Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Conversations With Friends - BBC 3 & Hulu.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I thought it was dreadful stuff. Most of the characters seemed insufferable. I though Tommy Tiernan as the melancholic Dad was good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

A talented singer and song writer. My favourite songs of his would be ‘Hazard County’ and ‘Right Here Waiting For You’.

You may have spotted him doing a cameo a few years back as a wedding singer in ‘Life in Pieces’.

Married to Daisy Fuentes if I recall correctly, in spite of his mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭RoTelly

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭john9876

Thanks for confirming that it was Ballinasloe. I thought that was what was on the train station sign but wasn't sure.

It's ok, more style than substance.

The most annoying part is the amount of text messages used which means I need to rewind it, pause it and walk up to the TV to read the message!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭embraer170

It is very French, but I am not hating it as much everyone else here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

For God's sake, don't read the book, if you think the characters in the TV adaptation are insufferable.

I know somebody who vaguely knew her in Trinity. She was heavily involved in the debating societies and was apparently very opinionated and strident.

She's clearly an intelligent woman and a decent writer. However, I get the sense that she isn't somebody you would want to go for pints with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

2 episode in and it has none of the magic of Normal People. NP has Mescal and DEJ, 2 unknowns but they were just magnetic on screen, and had serious chemistry. It’s setting was rural and realistic, ie gaa and secondary school in country town. This one, trinity students who moonlight as stand up comedy, gimme a break that’s complete elitism. So far the characters are not on the level of NP, the wife and outgoing friend are very unlikeable, and the main bloke doesn’t have the innocence and vulnerability of Mescal, he’s just a tortured rich D4 head, the only likeabke character is the main girl. Will watch it anyway, hope it improves but from what I heard it doesn’t, and episode 3 is painfully slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Anderson Attractive Elevator

it'll be championed by the una mullally/lousie o neill type, upper class late 20's/30s pretentious women/hipster market who think think its deep but its vain vapid crap

I don’t disagree, but just to point out that much of ‘Normal People’ was also situated in Trinity and Marianne’s family were loaded, owning a villa in Italy.

For a self-proclaimed Marxist, Sally Rooney certainly has a fixation on the lives of very affluent people. Totally agree that this show is missing the chemistry that Paul Mescal and Daisy Edgar Jones produced; there was something magical there. Even the secondary characters in ‘Normal People’ seemed more interesting.

Couple of other points that occurred to me.

1. I feel like the premise of the book and TV show just doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny. There is no way a wealthy, artsy, mid-30s couple would have any interest, platonic or otherwise, in a couple of student girls.
    2. The lead actress, Alison Oliver is pretty decent and clearly has some talent. I hope this show is a career launcher for her.

I’m curious to see if that will be the case, the same though occurred to me earlier.

Word of mouth so far is consistently negative to date.

Certainly this thread has very few positive comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

6 episodes in. Feel like Robinson Crusoe writing this in some kind of endurance log.

I been struck by a revelation. It's Love Island for woke hipsters....... without any semblance of fun!

• A bit of a snog and a squeeze.
    • I've got a text.
    • Can I pull you for a chat.
    • Meltdowns and fallouts over nothing.
    • Multiple lines of attraction.
    • Friendships vs Lust
    • Rinse and repeat.

Frances and Nick are a dish cloths in human form.

Not sure I have the strength to go on........ will try.

I hope so too, we finished it tonight and she (Alison) was the best thing about it. Character motivation and development were absolutely terrible. Who ever wrote the screen play failed epically assuming the book fleshed all of those things? If not then it was a shite book then wasn't it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭Shelga

Good point about Connell versus Nick. Connell was vulnerable and relatable as an Irish guy who went along with the lads' mentality in secondary school, or was too shy to speak up against it, then evolved and grew up in college, and obviously the relationship with Marianne was just gorgeous. He also was from a poor enough background and had to work hard for everything he had- it really portrays that in the book and the show, what a massive relief it was for him to get Schols in 3rd year. That scene in the therapist's room was heartbreaking.

