Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dole 'summer bonus' .. are they for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,750 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

its not easy. you know what is? sitting on your arse all your life living off other people's taxes.

a functioning SW system is vital to any developed society due to inability to work.

i just wish it would be properly means tested, possibly in collaboration with employers needing low skilled workers. as in...hey peter did you look for any work this month? yeah, didnt get anything. great, there's an opening in XXXX, you start monday. if you can walk here you can do the job.

and none of this job bridge nonsense, pay the full whack for the persons services.

the main problem i see is one of 2 things....min wage too low or SW too high.

on minimum wage, you need to work 4.63 hrs per day to net €220 per week (assumptions: have left our EE PRSI, minimum wage is 1656 per month, annualised to 19874, per day 54, per hour 6.81).

for not working at all, you get €208 per week.

thats a huge issue. no work, i get €208 per week. work 4.5hrs per day and i get €220. how does that make sense? need to incentivize people to go out working either by increasing minimum wage or decreasing SW (or a combo of both).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Decrease the sw, deal with the elephant in the room.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Another big issue is that a lot of minimum wage jobs are part-time and don't have set hours - retail, hospitality etc.

So not only does one have to weigh up the advantages of earning a pittance more per day versus the freedom of not working, there's also the hassle of claiming for days not worked on an ad hoc basis and the expectation of some employers expecting staff to be available on very short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Thread is just over a day old and already almost ten pages lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

I will spare you the sanctimonious BS - when I see 65K long term dole recipients being suggested for a summer "bonus" while there are kids waiting years on lists to be seen for a plethora of needs from scoliosis down to speech and language therapy and the money isn't there - my sympathy goes out like the wheelie bin on a Monday night for that 65K.

Money found week in week out to keep idiots who can't say no to a Sunday night pi$$up to avoid getting laid off work on a Monday morning (the unemployable) are guaranteed their €208 plus perks on the next Thursday at the local Post Office - the aforementioned kids are guaranteed nothing more than another cancelled appointment.

And if you think I've just the long-term JSA in for harsh criticism - wait until you hear about the criticism I dish out to the tax dodgers at the top of the trough... another shower of leeching see you next Tuesdays. But that is not what this thread is about.

So, for all your claims of me painting them like vermin, etc... you want to use emotive language like that - reason why a child should be denied services so a long term JSA recipient can go on a Sunday night bender and get a summer bonus into the bargain too?

Have posters got visual impairment that bold text is used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Why you need to bring in, an entirely un related problem within our health service is simply beyond me. It is you using emotive issues like children with serious health challenges to justify the bile being posted here. You don't need to lecture me or others on appalling waiting lists which have absolutely nothing to do with this narrative of this thread and you know full well what that is.

You talk about Magic money being found and yet avoid more recent events were not only has magic money been found but a host of other supports Irish Citizens could only Dream of. I think it's abundantly clear were this government priorities are and its not health care or housing.

I know only too well about waiting lists personally don't try and put that on the SW system, you know full well who's to blame but I do agree with the particular matter you raise, it is disgraceful and utterly appalling.

As for assertion SW recepients go on Sunday night benders, well that deserves to be ignored.

You through in a personal slur at me to make outlandish claims, I duly responded. Make your points that's your entitlement but don't pretend you don't have have issues with SW generally, I've noticed posters have suddenly started to seperate out particularly payments as if to justify their contempt.

It was not SW recepients who called for a "Bonus" it was politician's and its not SW recepients who call extra payments "Bonuses" it actually the Department and Government TD'S who refer to these payments as "Bonuses"

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Bullshit Sweep sweep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

The problems are related, a muppet TD wants to give a summer bonus when the fact is there is much more important things to spend tax payers money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

From tradesmen to warehouse and factory operatives those companies you mentioned have pretty high standards and pay well , no dole lifer getting in there 😂😂

Leo and his cronies are reducing taxes it seems to help the working person. Good to see, increasing the rock and roll and giving bonuses is bonkers.

They are absolutely NOT related, bringing in emotive Health service incompetence and short comings despite extraordinary levels of Spending has nothing to do with a few politicians seeking a SW "Bonus" and SW bashing which this Thread is essentially about.

The only relevance may be the fact Everyone, especially children are impacted by a poor Health Service and I might add its not front line health care professionals to blame, they are incredible people in every respect, I've personally dealt with them over a number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Your full of crap. I live in a 6 house social housing development (I own mine) of the 6 houses only 1 person doesn't work. They all work in trades, retail, IT. Most my friends grew up in social housing all came from homes where everyone worked. This perception that everyone is living in a house for 20 a week on the dole is such bollox. Who could even survive on the dole now? Wouldn't pay for your cans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Because they can sell for gargantuan inflated prices.

Did the Healy raes or some other politician swing the houses for ye?

The OP nor those in agreement with them had no intention of separating types of SW payments, just focus on generalisations, wild assumptions based on here say, refuse to acknowledge data from actual direct sources and when all else fails resort to emotive tactics, such as Health care crisis as if to justify what is in essence and yet another SW Bashing Thread, tar every SW recipient with the same brush, so to speak and abjectly failing to under stand the many complex reasons for long term unemployment which is tiny in the over all context of thing's.

There are undoubted problems with the SW system, no one denies this , some have tried to offer suggestions , ideas etc, only to be shouted down. The way some are going on, you'd think the entire SW system was rampant with corruption, its quite simply preposterous.

The figures of fraud that was published by a poster a few pages back was just reported fraud. How much more has slipped through the net?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Is the dole not welfare? I thought there was jobseekers, disability and illness, do i have that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Not working during the fine weather that's the 'bonus'😙

And the figures tiny and deal factor in detections on fraud that may have happened historically, just at a basic level there was all sorts of wild assumptions about PUP fraud and whilst not a SW payment in the true sense it was open to wide scale abuses at the very start due to how it had to implemented quickly.

