Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I don`t recall anyone having a problem with a ban on smoky coal.

The furore is about the greens attempting to pull the same stroke on turf as they are attempting with LNG by introducing it through the back door.

If Ryan is so worried about clean air then he would be better off doing something about the 100,000 tonnes of questionable coal coming in annually from NI than floundering around now on legislation attempting to save face.

Questionable coal, that a supporter of the proposed ban on turf a poster here is in favour off as well as carbon taxes who, has admitted availing of the same coal AND by doing so avoiding paying the carbon tax.

It is just the latest Irish green party farce cheered on by some of their supporters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

You are indeed correct there are several large elephants visible, but they are to found all over the house - and not just in one room.

On agriculture. You're missing one crucial element with your argument there.

The single biggest source of greenhouse emissions in Ireland is the burning of fossil fuels whether that is in transport, fuel or power generation, manufacturing or domestic sources.

The reason our agricultural emissions are relatively high as a proportion of our total emissions at around 35-37% (with that including forestry) is that compared to other EU countries our industrial base is fairly small. So proportionly agriculture makes up a larger proportion of emissions here compared to other EU countries and not that we are the 'worst' at producing agricultural produce.

The issue is that a lot of our agricultural output goes for export, much of it to our European trading partners. The export of these goods help our balance of payments and economic prosperity. And even though Ireland is part of the EU, where a large proportion of those goods are sold and consumed, Ireland gets hit with the penalties for related emissions.

However it's not just Ireland. The EU is no daw when it comes to farming out it's agricultural emissions to other countries, having only recently signed a deal with countries in South America to import large quantities of agricultural produce - thereby once again 'farming' out the emission issues rather than taking responsibility for producing agricultural produce within the EU. It is an international disgrace that this is happening with the EU blessing

Neither is it something the EU should be sanctioning. Europe should be largely self sufficient in food stuffs and working towards technological and biological solutions to help reduce ghgs and not farming out this problem or in Ireland’s case penalising countries helping produce food for consumption within the EU.

Regarding 'sustainable development'. Unfortunately there are as many theories and definitions of the concept of "sustainable development" as there are days in the year. Not even the EU can agree a common framework for this concept.

Public transport is of course the national bugbear. Ever since much of our railway system was closed down in the 1960s, Ireland like the rest of the world has increasingly adopted private transport infrastructure as the way forward. It's going to take a long time to bring that particular juggernaut to a halt and reverse much of those policies.

Post edited by Mecanudo on

Just to add, smoky coal etc, have been on the chopping block for over a decade so there's nothing new or surprising here

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

That's a horticulture company that supplies the mushroom industry not someone cutting a few loads of turf to sell to neighbours.

Nah they are all the same to you.

The leader of the party you are forever excusing at least seems to know a fair bit more on the subject than you do.

Maybe it is because he spends a bit of time in the West.

I am not allowed discuss …

blanch I`ll say one thing for you. When it has come to your posts you have rarely not given me a good laugh at some stage.

Some time back you posted that it would be impossible to word a referendum on water being enshrined in the constitution as being publicly owned, and now you are saying you believe that Ryan`s madcap idea that only communities of 500 or less being likewise enshrined by law on turf would be constitutional.

It`s laughable B.S. blanch😅

This. As another poster here already detailed

the GP, for the few TD's they have, they are banging out new bills, SI's, legislation etc at an incredible rate.

Problem is looks like a lot of what they're trying to "banging out" much like the turfgate fiasco - the GP do not seem to be keeping their other coalition partners appraised of. How many other sneaky pieces of legislation are they trying to push through with similar under the table antics?

That the rule of democracy is being ignored as is Mr Ryans apparent stonewalling and refusal to communicate with company responsible for the development of the Barryroe Oil and Gas field. The attempts to interfer with An Bord Pleanála amongst other things and the GPS attempts to ban all LNG not just fracked LNG which was in their original gp program for government.

Just two words come to mind. Sneaky fcekers.

You'd swear the way some are going on that this legislation was "snuck in" without keeping other members of govt appraised.

As I mentioned, this has been on the cards for years

This from last year

Was supposed to happen in 2019, but was delayed

and so on

There will be a ban on commercial sales of turf or there won't be a smoky coal ban. Jimmy selling a hopper to Peter down the road won't make a bit of difference, but the large scale commercial sellers are done for and they know it too.

Arguing to keep these polluting fuels is illogical

You'd swear the way some are going on that this legislation was "snuck in" without keeping other members of govt appraised

Thats exactly what seems to have happened

That a proposal was on books for years is neither here nor there considering the GPS recent sneaky shenanigans

TÁNAISTE Leo Varadkar put himself on a collision course with the Greens last night after he told his party the plan to ban the sale of turf in September is being paused.

Mr Varadkar announced the pause at a Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting hours after Environment Minister Eamon Ryan robustly defended the move.

The coalition is now at odds after a spokesperson for Mr Ryan denied there is any pause in the plan.

Responding to Mr Ryan saying there was no pause, Mr Varadkar's spokesperson said: "There’s no detailed proposals submitted to Government yet. The Department of Environment will do so after Easter and it’ll be discussed then by the parties."

