Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Drag Shows for Kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Won’t someone please think of the children, being exposed to these horrors?

Yeah, those are some pretty shocking pics. Everyone agrees it's manky when it's child pageants, and this is manky, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,951 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Drag is good craic…probably not for children though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Christmas panto has been doing drag forever, just a matter of making it age appropriate, not like these shows will be the risque sort of stuff seen on stage in a licensed premises at night where kids wouldn't, or shouldn't, be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭fits

Yeah are you referring to pantomimes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,519 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I am indeed, pantomime mostly known for

• Gender role reversal.
    • A storyline of good vs evil.
    • Slapstick comedy.
    • Colourful, eccentric costumes.
    • Audience participation.
    • Likely derived from a fairy tale or nursery story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,652 ✭✭✭✭fits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I'm always amused at how so called "wokists" get called snowflakes and accused of cancel culture when I see this type of thread 🙃

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Detritus70

Thank you for using the term "wokist", it's a handy indicator when to stop reading and disregard someone as a crank.

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I can’t see this being much different from pageants.

The link is a good clue also, one of those ones usually read by the mentally challenged and c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,269 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I remember a kid I knew in school watched Mrs. Doubtfire and he turned into a gay the next day.

And another fella I knew watched a few episodes of Mrs. Brown's boys not too long ago and got depressed and tried to hang himself. Although I think we've all been there after being forced to watch an episode.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it's a terrible shame that young impressionable children should be given a warped sense of sexuality by men who dress funny and live a completely different sort of life.

but enough about first holy communion.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

I don't think that drag is the issue, it's that there have been quite a few issues in the UK recently where drag has been used to push extremely iffy left wing trans views on very very young children without their parents knowledge until after the fact. Schools are losing the run of themselves with this nonsense. A family trip to a pantomime is very different to a young child being taught bogus trans ideology.

There's a big difference between pantomime and what appears to be going on in the images below:

And here is a child dancing as if it were an adult drag show, and receiving cash tips from participants.

Whatever you may call it, it's not "just pantomime".

This is outrageous.

I'm a big fan of drag (and RuPaul's Drag Race, actually), but this has no place in schools or with children. This is adult entertainment.

What’s the difference between pantomime and whatever is going on in the images you posted please?

Let's assume you're right and there's no difference (which I don't for a second concede), do you think what's happening in those images - and in the footage - is acceptable behaviour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,611 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You just won the internet. Absolutely brilliant.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,063 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Let's assume you're right and there's no difference

So you're ignoring the question and we're just moving on into full blown whataboutery now?

OK...

🤣🤣🤣🤣

So you don’t have any particular concerns about the first set of photos you shared?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Why is there someone without clothes in one of those pictures?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Well the one on the bottom left seems to have their cock out. I’ve never been to a panto where someone on stage got their cock out.

I have palpable concerns, hence why I've zoomed in to one of the photos you quite clearly are trying to ignore.

I'll reassert the question: do you think it's acceptable for young children, perhaps 5-8 years old, to place money into the panties of an almost naked drag artist?

I'm happy to discuss the other images, yes, but can we focus on this one to begin with.

I'm quite clear about this; I don't think it's acceptable. I think it's absolutely outrageous (and I say that as a member of the LGBT community myself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"All perfectly normal" the creepy weirdos proclaim in a panicked voice

Ah, jaysus lads, anyone trying to defend this is mental. There's no way I'm clicking the link but based on the photo's shown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

It is not acceptable for a grown man to have his cock out in front of children. That is not panto, that's not even proper drag. It's not acceptable for children to be putting money into the panties of someone in drag. It's fine for adults and those of age. It's just not for kids. Nothing wrong with dressing for panto and fairy tales, comedy etc, but some of the second pics are not appropriate.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Deviants with access to kids. Whoever set these up should be sacked with immediate effect.

I was just thinking to myself; why would an adult drag artist even begin to think that "hmm, let's introduce this to children".

Why would that idea even enter someone's mind?

