Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bird moving into my gaff - what’s fair to charge her?

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Housefree

Rent out the apartment and buy/rent somewhere else with her 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭lalababa

500-sex=?

Civil Partnership and Certain Rights and Obligations of Cohabitants Act 2010

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2010/act/24/enacted/en/html

Please quote the section which refers to different rules for men and women. I can't find it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The world is moving towards usage billing.

Put a tracker on her and work out a formula where she's charged for each step she takes in your apartment, as well as a rate per minute that she spends inside it, so she doesn't get away with just standing still. You need to be careful that she doesn't start hopping to scam you out of ever second step. She also needs to wear a spirometer, so you can measure how much of your air she is breathing, and charge her accordingly. Don't forget to add a carbon tax for all CO2 exhalation. Weigh her before and after using the toilet, so you know how much mass she's expelling, and charge per gram.

For utilities, she should keep detailed records of every time she flicks a light switch or turns on or off an appliance. If you are in the room when a light goes on, she should be charged a half rate per second, same if she's watching television with you or she boils the kettle to make you both a cup of tea (assuming you both use the same amount of water and milk). It gets awkward when, for instance, you're watching television together, and she glances momentarily at her phone, or out the window. Technically during this time she is not using the visual aspect of the television (although she is still consuming the sound), so some adjustments will have to be made unless you can find a way to measure the source of all photons that enter he eyes. Although obviously there should be a charge for using the view out your window. Whether that's the same as the charge for looking at your television is up to you, but it would make things simpler if it was.

For food, again detailed records should be kept, and charges made accordingly. A lot of people forget that storing food takes up space that should be paid for too. So when setting the rates you charge her for each food item, don't just base it off the cost of buying the food itself, but the cupboard or fridge space, the cost of bringing it to your home, the cost of unpacking it, wear and tear on your shopping bags, etc.

Finally, your physical company and social interaction should be compensated for too. Set a per word rate on conversations, both for speech and listening. Be careful, tough, that she doesn't use a lot of long words to get a protracted conversation at a discounted rate. Any physical interaction should be charged based on a detailed price list, with a diagram of your body divided into sections at various per-second rates.

Very good. /Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭circadian

More people from Cavan on here than I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

Then maybe read PGJ2015s comment in the thread to see it works both ways

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

There is a very similar thread over on RI only from a woman whose boyfriend is moving in. She is being given the same advice as the OP on how to protect her property.

You'd wonder why she needs it, if the law doesn't apply equally.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Another point to mention away from pure financials and justification or not for paying. Whether one agrees or not as to whether the lady should pay, one thing that men may not realise is that it is one of the biggest turnoffs in a man to be tight with money. It's not about paying for everything all the time, it is about being obsessed with money and penny pinching, making a big deal about money to the girl. It is a massive turn off for a lot of girls. Again, it's important to state that you may not agree with it, but that is just how it comes across to a lot of girls.

I think its very reasonable to ask for an equal share of utilties, groceries, etc, (and as a woman, I would not think anyone stingy or penny-pinching for asking. I'd fully expect to contribute to those bills). But "paying rent" to your partner is odd when a couple is in a relationship - especially were the property is owned outright.

Having said that, I never allowed anyone move into my home. Purely because I did not want anyone to have any possible claim on the property or there to be any inheritance issues down the road for my daughter if/when anything happened to me. Kept them at the gate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,142 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Show her your stripes now: ask for 2k per month, with an annual adjustment based on the inflation rate.

She'll be having a lucky escape....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Fit a decent CCTV system covertly in the place too , just in case she's playing hide the sausage with someone else when you're not there OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Good point. There should be a charge for hiding sausages or any other food stuff not limited to processed pork products on your property, OP. Also a charge for her having any guest, visitor or interlocutor in your apartment, whether they’re engaged in sausage/miscellaneous item hiding or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Any girl would be expecting to at least pay half of the living cost of the household. You are not stingy expecting such a payment.

As for rent, you have to decide whether that's necessary or sensible to accept it and and maybe establish a claim in the property if the relationship goes wrong.

