Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Depp/Heard Trial Verdict

• Registered Users Posts: 36,152 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Amber's sister witnessed him attacking her, he also admitted in UK case he headbutted her, Depp won the case, but lets get real we all know he was abusive to her, verbally, mentally, physically. But the public doesn't like Heard, either did jury, wasn't about what was proven. In an appeal court this verdict will not stand up to the law. 7 hillbilly jurors who couldn't even fill out a verdict form correctly aren't going to change the law of the land. They got it wrong, and in the appeal court a judge will see it clearly.

You sound like Amber. Everybody that is not Amber is either wrong, stupid or lying.

Now the jurors are hillbillys. The verdict was a slam-dunk.

Scraping the bottom of the barrel now, really.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭bewareofthedog

Only came across this clip earlier, it removed any doubt in my mind that she isn't a lying manipulative piece of work, watch to the end. I'm glad they were able to show this in the trial.

Post edited by bewareofthedog on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

There has been speculation that the UK court verdict may very well be contested now, as will the Australian court case, as it's been shown Amber perjured herself, in both cases.

As Ms Vasquez has shown (and dear God, her and Ben Chew were amazing) Amber lied about donating money, stating she 'pledged' it. Pledging is fine, but she never donated it. She stated this at the UK trial, that she had donated the money. Quite a few of Heard's witnesses never stepped up to speak on her behalf, one of whom didn't testify on account of Amber punching her in the face.

I immediately knew Heard was lying, the moment she accused Depp. The biggest indicator of character, to me, is 'What has this person done in the past?' (Good or bad). With Depp, he's done a lot of charity work, speaking to kids, visiting hospitals as Capt Jack in order to help alleviate the parent's and child's suffering. Many folks spoke up about how he was kind and patient with children who had learning disabilities, mental handicaps, or were severely autistic. There was also no mentions of him being violent to any previous girlfriend, not just Kate Moss. He even did 'Zoom' meetings with kids during the pandemic.

I looked at instances on films like 'What's eating Gilbert Grape' where Depp apologised to his co-star for things his character had to say. (Gilbert hates his morbidly obese mother for many reasons, the main one being he believes she pushed his father to take his own life.) Between takes, Depp apologised profusely to the actress playing his mother, for the rather nasty things Gilbert would say. This shows a person who's not exactly a 'monster', like they tried to portray him as.

With Heard, there was a lot of stuff in her past she tried to bury, including attacking an ex girlfriend. When the UK trial unearthed how she'd 'stolen' a friends sexual assault story and masqueraded that it 'happened to her'... that showed some seriously disturbing behaviour on her part. As did her alleged 'raped with a bottle' that folks have unearthed (including word for word dialogue from the script) occurs in a movie (I believe it was either Gone Girl, or The Accused). Disturbed individual right there.

The media really behaved disgustingly. From the New York Post editing a photo to make it look like Heard was crying, to posting updates on the case, but only the 'this makes Johnny look bad' parts. (Even when an expert was called and completely slam dunked Heard's evidence).

Folks pushing this as a 'loss' for women... no. No it's not. If anything, it's a win for women. You saw how many, many, many women came out to support Depp. Many of them knew him, personally. They knew he was a flawed individual, but not an abusive one. (The only person he abused, was himself). Calling out an individual who is genuinely remorseless, and abusive... going against the grain. Proving that this 'believe all women' narrative is poisonous. That takes serious strength. And you saw a lot of strong women at this case. Not just Camille Vasquez.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,932 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Heard also fired her PR firm during the trial as she was looking bad in social media. Show's what she was really caring about.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,553 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

He doesn't think that, and even if they did come calling he'd probably tell them to fúck off,

witch hunt? more like getting all the facts out in the open, come what may

• Registered Users Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Amber's sister is about as credible a witness as a baguette is a reliable oar. You're really expecting the sister (who Amber also physically and mentally abused) to win any favour in the trial, or anywhere else? The public doesn't like Heard because most of us know what she is.

What I find funny is a hillbilly juror can clearly see what you fail to. And yet you are the one insulting their intelligence. Classy guy. Amber is the abuser, not Johnny. Any appeal will just cost her more of the money she donated [cough] pledged to charity.

Stay Free

• Registered Users Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

All the time, or just when you don't like the verdict?

Ask yourself which is more likely.

The media really did themselves no favours in this case, especially in the age of the fake news narrative. I would watch the trial and then see news reports that had a very distorted and skewed take on what had actually happened in court.

The guardian are still committed to the narrative that this trial is a triumph for misogyny and that Amber will have a career as a womens rights advocate and domestic abuser spokesperson.

