Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cult of Stephen Kenny

• Registered Users Posts: 7,420 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Yeh a trimming by Scotland and a beating by Ukraine and there willl be no coming back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭tastyt

We are getting what we deserve as a soccer nation . Why should we be anywhere near a World Cup or a euros regularly when we don’t have a full time professional league? When we done give a shite about the game in our towns or counties across the country ? Where there are no academies and nothing for young players to aim for in their own communities like there is in GAA and Rugby

The sport and association is an absolute farce in this country and always has been . We had a few glory days when we got lucky but we are getting exactly what we deserve now

• Registered Users Posts: 25,415 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Might be for the best… fûck all use in going out there getting a 1-1 draw and then having his allies talk him up.

their defence had 1 cap and we mustered 3 shots on target in 95 minutes or so…

• Registered Users Posts: 14,072 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

A few glory days when there were a few Irish players at the top flight in England plus the Granny rule. Outside of the big towns soccer isn't really a thing here

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Hands win % for Ireland: 28%

Giles win % for Ireland: 39%

Yup, “far superior”.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Masch8933

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

We could scarcely have hoped for a better nations league opportunity than what we had.

Armenia, who were in group C last time are not good. Ukraine and Scotland both just lost out on WC qualification last week so their heads are not in it at all and made loads of team changes.

Kenny constantly talks up himself and the team saying they want to win the group and then they lose to Armenia

That's it. Our goose was well and trul cooked losing the first game of the group to Armenia. A bit like losing the second game of the group to Luxembourg in the last euros qualification group. Unforgivable. When you are limited like we are you need to ensure you take maximum points off the weaker teams to allow some breathing space.

However it appears that some believe we don't even have the players to beat Armenia, Azerbaijan and Luxembourg. Jaysus actually wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

He should be getting 6 points from Luxembourg, Armenia and Azerbaijan with what's available to him.

He did get 6 points from those games.

Plus a win against Lithuania and credible draws with Portugal and Belguim. Along with Ukraine those are the last 7 Ireland games.

Its only the 2 recent defeats that has the hoof ball merchants crying, before that it was a good run considering the shite players at our disposal.

Maybe I am looking at different results, could be googles fault.

we have posters here seemingly unable to handle the idea of separating the FAI remit in production of talent from the role of a head coach who has the job of getting results on the pitch

any time the line is drawn for them they have a one line response questioning the comprehension abilities of other people, ironically enough

dunning-kruger effect is, i believe, the relevant concept at play.

You're interpreting it incorrectly.

He should be getting 18 points from 6 games versus Armenia , Azerbaijan and Luxembourg.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

His record for us is awful.

His win rate is 20%. He had a 30% win rate at Dunfermline and they sacked him.

Kenny has earned over 1.2m since he was given the job with the FAI. He's on 550k a year!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

They'll be even worser off leaving this guy in charge. The Euros are as easy to qualify for as ever. The Nations League was a backdoor in and that's now gone.

The FAI will want to give themselves as good a chance of qualifying as possible and won't give two hoots about the style of football involved. They won't leave this circus act in place come the end of this group.

Do they not go hand in hand? Yes, he has good solid players in defence and covered at goalkeeper after that, there is zero talent where it matters putting the ball in the net. If you dont have the players you wont get results, its not the previous managers had resounding success too, what do people expect when you have players like Hendrick, Callum Robinson, Ogbene etc

when Klopp took over at Liverpool and Liverpool told him you cant buy any players, only what is currently available and what will come through the youth system, do you think they would be where they are at now?

I think everyone hopes the results improve and and everyone would like to see results improve by playing good football and not hoof and hope football but we have to be realistic and so does Kenny, he needs to adapt and so do certain fans. We dont have the devine right to be beating teams like Armenia and Luxembourg anymore and that stems from the neglect of Irish football. Changing a manager to get a one off good result but being dominated by teams like Georgia at home is also not a solution.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Armchair managers have always been noisy, for as long as I can remember there has always been the sack the manager crew. When it comes down to it Ireland the Rep off, has had a fair number of managers and coaches over the last few years and non have been able to do better than the last. So exactly why would that change if we got a new manager? It doe not work like that. Until we let young players develop we are stuck where we are. Dropping new developing talent into the senior team risks wrecking confidence in you lads. Just look at what happened to Aron Connolly.

