Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I know, the joke didn’t pass muster so I just opted to deadpan it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Squad Values Transfermarkt

Armenia 19m

Scotland 231m

Ireland 73m (soon to be a 12 pack of Tayto / given rate of decline at International level)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

There’s no question their first 11 are better than ours, but their second string put 2 past the powerhouses of Armenia while Kennys heroes couldn’t get 1!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,992 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Scotland must have some fantastic first string team if a team consisting of Gordon,Robertson, McGinn, McGregor, Christie, Armstrong, and Adams is classed as their second string team. The only changes they made were the three CBs and Ralston.

Apologies, seems Christie only came on at half time when they whipped Dykes offer changing up from their usual formation and going two up top didn't work for them. And Armstrong usually doesn't start anymore but was starting for them 12 months ago in the euros and started this season injured losing his place to Gilmour.

Post edited by johnnyryan89 on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

So you're going to ignore the fact that 10 of them haven't played a competitive game in 6 months than after fleeing a warzone then? Slightly more relevant than 2 of them playing for clubs who play in European comps? Bordeaux just got relegated. Everton were lucky not to. Hansa Rostok are German second division.

Ireland last night had 4 Premier League players, 1 Belgian first division player, 5 Championship players and a single League 1 player in the starting XI. 4 Championship players and 1 League 1 player off the bench. Not exacty the team of League 1 players that you're claiming. I say again. They should not have lost at home to that Ukraine side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Fattybojangles

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Bordeaux even though they were relegated this season were still Ligue 1, Everton play in the prem. Ok that German team I get your point but Ferencvaros regularly play in the Europa League. Those 3 clubs are better than any that play in the championship and League 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭athlone99

10 of those players may not have played a competitive game in a while but they have been in a training camp for months together. Their players mainly play at a higher level than most of our players.

4 premier league players? Ok a keeper whos played games i can count on 1 hand, Duffy hasnt played in months, Collins got relegated all be it i think he'll be back in the premier league next season, so actually it was only 3 and only 1 of those whos anyway close to a starter.

Kenny should be doing better but the standard of our squad is the worst its been in 30 years. Its going totake time to fix and a main fix to that is players actually playing games with their clubs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

What about the 10 players who escaped a warzone and haven't played a competitive game in 6 months? Christ almighty it's like talking to the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

A 12 pack of Tayto? More like a bag of meanies

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Players who before that were playing for Dynamo Kyiv and Shakhtar, way higher level than anything we have, sure they hadn't played for a long time, but like the poster below me said they were also in training camp and had two tough games against Scotland and Wales under their belt before playing us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Meanies are better than Tayto so that's a win at least.

For those wondering what Dunphy thinks of it all....not exactly calling for Kennys head as most predicted here. Quite balanced actually

That's a nonsense. Ferencvaros aren't championship quality.

Bordeaux would struggle again a few teams in the Championship.

Everton would struggle against a few teams in the championship.

All of that is neither here nor there though. At the end of the day it'll be the results again the like of Armenia, Luxermbourg and Azerbaijan that will kill you.

As expected really IMO. Because he cannot backtrack completely without looking silly.

Because he has been a Kenny cheerleader day 1. ‘Courageous’ playing football ‘the right way’ etc. Because that is Dunphy’s dreamland.

He cannnot admit ‘the right way’ does not suit Ireland. Loves going on about Eglinton, Giles, Brady. ‘The real Irish football’ etc says he.

He is a dreamer still after all these years. Dunphy had a failed Shamrock Rovers dream years ago. It fell flat quick.

From the above article-

‘Eamon Dunphy leaves Reading in 1977 to return home to be part of John Giles's grand dream of bringing European football to Dublin.

A noble ambition, the lads quickly realise the extent of their task. The ploughed fields that functioned as playing surfaces in those days apparently didn't suit Rovers' needs. They were also too quick to promote young lads and the home support got on their backs.’

But IMO the reality has finally hit Dunphy, and is now looking for a slow run of excuses for himself and Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,183 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Best hope against Scotland is that the players carry on from late last night and just ignore Kenny and stop with the never ending patient build up and just try to actually score instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

So Duffy is going to go up front from the start?

I sort of understand what Kenny meant by us going direct too much. In the first half we hit a lot of passes straight up towards Ogbene and Robinson from the centre backs and Kelleher. Looked like an attempt to get the forwards pace in behind the Ukrainian centre backs and keep them turned. It didn't work especially well plus it just gave the ball back Ukraine who were able to work the ball out of the backline.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

This gets trotted out a lot about the championship, simply because it's a very entertaining and we'll watched league.

I think you also overestimate how good the championship is, as does anyone who buys the Sky hype. It's a very competitive league in which teams are evenly matched beyond the teams top of the table, but some of the lower second division teams around the continent would match them and be good value for wins simply due to better technical ability and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭secman

Funny when people just trot out "we should be beating Ukraine 2nd string" based on what ? Ukraine probably have another 11 or so players that are a higher standard of player than we currently have. And we've key guys nearing retirement , it will get worse before it gets better.