You are getting a lot of flack about being mean but I would see it as strange if your girlfriend expected you to pay for everything. You both need a discussion on how you manage your money.

I hope the thread title is in jest and not a representation of how you view your partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The OP could be an older gentleman with a younger partner (the "bird")? It takes to age 55 for a majority to own their home outright. But they could be an exception who had independent wealth entering the property market. I would expect a different dynamic depending on the age difference and the economic resources of both parties.

The point at which two-thirds of householders owned their own homes (with or without a loan) occurred at age 41 in 2016, while in 1991 the equivalent age for that particular milestone occurred at 28 years of age. The age at which the majority of householders owned their dwelling outright stood at 55 years in the last census, which has changed little since 1991 (56 years). (Census 2016).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,730 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I'd go with 100 per night. 10 euro for a continental breakfast or 15 for the full irish. Also an additional charge if she gets out of bed after 12. Throw in a few complimentary passes to the local gym if you don't have one in your house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭Hooked

Jayssssussss... All the smart-ass answers make me laugh...

It's an 18 month relationship - which, as we all know can go either way!

He needs to protect himself IF the worst happens - and she can't expect to live in HIS gaff for free!

So deffo 50/50 on bills/groceries/etc... but the "rent" (and legal mumbo jumbo) is a tricky one alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They should not have asked in AH, and used Bird and Gaff if they are looking for serious answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Kurooi

It will only be a matter of time before she starts bringing friends over.

Installing a coin operated bathroom lock on the loo might honestly be the only fair way forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Ham Grenade

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

My brother did this, she was supposed to pay for eg Landline as she was only one that used it, it was in his name and he would get final notice letters about the unpaid bill. She paid for nothing.

Relationship fell apart after 5 years and he asked her to leave.

She had already seen a solicitor about her "entitlements", she wanted €50,000 or off to court they were going.

NEVER LET HER MOVE IN.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

50/50 on bills and groceries; doesn't need to be to the last cent once she pays her fair share. Wouldn't be asking for rent, she's your partner not a lodger. I wouldn't have even thought about seeking legal advice seems a bit overboard, but, from some posts on here probably no harm to look into it to see where you'd stand if things didn't work out.

Tbh it doesn't sound too promising if you're considering charging her rent and calling her a" bird", anyways best of luck and hope it works out for both of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

25% of her salary or fook off. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Does OP live under a bridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Unless she’s a total birdbrain she would have sussed @Ham Grenade after a year and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,968 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Tbh it doesn't sound too promising if you're considering charging her rent and calling her a" bird"

I imagine OP as this guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Make sure she pulls her weight for starters. The Vamps that hang around my castle can't even see themselves in the mirror and they still have the place in pieces. There is nothing worse than your Vamp leaving her hair in every plug hole. Wait until they start coming home drunk after being out with their mates, mother of christ, singing songs, trying to have sex with you at half two in the morning, stinking to high heaven of Pinot Grigio and vodka and their make up smeared all over the shop.

Let her get her own place until you are at least engaged. Get the ground rules in now. Before you know it she will be tutting tutting at your every idea, notion or movement. You can forget about watching the match midweek either, not going to happen. She will spend the first year bitching about the pundits and how distasteful English soccer fans are. Never mind the complexities of the now defunct away goal and the offside trap, jeepers.

I would pay the whole rent for the first few months, let her know who is boss. Enjoy it while is lasts, once the claws are in it is all over buddy. Spending all your hard earned on shight you will never need, or be allowed to have an ounce of an opinion on. Dark green leaved rose bush curtains across your front window that you will be forced into putting up .... and sneered and belittled at when you make a haims of it. Trust me, get your boundaries sorted out now, there is a reason why garden sheds exist, they didn't just arrive into vogue in the last season... like every € 400 worth of once worn high heels she buys every few months do be....

You can forget about having any input into where you are going on your holiers either, you lose that privilege once she is past the front door. She will try to read you phone messages and begin to comment on what cape you are wearing and for how long. They start turning their nose up at everything, you'll see.

If she insists on coughing up money make sure you do something useful with it. Once she moves in she will be straight onto marriage hints and sulking when you mention social time with friends, remember those people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

She should pay for absolutely everything, considering the privilege to be living with you.

