Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any experiences with Irish "celebrities" ?

• 29-05-2022 11:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭The_Dark_Lord

Ireland is a relatively small place so there's a good chance many people have met some we known Irish people. When I worked in a high profile hotel, I served many celebrities, not just Irish ones. Most of them were as you'd expect them to be. Gabriel Byrne was an absolute gentleman. Graham Norton was also wonderful. Brendan Gleeson was a lovely man.

Gerry Ryan, on the other hand, was awful. He was incredibly rude and obnoxious, and treated staff like they were beneath him. And strongly gave off the whole "do you know who I am?" vibe.

Have you ever met an Irish "celebrity", if so, what was your impression of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Having a touch of deja vu about this thread but anyway:

Twink was a delight! Such a beautiful human being! Treated everyone with the utmost respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭Slideways

Met Shane Filan in the centra in Carraroe. He was standing in line at the til and struck up a conversation with me and seemed nice.

I was oblivious as to who it was, thought he was a bit strange to talk to me and I figured I must have known him from a DOE test I had done.

It was only when I got outside and saw the Porsche SGF911 that I figure out who it was 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jo187

I used to work in a hospital as a porter. I went to a patients room to bring him down for a test. The guy was funny with me from the start.

In a real annoyed way he said "suppose you know who I am then?".

I said no. He then told me he had something to do with the GAA, I think he said he was like a manger of some kind for another county team. Sports mean noting to me, so I was clueless.

I talked to technician after he tested the guy and asked him how he got on. He had the same experience as me. The technician played GAA and be into it and no clue who he was, but the guy acted like he was Elvis.

I have hung out with most of the well known Irish Comedians.

Neil Delmare full of himself and not liked. Often accused of taking material. Doubt it would be a shock but Dave McSavage can be a knob depending on his mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 오이신

Michael D’Higgins was a tear as a teen. Came from money and made sure we knew it. Met him and the wife at a reunion and witnessed her drinking issues first hand which was wild for a woman of her age at the time. We still can’t believe how Michael represents us on the international stage knowing him growing up. Did very well though so im a tad jealous. Wife’s a nutter though so I’ve won that battle and the height battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Met an rte weatherman once he blew hot and cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Jerry Fish, singer - dead sound, nice guy

Jack L, singer - obnoxious

Brian Kennedy, singer - very pleasant

Fred Cooke, comedian - asshole

Gerry Fleming, weatherman - gentleman

Ray D'Arcy - pompous but nice

KC, formerly TodayFM - sound

Keith Barry - knobby but polite

Marty Whelan - sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Im sure this has been a thread before

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭hayse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,226 ✭✭✭Tow

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Worked in NYC, myself and 3 other lads went into a Deli to buy lunch. We were all working construction so covered in dust with big boots on etc. Standing at the counter was Gabriel Byrne, one of our group said hello to him and he stopped and had a brief chat with us. He seemed genuinely delighted to meet us, asked us all individually where in Ireland we were from, how long we'd been in the US etc. A genuine, down to earth warm and friendly guy.

Oh and met Jason Byrne in a place I worked here in Ireland, came across as a gobshite. Trying to be funny all the time, an act, very false. He's about as funny as finding a lump on your testicle in the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Judge from Wanderly Wagon was a demon for the coke. He bate the shïte out of Bosco one night at a June Rodgers after-party, because the little ginger bollox called Mr. Crow “ufásach” in a rap battle.

Podge and Rodge were absolute gentlemen - nothing like their on screen act. Once saw them give CPR to Socky after he nearly drowned in Twink’s pool. That was kept very quiet, unlike the similar situation at Michael Barrymore’s a few years before.

Dustin was awful stuck up, always had a security guard with him, and never stopped talking about how it was a Jewish conspiracy that he didn’t win the Eurovision. Used to charge kids for selfies, and would award “nul points” to anyone who annoyed him.

