Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Ukraine is the second most corrupt country in the world, second only to Russia. The war has made Zelensky popular with Ukrainians, he wasn't before the war. He doesn't like dissenting voices, doesn't tolerate opposition parties, is as corrupt as they come and is not a good man. There is no way that Ukraine should even be considered for EU membership at this point. I particularly didn't like the 4 visiting heads of state in Ukraine yesterday pledging EU money to rebuild Ukraine. EU taxpayers are paying to much already for what's going on in Ukraine and we'll pay even more with growing inflation. Our country is hemorrhaging money, with a government telling us they can do nothing about it while announcing freebie after freebie for anyone arriving from Ukraine. The goodwill is evaporating quickly, there will be none at all if Europeans are forced to pay for the rebuilding of Ukraine. This is not a European war and Ukraine is not an EU country, no matter what the keyboard generals would like to believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

100%. It’s time for Europe to climb out of Zelenskys arse and tell him it’s time to find a solution with Russia. The war can’t go on indefinitely. Get it sorted and get your people back to Ukraine.

Ahh Russia, the convenient scapegoat. Shame that other former soviet states have managed to get their societies in order, hitting hard at corruption and State interference in democratic processes. Ukraine's president got in under the claim of reducing corruption, and then used the same chapter out of Xi's book, to target anyone who was even remotely against him, while elevating his friends and family to higher positions. It's says something when you put your childhood friend in charge of the secret police after getting into office, or when all his close friends are all major shareholders in a company... with links to Russia, and offshore accounts. Hmm.. or perhaps the closure of media outlets that didn't agree with him is worth considering, under the guise of being pro-Russian, and yet... a variety of them weren't pro-Russian, simply not pro-Him.

Nah. Ukraine is a mess... and was a mess before the invasion. Nothing has changed, except for the whitewashing done to affect people's perceptions of Ukraine.

Culturally, they remained very "Eastern European". Scams within society aimed at foreigners didn't decline. Their Ukrainian brides industry is equal to Russia's, with naïve hopefuls from the west fleeced on their trips to Ukraine. There's no shortage of scams, trickery, and other malarkey to choose from either. Definitely lip service (your phrase, not mine). I would rather say they've implemented superficial changes to give the illusion of change.. also a lot like what China did for a while, but the mask invariably slips, because it's fake.

Adding more people to the EU population is not going to encourage anyone to make the necessary changes in EU policy. It'll simply provide another decade of excuses to avoid resolving the issues involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,270 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Once the people get out, get here or wherever, like here or wherever, there is no going or sending them back. Unless they chooses to leave.

safety, quality of life, shelter, housing is all guaranteed here…

Migrants dont retire or its a pyramid scheme that will create a much larger problem for the next generation?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I mean the best way to solve that old age dependency one would be my making it possible for young people to have a home and start a family. As it is, that's financial suicide atm so all immigration is doing is just piling the stack of cards higher. Let's cure the disease instead of dealing with the symptoms.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,690 ✭✭✭✭briany

All reasonable terms have been proffered to Russia at one time or another back when there was an active hope that a prolonged conflict could be avoided with negotiation. Ukraine have talked about staying neutral as a negotiation offer and Zelenskyy has even gone on record as not ruling out a referendum in the Donbas. Since then, Russia has pounded Ukrainian cities to bits with indiscriminate shelling, massacred civilians in towns like Bucha and driven several million more from their homes in order to avoid the worst that this unnecessary invasion brings. It's far beyond what even the biggest Russian apologist could accuse Ukrainian forces of doing to ethnic Russians in 2014-2022 Donbas conflict. Furthermore, the escalation of jingoistic rhetoric coming out of Russia does not suggest anything like an interest in negotiation. Actually, it suggests an interest in the negotiation of Ukraine's unconditional surrender and nothing less. Maybe Russia might allow Ukraine to exist as a landlocked rump state with a Russian puppet in charge, just like in the 'good old days'.