Just guessing, but this is gonna be the shortest togetherlivingrelationship ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Probably not, after they'll discuss the cost of "rent". But credit to OP he asked for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Liberty_Bear

You might get a rent book and make it look like she is a tenant rather than your other half. Might save you the hassle down the line if you live together more than five years and she wants to take you to the cleaners! At same time, Id not move in after 18 months me self, wayyyyyy too soon for us gays

You know there’s a lot to be said for a tight vjj with a kempt ladygarden…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,541 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Only one previous owner who only took it out for a spin once a week after mass

Just be absolutely sure that this is what you want and is for the long term. Someone (I think the OP) made a comment about it being okay as he owns the house outright. It’s not as simple as that. When she moves in it becomes her home and after a while, especially if she contributes (decorating etc) she’ll have an equal say on being able to live there if you split. She can’t just get thrown out

so just be 100% sure about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Before you hand over the keys to your “Gaff” get her to sign this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭macvin

Methinks you'll be on tinder fairly soon and she will be snuggling up to someone nicer

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭vegandinner

Happened to a neighbour of mine, lad built himself a nice house on the family farm, moved a bird in after 6 months. As soon as he left in the morning she had her side piece over for afternoon delight, it was a few years before he copped on, but she refused to move out and wanted half the house. In the end he settled with her apparently he paid her 100k to get lost.

it’s much much easier if you were renting yourself or even if you had a mortgage, but owning the property outright means you have a lot more to loose

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Meeoow

Why shouldn't she pay rent? People seem to think yer man is loaded because his mortgage is paid. Maybe he scrimped and saved and didn't go on holidays or nights out, instead he paid his mortgage off early. Maybe the 'bird' went on loads of holidays and nights out, and blew all her cash instead of buying a property. Why should she benefit because of his frugalness?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

If he was paying rent or still paying the mortgage then fair enough, but, he's not so why ask her to pay rent to live with him, she's not a lodger, she's his girlfriend, the fact he's asking her to move in suggests the relationship is getting more serious as in his sees her as his long term partner and possibly future wife. Asking her to pay rent is unlikely to go down well, unless she wants to, which I doubt.

I think splitting the bills is fair, I also think it's unfair if it doesn't work out, she could have a claim on his house, which it seems she might be legally entitled to, so he probably should look at protecting himself here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,652 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That's for England and Wales. Anyone who wants a legally binding cohabitation agreement should set it up with a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,730 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Am i missing something here??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

The only bird I'd have moving onto my house would be the swallows who build their nests on the side of my house every late spring and they head away then for the winter.

Calling her a bird isn't really nice, obviously that's all she is to the original poster. If he suggested she was his sweetheart or love of his life and he knew in his gut this is the woman he wants to share his space with for the rest of his life I'd see nothing wrong with her moving in.

Any man who settles for anything less than a forever ever after partner deserves what's coming to him if she ends up with half the house. I myself would preferably prefer a partner who had her own house and was responsible and had a good financial head on her shoulders. It wouldn't matter if she had an affordable housing scheme house or a house in Glenageary but as long as she has her own house that's a good starting point to shack up with someone. My own partner has a house in the west of Ireland and renting her place in Glenageary Dublin that's why I mentioned that place as it's quite exclusive. She's absolutely loaded lol but we prefer living in our own houses and meeting up and staying in each other's places now and again. An absolutely perfect set up.

It's up to you OP but I think it's better if she applies for a mortgage and gets her own place, and ye can go from there. It's not hard to visit each other now and again. She'll have a secure roof over her head if it goes wrong. And you won't be feeling guilty if you have to tell her to leave and it's not working out.

Sounds old fashioned, but I'm preferable to having a partner who is an equal rather than potentially dragging it all down to a different level.

Mind your house because it sounds like you have made a sound investment.

Bottom line OP is that if she lives with you for 5 years she will be entitled to a share of your home, or a lump sum or ongoing financial support in lieu of that. So you should look at protecting yourself.

and if she were to pay ‘rent’ as you suggest, that would substantially strengthen her claim