With the way football had been run over the previous 30 years and virtually bankrupted by JD we have no right to be beating anyone. I saw a report the other day where the English FA were being called out for not being up to the standards of some European FA'S when it comes to developing underage players, and we are so far off the FA let alone European ones.

This short term shyte we have been festering with has us where we are now, bottom rung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Sweden 1-0 up against Italy. Howler from the Italian defence gave Sweden the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

We have no right to be beating anyone? Come on now, don't be silly. If you want to defend Kenny that's fine, but live in the real world.

That lose to Montenegro is gonna haunt us. Fingers crossed Italy get their **** together and put them away.

But we dont. Luxembourg have more full time acadamy coaches than we do. Id wager Armenia do too as with many other countries ranked lower than us, so yes given the investment in the game here we have no right to be beating anyone.

Is a win against San Marino too much? Andorra? Gibraltar? We can't expect to beat anyone? Should we expect to lose to everyone too?

The lowering of expectations is insane. Kenny thought he could win this group. He clearly backs the players but his defenders don't. It's insane.

For those who want Kenny to stay

• what is success for this team?
    • what is a pass to allow him to continue?
    • and what is a failure where we need to move on?

Because reading some, it seems never winning a game again would be seen as a pass.

He said the aim was to win the group. I was quite happy for him to say that as ive been more use to managers telling us the players are shite so dont expect much. Now maybe he could/should be doing better but at some stage there was always going to be a moment when it got worse before it got better. Again Kenny may not be the man long term but im happy for him to get the Euros campaign.

What id love for him to do any the last 2 games is say f*** it and drop some established players and give the young players a real go together, it cant be much worse as senior players have let him down. As i heard someone say on OTB he's making some of the same mistakes Mick made by sticking by older established players for the sake of it.

I love the confidence and the willingness to stick his neck on the line by stating that, as he's sticking to what he said when he first got the job of not running down the players but it now seems his supporters are running down the players to let him off. And going as far as having no right to beat anyone, there are plenty of team we should be expecting to beat and beating. I just can't have that attitude because if you do have it, what's the point in going/watching as a fan if you're ok with not winning again.

But his sticking to playing the same way regardless of opposition is infuriating. Tactics are a part of the game for a reason, when you're not the best team you come up with tactics to close the gap between you and the opposition. Playing with wing backs is fine when Doherty is fit as he's likely our best player and RWB is his best position so you want to play to your best player's strengths but when he's out we need to change it. Have a plan B and C but plan B and C seem to be launch it at Duffy.

If he's playing the older players, there has to be a reason for it. They must be outperforming their competition on the training pitch because if a manager has a better player, they'll likely play them and if they don't play the better players, they're not fit for the job.

Thank **** Italy scored. As it stands we're guaranteed second and win on Tuesday would put us top.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Sweden down to 10 men against Italy , looking Like U 21s have a decent chance of qualifying. They get a free hit to try and best Italy and then a playoff.

Yeah Tuesday game now is basically winner takes top spot and we're guaranteed a playoff. We've looked poor twice under Crawford against Italy but the lads are in good form. Will hopefully be a good game.

Kenny apologists out in full force on otb. It was Armenia lads ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭McFly85

• Qualification
    • Close to qualification(playoff loss or into the final game or thereabouts)
    • Being out of contention with a few games to spare.

All there is to it, really. He certainly has a job on his hands and he will need to change it up if things are to improve. But he was given his contract for the Euro campaign so instead of binning it with a couple of bad results let him get on with his job.

I don’t consider myself an apologist and I think there’s question marks about his tactical rigidity, but I think the work in reforming the squad with youth while being expected to get results is under appreciated, and I think the idea of getting rid of him for “someone else” because obviously anyone else would do a better job is laughable. We are in too much debt to chuck a couple of million at another manager because we didn’t like a couple of results - and these results haven’t even decided our fate.

Post edited by McFly85 on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

It was Ukraine.

The Italy match is on 14th. Would be great to get to see it. Hopefully can find a pub in Poland to see it before the Ukraine match. Any ideas?

Will the match even be on RTE or will we have to stream it from Italian TV. Pretty sure last time we played away to Italy it wasn't on RTE but weren't away games to Bosnia and Montenegro on RTE.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Right, lets try this again.

The last week has been disappointing. It has been disappointing because there was so much promise from the last 6/7 games and it feels like it has just evaporated.

The worst part is that I can't pinpoint what it is. We had been playing some really good, direct football (direct does NOT mean aimless hoofing) in this system which gave us plenty of good results. The last week has been completely different.

I'm starting to wonder just how much of an impact Anthony Barry had on the way we played - especially around set pieces. They've been so poor in the last two games.

Kenny absolutely has questions to answer, and he needs to come up with some ideas. Try a couple of new players. Last night's game was screaming out for Ebosele's direct style and athleticism, but for some reason he brought on Alan Browne to play RWB. Why? We know what Browne can offer and that was not the situation for him, especially in that position. Ebosele's played there many times.

