Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vacant property tax coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,816 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Doing up these old places is often throwing good money after bad. Someone might not want to wait 20yrs to get a return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 gorse

What are you talking about? They aren't for sale.

They aren't free. The 60k is on top what ever was out into them to this point.

They said the changes to Airbnb would fix the market too. Then it was people in FairDeal, now vacant houses.

How about the Govt just build what it need instead of trying to take if off other people.

It has to be carrot. Not stick. There will always be a way around the stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Half the town of mallow will be taxed to the hilt as every second premises is derelict.

The fine or tax would have to be higher than the potential cost of damage by renting. Good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

There's a four bedroom house not far from where I live. Apparently it was inherited by two brothers who can't agree on whether to rent it out or sell it - so it sits empty. A punitive tax would focus their minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭ricimaki

Or just high enough for the owner to consider selling it, making it available for someone who has an actual use for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭whatchagonnado

It's already in effect in the UK.

Yes, until you have a need to use it, it's excess you don't need. Unlikely a 3 bed would be taxed if I was dictator, but 4 bed with one/two people, sure, tax the extra bedroom.

We are really getting into the nub of things now. Selfishness, greed and hoarding, nothing more. Be damned if you weren't fortunate to be born at a certain time, or lucky enough to buy a property or two(!), we as a society don't care, we care about ourselves.

Why is it maddening? Why, given population trends and the lack of resources, should excess housing capacity not be encouraged to be freed up?

Its madding because the local authority have vacant housing. Yet they making people believe its the private market thats at fault.

Why does the Govt not use it own resources to solve this problem instead of looking for a handout from people. That people accept this baloney without question is mindboggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭purpleshoe

But your suggestion does not encourage capacity to be freed up. It does, however, erode such things as ownership and free will. It encourages a totalitarian society. That is not how Ireland rolls.

You are suggesting that people who have worked extremely hard, but also put themselves into debt for decades ahead, so that they have a roof over the head should now be forced towards giving up rooms in their home, or else!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

In the good old days the rates were based on the potential rent of a property. That tended to mean bigger properties paid more. As a result, widows usually sold big houses not long after they were bereaved or else took in lodgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,716 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Because people own it and should not be harrassed about owning things. If you don't want people to own things, than pass a law stating they can't own things, not scurry around in dark corners, using underhand tactictics to try and coerce people into not owning things.

Typical Irish socialist attitude you have there that privatly financed and owned proerty is a national resource that should be up for grabs and made available to people why didn't pay for it.

Here, have a read of this: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058245661/how-to-get-tenant-to-leave#latest

A person should not be penalised for wanting to work overseas for a few years and not make their property available for rent, given the government have made that hell on earth.

I think it was more that widows had no income if the single earner in a family died.

I thought rates were based on the "rateable valuation"

Widows wouldn't have an income and would be liable for a big bi-annual bill on the death of their spouse.

The rateable valuation was calculated according to the potential rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,148 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The "bedroom tax" in the UK isn't a tax, and doesn't apply to private owners. Its a penalty against housing benefit or social rent for those receiving those, and has had significant side effects.

The Government spent close to €1bn propping up the private rental sector last year. Tax money directly into the hands of private landlords. That is maddening.

A person should not penalised for working, they just want to work, why should they get money taken off them for that?

Never said they should give it up, the should contribute if they want the excess. There is no real need for 1 person to live in a 4 bedroom house. I'm not saying they can't or shouldn't, but that they should contribute a little more if they want to do that.

Its not propping up the private rental market. The Private Rental market didn't want that business and they had to legislate to force LL's to take on that business. In market with historic shortage of supply, and high rents why would it need propping up. Makes no sense.

Same with vacant property tax, trying to force people to rent, or sell. That is not propping up anything.

They did whey the bought it, and maintain it, and pay property tax, and tax on the income to pay for all of that.

No matter what someone else pays. its not bottomless pit for others to use.

They already 'contributed' by buying the property. It belongs to them and should not be considered a national resource just because you believe in socialism. They also pay property tax on the basis of the valuation, so the costs are ongoing.

Next you will be suggesting that people driving 5 seater cars without them being occupied, pay tax on the 4 empty seats and the prceeds be used to subidise you to buy a car.

Ireland needs to get a grip on whether it wants to allow people to 'own' things, or whether it wants to become a socialist country with state ownership of everything. You are obviously a fan of the latter. Socialism has such a great track record, I can't wait to move to a country where it operates. You probably should too, comrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

I'm sure the Glasraí ('cause they're vegetables) and their army of advisors have that in the works.

Still nothing much can be done. Like always in this country, politicians will slowly grasp the issue afterwards. FF-FG & Glasrai v [a certain very property rich party with an aggressive always online set of defenders and courtroom regulars] is a choice between massive overtaxation or even more massive overtaxation. Almost all these vacant houses are be unlikely to be put into the rental market as the law enforces a rent cut year on year, and other RTB nonsense that doesn't do a thing for renters. It appears to be the policy of the political class to eliminate smaller Irish landlords who charged a low enough rent in favour of English and German owned REITs and other foreign investors (if someone believes the claims of a certain crew about eliminating tax benefits to REITs, I've a bridge to sell them). Oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,257 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Sorry but I disagree. A house is not a jumper or a pair of socks, it is a home or shelter for someone or some family.

If one really wants to hoard property for whatever reason, grand, but there should be a financial cost for the privilege. It's that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Who said you have to legally seperate from them. You could just have a fight every Monday, move out to your other property fro a few days and then go back and have makeup sex the rest of the week. Repeat that every week or two.

