Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Office workers asked to paint office.

• 23-05-2022 3:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

Sounds like a joke but my mate was just announced today that all office workers will paint office walls this week and they have to come it "proper clothes" tomorrow to start moving furniture and prepare for painting. Other people in office are bit shocked but they were taken by surprise (some possiby were told earlier) and my mate wonder if he can just refuse to participate? It is small finance/accountancy company, my mate works as seo/web/social media specialist there and he can stay home working remotely but he started to think if company can even ask him to do this (paint)? Seems like they want to refresh building but struggled to sort professional painters - whatever incredible it sounds, now trying to make it into "team integration" activity which may be fun for some bit definitely not for him?

Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,943 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Does his job description include "Other duties as required"?

The best way to kick back is to ask for written assurance that their employer liability insurance has been extended to cover furniture moving and painting. (99% it won't have been, and if they employer tries, they get a fright: the chance of injury when untrained, sedentary office workers start doing stuff like that is very high.)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

I'm not sure what job description was and I am sure people carry things in that office as they reorganized building on their own after Covid but I presume question was can company try to save on maintenance costs just asking workers to do nixers job? He says there is one or two workers who seems to be involved in idea (maybe even some with it), they are kind of "unofficial" managers trying to turn it into team building activity (and to save few quids). My mate he doesnt like it and wonders what to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

If he is really bad at painting they will take the brush or roller away from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,095 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

So many reasons not to do this. Heavy lifting training. Use of ladder training. Hazardous material handling training. Insurance. Risk of headaches from the paint. Proper equipment cleaning facilities. Who covers the cost of 'suitable clothing'? -They should be providing proper shoes, overalls and eye protection.

Your friend should be able to say no with no repercussions as it is not reasonable to compel a desk based employee to do such work.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

That actually sounds like a bit of craic and a couple of days work at most. Getting professionals to do work for you is most definitely a problem at present. I'd roll with with it! As posted they'll stop him if he's crap but it's pretty hard to make a mess of things with a roller!

"Sounds fun, but I'd be afraid all that dust and paint could trigger an asthma attack. I haven't had one in years, but you never know."

• Registered Users Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Yes it does sound like a joke.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

That is a terrible way of thinking. You will become fierce helpless if you entertain that train of thought. Not that I am defending the employer or anything

• Registered Users Posts: 5,920 ✭✭✭Augme

I wouldn't go down the route of making things up just to get out of it. Just say no you arent doing it because it isn't your job and you will be busy with the work you were actually employed to do.

Also, might be a good time for your friend to dust off the old CV. Can't quite believe a professional org, or a org that wants to be professional would ask their staff to paint the office. It's almost comical.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,095 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Ach I know. but you can be sure that the employer has thought of none of this stuff and is just assuming that the employees will be gung ho to help. But if anyone hurts their back, damages their clothing, falls off a ladder, gets paint in their eye then any court in the land would rule against the employer. The employer has a duty of care to their employees and asking them to do this work is taking the biscuit.

The point is that the reason most companies hire in experts to do this work is that its easier, sensible and risk free.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Comply with this and the next "integration activity" could be rodding the drains .

Actually I think it is still workable just to get "I feel sick I may have a Covid" excuse, my feeling is he just wonders if company can do thing like that?

I even googled "team building activity" to see if I can find something similar - I found tons of painting activities but frankly all more "artistic" and "creative" than just blunt wall painting. It sounds bit ridiculous to me - purely company trying to save money instead of paying professionals which I presume are not that easy to get this days..

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Well, you did raise the possibility of them not being able to find professional painters. I have very recent experience of 2-3 weeks and more lead time on a range of services. One company even said Christmas! By your description it sounds little more than the bottom floor of an average house. If he has such a issue with it then phoning in sick will probably be doing everyone a favour.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,943 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

it's pretty hard to make a mess of things with a roller!

Ohh, it's not difficult at all. Been there, done the laundry myself. Paid the professionals to do the rest of the house!

• Registered Users Posts: 78,404 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I would be concerned about the business's workflow, cashflow and ultimately job security.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

I've heard of companies doing that as a Community engagement thing - Painting the local Scout hall or Charity facility etc. but that would be on a voluntary basis.

But painting your own offices is a bit much tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭zg3409

Would you prefer they bring you to a lake, make you put on life jackets and try make a raft out of sticks and barrels and rope?

Or try trust exercises like falling back and hoping someone catches you.

In terms of team building this might work better. It seems unconventional but having worked in small companies all sorts of tasks are needed such as putting the bins out, buying milk for the office on the way to work etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,612 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Is "the drains" what you call the office bike in your place?

They should have advertised it as one of those crap team-building exercises that managers love but staff detest

• Registered Users Posts: 24,382 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Use of ladder training

Just a little update to the thread - unfortunately, my mate suddenly fall a bit sick Monday night and he was not feeling good Tuesday morning, experiencing high temperature and caught and decided to stay home working remotely. From what he said he was very sad he couldn't participate in such an important team event but then he got few emails from other office employees also experiencing similar mild illnesses and decided to stay home. Frankly, most of the sick employees are young people and he thinks this must be related to cathing something while socializing during last week's "heat wave". Now I feel unsure as I was socializing with him too ;)))

"...but that would be on a voluntary basis"

As far as I understand this was also announced as "voluntary" in a way you could sit on the chair in the corner of the room looking at the rest doing their job.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

Such utter bollix, if he was unwell he wasn't available to work remotely. Maybe growing a pair of balls to speak up requires a days sick leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭thefa

Think that’s, at least partially, a generational thing. Obviously won’t stand to them.

I’d actually have no bother helping painting if it was a small business, it was voluntary and the company was generally good to work for. Have annual experience painting bits and bobs outside of work for free! Understand why some mightn’t be up for it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭growleaves

There was the infamous "Blue flu" in 1998. That's 24 years ago now.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭thefa

If we have to compare the two, pretty sure the guards’ grievances were up in lights and had been through talks before the strike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

What isn't true? If your too sick to go into the office to work then your too sick to wfh 🤷‍♀️

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭RoTelly

If it is a "training/team building" exercise who is over seeing this aspect of the exercise, are they bringing in a group, were are HR on this?

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

not true at all, thats such a backwards way of looking at things. someone with symptoms of a contagious sickness (covid for example) should be working from home and shouldnt be working in the office

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dennyk

You can be sick enough that it would be exhausting traveling to the office, but still functional enough to get your work done from home (though hopefully this would be by your own volition and not something your employer tries to pressure you into...). Working from home if you have the option is also the right thing to do if you have a mild but contagious illness, so you don't pass it along to your coworkers.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,523 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

It’s a brave new world we live in.