason he cant become taoiseach,even if he is charged/still under investigation,afaik

Fg will easily push it through anyway,they are full onboard and still argue anyone concerned with leaking confidential state documents has a vandetta and still havnt grasped this conduct is wrong irregardless of whatever motives are allegedly attached to it

They will,promised cabinet reshuffle,will likely see another dozen or so, county councillor level backbenchers "earn" a ministerial pension

I mean,if i was a backbencher likely facing losing seat as polls suggest,id contemplate it (except i fundamentally cant vote for a failed idology)

David ervine had a great quote on the DUP,which can be paraphrased to apply to way ffg policies have come fruition and social cost we have to endure over em

"These people are not to be trusted, their interest does not lie in Northern Ireland, their interest is self-interest."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

It has gone from "nothing to see here" to an apology in the Dail and from an apology in the Dail to a criminal investigation which has now resulted in a file being sent to the DPP who will decide what to do next. And yet there are FGers trying to convince people that there's nothing to see here.

The fact that the Gardai submitted a file to the DPP is interesting. The lack of a recommendation seems conveniently political in that it is now the DPP's problem. Whatever the DPP does, this matter is highly political and it doesn't particularly matter if it proceeds to Varadkar being charged and prosectuted. The damage to FG has been done and even FF is beating it in the opinion polls. Varadkar's track record with FG has been one of continual loss. He has continually lost seats in every election since he has been leader. He even managed to lose at least two safe FG seat (DBS and one in Wexford during the GE) due to petty feuding. Will FF be getting itchy feet if its polling figures continue to improve at the cost of FG's?

Regards...jmcc

Thats along with the previous few posts quite the bigged up version of events from the online sf army hope casting point of view

Meanwhile the actual situation : Allegations (and that's all they are) promoted by openly hostile SF supporters have been properly investigated as they should be,and a file with no recommendations has been passed to the DPP for a decision

Said promoters already spouting their spin about the dpp being biased

Quite Trumpian

Meanwhile the actual situation: There is no allegation that he leaked a document marked 'CONFIDENTIAL/NOT FOR CIRCULATION' to his buddy, it is a FACT, it wasn't leaked by SF, JC, or anybody else, it was leaked by Varadkar, he admitted it, there should be no confusion there in anybody's mind, no matter how warped their thinking is.

It was investigated by The Gardai, quite properly, they investigated if the leaking of the document broke the law, which is what should happen in any democracy, and they determined that there was some merit in the case and they passed it to the DPP for her consideration, without recommendation - if there was no merit to the case the Gardai would have dismissed it without consideration.

They quite rightly passed it to Ms Pierse who must now make her decision

This is not rocket science

Trumpian???????????

• Registered Users Posts: 27,648 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The allegation (NOT THE FACT) is that he leaked, his defence is that he legitimately shared a document in pursuit of the best interests of the State. So away with your nonsensical fact-claiming.

The rest of the post claims speculation as fact, which is even more nonsensical.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Worth noting that "leak" is not a legal term, or in fact a term that has any weight beyond journalistic hyperbole.

When your Ma tells the neighbours that you're having a baby even though you asked her not to, that is also a "leak".

There's no any argument over whether Varadkar sent the document to MOT. So continuing to shout "leak" as if it's a gigantic scandal is pretty dull. It's with the DPP, let them decide if there's merit in the case. If there's not, then the "leak" is immaterial.