Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brawl breaks out at Dublin Airport

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭MakersMark

Apparently the fight started because Ryanair couldn't accommodate a passengers horse on the flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭buried

The likes of PBP and SF are completely irrelevant. No doubt they don't give a $hit about wider society just like any other political racket, but They have not been in power while this disgraceful and cowardly blind eye act has been enabled towards this section of society for the last 50 years. They are not in power today. We need the authorities in power today to do something about this now, they should have done it over 20 years ago but have continuously ignored and placated the problem to such a level where members of this society obviously now believe they can literally carry out in a split second violent actions in a place such as an international airport that terrorist cells would have to spend years planning. That's no joke, that what this incident showcases. These people literally do not give a f**k. And those in power the last 50 years have enabled them to not give it.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

The biggest (so to speak)person behind the ethnic minority rubbish was our little president, who seemingly would welcome them no problem down to his own house he said on live TV…..

people actually beloved that lie along with the rest

• Registered Users Posts: 10,060 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

It was a standard Traveller fight, with 2 'fair play' men separating the lads when they got into a wrestle and encouraging then to stand up and box. But the fair play men didn't do their job when the third party came in from the side with a sucker punch and follow up kicks to the head cos his man was losing. That's probably cos it wasn't organised properly and a bit spontaneous (needed a few call out videos and a few bets first)

The weird thing is that the whole thing was acted out in an international airport in exactly the same way if it was organised down in Big Joe Joyce's farm in Moate. The lads have absolutely no embarrassment about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Ro

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Would anyone care how he is, scum bag deserve all they get along with the shower of cnuts that were with him

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I could understand airport police being reluctant here. They're just civillians in a role and not Gardai. They have the power of arrest the same as every single person in this country. But most people don't know what's needed to use that (the crime being witnessed must have a potential prison term of 5 years or more). They then perform a citizens arrest and detain until handover to AGS. But I can understand the reluctance. Aside from people who really want to make it an issue, we know they're travellers. As described above, the fight was performed exactly like every other traveller fight. 2 lads, surrounded by onlookers who separate the hugging and pick them up if knocked down. Man to man on your feet, that's how they fight. Or used to.

So it wasn't just the 2 fighting, they'd have god knows how many others getting involved. I've been in situations where you get a call to a halting site because of a massive fight, you get there, see the amount of travellers and knowing full well if you went in you'd get hammered. You've to wait for backup. Safety in numbers. No job is worth a hammering. Until it's safe to intervene, you observe and take note to be used in evidence. That's just normal process no matter which country you're a cop in. The heroes end up getting killed or seriously injured. Yes, it's their job to enforce the law, not their job to knowingly put yourself in harms way. This isn't 'Merica.

But I'm sure there's lots on here who think the Garda on €45k should put his safety on the line to protect travellers from themselves, regardless of backup. I can tell a lot of ye wouldn't be great at planning security... Any airport police, or even a permanent Garda presence (outside of the small station with mainly admin duties, mostly immigration), if he had intervened with a heavy hand, which is what would be required here, let's be honest, would be ripped asunder by the bleeding hearts and anti-Garda brigade. Don't know how they still do it tbh. I ran, and I'll never look back. People suck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

You seem a bit knowledgeable about the fights amongst travellers.

As you allude to, there is a bit of a structure and rules about them.

Given that the lad who jumped on the head of the other boy has obviously broken those rules, is it likely he could face punishment from the community at large?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

"Independent.ie understands that the group involved included relatives living in the UK who had travelled to Co Meath for a funeral.

They were due to fly back from Dublin Airport when their flight was delayed.

A source said: "There was a lot of alcohol drunk which was made worse with the delay and the fight initially broke out between two men over a historic dispute. "

I love all the euphemisms that they have to use to avoid saying they were T's. A historic dispute, were they arguing over the treaty of Versailles?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,847 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

A historic dispute, were they arguing over the treaty of Versailles?

