Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

The link was already provided on the thread and was discussed, another repeat and AGAIN I point to the relevant line in the link

Senator Garvey said that new wind farms should not be allowed until new Government guidelines on wind energy are published.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

Seriously what do expect with share prices with Mr Ryan playing fast and loose with doing his job in relation to the Barryroe Appraisal licence

Look Broken. You're comments against Barryroe have been totally busted many times now.

The company have already undertaken extensive test drilling in the Barryroe oil and gas field and has previously operated deep water wells in the Porcupine basin, without any mishap.

Tbh you'll throw any old shite you can at the company, added with a whole bunch of innuendo and "reading between the lines" rubbish. Hate to break it to you that's certainly not "information". And yes I also thoroughly debunked your claims on those links. See previous reply lol

And not one word of criticism from you for even one windfarm developers who have a good record of destroying the country

Like these

Well there's a surprise!

Post edited by Mecanudo on

Yeah I was the original poster who detailed that story. And then it got discussed. Then you and DaCor brought it up again.

Thats what happens in a discussion Broken. You don't get to tell posters what they can or cannot discuss. And If you don't like the discussion there are many options

Considering the state of wind farms, too bloody right They should be stopped

And the relevant line I had highlighted in that article was

"There are a lot of people locally who don’t want it there"

Justlike you're trying to claim about Nuclear

Pity you didn't bother criticising the very real damage done to the environment by green policies and investment rather than making rubbish up about a company that you don't have a single clue about. But hey that's where we're at!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,141 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Ok so nuclear is on the way from France. It's still not the panacea everyone seems to think it is though. Regardless of how power is generated we all need to be using less and consuming less of stuff in general. Great that the massive wire is being built though.

The share price was gone to sh*t before 2020 🤦‍♂️

“busted” ?

You posted the link again, not me or DaCor

I refer to my comment above, it would seem you “don’t have a single clue” 👍

The link will also allow ireland to pump excess electricity into Europe is my understanding as well

• Registered Users Posts: 22,408 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The propaganda by the billionaire owners of the fossil fuel industry has been exposed

The "think tank" ,'Global warming policy foundation' is having its charity status challenged after millions of euros of funding from US right wing billionaire's were revealed

https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/watchdog-urged-to-strip-global-warming-policy-foundation-of-charitable-status/

Energy efficiency is a big part of our net zero Strategy

Open fires are really inefficient, poorly insulated houses waste a lot of energy, reclaiming waste heat from industry is another efficiency we can achieve with a bit of planning

I posted that link first in this thread in reply to your comments about NIMBYISM and nuclear power. it was replied to and was reposted by reply several times and that included you and DaCor.

And I see you're repeating (omg!) that comment yet again. So that link I posted remains relevant to what is being said especially where according to some, Nimbys supposedly only exist in relation to nuclear energy generation or similar.

To paraphrase. I refer to my comment above and it would seem some don't have an ∞ of clues

Are you implying there are right wing American billionaire owners of the fossil fuel industry lurking hereabouts?

If that's so, then I reckon there must be left wing Russian oligarchs socialist owners of anything they want, here as well. How do you reckon their relative green policies are destroying the country?

Good to know eitherway. I'll certainly keep an eye out.

The SmartGrid Dashboard reported that the recent energy generation Fuel mix here was as follows

Renewables 21.83%

Coal 3.91%

Gas 67.86%

Other 6.4%

It could be sometime before we're able to start exporting electricity to Europe despite having seen massive growth in renewable energy infrastructure within the last decade 🤷‍♂️

One of these might come in handy though

Eamonn pouring cold water on some energy plans

Considering Russian control over nuclear fuel, seems to be a smart thing from Eamonn

The problem with you Mecanudo, is that your reading comprehension is totally off the wall. You seem to infer things that have never been said and then construct a whole narrative based on something you only imagined was said

Its ridiculous say 'Are you implying there are right wing American billionaire owners of the fossil fuel industry lurking hereabouts?"

based on the fact that they have been exposed funding the GWPF

I raised this point to show that anyone who gets their perspective from 'think tanks' like the GWPF are being manipulated by vested interests who are using them for PR to prevent action that will hurt their financial investments.