Ukraine is the second most corrupt country in the world, second only to Russia.

You really do need to be careful with your statements as its becoming easier and easier to prove you wrong.

Per https://www.transparency.org/en/cpi/2021

Ukraine is ranked 122 out of 180

Russia is ranked 136 out of 180

The war has made Zelensky popular with Ukrainians, he wasn't before the war. 

He was elected with 73% of the vote

As regards being more popular since the war, its normal for the leader to get a "wartime bounce". Pick any leader at any time for any country and that almost always holds true, nothing unusual there

He doesn't like dissenting voices, doesn't tolerate opposition parties, is as corrupt as they come and is not a good man.

Another lie, unless you'd like to provide something to back that up. He did outlaw pro-Russian stooge parties a month after Russia invaded, a pretty fair act if you ask me. No other opposition parties were impacted.

This is not a European war

I think you need to look at a map, it is very much a European war. Why do you think Ukraine is getting so much help from European countries

The goodwill is evaporating quickly

Not according to all announcements so far by the many, many govt's supporting Ukraine

Ukraine get assistance from multiple countries.

many governments support Ukraine as relates to their struggle with Russia… many citizens of their countries however disagree with and resent their wellbeing and opportunities being compromised and diluted and their future wellbeing put at risk in order to achieve it by opening up their / our finances, healthcare, resources wellbeing and welfare to millions of people…

its not a European war, it’s Russia invading a country on the geographic continent of Europe, if Argentina invade Uruguay it’s not a South American war… it’s got fûck all to do with Brazil, Chilie, Ecuador and so on….

Where you have a system set up for corruption it's going to be nigh-on impossible to tackle corruption within that system. What were the differences in economic and social policy for the people "he" locked up?

He should have just stuck with the ould Soviet lads for the secret police then? He needed people he can rely on. There hasn't been structures in place to have the best-trained everything ready to slot in once he got elected. I'll always say I'm not worried if a party tends left or right, it's the actions and reasons for doing so that make the difference. If you're elected on an anti-corruption platform in a place with no tools for tackling corruption then I'd expect a lot of the people who get caught up are going to complain about "corruption".

Which other Soviet states btw? The ones who are in NATO and the EU that are doing well? Funny that. Or do you mean lovely Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan? Or good old Lukashenko's playground?

many citizens of their countries however disagree with and resent their wellbeing and opportunities being compromised and diluted and their future wellbeing put at risk in order to achieve it by opening up their / our finances, healthcare, resources wellbeing and welfare to millions of people…

Those same citizens appear to disagree with you but agree with their govt's

Where you have a system set up for corruption it's going to be nigh-on impossible to tackle corruption within that system.

How far do you want to go back in history before we find a Ukraine that wasn't neck deep in corruption? The time before the Russian Tsars perhaps?

What were the differences in economic and social policy for the people "he" locked up?

Who did he lock up? Usually posters will seek to counter what another person has stated, not seek to argue with themselves... no?

He should have just stuck with the ould Soviet lads for the secret police then? He needed people he can rely on. There hasn't been structures in place to have the best-trained everything ready to slot in once he got elected. I'll always say I'm not worried if a party tends left or right, it's the actions and reasons for doing so that make the difference. If you're elected on an anti-corruption platform in a place with no tools for tackling corruption then I'd expect a lot of the people who get caught up are going to complain about "corruption".

He replaced the leadership of the secret police from other Ukrainians to those who he trusted. Oh, I can appreciate the desire to secure your power and remove the influence of your opponents, but it doesn't contribute towards a democratic society free of corruption.

You really are bending over backwards trying to find excuses for his failures to combat corruption.. and sorry, your excuses are very very weak. In any case, though, it doesn't support your desire for Ukraine to enter the EU. Those failures regarding corruption, authoritarianism, etc remain... in spite of the excuses.