Amber is a sociopath and a liar who hijacked the me too movement to advance her own acting career and ultimately too make money.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Amenhotep

Amazed the doubling down on her lies by publishing that statement.

And the amount of people supporting her, just shows how tribal it is , even when proved innocent in a court of law it doesn't matter to these people, it's all politics with them and they'd want an innocent person punished just because they don't like them politically/gender/etc ... - terrifying.

Like the Rittenhouse case.

Look at this mad yoke

https://twitter.com/anitasarkeesian/status/1532092637460672512?s=20&t=HqOQPvPE_vIpkvcQ8AgBtw

Post edited by Amenhotep on

• Registered Users Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

This case has caused more damage than it did good to anyone so I’m not sure why everyone is rejoicing so much.

I think people are relieved to see that a verdict that aligned with facts presented was reached instead of a verdict based on their gender/politics

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭dublin49

didnt follow the US case but she must been the most unconvincing witness of all time given the stuff Depp owned up re ,texts, substance abuse etc.

Because it's a win for social change regarding the position of males in society. Now, there's a greater chance that men will come forward with their claims of abuse, knowing that there's a greater possibility that their own claims won't be dismissed out of hand, and lastly, that society/justice might start seeing the female in a relationship as being more responsible for being the aggressor in a variety of circumstances. After all, in most Justice systems women still get punished less than men for doing the same crimes, often with excuses/justifications being found that wouldn't be sought for the male.

Cases like these bring us closer to an honest society, where the female gender isn't protected so much at the expense of the male gender.

So, I'm rejoicing because this high profile case adds some cracks to the systems that discriminate so much based on gender.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,651 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

The take away from it is that she had fabricated lies abuse allegations. This will not be beneficial for any actual abuse victims, who will be seen with suspicion by those who want to use this trial to support their views.

And the general condemnation of disorders that people think they have grasped but which they genuinely don’t understand.

With regards to gender debates: both sides on the extreme spectrum will be using this for publicity.

As I said: I can’t see much good having come from this.

it is very rare that I agree with Fox News let alone “Judge Jeanine” but all the other media outlets seemed to feel obligated to support Amber because she is female.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Amber Turd heheheheheh

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

What age are you! Edward Scissorhands is a childhood classic!

First they came for the socialists...

If you were judge and jury what outcome would you have chosen?

The verdict seems reasonable. I just think it’s unfortunate that the story is being used by anyone with an agenda.

Isn’t every story being used everyday by anyone with an agenda? Not being smart btw. I think it was a reasonable outcome too, I found Heard to be disreputable.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

So it appears that Heard may plan to appeal the verdict. interesting to see if she can do this as she has to put the $10m up front which she may not have. Also she can see how unsuccessful Depp was in appealing the UK case.

Unsurprising really. She probably has herself convinced of her version of events and feels like she is the genuine victim.

It will just end with her losing more money.

@dePeatrick i agree

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

She certainly **** the bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭conorhal

I think the reaction can be neatly summed up as 'LOL, hoes mad'.

A certian section of the media really are determined to die on the hill of #believeallwomen, as if women float above the rest of us, perfect and virtuous to a fault and not at all prone to a single human foible.

It is literal insanity to #believeallwomen, I certainly don't. You know who I do believe? The women in my family, my female friends and those I have a close enough relationship to that I have some inkling of their character such that I can make a judgement on whether or not they are trustworthy individuals and not inveterate liars (and I've met a few of those of both sexes). I do not automatically believe anybody that I have no reason to. I am however open to be convinced by whatever evidence they can offer.

There seems to be a 'certain sort' in the media that actually enjoys the power to casually destroy a man with a single hashtag and they are now effectively lamenting that accountability and evidence should apply to all in a court of law. These people are what we call bullies, the sort that love to exercise their authority or power just for the sake of it, and they are genuinely disappointed that perhaps it just got a tiny bit harder wreck your life on their say so alone. These are cruel and dangerous people of the sort that pointed and hollered 'WITCH!' in Salem or denounced their neighbours to the 'revolutionary council', the Stasi or CCP committees for virtue and truth etc. It really chaps their ass that they can’t gulag you with a mere accusation and it’s scary that people like that control so much of the media and sit in positions of real power.

The sad part is that realistically this will actually change nothing for men that are falsely accused, even when a lie is proved there is no consequence for the liar and very few men have the resources of Johnny Depp to fight an up-hill legal battle across two continents to even attempt to clear their name.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭dbas

Very well summed up.

People applying the #believewomen to this case must not have seen any of the evidence.

Victims need our protection and support, but victims are not always women

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

I haven't read the whole thread, anyone with any thoughts on Elon Musk? He was bizarre!

First they came for the socialists...