Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Texas School shooting 19 children and 2 adults murdered

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

No civilised country in the world except the US gives a "right" to bear arms.

Czech Constitutional Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms, Art 6, S1. The right to defend own life or life of another person also with arms is guaranteed under conditions set out in the law

Czech Firearms Act, Art 1, Ss1, 2002. The right to acquire, keep and bear firearm is guaranteed under conditions set by this law.

Of course, I guess one can inquire as to whether the country which gave the world the word 'pistol' is civilised, but guns are definitely a Czech thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,198 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It must be like that. I'm sure everyone has thought Fcuk society at one point or another, but it's only in America where that turns into shooting children in school.

Ththrwat goes up but why are there so many threats? Their society fails these people so badly that they want to shoot their fellow people and school children. That's a broken society.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,548 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Those guys are everywhere, including in Ireland. But without weapons, they aren't in a position to go on a killing spree (and they probably haven't got the guts to go out and stab people to death with a knife instead). Also, with a knife, they risk being quickly overpowered or caught by police and nor do they have option of shooting themselves at the end of the killing spree.

Well, one of the big arguments for guns is "the only thing that stops a bad guybwith a gun, is a good guy with a gun". If you haven't heard that line trotted out, then I'm not sure you've been paying attention to the discussion in the US.

If even the armed police (the good guys with training) don't stop the bad guys with guns, that argument is shot to pieces, pun intended. So they have to excise the police not doing their actual job of protecting a school full of childern from an attacker in the school. Instead they focused on crowd control outside the school. LARPers turned cowards when their fantasy of needing guns for protection turned into reality.

We have knives. If someone wants to kill children in a school in Ireland, they could do it. But we don't. We don't have a culture of doing it and our society isn't brokennto the extent that people want to murder people in shopping centres or children in schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,444 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Has Ireland ever had a mass killing that wasn't related to NI? I don't think we have but I'm not 100% on it.

If not including the troubles in the North, the closest would be Bloody Sunday in Croke Park during the war of independence, and random shooting of civilians by British forces during the same.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭AngeloArgue

The situation appears to be that Ramos went into the school and shot indiscriminately into two classrooms, one of which he barricaded himself inside of. Police entered the building, emptied other classrooms, and took up position on the corridor outside the room. Reports suggest that the shots were intense for the first four minutes of Ramos entering the school. Further shots were more sporadic, often directed at the door.

The commander on scene did not order the first responders to charge the room as he considered it would lead to inevitable loss of officer lives. It's being suggested in some reports that he figured that Ramos had already killed nearly all that he was going to in those first few minutes.

From here the commander requested a specialised team be formed who use full body armour and ballistic shields to enter. These are specialised equipment and tactics used against an armed opponent in a defensive position who refuses to surrender. Being Texas it took over half an hour for the team and equipment to be collected and formed.

The choice of the commander was either send his officers to a probable death by rushing the room with numbers or to wait for the specialised team using the ballistic shield.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

absolutely if they arent going to do anything about gun crime... they need to have teachers armed and armed guards.

If even the armed police (the good guys with training) don't stop the bad guys with guns, that argument is shot to pieces, pun intended. So they have to excise the police not doing their actual job of protecting a school full of childern from an attacker in the school.

They did do their job. They contained the aggressor. A police officer then shot Ramos dead.

But you and others are not happy that the police didn't rush in and lose their lives in the process

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

No obstacles here yet thankfully people don't go around shooting kids

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭macvin

Has to be something wrong with a state that won't permit alcohol to be sold on Sundays and have severe penalties if you serve alcohol to someone under 21 in your home and they are not directly related to you, yet on your 18th birthday you can buy assault rifles online for next day delivery.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,548 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm reading that the killer bought the weapons on credit and couldn't even afford them. The story just gets worse and worse : a flat broke 18 year old who lives with his grandmother buying assault weapons and not even having the money to pay for them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Not Texas' fault. The 21-year-age-limit was forced by Congress in 1984. Curiously, Texas (specifically, Ft Bliss in El Paso) was the last place in the US where 18-year-olds could purchase and consume alcohol as federal facilities were exempt from the federal law and they wanted to stop people crossing the border to Juarez to drink and getting in trouble in Mexico. That stopped about 2008 or so courtesy of MADD. There is a persistent but small movement to return it to a more reasonable age, but there are no votes in it so it doesn't happen.