Which other Soviet states btw? The ones who are in NATO and the EU that are doing well? Funny that. Or do you mean lovely Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan? Or good old Lukashenko's playground?

What other former Soviet states? It should have been obvious. The ones who got their act together, and passed the requirements for admittance into the EU.. which Ukraine has failed.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭getoutadodge

If u want someone to care for u in your dotage I strongly advise u to have children. It was always known as the pact between generations e.g. I looked after you in your childhood.. hopefully u ll return the favour in my second childhood.

Those who cant be arsed can expect to be shipped in the other direction.

https://blogs.hu-berlin.de/mediaiaaw/wp-content/uploads/sites/24/2016/03/Poster-Transnational-Retirement-Migration1.pdf

Possibly the worst reason to have kids in this day and age and besides, the proliferation of nursing homes would indicate that pact no longer holds.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭getoutadodge

Possibly the worst reason to have kids in this day and age and besides, the proliferation of nursing homes would indicate that pact no longer holds.

Euthanasia incoming. But hey if the needle is administered by a migrant u'll feel better about it.

I fully support euthanasia and hope its legalized here before I need it.

It was proposed here in 2015 and again in 2020, both attempts failed. There's another bill going through sometime this year so who knows.

Its already legal in several countries and I don't see any reason not to make it legal here too, but thats maybe a discussion for another thread.

Look at the question they were asked, and look at what is being discussed here .. Not the same thing. :). So I’ve no idea what you hope to achieve by posting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭lmao10

Agreed. Religious idiots have held society back in this country for far too long.

I'm fully in support of assisted suicide, and I honestly couldn't care less if it was a migrant or a native person doing it, as long it's done in the best possible way. It's utterly barbaric forcing people to live through pain or horrible incurable conditions. Every person should have the choice, for themselves, whether they want to do it.

It's something I decided for myself if I ever get Alzheimer's or Parkinson's. Hell, I'll likely choose it when I reach my 70s because old age doesn't appeal in the slightest. And I'd rather have the option to do it here, with people who know what they're doing, than going elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I think that come September there's going to be a **** show. Many Ukrainians in student accommodation will probably refuse to move out to somewhere they don't like. The Gardai or private security firms are not going to go in and drag them out. The same will be true for those in hotel rooms. People getting 3 meals a day in a nice hotel aren't willingly going to move into a community centre and sleep on a camp bed. This might just be the wake up call needed for middle class parents who've happily gone along with the illegal migrant scam for the past 20 years because they're not affected by it. 

Student accommodation has been a shìt-show every year dorothy, for at least the last 20 years, and every year is a wake-up call for middle class parents who’s children are going on to third-level education.

Of course anyone who isn’t affected by it is unlikely to give a damn about anyone else who is affected by it, because like most people they’re only thinking of their own children’s education. There are undoubtedly going to be stories in the media of Irish parents complaining about Ukrainian refugees who they claim are taking up accommodation that their children are entitled to.

If little Fintan and Amy can't take up their university places because there's no student accommodation available and no property to rent, maybe then these people will start to cop on to themselves.

Gonna be some sport in that household when Fintan and Amy start protesting against the eviction of Ukrainian refugees from student accommodation to alleviate the annual ‘student accommodation crisis’ -

https://www.thejournal.ie/student-accomodation-5556139-Sep2021/?amp=1

If we didn't have thousands of illegal migrants in Direct Provision, hotels and B&bs then we wouldn't have this problem.

Ahh we would -

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/students-sleeping-in-cars-because-of-shortage-of-rental-accommodation-1.3707475

https://www.thejournal.ie/ucd-student-housing-5024454-Feb2020/?amp=1

https://www.shemazing.net/student-housing-crisis-sleeping-in-cars-and-driving-4-hours-to-class/

International students would still be scammed too, with many students too embarrassed to tell their parents, but telling their friends back home not to come to Ireland -

https://www.breakingnews.ie/amp/ireland/international-students-forced-to-sleep-rough-due-to-accommodation-crisis-1298439.html

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2022/0602/1302550-students-dublin-accommodation/

I see on the front of the paper this morning about an Indian family here 4 and a half years, asylum claim dismissed but now they've got asylum, for handing out cloth masks during the pandemic. Jesus wept, what a great little country for foreigners. People are eligible or they're not. They weren't so what changed?