No. Just the usual. One fella said Oasis were better than Blur and they other fella disagreed

• Registered Users Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why can't they just say they're Travellers? They want to be called Travellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

This one wasn't a fight as such. Was quite a complex mating dance in which the larger one was trying to attract the romantic affection of the smaller male

Dublin Airports New Head of Security 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 25,484 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Look, if it was Killybegs United that got involved in the same behaviours, they’d be on the news, all over social media, arrests would have been made, banned from the airport, airline…won’t happen here of course…

absolutely appalling that at an airport… one of the highest security sensitive public buildings in the country … that kicks off and the response from law enforcement is so inefficient and ineffective .

Taliban could be watching that… quite aware that 10 of them they could push / fight their way airside, in 1 minute…. To a parked up aircraft in another 3 or 4….that has 12 tonnes of fuel and detonate an IED or just blow fûck out of a part of the duty free…….either way create carnage, create lots of carnage along the way.

why don’t the DAA just every year, give the government X millions from their budget to police the airport… be an additional xx Gardai but just tax the DAA for it…

I’m reading there are around 300 airport police in Ireland over all the airports …if the state hire 300 or so extra Gardai… the DAA make a contribution… which they can afford by my reckoning..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

I'd have to ask the point of the airport police then really if they are so powerless considering the importance of the airport and the number of people through it.

I was in Schipol a few weeks ago watching the marchaussee strolling round with long guns.

Some lad pulled a knife on them in Eindhoven a few years ago and they shot him on the spot. LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

To the apologizers asking "how we know they are travelers" ?

Listen to the accents, and look at the bloody guys refereeing it for ffs!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭StevenToast

RTE are terrified of covering this....small story on the website....

This is borderline terrorism....imagine this carry on in any other major European Airport.....swift justice would have been handed out that would make Padraig Nally blush.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Sorolla

I am absolutely shocked at the tone of the majority of these posts.

we, as a society, have dismally failed these young men and robbed them of their perspective of a bright prosperous future.

i, myself, come from rural Ireland and day in day out I hear of the most wanton discrimination against these fine folk - hotels blatantly refusing to host weddings, christening parties, funeral parties.

Pubs boarding up their windows and closing their doors whenever there is a funeral of their loved ones in the town.

When I was a young lad we lived to see the tinker call to the door - we considered it good luck.

He would fix anything broken and would gladly take a bucket of water for the horse - they were lovely people back then and they are lovely people today.

We, as a society must stand up and treat these people with respect and tolerate their customs because at the end of the day there is a bit of a tinker in each and every one of us Irish people

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭NSAman

Rematch in Cork airport later on the way to Rathkeale

• Registered Users Posts: 82,818 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes their old tradition of chasing pairs of racing sulky's in luxury SUV's on public motorways had nearly died out in the last 100 years, it's great to see that it is more popular now than ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,883 ✭✭✭billyhead

Sure didn't a European auditor working to test the level of security at the airport smuggle a gun through security a number of weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭avfc1874

• Registered Users Posts: 10,060 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I don’t know, probably not. I’d imagine it’ll be used as a call out from someone on the other side as a lucrative call out for a PPV fight in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Because the airport is a large, dynamic site which needs specialised monitoring and enforcement of particular events.

Things like patrolling the perimeter fence, enforcing the speed limit of airside roads, fining people for staying too long at the drop off. These are not the role of a Garda. That’s a waste of a guard.

Stopping terrorism, theft of freight, investigating robberies, dealing with assaults are what I’d expect warranted Gardaí to do.

They both have important roles, but I see a need for both.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭downtheroad

TDs horrified apparently- https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/thuggish-behaviour-at-dublin-airport-condemned-in-d%C3%A1il_arid-40880936.html

Senator Eileen Flynn, a traveller appointed directly as a senator by Michael Martin, should be called before a committee to give her comments on this.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eileen_Flynn_(politician)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭Allinall

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭downtheroad

She's a representative of their community. They need to be held accountable for their actions.

Pavee Point, John Connors and more are straight out of the blocks when it suits them to comment, but are nowhere to be seen when incidents like this occur.