I was under the impression he was shot dead by border patrol agents who got sick of waiting and got a key off a member of staff. Of course, the facts will become clearer with time.

Yes, it was a US border patrol tactical team who utilised ballistic shields to enter the classroom and kill Ramos. It was not a case of border patrol agents without specialist training, armour, and ballistic shields getting impatient with the cowardly local police and charging in. They were a specialist unit that had the training and equipment. I believe the town of Uvalde is quite close to the US Mexico border so they could of been the closest such team with the equipment. Whether you consider US border patrol as police officers or not is semantics. They are law enforcement officers of the USA.

As I said, it'll become clearer with time. But it doesn't look great on the face of it for the police who were outside with rifles and body armour on. I read that the police may have believed it was no longer an active shooter situation and was now possibly a hostage situation, but if that is true, then the border patrol still possibly ignored the senior officer on the ground and went in anyway. But once again, the facts aren't clear yet so I wouldn't be too hasty in deciding what happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,303 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You realise that the government can’t just change the constitution. The absolute cluelessness of this post. Honestly you’d Irish people would we well versed in the struggles with controversial constitutional issues.

If you think pointing out errors in your claims, and massive gaping flaws if your “solution” is noise. It really reduces you stance on this issue to the equivalent of an anti vaxer ranting about saving the children.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,509 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well done, the problem is the one lad, not all of his enablers and all of his access to weapons, noooo.

Obviously the problem is solved forever, we will never have another school shooting massacre happen again in this country, because the Uvalde shooter is dead right? So simple!

Of course, we’ve all heard that line. The open (or concealed) carry types. Wannabe hero’s and Walter Mittys too. The question I asked, which you ignored, was whether you thought that one of those types would have engaged had they been on the scene?

I think we’ve seen enough incidents to confirm that does in fact happen. There was one two days ago. And I face, the person who shot the killer in Texas was an off-duty border patrol. So a citizen with his own gun liked this guy.

The cops going in or not going in is on the cops. Not related to civilian arms or actions.

I don’t think the questions should be whether they will get involved (clearly some will). The questions is should they have the option or need to. Which is a bit of a chicken and egg situation now.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 happyguitar

Most urban school systems in the US have metal detection at the entrance àlready, and usually a "resource" officer (uniformed armed police officer) or two at the entrance

OK. So think about it for a second. The police are armed and trained to trained to use guns. They did their job by waiting for the specialists to arrive. So, why does the whole country need the right to be armed if the best thing to do is wait for the specialists anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

• Registered Users Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

They didn't do their jobs. Kids were still alive but badly wounded. Their job is to protect citizens.

I dont know if a have-a-go-hero would have tried to go in. They didn't in this case.

But that's not really the solution anyway. After the police wait for the specialists to arrive, they would now have more people in the school, with guns. That just makes the situation worse. But i doubt anyone thought the police were going to wait so long for specialists (which is the same approach you'd take in a country without everyone having the right to be armed).

Buy look, here we are giving in to the media narrative. Instead of talking about the serious issue, we're discussing the nuance of some point or other related to guns. The important question is why so many Americans want to shoot their fellows in shopping centres and schools. Why is their society so broken?

I listened to a bloke on Moncrieff and he had to pretend these kinds of attacks happen everywhere. Couldn't accept that America isn't the best cou try in the world, but is actually really broken in this regard. Easier to say it was down to population or just repeatedly ignore the question.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

What an extremely childish response. You obviously get some degree of pleasure in twisting the narrative to fit your distorted view, and trying to wind people up at the same time: proof of which is all the posters you've had discussions arguments with on this thread.

My "solution" as you put it, was to ban guns, particularly automatic weapons. That is THE ONLY SOLUTION that will stop mass shootings. Doesn't seem like there are any "gaping flaws" in that. Of course if you've a better "solution" then please, lets hear it, as opposed to you just trying to shoot down others with your every post.

As for you "pointing out errors in my claims", you're once again simply trying to twist something I've said. I remarked that guns are illegal in Ireland, which they are: meaning automatics, semi-automatics, long guns, hand guns, automatic rifles, shotguns which can fire more than 3 cartridges, etc. I obviously did not mean sporting weapons for target shooting, shotguns that farmers use and the like. Every country would be allowed that. You knew exactly what I meant but it's obviously in your nature to be deliberately pedantic and troublesome.

So, firstly, you can't get the weapons that would enable you to do a mass shooting in Ireland and, secondly, even the sporting stuff you can buy is extremely restricted and subject to rigid screening procedures. You cannot walk in off the street - as in the US - and simply buy a gun over the counter.

