Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish birthrate slumps 22% in a decade

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭freemickey

Why don't you ask young people how they feel about the housing situation?

Why don't you ask them why so many are dropping out of third level education?

Why don't you ask them how they feel about sustainability of their futures versus the pyramid scheme of migration?

And so on.

The world changes, yes, but are young people loving it as much as you imply? No chance, it's fantasy land.

It's all well and good to mention cripplingly dead end notions, such as the implication that only "old men" are "scared", but guess what, the old guys are set up, it's the young who are paying, it's the young who have every genuine reason to be worried. As if you didn't know that.

They'll be speaking about your idealogy in the future, and it won't be kind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭donaghs

can you apply that logic to climate change, pandemics, Russia invading and threatening nuclear war etc?

The immigration population leap in Ireland is remarkeable, and given problems seen in other countries with mass migration, I think people have overall responded well in terms of tolerance and welcomes.

I wouldn’t “expect” a high number of foreign born people though. Ireland has no history of serious immigration before the Celtic Tiger in the late 90s. Unless you count the ulster plantations and so forth. Ireland was not a wealthy country until recently, emigration was more common.

the lack of public discussion about this, how and where we plan housing schools roads etc, especially with estimate the the population will continue growing for another year. Added to all that, catching up with the negative birth rates of Western Europe

• Registered Users Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Africa is next continent to see major population growth as Europe did in 18th century and Asia in 19th. Nigeria will be most populous country by far in Africa by 2100.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

What country is encouraging mass immigration?

Pretty much every western nation including Ireland aren't following the agreed international laws regarding asylum seekers even

Actually, I'd say that we're victims of a certain level of social conditioning, due to the favouritism shown by RTE (which oddly remains the primary source of media for most Irish people), the influence of American woke/PC/multiculturalism in education, and the agendas of our political parties. There's a general apathy towards dealing with a variety of social issues, reinforced by comments like yours.. so why seek to shutdown debate on such topics? What does it cost you to stay withhold your negative judgment?

You see, we should care about the future of our nation. It shouldn't matter if someone is young, middle aged or old, but we should be expressing our concerns over issues such as these. After all, what's the point of living in a democratic system if people aren't informed and don't care what happens beyond the most superficial of changes. Which, in many ways, is how we've ended up where we are right now.

Across all of Europe, countries are concerned with the demographic shifts that have occurred due to a combination of falling birth rates, and increased non-native populations. You can see countries such as Sweden, Denmark, etc who previously embraced mass immigration, and multiculturalism, now deciding to limit immigration and the rights of non-native groups. Why would that be the case? because people, like yourself, have ignored what's been going on, dismissing the concerns of those who have spoken about it.

So, why will Ireland be any different from our continental neighbours? If we continue on the path we've been following, we're going to end up exactly like them, forced to deal with these problems after they've become serious problems, rather than anticipating them, and resolving them before they become serious issues...

Oh, I'm middle aged, not old. At least not yet anyway. However if you are young, perhaps you should care, because this situation will impact you the most. After all, traditionally problems are often deferred to the next generation to resolve, until they can't be deferred any longer.. so you (and those younger than you) will be the ones to have to bear the brunt of the problems involved.

What the hell has asylum seeker policy got to do with mass immigration?

Asylum seekers are not part of mass immigration. Typically the numbers involved are low in comparison with normal refugee applications... so AS isn't relevant.

As for which countries were encouraging mass immigration? Most western nations did, while multiculturalism and diversity were touted by Germany (and by extension, the EU) for the last two decades. Immigration to Europe increased dramatically under the official policies implemented by the EU to make Europe a more diverse continent.

Now, most of this came from countries which originally were manufacturing centres. Germany, France, Italy, etc all of whom had a manufacturing, agricultural base, along with tourism which needed cheap labour, so they encouraged mass immigration to solve their employment needs. After all, as their own economies became more successful, and education became widespread, less natives were interested in such jobs, partly due to the rising costs of living, but also the status/prestige of getting better jobs. Alas for Italy, their economy crumbled, and they were left with a large foreign born population who were stuck at the lower end of society due to a lack of education or wealth, which in turn, has led to huge hikes in social welfare and crime. Germany and France have done better because their economies remain relatively strong, and their manufacturing bases have stayed relevant, but.. the problems with a low skilled foreign population in an expensive nation, are ever increasing in scope.

But sure, mass immigration has essentially stopped being supported by European countries since covid came along.. except for Ireland, who continue to believe that we need large numbers of foreigners with low skills to fill jobs that Irish people supposedly don't want to do. Which wouldn't be any kind of issue if they remained on renewable visas, and went home after a few years or a decade, but the Irish political parties have been encouraging these migrants to stay and become citizens. So, rather than encouraging our inward skilled/educated migrant population to stay, they encourage everyone to stay regardless of their ability to provide for themselves in the long-term. Hell, they've even sought to make it easier for illegal immigrants (no, not undocumented.. illegal) to remain in Ireland and avail of the path to citizenship.

So.. mass immigration is still of particular interest for our political parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭landofthetree

It's mainly down to women putting their careers ahead of starting a family.

While I'm 100% in favour of women having equal opportunities as men we have to live with the downside of a lower birthrate. Although we should have better childcare,better work life balance it just isn't possible for a woman to not have to make sacrifices if she wants to have a kid. Also Finland have great childcare programs and a better work life balance but their birthrates are even lower than here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭Shoog

A thread to discuss the Great Replacement CT. Nice.