Never really knew Zig and Zag, although I’d heard the rumours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Met Harry Crosbie once, he actually initiated a conversation with me, he was really nice, also have spoken to Bressie, a real gentleman too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Is there a single person out there who thinks Jason Byrne is remotely funny…?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Met Robert Sheehan in a be in Canada. Nice guy, had a chat with us for 10 minutes or so, joined in our round and got us one back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just on the GAA guy - did he say what county he was involved with?

there’s a number of suspects in my mind - one guy in particular, hurling manager who has done the rounds of a few county’s. Wouldn’t surprise me in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Hamachi

On the comedians, did you ever encounter Des Bishop? I don’t know if it’s just me, but I get a very bad vibe from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Paddy Keenan, the uilleann piper. Met him twice in a short space of time circa mid 90s and he was an utter pr!ck on each occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Aidan Turner had a few drinks with him in LA. Lovely down to earth guy.

Alan Hughes had zero clue he was...a creep.

Brendan Gleeson, lovely.

Usually the bigger the star the nicer they are...the more minor...

Not denying your post but wasn’t MDH apparently raised in a poor background by his aunt or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

Dragging bags & baggage & children acrosss the airport in Shannon one snowy Xmas. Des Bishop volunteered to help, chatted away & helped with the bags. A gentleman

Saw Alan Hughes in a city centre coffee shop a few year ago (Chatham st) and he was complaining about the table he was sitting at to the waitress.

The manager overheard him and cut him off and said he was free to sit at any of other tables of his choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

He came into an old work place of mine once. Seemed pretty normal and friendly. He's also way, way taller and bigger than you'd think.

Also met Tommy Tiernan in the same place. Initially he was grinning at me because of my confused "Wait... I know you!" face when he walked up to me but after I got over that he was very softly spoken and polite. Weird to say but the overall vibe I got off him was sadness.

As I said, met both of those in work and was trying to be professional so I wouldn't read too much into their personalities from these interactions, short as they were.

Also met Eddie O'Sullivan, same place. He was grand too but was barely talking to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jo187

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I don't think I've ever met an Irish celebrity. I saw Dave McSavage in the international once. Small venue so I was pretty close. He spent a lot of the time picking on some poor girl in the front with sex jokes. I could see her face. She was very uncomfortable, not in the funny type of uncomfortable but genuinely upset. He just kept going with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

When was that? That fucker was meant to be bankrupt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I sat near des in a coffee shop near his sordid little comedy house hole in Dublin 8 and I dislike him such I paid him no heed

you couldn’t make this up but literally that weekend he was writing in the paper about how much of a pain it is being famous in Dublin and he can’t go anywhere, well son , you’re welcome to be anonymous in kilmainham any day 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Him and his husband didn't bus their own tray in Ikea....true story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Oddly enough I met Brendan Gleeson and Tommy Tiernan on the Aran Islands on seperate occassions. Tiernans a Gaeligoir, seemed a nice chap. Gleesons a nice fella, good fiddle player. Kept bumping into him everywhere I went on the Island which was a bit Father Ted.

Dunno If McSavage is classed as a celebrity but met him a few times, I'd say he suffers with "the nerves"

• I met Pat Kenny after his show Kenny Live, he asked me to hold his pint as he popped into the jax. He is as interested in talking to the most ordinary folk as he is speaking with celebrities / VIPs, probably more in spite of the way he might come across a bit arrogantly at times on radio.

A colleague dealt with Miriam O’Callaghan was rendered to tears after being verbally attacked and insulted for obtaining the wrong item for her in a basement so dark it could not be easily seen what was what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

Met Brendan Gleeson in the hospice when he was doing some fund raising promotion. Lovely man & had time for everyone there.

Marty Whelan came across lovely when I met him & had loads of time for all the little auld wans who were there at the time. Chatted to each of them individually for a few minutes & no complaining out of him about it dragging on.

Brian Kennedy was an absolute gent when I met him. Had the honour of singing in a backing choir for him a couple of times and he was so lovely chatting to all of us. Some others completely ignored our existence.

