Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Collins needs to be back in the PL to keep developing. I do think that another season in the Championship would stifle his development a bit. I've said it before if he were English a club would have no issue splashing 30-40 million on him. I'd like Man Utd to sign him. Can't see why they wouldn't. Looks to be destined for the top as does Bazunu.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Man U are a basket case of a club. Why would you want an Ireland player there? I would rather one of the top clubs or failing that a club with a bit of stability and less scrutiny. Wolves would be a good shout.

Any interest in him from other leagues? Dortmund or Bayern might be a good spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,204 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Under 21s drew Israel in the playoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Best draw we could have got on paper anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

If you have other players that are good at playing out from the back then why not put Collins midfield. You make the most of your best players at your disposal is the point.

Yes I remember why Jack did it, I alluded to that when I mentioned he inexplicably always chose Mick McCarthy when he had better options at centre back. My suggestion to use Collins as a defensive midfielder was not for negative reasons.

Obviously don't know much about the Israel U21 team but that looks a great draw for Ireland to qualify.

If we have an abundance of centre backs then I’m sure Stephen Kenny will be considering the best way to make the most of them. He won’t I’m sure let sentimentality dictate his decision as you’re suggesting.

Lack of imagination from some on here leaves a lot to be desired. I hope Stephen Kenny will be much more creative and imaginative in his decision making.

He has changed his formation at times. He went 3 at the back with wing backs from the original 4-3-3 formation he started with primarily to suit the players at his disposal. Collins in midfield would also give a more solid look in that area.

They were overrun in midfield in the first two games of the recent international window. Collins in there working with Cullen could improve things a good bit in there.

I'd agree. I think Collins has too much football in him to play him at centre back for a hundred caps or so. I also think we are well covered in that area to justify moving him further forward. I'm not sure whether Kenny will do it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

I don't see why you would dislodge Cullen from holding midfield to play an out of position Collins when he has probably been our most consistent player under Kenny.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Don’t agree with this. Slovakia and Iceland would have been better draws.

Israel were only beaten 1-0 by a decent Germany side twice and barring a blip against Latvia they’ve looked quite good.

Its a long trip to make for a second leg as well. They aren’t the toughest draw by any stretch (thankful we avoided Ukraine and the Czechs), but it’s not the easiest either.

You wouldn’t be “dislodging” Cullen. Collins would play with him in there.

When Pep asks a midfielder like Zinchenko to play left back or lwb and vice versa when Ukraine deploy Zinchenko as a midfielder who normally plays in defence at club level; is that viewed as a negative decision? Don’t think so. A little bit of imagination can go a long way.

Collins could be a dominant player for us at international level in midfield. It’s worth considering from Stephen Kenny’s viewpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

It's a lot less common for defenders to move temporarily forward than it is for midfielders to move temporarily back. Zinchenko started out as a midfielder. He played for PSV as a midfielder. He was a midfielder for Ukraine all the way from the youths to senior level. It's only at City that he plays fullback - in a role where he's required to step into midfield a lot (we all know Pep has a different view of full back responsibilities than most coaches).

Midfielders by default are used to needing total awareness all around them all the time, so stepping back isn't as big a deal. CB's meanwhile are used to all the play happening in front of them, and that's how their instincts and tactical reading are built. Asking a CB to step forward is a bigger change-up in skillset than some people appreciate I think. Especially for such a young player. He has the football for it no doubt, but we can't say with any certainty that he has the experience or tactical awareness for it at all.

Maybe he could do it, but we've no real idea. What we do know is that at every age and level, he's played exclusively at CB. Even Declan Rice who successfully made that move forward, had been a midfielder underage, before switching into CB to get into the first team, because it's easier. Before moving back into DM as he matured.

Maybe he could do it is the key sentence in your reply. I think Stephen Kenny should try it.

To be honest, I'd expect it to be a recipe for disaster. And a massive risk to be trying in the quite finite amount of games we have. It's a total panicked break glass in case of emergency sort of thing, like.

Keep in mind, you're putting him in a position where he'll have CF's and wingers in behind him all the time, and you're asking him to deal with that threat for the first time in his entire career, and to do it at international level. It's just a totally different thing to what he's made his name doing.

He's a good footballer, I'm sure he could grow into it given 30 or 40 or 50 games there, but international football is not the place to grow into anything, that's what club football is for.

About the only player in our squad who i'd have any faith in moving into that sort of role is Coleman, given his extra decade of experience, and much broader experience in different roles and positions. And even then, that'd be an emergency solution, but a better emergency solution than Collins.