They are literally a climate change denial group, in that they were founded, and are funded specifically to spread misinformation aimed at preventing action on climate change.

Tnf Eamon Ryann couldn’t pour cold water on himself

Nuclear is now Russian? lol

Don't think so Dacor

The United States said on Monday that it would supply Romania with a training simulator in preparation for building a new type of nuclear power generating plant in the country.

If an agreement on moving ahead with a power station is reached, Romania could become the first country in Europe, and perhaps in the world, to have such a plant, known as a small modular reactor. Designed to be less expensive and easier to build than traditional nuclear reactors, modular reactors have been proposed by several manufacturers.

There is of course evidence that various green interests have been targeted by the Russians for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,073 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Would I not be correct in saying that in relation to that ship sinking scenario, at the time you posted that it was in relation a LNG terminal, not a Moffat pipeline ? Seems you didn`t watch the entire discussion you shared either.

If you believe that Ireland not being in compliance of the E.U. directive, (also stated in that discussion), is just because of the possibility of a ship sinking then your understanding of energy security and the E.U. directive is very limited. A 50 mile ship exclusion zone around those pipelines would make no difference as far as the E.U. directive is concerned.

Did you miss in that discussion you shared what the energy regulator had to say about energy security, or did you misunderstand that as well or just skip over it as it didn`t suit ?

"The problem with you" Akraisia is you didn't spot me pointing out the humour of posting a random UK / US news story which has no apparent tie in to the discussion or indeed has little or anything to do with a discussion on "Green policies ... destroying the country"

Hence

"Are you implying there are right wing American billionaire owners of the fossil fuel industry lurking hereabouts?"

But ahem looks like you are lol.

I raised this point to show that anyone who gets their perspective from 'think tanks' like the GWPF are being manipulated by vested interests who are using them for PR to prevent action that will hurt their financial investments.

So again it does seem you're suggesting that evil millionaire influencers are "manipulating" those with a perspective which equates to an alternative viewpoint to your own

Odd thing is I don't see anyone advocating the UK Global Warming Policy Foundation here? Maybe you know something we don't?

Or maybe whooo its all a big conspiracy here!

Btw you better check out the bunch in the UK called OpenDemocracy behind that story. Its main man Anthony Barnett is a UK Labour party activist and socialist who has been involved with the UK University based labor club which "provides a voice for British Labour Party values of socialism" and amongst other things

Funny thing is the OpenDemocracy interest group, who are complaining about one group of UK politicians receiving funding via US Philanthropic foundations (which apparently have amongst their investments legacy shares from the fossil fuel industry) are themselves being fundedby a similar number of US Philanthropic foundations with legacy shares in the US automotive industry including the Ford Motor Company!

Bit of a case of the pot calling the kettle black there tbh

Do you know he old idiom of Where there`s muck there`s money ?

If you do then it`s very naive not to see there is a very high degree of probability of two similar sides to that coin and there is also lobbying, and all that entails, from those making vast fortunes in the renewables game due to the Marginal Pricing Policy.

Interestingly enough there appears to be two organisations (lobbying groups) with political positions at either end of the spectrum behind the OpenDemocracy group and the Global Warming Policy Foundation who are playing an obvious sparing game of political shenanigans, that if you throw enough mud at your opposition, some will eventually stick.

Hadn't came across either outfit previously as they're UK based, but this was the GWPFs hit back at complaint backed by MPs (Labour & Green) calling for a Tory-linked anti-net-zero lobby group to be stripped of its charitable status following an openDemocracy (Labour linked) investigation.

"In May 2022, we were approached by a number of journalists – from the FT, Open Democracy and the Guardian – alleging that we were in breach of our funding policy – namely that we do not accept donations from an energy company or anyone with a significant interest in an energy company. These allegations were then published on The Guardian and Open Democracy websites.