Your honor we have a very volatile relationship. I just need to move to my apartment to give us both a break every few days, but we love each other so make up after the break always.

Sorry, but owning property is not a 'privilege', it's currently a constitutional right and viewing it as potential shelter for someone who doesn't own it is nothing short of socialism. Owning something and deciding what you do with it should be part and parcel of the concept of ownership, something Irish society struggles with, as it can't seem to decide whether to embrace socialism or capitalist democracy.

As I posted above, read the thread about not being able to get a tennant out of a house, though I suspect you'd be on the side of the tennants. That problem highlights why someone who owns property should not be forced or coerced into making it available to someone else who doesn't.

If she wasn't working or didn't have a pension or settlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭petronius

For ordinary people (e.g. couple who have moved in together who both had homes/apartments, or elderly people who may have moved in with a relative), there should be carrots not sticks, benefit not punishment!

If I build/buy a house its not "common" property. We don't live in a system where  property and wealth are communally-owned.

There are places where it is, if you prefer that model. If there's a vote and the system changes here I'll be voting with my feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

As far as I see there's roughly x3 categories of people in Ireland

- private sector working

- public sector

- lifelong doleys ( ies? )

Both public sector and doley are looked after in their old age ( and through their life ).

Public sector, works, nice pension, alot of the time can retire early etc etc. They must buy their own house of course but have a safety net ( pension, secure job ).

Doley, ( I came from a family of them so I know ). Dole, entitlements, house etc etc, sorted.

Me and many others, private sector workers, ( me construction ), shite pension only there as a box ticking excersise , can't retire early ( maybe lotto ), must buy own home, fair enough.

Works bollox off for years to the point of injury and beyond to prepare for future. Buys investment home not to run as a business but to have some sort of security in old age that the other 2 categories have in different formats.

Solution? Let's punish the sector who try not to be a drain on the state in old age.

Brilliant.

This

far better to be encouraging people to take advantage of carrots than to put in place sticks that people will look to circumvent (as there would have to be so many exemptions)

Slightly more €€€s for the privilege of owning more assets and excess than we all deem reasonable as a society.

'Comrade'!! Couldn't be further from the truth. The sooner we start hammering those with excess wealth the better. No problem with wealth generation, but when it becomes detrimental to civil society (as it is now), then we have a duty to do something.

You're blaming the people who aren't responsible for housing, who aren't creating the shortage.

While not blaming the people (Govt) who are responsible and who are creating the shortage.

That makes sense to you.

Absolute drivel, and you clearly lack understanding of the existing taxes in Ireland.

Thankfully a tax on spare rooms in a person's home will not come to fruition. It simply won't ever be on the table for consideration.

To highlight to you directly:

Anyone who got off their rear end, saved a deposit, and then borrowed hundreds of thousands to buy their home is not privileged. They didn't cheat, screw someone over, or oppress anyone to obtain their home.

I put it to you that the person who does nothing to improve their situation but continuously expects the government and the tax payer to prop up their life is actually the privileged person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

This ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

I know a couple who are related to friends of ours who live in two homes, both houses in Dublin. They are somewhere in their late 50's or early 60's with adult kids, and after their last son moved out, they found they got on better when they lived apart. Not divorced or any plans to AFAIK, they just prefer that arrangement. I think it's a bit odd TBH, but how would a vacant tax work there - neither house is unused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭LJ12345

I read a number of these apartments were claimed to be rented by corporates during the pandemic at a lower rate to keep them for staff when they returned but it could be interesting when the numbers are released....

There has been particular anger at reports that high-end apartment blocks are lying idle, with the Business Post highlighting last year that, in midst of a crisis, 100 out of 190 apartments in the 22-storey Capital Dock building near Grand Canal Dock in Dublin were lying vacant.

Following such reports, O’Brien said he wanted to target investment funds that have large swathes of apartments lying empty.”

https://www.thejournal.ie/vacant-property-tax-4-5774165-May2022/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

So the investment companies have rented them out ok but the renters are not using them? How will that work, ie they're unused but not vacant 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

One thing that is blatantly clear in all of this is everyone is blaming people who save hard for a second home and making them pay more tax upon the taxes the have already paid for the ability to purchase a second home.

not one person has said anything about the tax free REITs that are causing this housing shortage, the increased rent and basically doing all of this while paying feck all tax on profits.

if socialism is required, then the large landlords who are tax free are screwing the system wholesale. Tax free, recieving tax payers money and getting their properties paid for for nothing. Not bad if you can get this as a small landlord, but as we all know they get taxed to the hilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭YipeeDee

If they’re living in their property, it’s not vacant, hence I made the suggestions for couples to separate and each live in a property themselves. Unless they try to introduce a law to deprive citizens of their own property, in which case they’ll be violating international human rights law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭DataDude

I’d be fairly confident when this tax comes in, they’ll link it to the definition of your Principal Private Residence, rather than some impossible to monitor subjective definition of vacant or otherwise.

Married couples can only have one PPR. So expect the above absolutely won’t work as a way around the tax. Unless the people drafting it are complete morons!

Time will tell though!

• While the govt/various govts are clearly responsible, I would argue the people of Ireland and Dublin have played no small part in the current crisis as well. See the mass objecting to the development in Dundrum, the non-building of Oscar Traynor Rd, every single judicial review that ends up before the courts, etc.

No one wants over development on on their doorstep effecting their quality of life. A lot of new development are poorly planned with little consideration of local area.