How about we leave our best young players playing in the positions where they've become our best young players?

How about applying a little bit of imagination and creativity and consider such a move particularly if we have several good young players who can play centre back arriving on the scene but are light on options in midfield?

Ok... I've already explained the considerably large problem with this specific move though... Where's the imagination and creativity in taking a fella who's good at one thing, and getting them to go do a completely different thing that they've literally zero experience in?

I understand the first-glance similarity between CB and CM, but the reality is they're really different - especially asking a CB to go forward into CM for the first time. You might have the footballing ability to make the tackles etc, but you won't have a notion of where to be to do it. You only get that from experience - from doing it over and over and over again. That specific positional tactical awareness is 90% of the skillset of a good DM. Good CM's build up a level of awareness that lets them do a job just about anywhere else on the pitch. The same is not generally true in reverse.

Sure we saw with Trent Alexander Arnold - a fella with all the footballing ability in the world - what happened when Southgate shuffled him into midfield. He looked completely lost and the game just passed him by - and he's one who did actually play in CM loads underage. I'm sure he could also grow into it, but it would take time to figure out the positional/tactical aspects of it. Again, a job for club level.

The "we all dream of a team of Gary Breen's" thing was just a joke, like...

Collins is probably our best CB, let's just get the benefit of that.

I disagree. I think it should be considered and I think he could be a really good option in midfield. It would develop him as a player as well and he’d be an even more accomplished centre back further down the line when he’d most likely return to that role. I think you’re attitude to such a consideration is far too simplistic and one dimensional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

If Cullen was to be injured or suspended I think Collins playing in midfield becomes a realistic possibility. Until then I don't think so.

I see Liam Scales has joined Aberdeen on a season long loan, I think he is one that could come into the squad if he does well. Although Goodwin seemed to say they've signed him to play LCB, if he wants to play for Ireland he has a better chance of succeeding at left back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

So now you're moving two of our best players from their preferred positions in order to justify some weird experiment. I'm sure Cullen would be capable of playing the Knight/Molumby roles from the last couple of games, but he definitely wouldn't be as good as he is sitting between the two. It's just a nonsense. Not every centre back who can pass a ball needs to be moved into holding midfield.

Sure look, it's a thing that gets suggested by fans for every ball playing centreback there's ever been, from Rio, to Agger, to Campbell, to Walter Samuel, to Matip, to Thiago Silva, Varane, Rudiger, Laporte, Albiol, Pique, Bastoni etc etc, but it very very rarely actually happens. That's because they're much more different positions than you're giving them credit for - and international football especially is really not the time to be trying to develop players in different positions than their own. About the only decent example of a good footballing CB who reasonably successfully moved forward a handful of times and was alright, was David Luiz (though even he also looked fairly shakey doing it, with lots of just running around the place).

If you've specific examples of why you think he'd be good at DM I'm all ears, like, the games in which you saw him move forward and consistently stop passes at their source instead of stopping the final man, or the times you saw him show great awareness of what's going on behind him rather than what's in front... thats what a DM does.

Without that sort of stuff to back up a case, it just feels like constructing another rod to bash Kenny with.

I’m not bashing Stephen Kenny with any rod. I think he’s done fine at times so far and hope that with a bit of pragmatism that comes with experience he’ll be successful as Ireland manager. The players are playing for him, that’s what counts most.

Your pronouncements re this suggestion re Nathan Collins are bungalow bill type views in my opinion. I’m hoping and think Stephen may be more enlightened in his views. We’ll see.

Who said “every centre back who can pass a ball needs to be moved to midfield”?

We got run over in midfield in the first two games of the recent window. Molumby came in and helped somewhat re that but he’s a bit hot and cold at times from what I’ve seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,186 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Maybe we could try Kelleher as a sweeper in front of Bazunu while we are throwing players all over the place. Kelleher is very good with his feet after all.

Lets all hope Kenny is imaginative enough to try this. Thats the pragmatism, imagination and creativity that we need.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭square ball

Collins, Egan and one more of Duffy/O'Shea/Omobamidele/Lenihan are our choices when everyone's fit at centre back. A couple more like Dunne/McGuinness/Jake O'Brien might play their way in. Duffy is so poor on the ball he might play his way out of the team.

I don't see any of them moving into midfield but may shift around the back 5. DM is an extremely specialist position and one you need to be playing in regularly at club level to be good at. Glenn Whelan was extremely limited on the ball but held his position well, shielding the defence and filling gaps when we were caught out helping to make us hard to score against.