• Over 90% of guns held in Ireland are shotguns and sporting rifles used for hunting or controlling vermin. These weapons are usually single shot and never automatic.”
    • In addition to a reason for applying for the certificate, you must also show proof of identification and age, competence with the firearm, and secure storage for the weapon and ammunition when not in use. A background check then takes place, during which Gardai will contact two people the applicant has selected as character references. They also reserve the right to contact doctors or psychologists regarding the applicant’s mental health history.
    • Most other firearms are considered restricted and a special restricted license - with an accompanying justifiable reason - must be applied for. For example, if someone wants a handgun to do target shooting, they must belong to a Gardai-approved target range or shooting club. Almost no handguns (pistols or revolvers) are allowed in private possession outside of gun clubs.
    • Per GunPolicy.org: “Where application is for a restricted firearm, the applicant must have 'good and sufficient reason for requiring such a firearm' and must additionally demonstrate that 'the firearm is the only type of weapon appropriate for the purpose.'”
    • According to the Restricted Firearms and Ammunition Order 2008, firearms prohibited in Ireland are automatic firearms and their ammunition. Restricted firearms include military-style semi-automatic firearms, semi-automatic firearms which resemble automatic firearms, shotguns with a magazine capacity of more than three cartridges, long guns over .308 (7.62mm) caliber, and rimfire rifles holding more than 10 rounds.

So, some egg on your face there. Unlike you I know what I'm talking about.

But do carry on responding with nonsense that will serve only to continue embarrassing yourself in front of the Boards community. They know exactly what you're doing.

Or eat some humble pie.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

More details on just how badly the police failed those children.

https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2022/05/texas-shooting-uvalde-timeline-police-discrepancies.html

You may not know, but the evidence is pretty clear that it does happen. And in this case it did actually happen. You may not have realised that, but it’s well documented now.

Police procedures, delays, actions etc. Will all require scrutiny. But I don’t know how that’s connected to civilian firearms. In fact, it’s not at all.

yes American is broken. The problem or solution is not related to hardware. I literally said that for the entire thread.

I’m sorry, but pointing of lies and errors in you posts is not childish. It’s actually hold adult discussion should talk place. Even this post is littered with nonsense.

My "solution" as you put it, was to ban guns, particularly automatic weapons. That is THE ONLY SOLUTION that will stop mass shootings. Doesn't seem like there are any "gaping flaws" in that.

Well for a start, automatic weapons were non involved in this massacre. So banning them, as they are already banned in many states, would have made no difference. And banning all firearms would be unconstitutional to Americans. So yeah, I’d consider both of those aspects gaping flaws in the context of the correct problem.

I remarked that guns are illegal in Ireland, which they are: meaning automatics, semi-automatics, long guns, hand guns, automatic rifles, shotguns which can fire more than 3 cartridges, etc.

Except that guns are not illegal in Ireland. So your claim was incorrect.

Semi -automatics firearms, long guns, handguns, shotguns (of all capacity) are legal. Only Automatic weapons are banned under EU law.

So, firstly, you can't get the weapons that would enable you to do a mass shooting in Ireland

The worst mass shooting in the US took place with firearms that are legal in Ireland and most countries. Before you try come by do a bit of research.

and, secondly, even the sporting stuff you can buy is extremely restricted and subject to rigid screening procedures. You cannot walk in off the street - as in the US - and simply buy a gun over the counter. 

nobody has claimed the licensing laws were the same in both countries. America is a free for all,Ireland has strict licensing laws - but laws that permit licensing.

Which is precisely the point, firearms (including AR15s, handguns etc) are legal in Ireland abd regulated. Not, as you claimed, totally illegal.

Copy and paste from Gunpolicy.Org

So, some egg on your face there. Unlike you I know what I'm talking about.

But do carry on responding with nonsense that will serve only to continue embarrassing yourself in front of the Boards community. They know exactly what you're doing.

Or eat some humble pie.

Did you even read that “copy and paste” before you posted it? It proves you are wrong btw.

It specifically describes how handguns and other firearms are legal. (Although it’s not without error). The only prohibited firearms are automatic weapons. You’ve literally made my entire point. Thank you.

Egg on my chin? Know what your taking about? Lol. The absolute irony. You’re quoting an article you just googled. Where as I read rather relevant SI when it came into force back in 2008.