There was a number of very high profile cases of fraud , perpetrated by people I would not categorise as a typical SW recipient, these were well planned and orchestrated scams. There was also the living abroad and claiming PUP cases and whilst both reprehensible the Departments own stats suggest PUP fraud was extremely low and yet there's still those who claim PUP fraud was rampant when it was absolutely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

400k is a relatively small pension pot.

2 bar is the target to hit.

That allows you to take 80k gross per annum.

Loads of people have this level of fund on retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭French Toast

MNCs and farmer grants are a different kettle of fish to those who choose the dole as a lifestyle. I'm not talking about those.

I'll pick on those lazy scroungers all I want considering I contribute to their wages and enable their choices.

Can we assume you also resent paying towards "Farm Assist" , after all it's a SW payment , similar in some respects to low income earners, people working part time (not out of choice), working family payments etc 🤔

There's actually no such thing as Dole in Ireland , it's an offensive term often used to essentially target anyone on a SW payment, it's use in the Thread was in essence an attempt to click bait and it of course worked.

Of course there are SW payments, Some income supports, Some illness and disability supports, Back to school supports, heavens above even children's allowance and of course the dreaded Jobseekers supports but as far as some are concerned there's really no difference and all equally distasteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ireland always been the Carlsberg of welfare!!!

Indeed you can make any assumptions you wish. Whether or not they are correct is another matter.

I was not making any assumptions, just curious about your resentment towards paying for SW recipients that include farmers given your belated observatiions on farming grants so to speak 🤔

I never said you were making assumptions.

You asked if you could, I said of course you can.

I suppose you find council house offensive now also it should be social house we should be calling it.

Perhaps I misread your response but it went, you can make any assumptions you like 🤔

Any comments on your paying for farmers in receipt of SW , farm assist as an example 🤔

They very clearly are related and taxpayers are entitled to have an opinion on how tax money is spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭ericfartman

Where did I mention everyone? There is a lot of people in social housing who have zeroe interest in ever working or bettering themselves to get a high paying job instead of hand outs from the states.

If you try to claim at a young age then you should be given a box of johnnies or free birth control pills as soon as you try and sign on, might stop young wans opening there legs to get a council house.

Did they not have any shame accepting hand outs? Do they not feel shame for not been able to look after their families themselves?

I'd put all those scroungers in a caravan in the morning, might stop young wans opening their legs so they can get a free house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

There's lads I went to school with in the town who have never worked a day in their lives. Few live at home most have their own houses.

People say there are no free houses yet these non contributors aren't living on the streets. Doesn't add up

Why do you think I find council houses offensive, what gives you that bizzare notion 🤔 you really are clutching at straws now .

Spotted your latest typically unhelpful contribution to a ligitmate question by posters over in the State Benefits forum , you really are obsessed by this fictional SW fraud narrative, very, very disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭ericfartman

Every village and town in Ireland but Rob seems oblivious that people are actually taking advantage of the system.

In his head anyone on welfare needs to be on welfare or given a social house.

Not in the slightest bit related to the narrative in this Thread , lots of excellent threads discussing health care crisis, issues, waiting lists etc .

It’s your posts are disturbing. If factual posts are too much for you I suggest you turn off your WiFi.

Thanks for the Advice , I'll not be taking it seriously as I do with your contributions generally 😏

The more money we waste paying for unnecessary stuff like a summer dole bonus the less money available for important stuff like the housing crisis.

So we're onto Housing crisis now, why not throw in the Childcare crisis too 🤔and what exactly as any crisis has got to do with Trashing SW recipients, genuinely curious 🤔, you know full well this thread has nothing to do with SW Budgets or government expenditure on housing, health care etc, let's not pretend otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

ALL payments from the Government come under the umbrella term of welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

I was at a party this year. It was a double celebration...

40 years on the dole, and moving onto the old age pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

😊😊😊😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I think we know not everyone in social housing doesn’t work which fair play to those who do and people have no issue with them having a social house.

But the fact remains the majority in social housing don’t work.

They are surviving unlike your claim that it’s impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭firemansam4

The whole SW system for the unemployed needs to be reformed. Along with the medical card system.

People are being punished for taking up a job, including loss of medical card, loss of fuel allowance, loss of Christmas bonus, plus many other benefits.

Other countries would have a sliding scale once you become unemployed, with benefits being reduced over time. But here in Ireland we reward long term unemployment with extra fuel allowance and bonuses.

We can moan about the scroungers, long term dolers all we like but when you have a system that enables and even encourages this then things are not going to change anytime soon.

Whilst I accept in principle we're your coming from, you at least acknowledge it is not entirely a bed of roses in the SW system, this narrative there's no checking, no reviews and no removal or loss of an allowance amazes me.

Whilst there are different categories of MC full or specific ones are not easy to get and are subject to reviews

There's a perfect example how brutal the system can be, only this week when a teenager with serious special needs Died, his DA was paid on the week he died and the mother got a letters from SW within days asking for the money to be returned as it was deemed an over payment, admitidly she got an apology but if the DSP can stop a DA payment within a few days of a tragic death, that suggests to me they have robust systems when it suits.

Indeed, the problem does appear to be some people think users of boards are wasters, idle, unemployed lay abouts, it's shocks and stuns them that folks like me have a life and have numerous interests across the site over 11 years.

I recall some snide commentary about posters who post a night until the Gobshytes posting the nonsense about being unemployed with all the time in the world on their hands realised many users are not even in Ireland and many work night shifts 😉