Its a simple fact of life that as more people achieve higher levels of education then they actively choose to have fewer children (yes its a fact the illiterate breed faster), and this is true everywhere in the world. Ireland has one of the highest rates of third level education in the world - so in lock step its birth rate has fallen. No conspiracy, no plan, no nefarious intent to replace the native Irish - simple universal demographics.

How we choose to deal with this universal truism is another matter - but yes immigration does help to plug the gap to some degree. Ultimately though a falling population is essential to achieve a sustainable future for everyone. To many people - ultimately we all suffer a terrible future of ecological collapse.

It is a huge challenge we all face in every corner of the world to manage falling birth rates, in a world which is predicated on growth (economic growth is based upon population growth). Shutting the gates will not solve the problem of how we live with a geriatric population, because whatever we do short of forcing people to breed - the population decline will continue because educated people do not willingly turn themselves into breeding machines.

So all you Great replacement chicken littles can just go **** off.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

get the wimmim back to motherin and making sammiches

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Where is the mass immigration? What is the definition of the term and what is the evidence for it. A lot of posts seem to be premised on the idea that there is mass immigration in Ireland without actually proving it or even defining it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Take a walk around Dublin city centre sometime. There's been almost a 100 thousand PPS numbers issued to non Irish so far this year.

Nice to see the nihilistic worldview of the eco gimps making an appearance. Apparently Russia, China, Africa et al are going to take care of the planet once Whitey has done the decent thing and made himself extinct. 😂

Its funny how the excuses always follow the same line:

It's not happening

It is happening but its a good thing

Even if its not a good thing you're a racist for saying so

If it’s a simple open-minded question of if it’s happening or not, just look at Ireland’s falling birth rates since the 70s, and the population growth since the last 90s. Before someone cries “racism”, plenty of Irish emigrants came back here when the economy improved. Although recent figures mentioned here on the number of people born outside Ireland would say that’s less of a factor now.

If you passionately believe it’s “wrong” or “right”, it probably won’t help a nuanced conversation about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭Shoog

People are people and only a racist care about the colour of their skin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Jaysus lads, I merely asked that people define the term and provide evidence of it and I get replies with some straw man argument about racism. Did I mention racism somewhere? I'm not interested in it. What is the % of immigration that defines "mass immigration"?

everyone has their own interpretation of it which is completely subjective, like there can never be an objective definition of it.

if i was to make an attempt to define it, it prob would follow along the lines of....when the birth rates of immigrants surpasses the birth rates of non-immigrants (no doubt there are flaws in that off the cuff definition, and then factor in G2, i dunno)

you cant have a conversation without first defining what you are talking about.

Wow.

Just. ****ing. Wow,

I mean, the racist bots have recent registration dates. So who the **** are you?

On a completely unrelated matter, what sort of foreign-assed name is "Miadhc" anyway? Asking for a friend.

Honky mots, at any rate, amirite? 😁

There's the other classic line that shows up in the great replacement thread, trying to challenge the definition of a term for the purposes of equivocation.

If you're not sure of the term, look it up in the dictionary, if you want to argue that nearly 100k PPS numbers in six months is not mass immigration into Ireland go ahead and have a crack. Last stastistic I saw was that one in every eight people in Ireland is now a non national. If you want to argue that is not mass immigration, go ahead.

That ecological collapse thingy you mention is gonna happen one way or another, and there's probably gonna be some really painful **** going on when it does.

If you have some counterpoint to offer, have a crack, I won't hold my breath waiting

Miadch is an Irish name. I supposed it might as well be foreign to you lol

I'm a one-child parent, and that wasn't the answer in our case, not by a long way. For nearly 20 years, the Irish tax system has favoured the well-off putting their domestic and family choices ahead of career, and has favoured lower income people doing things the other way round.

I don't recall any black or brown people putting those policies in place, not that this will be in any way relevant to the armchair ethno-nationalist bots. ☘️

What is this "Miadch" of which you speak? I referenced another fella - a "newbie" called "Miadhc".

In my experience there's no counterpoint to asininity, dála an scéil.

this could be the dichotomy some people talk about.

some people choose to have less kids due to economic reasons.

some people choose to have more kids due to economic reasons.

Annd there's nothing there, not a suprise. With the added embarssment of thinking that you were making a smart point but instead were just mistaking an Irish name for a foreign one, eh? Scarleh for ye

"embarssment"? Is that a thing?

Spare us from the over-confidence of mediocre white males.

"Miadhc" is not an Irish name. Léigh arís é, agus anois scrúdaigh go grinn é.

Whereas there are those who would like people to choose to have kids for political reasons.

By the way, leaving the ethno-nationalist drivel being spouted by some on this thread, there is a simple rule you can apply, and there's no dichotomy to it. In advanced societies, people will generally have fewer children because the children they have are more likely to survive long enough to take care of their parents in their old age. There will be bumps and hollows around that general rule, but they make only marginal differences in the overall scheme of things. Are there societies that have gone through significant economic development without significant falls in their birthrates?

Kane fawgh a will orum ay a scroodig gu grin? Taw iss aggum keenta gu will "Miadch" annum gwaylock, coordig air on iddirlean munna creddin too may 😂

Anam do medicore white males more ya, funny turn of phrase for an Irish board, eh? Mediocre White males lol

See you havent managed any counterpoints yet, just plenty of boards posturing. Ah well, someone else will make a go of it, no doubt. Probably a mediocre white male 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

The greatest con ever pulled by the Western World governments was to turn the traditional one earner family into three taxpayers.

1: The husband

2: The wife

3: The childminder

That was taken hook line and sinker by the population and hence commenced our downfall ever since.

If we cannot structure our society around one-person household earners we are up Schitts creek without a paddle.