Nick is just a privileged D4 head, as you say, and far more difficult to root for. Yes, his depression is real, but I still feel like I don't really know him as a person, in either the book or the tv show. He's rich, and mumbles a lot. Joe Alwyn's mumbling is irritating. His accent is a bit weird and distracting at times too- not terrible, but it's like he's torn between posh south Dublin and English.

"Dish cloths in human form" 😂 I'm stealing that line! I just think it worked better as a book. I still preferred Normal People though. I also thought the book failed to communicate why Nick and Melissa wanted to be close friends with two 21 year olds, and this failure has happened in the show too. I'm a similar age to them, and would not hang out with college students, ever, beyond being acquaintances. Not saying I definitely wouldn't, but you don't see anything that explains it, any USP! They're just friends from page 1, and that's it.

Overall the TV show just doesn't really work, it should have been left as a book, but would still have benefitted massively from major editing. There are 3x as many scenes of Nick and Frances mumbling to each other as there need to be.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Thanks for this! Was wondering when we'd finally get it back. A great channel that should never have went away.

As for Conversations With Friends, I thought the first two episodes were good. Not great, but good. I'll keep watching and see where it goes. It's no Normal People anyway, that's for sure.

Ah Marcela. Good comparison she is very like her. Marcela actually has family links in my parish in Tipp :)

Watching a bit of this although i suspected the story may not appeal to me. To be fair I think the actors are excellent and Lenny has done a good job directing yet again. However, unlike Normal People, I think most people won't resonate with the characters in this.

In Normal People, it explored the vulnerabilities of both Connall (played by Paul Mescal) and Marianne (played by Daisy Edgar Jones) and we automatically rooted for them and wanted them to get to a good place (preferably together). Their journey went from their leaving cert year to the end of college and moving on.

In the case of CWF, this story is a world far removed for most people and no one has an ounce of sympathy for any of these characters. Where is the moral dilemma? Where is the journey??? Where is the self-discovery?? They seem vile.

??? lol??? Really??? Think id prefer Alcoholic leprechauns than this pretentious shower tbh.

Ah here. You can’t be disparaging Tommy Tiernan’s character like that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Smart, more like humourless, self absorbed narcissists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

The cinematography is excellent and it's very well produced but there's absolutely **** all chemistry between Frances and Nick. They're also not very good actors(maybe because their characters are so badly written)

The best friend is an insufferable gowl too

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Pure muck even though I've only seen the trailers. Story is like it's written by a transition year student!

A lot of deep staring, silence, talking in whispers, clothes being lifted off, slow passionate kissing and lovemaking, looking out windows of cars deep in thought.

Surely the only people who are into this are middle aged women who don't know porn exists and think a bit of riding on TV is edgy.

I saw a picture of her in the news one time and I thought she was in her 50s! She's only 31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

You are to be commended for making it to 6 episodes.

She does take herself very seriously. Reminds me of Una Mullally. Face like a bulldog pissing on a nettle.

she reminds me of a female version of Barry Keoghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

If the shoe the shoe is poorly received and not popular then it won’t be a career launcher for the actress unless she is singled out as good despite the shoe being bad.

However, it will surely be a stepping stone for her.

The series seemed from the start like the the producers and director were jumping on their own bandwagon.

The trailer made it look like a bunch of horrible people hanging out and being horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I didn't watch it I read a review, it seems the book is better , but of alot of the book is in the form of emails so it's hard to show it all on screen with the same effect I don't think this show will have the same impact as normal people which was mostly about 2 young people falling in love I think most of her reading audience are middle class intelligent women who want to read books that are romantic with a bit of sex in there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I would agree that the main actress is very good but the mina storyline of a love affair between two really boring people is just not that engaging. The only character I have feelings for is Bobbi- who I detest!

Fair to say Normal People benefitted massively from the lockdowns? Everyone was at home with nothing to do and the media found something they could easily write about then.