Coleman and McClean are coming to the end of their international careers so need to find long term replacements for them. O'Shea or Omobamidele are my favourites to end up playing right wing back. One of them could be the left wing back too but I'd prefer a naturally left footed player here. We don't have anyone putting their hand up to replace McClean who has done well there recently.

Dean Henderson looks to have joined Notts Forrest. Great news for Travers. Hopefully will be number 1 in the PL next season. Himself and Bazunu will be great competition for each other. We just need Kelleher to move now too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I would have thought Travers was next in line one Bazunu was "injured"* but Kenny seemed to favour Kelliher. That Serbia match could have destroyed Travers international prospects.

Hopefully he gets a run in the next friendly

*does anyone else suspect the injury was more to keep him fit and healthy for the Southampton transfer rather than risking him in internationals?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I wouldn't think so. If they were friendly games I would agree but not for competitive games.

If Travers is playing in the PL and Kelleher is bench warming he would surely have to be no2. I did see anything spectacular from Kelleher to suggest he should be ahead of Travers.

Bazunu will be number again but hopefully he will be number 1 with Southampton.

On the other hand though, when playing for Ireland Kelleher has been good, while Travers put in an especially terrible performance when he had his chance... At that time, Kelleher was first choice, Travers second, and Bazunu third. Kelleher got injured and Travers took his place. He blew it, and Bazunu was then given the chance - he nailed it and has rightly held the shirt since. All seems fair enough. Find it hard enough to have a problem of a guy having to wait for his next chance while the two lads above him are performing well in this team. It's got to be hard enough to ignore consistently good form for your team, in favour of what's happening elsewhere.

I could totally understand the point if it was an outfielder, where game time directly affects form and fitness, but for keepers it's obviously just not like that. If Travers does really well in the premier league, that could well tip it as being something too big to ignore, and override irish team form. Have a feeling Kelleher will go on loan anyway though.

Travers did have a poor performance without a doubt. But the way he has bounced back has been great. That's really important for a GK. the first couple of months of the season are really important for him and the rest of the GKs next season.

For sure, but just like how each of them got their chances last time, he needs to wait for someone else to be injured/underperform to get his next shot. If people keep doing consistently well when selected, you'd expect the status quo to be maintained. The next year will be interesting for all three of them alright. Hopefully Bazunu keeps his own high standard up in the Prem for Southampton, and makes the position of the other two moot. He really looks like he could be something special for the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,084 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

How hard would it be to get tickets for the Scot v Ire game in Sept?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Kioso to Rotherham, we've a lot of options at right back but I wouldn't say he was a million miles away from a call-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Saturday night game in a city that iseasy get to will mean a lot of interest in it.

It will be massively over subscribed imo.

I think if he turns out to be half as good as Phil Foden we would take it at this stage!!

Here's hoping he sees decent game time this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Darragh Lenihan completes free transfer to Middlesbrough. Good move for him and ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Is that not just an old article rehased and reprinted? I’m sure I read it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,744 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Not sure if it’s that good of a move - he’s moving from one championship club to another.

Strange move. Financially motivated perhaps. At his age a decent pay rise and sign on fee would make sense.

I don't know how much he has to offer us anyway. I think it's time to start integrating the younger Cb's like Jimmy Dunne into the squad and giving them game time.

I'm not quite sure he's Premier League level, but moving from a cash strapped club like Blackburn who are losing their best players as well as their manager, to Boro who are aiming for promotion is still a decent move.

He's not PL level. At his age if he were at that level he'd have found it by now you would feel. A decent solid Championship player.

He's still only 28, younger than Duffy and Egan. He could easily perform at international level for another 5-6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,992 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Yeah Boro should be up there pushing for promotion and he'll definitely get a nice bump in pay too.

Don't think he's gonna get many more games in an Ireland shirt but looked tidy against Ukraine and someone we know can step in and perform. Good to see him get this move to a team that will be building towards a promotion push.

Looks like McNally mightn't get his move Burnley. Bringing in Irish eligible Egan-Reily from City and Daniel Ballard from Arsenal. Burnley also liked with young CB Harwood-Bellis from Man City. Spending the Nick Pope money well as they're likely to sign Scott Twine for £4m. Interesting to see if they make a move for Cullen.

Oh yeh he'd be a squad option with injuries for sure. Apart from that he is well down the pecking order you would feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Fair Play to the WNT.