Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭Deeec

Im just listening to the Claire Byrne show and the government are planning on using student accommodation to house Ukranians. I dont know where the students will get accommodation next autumn. They're solving one problem but causing another problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Ukrainian men aged 18-60 aren't allowed leave the country.

We should be concerned because we already have high numbers of children in classes and problems in certain areas where children cannot get places in their local schools.

Also I would imagine it will be hard on teachers to teach kids with very little English.

You can be concerned all you like but the reality is, if children are coming to this country they will need to be enrolled in schools as it’s not like they’ll be here for just a few weeks.

So I’m assuming the concerns relate to increased class sizes, increased pressure on school support services etc

in some areas, such as Millstreet, there might be a need to call on retired teachers to come back part time to help out in the short term - but if the kids are spread out across the country it might be a few additional students per class per year - it’s not going to cause you trauma

A few wires crossed here, I think.

And yet, you didn't counter them. Or even "correct" them. You sidestepped around them.

In this specific instance, anecdotally and otherwise, I think it's fair to say that the majority opinion is that no, unlimited numbers of ukranian refugees is not a good idea.

Except that nobody believes that "unlimited" numbers will come here (I certainly don't). The govt started suggesting 20k, then 30k, then 50, 100, 200, and how many have arrived? The govt have provided themselves with some breathing room before Irish people go nutty over the numbers... and it will depend on the measures that the politicians bring in, before the general population start complaining... and there's huge gaps between complaining, coming together in numbers and doing something about it. Which the politicians are perfectly aware of.

More broadly speaking, minority imposition of rule has of course been around a long time. At the risk of sounding prophetic, I think this time it's different. The very ideas of these minority lead movements are, actually, forming and concentrating a majority move against them. 

Colour me sceptical. Irish people still think in the frame of politics being the answer, which means relying on the political parties, who are very focused on the current status quo. Minority parties have all been rubbish with nutty ideas which has helped to reinforce the impression that the mainstream parties are the only viable answer. It was different with other movements since they appealed to the virtue signalling of the parties, and now anything that goes against that, would require the parties to admit their "mistake".

Oh I see change coming, but it'll be a decade or two before it's built up enough momentum to matter.

One tiny example, all nitty gritty aside, were the recent french elections. Macron won, yes, but only because he was backed by the older generations. The younger population of France is changing rapidly and forming up, concentrating in solidarity, and they backed Le pen.

Which has very little impact on the Irish electorate. Remember, RTE are still one of the main sources of news to Irish people, who will encourage the results to be interpreted a certain way.

It's funny how certain people love the EU for all the wrong reasons. It'll be double funny when the EU forms into a new cooperative entity that stands for everything they dont. Vive la difference, non?!

People follow their biases. I support the EU for the economic benefits it provides Ireland.. beyond that, I have little interest in them. To most Irish people I know, the EU is like the UN.. a distant organisation that rears it's head every so often, but has little real impact on daily Irish concerns.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

No we don't have a say or we must be quiet .

We've barely enough capacity in schools as it is the majority are over subscribed and lack proper resources ,now look we found space for 40,000 + what about the September Intake ? yesterday we found 16,000 empty desks but that doesn't mean there is room for them in schools

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭keoclassic

It will pose huge problems for kids with no English. Classrooms are very eclectic places with a range of existing problems. Walk into any mixed ability classroom now and you will see that teachers are already at the pin of their collars trying to adopt different styles of teaching for different learners. The sad reality of all this, is that teachers will not have the time to give extra tuition to these kids in mainstream class, nor should they be pressured to do so. The refugees will have to be taken for extra classes. If I'm not mistaken, schools only have a certain amount of special educational needs hours so an increase will be required! Funny that these increases are not always available for our own but now they will be created out of thin air! Always remember, where some are being advantaged, others are being disadvantaged. The double standards are appalling.