I really think we need to have a look at Zak Elbouzedi as well. He's been playing some great stuff by all accounts for an AIK team who missed out on the Swedish title by goal difference. He's going to be one of very few players we have that will be playing in Europe this year. Get him in and give him a go. It's surprising because he looked good under Kenny before.

There is a good side in there somewhere. Nowhere near as good as the teams of 10/20 years ago, but it's a group of players who are mad to play and that's something we've lacked in the last 5 years or so.

However, there is a section of Irish supporters (many of them on here) who are happy to watch this team lose so Kenny can fail, to the point that they take glee in it when it does happen. That's a supporter who deserves absolutely nothing from any Irish team, and they quite frankly should be ashamed of themselves. There are frustrations and then there are those who are so quiet when things are going alright, and are all of a sudden they have every opinion on everything to do with this team, and all of it is based around Kenny being sacked for the sake of him being sacked. It's absolutely disgraceful.

Anyone who thinks this is just the manager is deluded, and they're going to be in for a very rude awakening if they get their wish and we hire a Chris Hughton or someone other failure of an English league manager who can't move on with the times. Steve Bruce was mentioned in here. Give me a Stephen Kenny over Steve f*cking Bruce any day of the week. We may as well give John Delaney the CEO job again with that sort of short-sighted crap.

This current era shows just how far behind the FAI has been with its investment into Irish football over the last 30 years. We're going to suffer for years because they wanted to have a party every 2/4 years.

Thank god the U21s give us some hope. It would be great if they qualified and we could see some of those in the senior squad playing in that tournament. Bazunu, Knight, Idah, Parrott, Omobamidele, Collins etc alongside the current group and it could be a lot of fun. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Why do people keep bringing up OTB FFS?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Because they got a little excited at the fact that the FAI was trying something different with a homegrown manager at the helm, and that they tried to give him every chance instead of the triggered nonsense you see around here.

The failure is being out of another group with 2 games played. In reality we were finished in this group last saturday. We were out of the euros after two games losing to serbia.

The pro kenny loi fanboys are saying our players arent good enough to beat Armenia or Luxembourg. Mad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,980 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A good day for Irish Football with the Under 21s at worst qualifying for the Euro qualification playoffs . Free shot at Italy next week to get there automatically

Can't talk about the seniors atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

A big Kenny fan here (still am) but hard to disagree with the general tone of the thread the past 24 hours. Worryingly I can see it getting worse as I can't see us picking up too many points over the next few days v Scotland and Ukraine again. At the end of this window is when it will be time to have a serious chat about what we are going to do. At this rate the players must be even starting to question what is happening, although the blame lies at their feet also.

I think it unfair to call the Kenny cheerleaders LOI fanboys. As if LOI is somehow a dirty word very unfair.

To be honest statically given most Irish soccer supporters have never being to a LOI game in their lives - and support British clubs.

I would say most of those who were/are fervent Kenny supporters were just desperate for the Irish media fed dream to succeed. Mostly young lads I would guess -who never saw a successful Irish team. And brought into the dream out ‘playing football the right way’ etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Give it up with the "fanboy" sh1te will you. I mean as a non LOI fan I guess you're an EPL fanboy is it? Hardly conducive to any sort of genuine conversation really. Why people can't just discuss things without the childish sh1te is beyond me.

Lets keep our powder dry on the 21s until they qualify.

The draw for the Play-Offs is on June 21st

Ukraine, Czech Rep, Slovakia, Israel are all confirmed for the play offs as is.

Ourselves, Denmark, Finland & Greece aren't yet confirmed but we're at least guaranteed a play off spot but could finish first.

Denmark could yet go through automatically as best second placed team which would see Switzerland drop into the playoffs but lose to Scotland and Turkey could see Turkey snatch the play off spot.

Finland need to beat Norway tomorrow to guarantee themselves a play off spot. Anything but a win and they drop out with Norway going second who could then top the group with a win against Azerbaijan dropping Croatia into the play offs.

Greece need a draw against Portugal in their final game as they've a better head to head than Iceland who play Cyprus in their final game.

Fair play to the lads for going one step further this year, though last season we technically would have qualified in the end finishing second but threw it away against Iceland who qualified instead because the play offs were cancelled. If we had full selection of all players could have lined up like this:

............................Bazunu

O'Connor - Collins - Omobamidele - Bagan

................Coventry - Smallbone

.............Knight - Parrott - Connolly

..............................Idah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,980 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Names of teams in the playoffs may be weak in terms of reputation but hard to judge in this age grade

I'm guessing we're hoping for the 2nd leg at home against whoever we get ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

There aren't too many teams to fear from in that list based on what we've done so far. Denmark would be the obvious one we would want to avoid, but we'd surely have at least a 50/50 chance against most of the others.

We also played Denmark last summer and lost 1-0 only. Not sure how serious Denmark were taking the game but was our third game in a week while it was their first game so much fresher. We had that hard fought win against Australia's U23s three days before it.