The same principle would apply to any other form of adult entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭sekiro

Some of the photos and clips so far are highly questionable. Why wouldn't the performers just refuse to perform once they see that the audience is going to be little kids?

I would say it's concerning to see people rush to downplay this with references to pantomime and snowflakes and what have you. I don't exactly know why you'd want to do that. It's one thing to pretend that you think the female Ghostbusters movie is great because you know it kind of annoys your political opponents. It's another thing entirely to expose kids to stuff like this because it makes your political opponents mad. Maybe it makes them mad because it comes across as a bit predatory and creepy? People I despise politically think that this is some kind of grooming and are outraged so I am going to ignore the warning signs because it amuses me to see them get angry. Pretty dangerous game. I wonder if there's a few lessons we could learn from history there? Ah, sure, probably not. It'll be fine!

Handwaving something like this away because it annoys people you don't like is a good way to miss some pretty obvious red flags. Guess we'll just laugh at the snowflakes and hope that we aren't hearing allegations and tales of abuse in years to come because we all just thought it was a right good laugh at the time.

Given the history of institutional abuse of children in this country it's kind of horrifying to see people move so quickly to play this down. We should at least be a little bit wary and skeptical here but apparently we aren't going to do that. It'll all be fine.

I think INTENT is important here.

A pantomime is a show. It's not sexualised. There's no agenda at play. intent. (No different from Ballet which is quite revealing but the intent behind it, removes any sexualisation of the content)

Traditional drag is simply dressing as your opposite gender, for whatever reason, but if it is sexualised, it's done in an adult environment. Bars, clubs, etc. TBH most people I've known who dressed in drag weren't gay.. they were heterosexual males who liked dressing as a woman and being feminine, but remained heterosexual. They'd be the first to say not to do it in front of children.

The photos of guys in extreme drag, and it is rather extreme, is something else. I suspect it's more of this promotional crap for Trans beliefs. Which is wrong, because it seeks to promote Trans beliefs to impressionable children/minors. That's creepy and should be shutdown fast. If a child comes to believe themselves to be Trans by their own steam, grand, support them... but there's been a variety of efforts over the last decade to "educate" children, telling them about being trans and encouraging them to express them as such. Which is wrong. It's **** creepy TBH.

There is a cancer in western culture which says to blur every line or distinction, making everything "okay" to do.. but it does nothing to consider the possible consequences, and after effects over the long-term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

But this is boards. Once you are unpopular you cannot reason with people, even if your argument makes perfect sense.

I am surprised the personal insults haven’t started yet.

It'll happen (the insults). Every thread, even remotely related to Trans issues, devolves into an aggressive arena of personal comments, twisting of others posts... and insults/snide remarks. Probably because they know, deep down, that what they're advocating is wrong when applied to minors, but feel the need to express views that everyone should be exposed to it.

People just can't separate what they're looking at into separate issues. They see drag and their brain remembers "I'm pro-LGBT so I must defend this."

There's a classic thing where if you can't substitute "the Jews" into a sentence, you're probably wrong. So I'll volunteer myself.

Substitute me, an Irish man in his 30s, and some of my grade 6 Vietnamese students into the photos. If you think it would be acceptable for me to be in a bikini with 12-year-old Asian children putting money into it, you're weird. If you think me being naked holding a Vietnamese child's arm is just some sort of fun costume play, you're weird.

I pity people who can only look at things through whatever lens they have in their pocket that seems related to the situation.

Unfortunately it seems that the illogical belief that "if my political opponents are angry, then what is happening must be right" seems omnipresent here.

Or that some sort of twisted logic is conjured to justify what is quite clearly extreme activity with children. Phrases like "It's Not Going to Lick Itself" plastered over the walls of these events are totally, 100% unjustifiable. Pantomime? Really!? Anyone suggesting there is no sexualisation of the events are clearly in denial. This is about as extreme in drag as you'd find in the gayest of gay clubs after midnight. What about the naked drag artist with his penis out?

Some things are just wrong, and shooting the critics down on the basis that you've always disagreed with them opens the door for bad people to get away with some very ugly things.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I couldn't agree more.