Marian Finucane was just amazing. I was in awe of her as she just held a room by entering it. Lovely woman who showed a genuine interest in whoever she was talking to.

Mary McAlesse was great too. She came to my school to celebrate an major anniversary of it when I was in 6th year and spent a lot of time talking to the students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Dream 🤣🤣 meeting some Irish D-Listers haha

Worked in a hotel that regularly had 'famous' Irish acts playing, such as the aforementioned Jerry Fish and the Mudbug Club, Jack L, Bell X1, Bryan Kennedy, Aslan etc. Sometimes bigger international acts but still washed up, like Fun Lovin' Criminals, Drifters..

As for the rest on the list, is it really beyond belief somebody could bump into an RTE weatherman, and a few lads from TodayFM??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,441 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

tiernan has most definitely battled his demons from time to time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Thinking a bit more about it.

I met Big Tom once. (Does he count?). Lovely guy. I was working with some special needs people and one was a huge fan. HE drove all the way over just to meet this guy.

I met Donncha O'Dulaing once. Seemed like a nice guy.

Except for that, I haven't really met any celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

What about her parrot? I heard he was ignorant.

Cursing and refusing to say please and thanks.

🦜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Daniel O'Donnell is sound, very dry and funny guy. The wife however...

Niall Quinn, Shane Lowry, Alan Kelly (the goalkeeper), all great and friendly for a chat, no airs or graces about them

Brian O'Driscoll though, biggest tosser I've ever had the pleasure of meeting/serving, surprised his head fit in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Story with Daniels wife ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

He's been doing that for years on Grafton street and temple bar. The more uncomfortable he made people feel, the better it was for his routine.

And these were just random people trying to go about their daily lives, not paying fans who knew signed up to be there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Met Brendan Gleeson when he came to turn on our Christmas lights in Dec 19 and he was lovely, had time for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Grainne Seoige , met her a few times including in our own home , it was a business meeting , she was perfectly nice though slightly let herself and her company down at a later stage in terms of standard of customer service , fine on a personal level but not sure her business venture will amount to much bar the free publicity someone like her can be sure of ( she is gorgeous , smaller than i expected )

I spoke to Ray Houghton very briefly once in a hotel , he was presumably over for the premiership when it was shown on RTE back in the day , I was at a property exhibition , im talking pre crash , he was fine , bit of the dour scot thing going on but no complaints

one of my sisters works in TV production and has met plenty

Aisling Bea = lovely

Andrea Roche = awful

Derek Davis = bit of a demanding sort

Ryan Tubridy = nice

Derek Jacobi actor = charming

Brian o Drischoll = pure gent

Phily McMahon = business like but no complaints

guy who played "Joe the lips fagan " = pure legend

she gave David McSavage a lift in her car from Dublin to a gig in Kilkenny as she was sort of doing what was asked of her at the time and he was banned from driving at the time , he barely spoke a word the entire journey

two of my sisters met the singer Beck backstage at a gig in Ireland several years ago , he was so nice he bought them ice cream and posed for a pic , chilled out beyond belief (must be the scientology )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Saw that z list celeb Brendan Courtney in Brown Thomas once, going around with a stuck up face on him. twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

Has anyone ever met Pauline mcLynn? I think it was her who was on a train behind me once. I hope it wasnt because this woman was full of her own self importance, talking about plays etc and seemed so stuck up and full of herself. I wanted to move seat.

anyone know if this would be her?

Met Tommy fleming once, very nice guy and seemed like great craic, his music wouldn't be for me but such a nice guy, gave me a big tip as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭Slideways

I’m out of Ireland 10 years so it’s at least that long, probably closer to 15 I’d say

I know someone who worked in tv, he said Alan Hughes was a bully. I never forgot it, cant stand him, then you see him laughing at everything on Ireland AM every morning, acting like he is such good craic and a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

A friend of mine went on the beer with her in London a few years back, said she was great craic.

Maybe it was juts someone who looks like her. I think it was her though.