The government are ploughing on with all this and they don't give a fiddlers about what the common man or woman think. It's pure contempt, we are viewed as shite on their shoes. It's a disgrace. Our government are a disgrace. As other posters have said, the anger is palpable......... What the government and media are spouting is not the same as what the common man or woman are saying on the ground, they can't keep covering over the tensions are are now heightened in the community's up and down the Island of Ireland. CAN THE GOVERNMENT STOP CREATING PROBLEMS FOR OUR PEOPLE PLEASE.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,328 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

.....and once again, under war conditions, endless amounts of money is simply created to help solve its issues, why wasnt it created before the war!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Saw him interviewed over the weekend, all the usual positivity guff, allowing Ukrainian Students continue their higher education, opening up access to supports, similar to SUSI grants, full time Helpline being opened, available for 6 months, "Could be Extended", the best line, " We must curtail Putin from hampering Ukraines Next leadership in advancing their Education", the man is so full of crap he's become a parody of himself. Can we imagine the uproar when Little Johnny and Mary arrive back to college in October to discover their accommodation gone.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So whats the point in putting Ukrainian children enmass into schools that are due to break up for summer in 6 week's it makes no sense to cram that many kids into schools will little or no resources currently available,and then send them on summer holidays in a few weeks

It was... which is why we're in debt. Covid... the government created money out of thin air to support their policies. The same for any of their main policies or initiatives.

However, when it comes to the services such as the HSE, the money is never available or in short supply, because those aspects are fitted squarely within the "budget", and so their response is limited. Ukraine has provided the justification to step outside the budget for a wide variety of initiatives...

....so in order to create more money for our needs, we must initiate war, why dont we just bypass the whole war thing, and go straight to creating more money for our needs?

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭morebabies

Has an official time limit been given to Ukrainian refugees housed in hotels as to how long they can stay there, and similarly for those in people's (holiday/second/own) homes?

What happens if the war drags on for years or if they simply don't want to return to the pile of rubble that was their homeland?

...the long term plan is the current plan, they wont be going home anytime soon, as there simply wont be any sufficient infrastructure there for life to truly exist there......

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

We've barely enough capacity in schools

Nope, as luck with have it and a fortunate bout of timing we are under subscribed. 25,000 in primary and 16,0000-18,000 in secondary apparently.

1000s of Ukrainians have all ready started school.

Primary have the best part of 2 months left, as for what's the point in starting them in school, I'd thought that would be obvious, no? 😕

And that is why people are so angry. It's the fact that for years we were given multitudes of excuses as to what investment wasn't being made.......... Bottom line was always, we only have so much money! Well minister....... Right back at you son! The problem of course is that the state has no problem putting us into more debt. If we borrow money and use it to advance our services for our people, no one would at an eyelid! but when you have to listen to this drivil about all these resources being created for Ukrainian refugees out of thin air......... Its outrageous. People have a right to be outraged and very concerned about all this. Very concerned indeed.

When this subsides, we will be told that there is no money left, it was all spent to rise to a humanitarian need. Well done Ireland 👏Sorry that your colonoscopy will take 14 months to get done, its a real shame, but we are where we are. There just isn't the money in the budget I'm afraid! Sound familiar?

...the whole process is completely fcuked, again, this is a common outcome in human history, we only do what needs to be done, when war breaks out, do we actually want to maintain human existence on the planet! just create the fcuking money in order to create a better society for all, this limitation bullsh1t is just that! this would benefit most if not all and boost economies, so just fcuking do it!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

How many million/billions has Ireland got over the years from Europe in grants etc to improve the country?

It would seem people are more than happy to take money out of Europe but once we are asked to dig in during a war period we have people complaining about it.

Money is money at the end of the day, saving lives is what people should be concentrating on.

Calm down lad.

They are talking about maybe having maybe 180 properties ready within 6 months. Chances are they probably don't exist anyway or there is something drastically wrong with them.

If they spent an hour ringing people back this morning they would have had that amount by 10 O'Clock.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Did you not know how racist irish people are?, the few virtue signallers are only the few but the gov & media build them up so everyone thinks we are all immigrant loving people we are not. We want the gates closed now and the impulsion to get everything for the ukranians is sickening to everyone when we have single irish mothers in B& B's

Yes and schools will not get any extra resources at this stage in the school year to withdraw more children from classes to do assessments and teach English as an Additional Language. SET are already majorly stretched in schools with the range of needs in schools as it is.