Dan.

I'm not giving a pass for losing and not getting 18 points out of Azer, Lux or Armenia. He has the players capable of doing that. He needs to set them up properly though. Get them going more direct. NO need for the back 7 as he has it to be passing laterally and backwards all the time again those teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

But it does actually work like that, sack the manager, and get in a better manager, what manager? well it would be difficult to find a worse manager, therefore an improvement will occur. Most people knew this would happen with a mediocre manager like Kenny, this isn't a surprise, its been on the cards from the beginning, people shouted how he needed time and should be given a chance, well he's had his chance, he's incompetent at international level, no surprise there - get rid of him, he's already set us back about 5 years.

What attacking players have we got that gives us the devine right to expect 18 points against Azer, Lux and Armenia??

You seem to have a very short memory or do you geniunely believe McCarthy was a success and the second half of ONeills reign was one too?

You seem to have a misunderstanding of what "success" actually means, the best we can hope for of our International team is to be competitive and qualify for Euros & World cups, O'Neill & McCarthy achieved this, we regularly beat lesser teams and could compete against stronger teams on our day - this is success, both McCarthy and O'Neill did well with what they had at their disposal.

Now we struggle against minnows because we have an incompetent manager, and it appears success to Kenny is playing well against a Portugal team which didnt show up, and drawing a friendly against Belgiums second team.

I presume you are talking about McCarthys first period in charge when he had household premiership players including one of the greatest players and leaders of all time.

Perhaps Ireland needs a wake up call, they would scrap into tournaments and never be competitive but everyone thought it was grand cause who doesnt like a trip away to a tournament, meanwhile the FAI were doing nothing in the background and the reliance on English clubs to develop irish players were drying up, leaving no route to properly develop players.

We struggled against minnows under McCarthy also (remember Gibraltar) so it is nothing new.

We could have Bielsa, Kloop or whoever and they will all struggle with the players we have but dont get me wrong Kenny needs to get more pragmatic and improve or he will also be rightly sacked due to the nature of the business but sacking and hiring managers is not going to fix the real issues, why are people not discussing this? I know the current premier league obsessed fans want instant success but if you look at succesful international teams over the years, they have had a a sort of golden group of players who all come through together. Ireland should be working towards that and have structures in place to facilitate that, have they??

I think he meant 6 points from each of them. We got 4 from Luxembourg, 4 from Azerbaijan and currently have 0 from Armenia with 1 game to go against them.

Lithuania are lower in the rankings than the Solomon Islands, Turkmenistan, Sierra Leone, Palestine and other such luminaries. We needed a 97th minute goal against them and it was a friendly. Belgium played their dregs against us in another pointless friendly.

Portugal, fair enough. On decent performance in a game that meant something out of how many??

What a day to bring up Gibraltar. Happy Anniversary ROIMNT!!! Three years today since we last won a competitive international game.

In McCarthys last period, we were 1 goal off automatic qualification with pretty much the same players as Kenny, although Kenny has some better younger players coming through. That’s a hell of a lot more successful than Kenny ever will be.

What attacking players do they have playing at a high level? Seriously. Look at their squads. Most domestic based players in league as crap as our own if not worse. Then the others are playing in the 3rd division of obscure european leagues too. Come on lad. The kenny supporters want you to believe that this is the players fault. They were the same supporters slating oneill and mick saying the players were better than they were getting from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I can't wait until Kenny gets sacked, just to see the "stick more bodies in midfield" crowd get all confused about why Ireland still aren't scoring goals against Armenia and the like.

Goes to show what a hole Kenny has us in when a 0-0 draw to Armenia would be progress

Stephen Kenny is a tactical genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

It's because we have a shyte squad combined with a manager that doesn't know what he's doing.

There surely can't be anyone who hasn't worked this out yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

It's Keith Andrews. He's the real cesar menotti in this whole cluster f*ck situation.