I've seen clips of Mescal doing some other bits and pieces and he was terrible. There was one clip I saw of him in something, where he had a Donegal accent maybe. Terrible acting. Daisy Edgar is quite good.

An interesting theory @Pussyhands

Season 1 of that Tiger Prawns show was very popular. Season 2 not so much.

Would any show released at that exact point in time have enjoyed more popularity than perhaps it deserved?

🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think Rooney writes about people she knows from her life, intellectual pretentious middle class people. I did not find any of the characters interesting. I don't expect this program to be totally realistic about locations, TV company's go

where its easy and cheap convenient to film , there's dozens of American drama TV programs made in Canada because its cheaper than America to film there . If this was made in America the women would look like models.

I read there's a TV boom right now in the UK Ireland because of so many programs are being made for American streaming services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

So this is what passes as Marxism in the 21st century, lol! So much for social realism.

🙈🙉🙊

I see that Ms. Rooney has another book, ’Beautiful World, Where Are You‘ that apparently features a ‘love quadrangle’.

Will this get adapted for TV?

If so, will it be a hit like Normal People?

Or a miss like Conversations With Friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The lead actor character in this is some dope. Does he have some condition or us he just super-chilled??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Rooney has a way of writing that kind of pulls you along once you get into it. Even though the people involved are absolute gowls doing stupid gowly things, their inner thought processes are written in ways that are kind of sympathetic, or at least compelling to unwind. It reminded me of being that kind of drunk where you know, objectively, that the person you're listening to is talking absolute shite, but it *feels* really interesting for some reason.

The show suffers massively from losing Rooney's knack for POV inner thought writing, and because the main two characters needed to have such insane chemistry you could understand why they'd behave so irrationally, as opposed to that electric "adjacent dentist waiting room strangers" quality they give off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Marxist feminism would put years on anyone ,double shot of misery

Just watched episodes 3&4. I thought they were ok, not brilliant by any means, but watchable. The cinematography is stunning, which is something. I also think the actors do a good job conveying the simmering tension between Frances and Melissa.

As for Bobbi, I hated that character in the book and I detest her even more in the TV adaptation. I’m sure it’s the character, but even the actress playing her annoys me.

One mildly interesting difference vs. the book is that they go to Croatia on holidays. It’s Brittany in France in the book. Either way, I still don’t understand why the two girls were invited along. It makes zero sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Not my usual fare but I found my self drawn in by it.

The fly on the wall sort of dreamy feeling compelled me.

The characterisation was so spot on it's almost scary.

I knew some of them at college and in one way or another I've been meeting their likes all my life.

A definite classic of the future.

She has no personality it seems. There's very little substance to her

How is the characterization spot on? Do you mean the portrayal of self-absorbed, narcissistic humanities students or artsy, older couples, with open relationships?

My degree spanned STEM and humanities, so I had a lot of contact with arts students. I don’t recall anybody as remotely annoying as Frances or Bobbi. Granted this was 15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes, absolutely, the portrayals hit the spot for me.

I mixed with these people at university.

I always had an interest in people and perhaps I overindulged those who might be described as annoying.

I probably did have a high BS threshold but as long as the journey was interesting I was up for it.

Over the years since some have changed and some are preserved in aspic, never moved on.

Man vs Man Ure is talking about the lead actor not the lead actress

He has no personality it seems. There's very little substance to him.

Sound like neither (lead actor or lead actress) are much good in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭RoTelly

I don't get the absolute love of these actors (even from NP), this can be down to script which I think it has more to do with.

Hey, Frances

Hey (an embarrassed smile as if she wasn't expecting him there, even though it's his and his wives' friends villa and they were going on holidays together with them)

Also where do I fine these people in real life?

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Fair enough. I'm guessing you went to either Trinity or UCD? These are the environments these people tend to inhabit.

My BS threshold was definitely lower I'm afraid :-).