I also hope the DES fast track giving out the resources and additional teachers needed for September.

We were 5 pupils short for an additional mainstream teacher when we sent in the application but have since gained an enrolment of 20 additional Ukrainian children. Will the DES now give us our additional teacher for September, doubtful!!!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,141 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

They are only given temporary rights to be in Ireland. At this stage they are only entitled to stay for up to 12 months. That may be increased to 3 years. It's all driven by the EU Temporary Refugee Directive, and of course the EU could change that

Great for the school if they were struggling with numbers that usually only goes on way unless they are fortunate which it appears they now are. 👍️

They are concentrating on saving lives. What people want is the same level of concentration on solving the housing crisis and health crisis!

Your right, money is only money at the end of the day........ If you have it! Ireland is also a contributer to the EU as well as a beneficiary. If you follow the thread from the start, very few people are against the temporary accommodation of a set number of refugees and facilitating their health and educational needs and any other services they require. But they do want a cap on it and they do want a plan from government. Neither of which are being addressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭airy fairy

The education side of things is very worrying. All various parts to it. You've got student accomodation being used for 3 months for refugees which is utter BS because this crap isn't going to be over in 3 months. We'll then have them out voicing opinions, on strike like in DP when meals didn't suit them, and digging their heels in, refusing to move. In 3 months Theshold and the likes will have them well versed in their rights, so we've got thousands of Irish students around the country getting offers of placements but with nowhere to live.

Expecting schools and Irish children to take the weight of teaching non-English speaking kids on board. Not to mention packed capacity. Absolutely absurd. For a few weeks of novelty, our kids will be coming home with Ukrainian words because teacher thought it would settle them in kind of craic. My children have been subjected to this crap already. We lived in an area where a large DP hotel/units exsisted. Large amount of kids attended my kids school. At first it was a trickle, but the floodgates opened as time went on. Regular classes were interrupted with kids who had no English and teachers trying to deal with that. If the same speaking kids were out in a table together to communicate, DP parents moved swiftly to shout racism. Classes were disruptive, obviously, you've got kids who are frustrated with having to sit and not have a scoobie at what's going on, then lashing out. And try as Irish parents did, party invites, playdates, and activities were always refused by those in DP. Parents invited those parents for coffee mornings, nah. They refused to integrate. And that's only a primary side of things.

And it's not all women and children. My son happened to be socialising on a bar/restaurant last week. Upstairs had a 30 bed hotel. Some of the occupants introduced themselves in the bar, through Google translate and broken English. 18/19/20 year old young men, Ukrainian.

What race are Ukrainians? 😕

Also just because you freely admit you are racist, that does not make the rest of the country racist you do understand that right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

Is it ironic that your user icon is the ghost of kyiv, but you don't want to let the Ukrainian children go to school.

I see this as a positive opportunity to get funds to increase school capacity.

And that is why people are so angry.

Are they though? I don't think "people" are. Oh, i would agree that isolated pockets of people are angry due to their direct experiences, and people online are angry because they're more exposed to other sources of information... but I would suspect that most people in Ireland haven't become angry yet.

And honestly, I don't see that anger as being relevant anyway... People erupted in rage over the Banking Crash, the ineptitude of our politicians and the corruption between the politicians/property developers. Not one person that mattered was punished. People got angry, FF dropped out of the limelight for a few years, and then, when people forgot or focused on new problems, FF made their comeback.. like as if nothing happened. The Banking crash was one of the worst things to happen to Ireland, and nowadays it's rarely referred to. So.. what value does people being angry have?

Alot of schools are already packed to capacity. For our local school it took over 10 years to get much needed additional classrooms built. I honestly cannot see how schools can cope with large numbers of additional kids with complex and varied needs in already squashed classrooms.

I have no doubt the government will force schools to take these kids without any consideration of how schools are going to cope.