These claims are false and unfounded:

1. It is implied that GWPF accepts funding from the Koch brothers via Donors Trust, a charitable organisation that disburses charitable donations to a number of organisations.

Our response: Donors Trust is a charitable organisation, matching donors to those seeking funding. Disbursements are not made from a homogenous pool of money – recipients of funds know the identity of the original donors. We are therefore able to vet them in line with our funding policy. We have never accepted donations from the Koch brothers or any other energy interests.

2. It is claimed that funding from the Sarah Scaife Foundation represents a fossil fuel interest.

Our response: The wealth that went into the Foundation was created in the 19th and early 20th centuries, and came from oil, banking as well as other sectors. Wealth that is inherited does not create an ‘interest’, let alone a vested one. It would be ludicrous to suggest that three generations on, an independent charity that supports a variety of causes somehow represents a commercial energy interest.

3. It is claimed that shareholdings in energy companies belonging to the Sarah Scaife Foundation make it an inappropriate donor to the GWPF.

Our response: Charitable foundations minimise their risks by using normal investment portfolios, spreading assets across geographies and economic sectors. A small proportion (approximately 3%) of the Scaife Foundation’s assets are in energy company shares, but the suggestion that this constitutes a vested interest is risible.

We do not accept donations from anyone with a significant interest in an energy company. We turn down any offers of funding from people with a vested interest in energy companies. We believe this goes further than many other environmental groups who receive money from the renewable energy industry."

See: 

No, the LNG had nothing to do with a sinking ship.

...and no, not the point. You posted mentioning that you had shared the discussion where the energy regulator said what she did about our energy security and the E.U. direction, adding "it seems a few people did not watch the entire discussion" Seems you were one of those as you posted your belief at the time the sinking ship she was talking about was in connection to an LNG pipeline. You were corrected by a number of posters afair, but never actually acknowledge that. To me that does not give much credibility to your post on energy security.

Did you miss or misunderstand what she had to say on LNG and energy security as well ?

Was there a claim regarding a risk with Russians bombing the LNG terminal in Shannon at one point as well 🤔

Between sinking ships and Russian bombs LNG is fairly in the crosshairs it would seem.

Now that you mention it, there was.

I could never get my head around that one as to why they would even dream of doing it. Somehow I doubt it`s an energy security concern than leaves our energy regulator jumpy every time she hears a plane overhead.

Jaysus those Russians could get up to anything. Lucky for us our Fishermen seemed to scare them away.

I'm not surprised you are backing the GWPF here.

They are lying though. All they do is lie.

The Donors Trust is a money laundering organisation that exists only to funnel money anonymously from vested interests to fund disinformation and political lobbying campaigns

Ah so looks like you're back to the standard response of inferring those who you disagree with are 'deniers' or similar.

Nope

Not backing GWPF

Pointing out the naivete of anyone believing that climate change is not being used as a political football as in this case between Labour party and the Conservative Party in the UK.

That both the OpenDemocracy group and GWPF recieve a portion of their funding from large US Philanthropic foundations which were founded on powerful industrial and vested interests.

That the pot calling the kettle black in this instance is indeed hillarious regardless of OpenDemocracys purported 'green' credentials'.

I wouldn't take a word from either of these lobby group without a large dose of salt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

For anyone interested here is a presentation from Ben Pile outlining some of the activities of billionaires who use the charity industrial complex as proxies to extend their wealth and how their actions have contributed to the inflationary energy and food crisis we now find ourselves in with no easy exit.

Post edited by Pa ElGrande on

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

If you think they're the same it explains a lot about your posts on here. Open Democracy is ideologically motivated but transparent in their funding. GWPF are fundamentally dishonest and their sole reason to exist is to promote the interests of their funders and are abusing their charitable status to lobby and pervert democracy

Instead of reading their press release lying about their funding, read the publications on their site and tell me if they are anything other than a climate change denial organisation