Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Pit in and covered. Massive crop and was all grazed tight up to April. All it got was 2500k slurry and 1 ¼ bags of urea in early April. Pit will drop a bit.

Have enough fodder now for a 5 month winter, with what's left over from last from last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Great feeling enjoy a few pints over the weekend!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,829 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Drove by swarts today in Blarney that were as high and wide as I have ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Aiming for mid/late June depending on the weather. Nothing cut around here, but a few of the diary lads nearby have gone for it. June into July is the main silage time.

Going to get it sprayed for docks within the next few days.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,227 ✭✭✭Grueller

16 acres yielded 131 bales here. Grazed tight and 3500 gallons of slurry and a bag and a half of CAN. Growing 6 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Some mown, rest in the morning. Bulky enough with a share of older fields after heading out. Hope to be in Sunday hopefully. Finish off a busy week

Contractor is on about cutting Sunday and baling on Monday. Will get rained on lightly, 3-5 mm. Should I go with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Some amount of knowledge needed to be a farmer. How is someone supposed to learn it all and remember it. What fertiliser to put on and the amount of it in addition to slurry, how long after spreading manure you can cut, how dry it needs to be to cut, how long it needs to be left to dry out, how to know estimate of DM%, what makes up different quality of silage, what type of silage needs to be given to types of cattle and when.

Fair play to you all

• Registered Users Posts: 18,664 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Lots of jobs require specialist knowledge. However a lit is repetitive. The amount of fertlizer and slurry are just calculations. Of the nutrients involved.

It's very rewarding from the fact you are working with living things whether it animals or plant's. A lot can go too technical in measuring grass or wanting to cut in a very specific time period.

However it's often getting on with it. Contractor had a problem yesterday evening so he just cut in the fields ( cut the first few rows and the headlands. I had to hop up and do the centers if the fields. Nothing too stressful just getting it done.

He collected the tractor this morning and headed off again

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I’d say the real reason for the champions league final delay is to allow everyone to finish their silage. Delivered by Beef Plan. 👏👏👏

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

As the local co op owner says, the farmers are more worried about the DM% in silage than the suckler cow who actually eats it.(obviously more critical for dairy)

Get the soil tested for what it needs, anyone that thinks they know what they are at without measuring is bluffing.

Cutting silage is mostly in God's hands because of the uncontrollable variables.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

How much does it cost to get soil tested? Would you do it on all your land or just silage ground?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,829 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Testing is no problem. The question is whether it's economical to correct the imbalances. Farming is a technical, non technical business. It's not about efficiency all the time, often it's about economic return.

On one side you have farmers working 60-70 hours weeks running a business, mainly dairy or tillage that may or may not have a decent return.

On the other side you have smaller farmers running beef and sheep enterprise's where the main factors should be return per hour of work input

Slava Ukrainii

87 bales from 11 acres here. Grass was heavy as half of it was reseeded ground. My man is well known for packing the bales. Cut 1pm Friday, tedded straight away and baled 4pm yesterday.

grass was in perfect order. Great comfort in that weather.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

We seem to have had fairly heavy cuts off little fert this year.ground wasn't grazed and only got2k slurry and 45units of cut sward, meant to top it up but it was too far a long when I looked at it again.i m just wondering do I need to put out extra for second cut to compensate for less on the first cut.has reserves of npk of some kind been used so do indeed to replace them.put out 2 slurry and 45 units again for cutting first week july

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Got 200 bales from 18 acres here. Strange thing to say but I’d have preferred less than 11 bales/acre!

Good stuff thou I think. Flew thru the baler the contractor said.

Grazed in mid-March to early April. Most got 2 bags of 18-6-12 but some were paddocks that were gone too strong.

Can’t get anyone to draw them in so at myself with bale handlers on front and back of the tractor. Two at a time. Painful stuff.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Can you get a young lad with a handy tractor and a single bale handler behind it.

We are.lycky to have a second tractor. It's a two wheel drive. As the lad on the other tractor has only the loader and a single handler as well it really speeds it up. The 2wd will bring in as many bales as the 4wd. One of my young lads would alway be around. They usually go on the .4wd. I be flying bring in with the 2wd. It's more more nimble around the yard and turning

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

The question to ask is how are currently fixed with fodder in the yard for winter 22. If you have enough with a buffer you have the option of going with less, if not you will have to feed it. Moisture and heat are the key conditions for growth. We have heat in the ground now and moisture is ok. P and K are being maintained by slurry. The pit here has a serious crop and only got 55units of urea and 2.5k of slurry all grazed this spring

Background N can be released by cracking in the soil after drought conditions or after ploughing grassland. This may have helped from last year with the 1st cut.

I'm not stocked heavily here with beef cattle. Won't be running with N until late August to build covers, even then it will be about 10units/AC. Otherwise I will have a serious bale stack

Question for ye: I’m lining up bales outside for weanlings that’ll be out wintered on rape. Does it matter if the bales are flat on the ground as they are off the wrapper, or should I tip them up on their side?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I've only ever seen them on their ends when left out like that. They'll keep their shape better anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

Heavy crop this year too. Contractor said it was but thats typically ~10/acre. Ended up 150 bales of 11.5acres so 13! Just enough wrap for it.

It was grazed late and tight to end of Nov but wasn't grazed in the spring as too much grass every where on the farm. No need for 2nd cut so can't complain

• Registered Users Posts: 11,165 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

There's a lot more layers of polythene on the ends too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Isn’t the idea to put them on their end, so you can throw the ring feeder directly over them?

Thanks for replies lads. I tipped them up on their ends. Holed a few with the bale handler tipping them up but I’ll sort that with tape in the morning.

Great relief to get them all sorted

No young lads to be got anywhere - none around here anyways. Let it be fencing, rolling, silage, hay, turf………..

However if the plastic gets a hole in there is the potential for way more damage. If on there sides most of the water will always flow off the bale.

Slava Ukrainii

Just finished drawing in the bales. One paddock was 6 bales/ acre all the rest were nine. The paddock with 6 was the last closed. It never really took off because of those 2-3 cold weeks in April.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭James2022

Put out half the amount of fertiliser this year and only ended up with 6 less bales from the same field last year. There won't be any more fertiliser spread this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey