Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭blueflame

Poorest performance of cahillls tenure - no drive or energy or desire to win - quite simply the hungrier team won and you cannot blame the crowd - team gave us very little to get excited about - even a win in Ennis next may not be enough now

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Ballyvoile Boy

What a disaster. Why start players who are clearly not going to be able for 100% from the start? If it's not your day, then it's not your day. Ok, substitutions were made eventually, but so many below par performances & a game plan that did not suit a smaller pitch.

To be fair to Cork, they brought more passion to it & basically Waterford were left like a fish floundering out of water. I'm sick of people talking us up when the reality is that a small number of upfield players do not chase down an opponent in possession who is well within reach. What are they saving their energy for? The All-Ireland? Too much bloody talk & people starting to listen to it.

Cork finished with their strongest available team & were right to take off Horgan & to start Connolly & stick with him.

As for Waterford, we do have plenty of good players, but I have yet to see a tactical edge to the team this year. We scraped past Antrim (thanks to an excellent performance by Austin Gleeson), rode rough shod over a poorly defended Wexford team in the league & brought a good fight to Limerick for a while, but were inconsistent enough against Tipperary. Management have to take responsibility for their part & I hope not to hear Cahill blame the players alone. He & his selectors have got to get the match ups right & have a goddamn plan for puckouts.

By God, there needs to be some backlash up in Ennis from Waterford, regardless of the possibility of progressing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Motivator

Very poor performance from start to finish. Not really sure what went on there. The players looked wrecked from the start, not singling him out and it’s not really a criticism but Dessie Hutchinson’s legs looked heavy and we saw none of the usual high intensity stuff at any stage from the forwards. Anyone know what way the panel have been training? Were they overtrained? Just a really poor, flat performance from them.

The scenario we’re faced with next week now is exactly what we wanted to avoid. Whatever happens today in the next game, Clare will fancy themselves and our record up there won’t help.

Regarding Austin Gleeson, there’s only so much of that treatment a player can put up with over the course of a game. People can say he should know better etc. but that’s nonsense. From minute 1 he was getting it from Cork players and gets no help at all from referees or linesmen. Once he got the yellow it was inevitable he was going to get even more of it directed at him. There wasn’t much in the red card no matter what anyone says.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭decies

Will wait till fat lady sings but main questions will be did that league campaign screw us up some players just not at race in the championship and what was going on the last 3 weeks for that hapless performance. It was like going back to the bad old days . Reputations on the line against Clare !!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

The panel gave the whole day from early morning at Gold Coast yesterday. They were hardly doing much heavy training were they?

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

Awful performance.

Assume a Clare win would be in our best interests. Would make next week a dead rubber for them.

If both Cork and waterford both win does it go to head to head or point difference?

Also amazingly Tipp could still qualify if they beat cork well and waterford lose.

As an aside, is there a reason the goalposts in Walsh park are only about 30 foot high, I wouldnt blame a linesman of not knowing it went over when the goals look like something from the primary game.

Point difference. We are two ahead of Cork. Cork surely have the better chance of going through on points with both teams winning next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭loves_me_county_boy

We don’t deserve to go through after that

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Fred Astaire

A Clare win or draw today knocks you out if Cork beat us. It most certainly isn't in your best interests!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,316 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It's the hope that kills ya, really really bad day at the office and it has come at the very wrong time

Looking like Summer is basically over for us. Cork have the h2h over us and even a win over Clare might not be enough.

Us = tipp?

Would it not go straight to point difference if cork win next week and waterford win?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

No but he played in the team that won the club ALL Ireland. These lads are only human. Their bodies are bound to get fatigued

Depends on the result between Limerick and Clare

Is it not score difference? I thought they said earlier on rte that it was. Not looking good at all so.

Us does equal Tipp, yes.

It only goes to a points difference if Clare lose today and next week. The points difference will only come into play when 3 teams have the same number of points.

When it's two teams on the same number of points it's head to head. So you basically need Clare to lose both games to ensure it goes to points difference.