The deportation order was reversed on appeal after the family appealed the decision following an online petition which was set up to gain support to fight their deportation. They never sought any publicity for giving out the free masks to the public. They were commended for it by a woman on Twitter -

The family never sought publicity for their altruism. It became public when a lady who received a free mask took to Twitter commending the Singh family for their efforts.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/amp/ireland/indian-direct-provision-family-who-donated-thousands-of-masks-during-pandemic-allowed-to-stay-1321305.html

https://www.yaycork.ie/the-singh-family-will-be-handing-out-free-face-masks-again-this-weekend/

I mean, if you were looking for examples of immigrants who don’t want to integrate into and contribute to Irish society, they’re definitely not it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Well it sends out a distinct message that you don't have to be fleeing a war . An economic reason is enough to stay after appeal .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

A far worse message, which seems to be all but a precedent now, is that petitions and campaigns can override our laws.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Seriously?

I asked to see your documentation not face nappies. Suddenly a bunch of Indians are ambassadors for good sanitation, sure let’s be having them right?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Yeah, when you think about it more cunning types might see this is a path to citizenship going forward. Someones gets rejected, then goes and does some grand act in public with the hope that some do-gooder starts a campaign. Of even worse, and probably just as likely, NGOs start using this is a tactic, with the petitions/campaigns being orchestrated by the NGOs. All this would mean that in Ireland all you've to do is appear good, even just once, in the name of getting past the system.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Euthanasia has already been in Ireland for a while now.

Have you tried to get an appointment for a GP,let alone a specialist.

Okay though if you can afford the BlackRock maybe but our countries health services are under massive pressure and more and more be added daily.

Euthanasia is here but some just don't know it.

It seems that the State doesn't know about it because assisted suicide is still a criminal offense.

Apart from a few references to the "Dying with Dignity" bill, I can't find anything.. and that bill is exclusive to patients already terminally ill.

Yeah yeah, we all get it, the numbers coming in are sinking the country but you're happy with that regardless. Just curious, not being funny or anything, but do you work for an NGO? Because it sounds awfully like you have something to gain from this personally. Nobody who has been turned down for asylum should still be here. I don't care about petitions. 'Feelz' should have no place in asylum claims. I'm sick to death of this come one come all nonsense. The country is full, anyone whose lost their appeals should be on a flight back home, simple as that.

Yeah, we're also supposed to believe that they didn't want anyone to know about their good deed. Sorry but a family of Sikhs in the main area of the town handing out free masks is going to be noticed by absolutely everybody. Honestly, how anyone buys into this is beyond me. A nice gesture and all, but the cynic in me questions the motivation behind the gesture. 4 and a half years in Direct Provision, even allowing 2 for Covid travel restrictions it's taking the proverbial. They'd have had a decision well within that time.

They are also now demanding to host Eurovision next year. Am I missing something here? Zelensky is telling us we aren't doing enough, everyday it's demands for this that and the other, but funnily enough not food or medical supplies. We're told we must take in unlimited amounts of Ukrainian refugees and give them everything because Ukraine is not safe. But now, we have Ukraine demanding to hold Eurovision. Now I'm either very thick and missing how Ukraine is safe enough to bring in competitors and tourists and the whole circus that goes with Eurovision, or something stinks. If it's safe enough for Eurovision how in the hell is it not safe enough for Ukrainians.

On a separate note, I also noticed that since people started to pick up on how pretty much any celebrity looking for a bit of publicity was popping over to Kyiv at weekends for a photo op with Zelensky. When comment started on it that ended.