Replace the adults in some of these images with biological females, just for a moment. Having children put money in their underwear. How would that go down?

Nah in fairness they usually follow through with hypocrisy. Example that always pops into my head is August Ames, she was jumped on by the Twitter mob and killed herself. Instantly the deflection of "I'm sure she had other issues that caused it" came from people who would never question the proximate cause if someone gay or trans was in a similar situation.

At the same time though the permissiveness thing is hilarious at times. "OMG poor you having to see a junkie in Dublin, that must be so hard" is a typical sarky response when someone notices Dublin being grubby.

It's interesting that they would believe it a good thing to introduce children to the idea that they can pay for or buy something from a semi-naked person.. I mean, who thought it a good idea to teach children about strip-club/lapdancing activities? I genuinely wonder what else was explained in association to the act of putting money in that way?

Even if nothing was explained, and the kids were just encouraged to put use money in this fashion, what was the point? It's an adult activity... and it is a sexualised action. I can imagine those kids going home to their parents and asking them why it was done.. It's just such a bizarre thing to teach to children, and shows that there's little appreciation for what might come from it.

TBH I'm amazed we're not hearing anger over objectification of women... 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

In fairness that's unfair on @AndrewJRenko , they're just using pedantry to troll.

First they came for the socialists...

I've never seen anything like that before, there'll always be assholes that will go way beyond what's acceptable, evidenced by those appalling photos.. I really truly hope it's been shutdown.. The only drag I've seen where kids might be around is pride marches and some storytime stuff where child appropriate books are read and acted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭mohawk

The first paragraph perfectly sums up where we are now as a society. Too many people have a side and believe they should share all the beliefs of their side.

Its not healthy as a society to not question things just because they are on the same side of political spectrum as you.

It appears we have not only learned nothing from history but have this arrogant Sen e of superiority that the past mistakes won’t be made again.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

yeah, i don't have access to twitter in work so i find my rage-o-meter remains limp at being presented with i think three photos of what does look like Things That Should Not Have Happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭Christy42

OP posted about drag shows. The article states there are no acceptable drag shows for kids. Panto does frequently have drag in it.

Most of the photos used are unacceptable. I am not even sure the naked guy counts as drag but obviously unacceptable. One seems pretty well clothed and is reading a kids book which seems fine unless there is other context.

As for the trans stuff I doubt that this has anything to do with trans people and posters just don't know what they are talking about, it is a nice excuse to give out about trans people for no reason though. Drag queens are different and there was a pride parade somewhere that tried to ban drag queens as it might offend trans people before the received serious backlash over it.

You can be both pro-LGBT rights and anti- these extreme child drag shows.

They're not incompatible positions. In fact, I'm gay and I 100% oppose these shows. This should have nothing to do with politics, and everything to do with common decency.

Yet for some in society, making these kinds of distinction seems almost impossible, bizarrely.

If we are interested in minority rights, perhaps defenders of these shows should consider the rights of minors not to be exposed to penises, scantily-clad adults, and the overtly sexualised lap-dancing practice of placing money into the panties of performers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Clarfiy: are we talking about kids in drag, or people in drag doing panto....?

I remember many times coming out of the Gaety ar Christmas and not being the slightest bit traumatised (well, not because of the drag act, anyway.....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

It's pretty clear what we're talking about.

The images throughout this thread tell the story of what's wrong. I'm shocked you even need to ask.

Don't try and blur the lines and muddy the waters with obscurantism like that. We can all see through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Don't have time to read full thread of 50-odd resonces. I though it was kids in drag (in which case it would depend on the context, but I'd totally understand the concerns) but then it seemed to be panto costumes (in which case, get **** lives!).

Now I'm guessing it's people not being able to tell the difference between a boy in a dress, a drag show and an all-out strip show, and from the link it apperas that they're actually trying to merge them all into one so they can be outraged. Stupid idea.

Accurate summation?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• What I see in that particular image is paedophilia, pure & simple. If I had a child subjected to that I would call the law enforcement authorities and remove my child as far away from risk of any such situation.