If you and Cork end up on 4 with Clare on 5 or 6, Cork automatically qualify and you are out.

Score difference if more than 2 teams finish level on points

If 2 teams finish on the same points it goes to head to head

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Absolute disaster of a result for us; such a poor performance from us, so many players we would expect massive performances from were so poor it's almost hard to believe. Really hard to see us winning in Ennis after a display like that. Really demoralising day for us.

Would the same also work if waterford lose and tipp win- turns into a 3 way tie with waterford / cork/ tipp on 2 points.

Could warerford get through with a narrow loss against clare if tipp narrowly win?

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭spideyman92

Awful performance that could probably be the most costly one in years. A lot gets said about the size of Walsh Park but I don't think it suits us at all with the way we play. Too tight when they're used to training on full sized pitches at WIT Arena. Totally crowded out.

There was a passage of play that probably decided it in the second half where we hit a couple of wides that would have put us 1 ahead.

Obviously shouldn't have reacted but Aussie got played for that second yellow. Cork fella gave him a boot with the studs onto the thigh to get him to react. It worked but they were all over him all game. Gets no protection just because of the rep he has made for himself. Daly got a slap in the first half as well and the ref ran past him.

Yeah you'd qualify in that situation.

But you're only 2 points score difference better off than Cork so it's getting into very dodgy territory.

The score difference '3 teams on 4 points' route doesn't make great reading either because Clare have a decent score difference so will nearly certainly qualify if it goes to score difference as long as they don't get absolutely trounced today or next week. In that situation, if Cork beat us by 2 more than you beat Clare by you're out that way too.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Shelfie

Aussie took some punishment today. Being harassed, pinched in the back (continuously), slapped,pushed, pulled,... So blatant and some of the worst I've seen.

Disgraceful really but he's always vulnerable and teams are going to exploit that.

I feel sorry for him. He was our best player.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Waterford are the perfect example of a team that are over coached. Typical of many teams in the modern game. Non stop short passing and trying to hand pass the thing up the pitch. As a result you have gems like Dessie Hutchinson in the full forward line getting little or no ball. When you have a player like that it should be low fast ball into him. Put someone like Stephen Bennett in beside him. Cork did that today with Tim O Mahony in the full forward line. They went from a team that were also overcoached to a team with a proper game plan. And they didn't even have to play that well to win as when the short passing breaks down it is suicide. And by god did it break down for ye today.

Compare the ball into Tony Kelly in the second match and that into Dessie.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭skaface

I don't.. He has to expect it and do his answering on the pitch keeping the scoreboard ticking..Not getting a red card with 10 minutes to go and leaving down his team mates.. Shocking performance all round today..we were flat and clueless out there today..very disappointing..Big ask to get a result in Ennis next weekend, but surely there's a response from us..has to be or our season is over

The result today is more the killer even if we do put in a performance against Clare.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Poor all over the field, defence was wide open a number of tiems esp for the first Cork goal. When we scored 1-4 without reply after the first Cork goal, we never pushed on and Cork went in a point up. Everything looked flat and looking at the second match, on today's performance we're nowhere near that level so next week doesn't look like it will be a happy ending. Glesson might be targetted but he should know that and once he got a yellow, he was always walking a tightrope.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭spideyman92

Relying on a Limerick win today as well as a Tipp one next week to give us a chance of just to give us the chance to have 3 teams on 6 points. Out of our hands now with the way the results have gone.

Need Limerick to pull their socks up for this last 20 mins or it'll be all over this evening.

Edit: Or not now that I think about it since it could be a three way tie for 3rd on 2pts each. Confused by it all haha

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Montys return

Only for Austin I'd hate to see what sort of beating we'd have got. He stood up when many others did not, and that was probably as frustrating as any pinch in the back.

Limerick v Clare Munster final so haven’t a clue what we need to be honest 🤪

He's definitely not going to stay on for 2023

Battle for 3rd place now, if Tipp can somehow beat Cork and we beat a Clare B team. Very hard to see it now