Fianna Fáil TD Barry Cowen hit out at Mr Ryan, saying that "when Minister Ryan has three times the number of seats as my party and elected members of Dáil Eireann in Offaly and the region, maybe then he might have the power to initiate such proposals but not while the numbers and support is stacked in our favour".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

On another thread they linked a statement from FG in 2019, it was about FF trying to ban all smokey fuel including turf, FG wanted a rollout on major cities and FF wanted a full ban

Yet we have people here saying that the Greens came up with this idea without telling either party 😂

The discussion started before the Green party even got into government. I knew turf was going to be banned at some stage 10 years ago. Why is this such a surprise to people on here?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

It is always great to see in the middle of a war etc, you always have one person to cheer everyone up with ridiculous comments

^^^

So still making stuff up lol

If you check above no one made any claims "who came up with the idea" btw

What the green party did do in their most recent egg in the face occasion. (And this is well documented btw) they came out with a statement that the plan to ban the sale of turf would be starting in September.

And Varadkar came out and said no such plan had been agreed. From the link in my previous comment

Responding to Mr Ryan ... Mr Varadkar's spokesperson said:

There’s no detailed proposals submitted to Government yet. The Department of Environment will do so after Easter and it’ll be discussed then by the parties."

Fianna Fáil TD Barry Cowen hit out at Mr Ryan, saying that "when Minister Ryan has three times the number of seats as my party and elected members of Dáil Eireann in Offaly and the region, maybe then he might have the power to initiate such proposals but not while the numbers and support is stacked in our favour"

Nope. Simply clarifying your take that the issue of the recent gp egg in face event was a 'mystery'. It's not.

So just to go over that again

The Green party trying to sneak stuff in - relates to Mr Ryans singular announcement that a ban on the sale of turf would be brought in this September. And it turns out that Varadkar et al knew nowt about that or as you put it "without keeping other members of govt appraised"

So simply another hillarious episode of the greens messing up yet again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Danny healy rae looks like a genius compared to the idiot boy ryan and his stupid bat **** crazy ideas. At least with the healy raes they are trying to look after their own unlike ryan who seems hell bent in driving this country down the drain.

Have to say of all of Ryans crazy ideas the idea of limiting turf cutting to communites of 500 is right up there with releasing the wolves in Kerry. You really have to question the intelligence of someone even proposing such a ridiculous lous idea. I really really really wany to hear how ryan is going to police this?

When you see, where from a recent report, how the leafy suburbs of south Dublin are the most prominent in taking advantage of the EV grants Eamon is doing the same when it comes to looking after his own.

With the money required to make up the difference between the grant and the cost of a total retrofit, (grant money that the ordinary working poor sap taxpayer is paying through the nose for and could not afford to make up the difference to do the same), Eamon is not doing too badly at aiming that at his potential vote base as well.

Not that looking at the opinion poll figures it is doing him much good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭Nermal

Worthwhile interview with someone who understands material, energy and scale.

Don't know about ye, but I'm looking forward to cleaner air when these new regulations come in.

Imagine wanting dirty air and campaigning for it, just doesn't make sense to me.

Cleaner air for all I say, leave the dirt in the ground and stop burning it

Yep i mentioned that a good while back about evs and their popularity in affluent areas. The retrofit is the same shite. Its the green version of robin hood, tax the be jaysus out of the middle man to subsidise the rich guys new triple glazed windows.

"Omg these retrofits are too expensive, the govt has to lower the costs for homes owners"

Cue the carbon tax which will fund up to 50% of the retrofit costs

Take your pick of either of the next 2

"omg the govt are taxing us too much"

"omg the retrofits are too expensive, the grants are not big enough"

Damned if you do, etc etc lol

You are especially damned if you are taxing those that cannot afford to retrofit or buy EVs, due in a large part to taxation, are subsidising those that could well afford to do so without the subsidies.

A cynic could even see it as you looking after your own, which never has a good look.

A cynic will be a cynic regardless

It's why cynics are rarely listened to

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Someone like you disparaged double glazed windows as too expensive and posh for the ordinary home owner they were being introduced in the early 1980s..

Since then double glazing is the minimum standard for habitable dwellings and we don't see the rot and black mould that accompanied the condensation from single glazing anywhere near as much, and houses are much warmer and more efficient than they were before.

Improving energy efficiency benefits everyone in the long run. Early adopters pay a premium to get them first, but ultimately if they work, they replace the older more inefficient technology

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Pippa Hackett telling people they should burn briquettes instead of turf on VM1 earlier, we are actually paying for this person to be a minister? Scam artiste extraordinaire John Gibbons was also on claiming is not safe to breathe in rural Ireland, why does this charlatan even get a platform on national media?

You will not live of fresh air Da nor will it keep you warm either.

You will not live of fresh air

What do you breathe?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

It's not 50% and it's being claimed the quality of the retrofits are poor and likely have to be redone.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2022/0426/1294432-retrofitting-climate-change/

It takes more than just fresh air to keep you alive Da. Hang around without heat in some of the very cold variations we get of fresh air wont do a lot for your health either.

Scratch any voter and you will find very few that are not cynics.